Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016 Garda Campaign: Class of 2017

• 14-11-2016 07:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭

Thread for those from this years campaign currently going through medical and physicals and hope to make the February intake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Theflycatcher

Counting our chickens a bit:) Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 nmf28

Counting our chickens a bit:) Fingers crossed.

Are you and Dingle20144 just waiting on physical's? Hard to track who's at what stage!

nmf28 wrote: »
    Are you and Dingle20144 just waiting on physical's? Hard to track who's at what stage!

Yea, have everything else done now at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭LandT

Yea, have everything else done now at this stage.

I'm just waiting for a physical date too! Hope itl be before Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭dcw2016

LandT wrote: »
    I'm just waiting for a physical date too! Hope itl be before Christmas

also waiting on the physical. When did ye do your medical?

dcw2016 wrote: »
    also waiting on the physical. When did ye do your medical?

I did mine in September but I had to get laser eye surgery so that delayed me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Horza

Are the majority of people posting in this thread in the 700-800 oom bracket from the november 2015 campaign

Horza wrote: »
    Are the majority of people posting in this thread in the 700-800 oom bracket from the november 2015 campaign

My oom is below 20 but like I said mine was delayed due to the laser eye surgery

Horza wrote: »

yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Dingle20144

Just at the medical stage now with a date for 30th Nov.

Hope to have physical done before xmas so i can relax and enjoy.
    My oom is 900-950 bracket.

Has anyone contacted HRM or the Garda college about dates for next years intake? I read somewhere in a thread about January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

Excellent. Got my dates for medical. Roll on Dec 13th. Plenty of recovery Time from my laser surgery next week.
    Presume shorts under tracksuit pants should do for medical.

bazz1000 wrote: »
    Excellent. Got my dates for medical. Roll on Dec 13th. Plenty of recovery Time from my laser surgery next week.

They just make you take off your shoes and socks to weigh you other than that its just pulling up your top and taking your blood pressure so wear a tshirt under your jumper

dcw2016 wrote: »
    They just make you take off your shoes and socks to weigh you other than that its just pulling up your top and taking your blood pressure so wear a tshirt under your jumper

Oh right. That's grand out so. I presume the physical will be January if my medical is less than 2weeks before Xmas. Praying make the Feb intake.
    Still waiting on sergeant and super to call me in.

Oh right. That's grand out so. I presume the physical will be January if my medical is less than 2weeks before Xmas. Praying make the Feb intake.
    Still waiting on sergeant and super to call me in.

I done my medical more than a month ago still waiting on a date for my physical. I met my sergeant and inspector back in September. I'm hoping for the February intake too, it seems so far away!

You only have to take your top of for the doctor, no need to take trousers off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 M_09

You don't need shorts or a tracksuit.

I did mine in a suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Donegal Disciple

Passed my medical there a month ago , meeting my local Sargent today , any advice on meeting with the Sargent and Chief Superintendent? Also still waiting on a date for my physical , hoping to make it on for the February intake. The waits a killer but I'll be glad to get the physical over and done with.

Dress formally. Read back over your form from your interview. Mine was only about 10 min of general chit chat. And they asked me about the wages and was I aware how much I would be earning and if I could live on that

M_09 wrote: »
    You don't need shorts or a tracksuit.

I did mine in a suit.

Are you ment to wear a suit to it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 M_09

Are you ment to wear a suit to it???

No but I had to go to work afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sd82

Have medical in two weeks bp is high so worried i will fail

Sd82 wrote: »

They usually give you a 2nd chance to come back in a fee months. So get training and you should be ok.

Lost 7.5 kgbut bmi is still 31.5 and have family history with bp. It is actually higher now than it was before i lost the weight

That's not massively over, just stick at it and hope for the best. Best of luck....

Thanks. Hopefully anyway as the physical wont be an issue

Are ye checking bmi through height and weight on the internet. Would that be accurate. I'm 25 at the mo and blood pressure is fine. Only worry is doing laser surgery Wednesday and medical 13th Dec. Hoping it won't cause any issues.

Did you go to your gp. If not you should. I'm sure he will give a prescription for blood pressure pills. Help bring it down.
    With the bmi just watch what you eat. I've lost half a stone without training by watching what I eat.
    Stay away from the spuds and cut down on dairy. Breakfast should be your biggest meal of the day. Lunch dinner substitute potatoes for maybe Brown rice or sweet potato.
    Hopefully helps.

Got physical date for 6th December, anyone else get a date??

Yea, I got the 6th as well....

Have you been to the Open day? I missed it due to a wedding. Think there's one on the 26th