Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steorn morons out of business

• 13-11-2016 7:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭

These morons have finally gone out of business with their free energy bull****.

Dunno if they were bull****ting themselves or others. The investors losing 23 million were worse.

The hubris of the Celtic Tiger and truthiness got badly beaten up by the laws of physics.
    Thank God.

Edit: these clowns
    http://dispatchesfromthefuture.com

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

This morons have finally gone out of business with their free energy bull****.

Dunno if they were bull****ting themselves or others. The investors losing 23 million were worse.

The hubris of the Celtic Tiger and truthiness got badly beaten up by the laws of physics.
    Thank God.

Link. And what¿??????????????

• Registered Users Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Link. And what¿??????????????

These guys,.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steorn

Because basking in the unemployment of people is exactly what we should be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

shadenfrod as the germans say.
    'in this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics...' as homer would say

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Because basking in the unemployment of people is exactly what we should be doing.
    From Wiki: It announced in August 2006 it had developed a technology which provides "free, clean, and constant energy", apparently in violation of the law of conservation of energy, a fundamental principle of physics.[4]

Steorn challenged the scientific community to investigate their claim[5] and, in December 2006, said that it had chosen a jury of scientists to do so.[6] In June 2009 the jury gave its unanimous verdict that Steorn had not demonstrated the production of energy.

I think the issue is that they seemed to be poo poo-ing the laws of thermodynamics without being able (obviously!) to show any proof. Maybe they were doing other good work, who knows, but the free energy claims were laughed at a long time ago...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 Away From Home

So was flying.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Or basking in con artists being outed, maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

What exactly used they do all day in work??

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Con artists finally ran out of people to con
    Cry me a river

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

It was obvious from the beginning that it was unsusteornable...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

China is installing a new wind turbine every 30 minutes. And globally there'll be about 73GW of solar installed this year.

Thermocouples have been used to power digital watches. You can get wireless light switches that use piezo so the act of pressing the button is enough to power them.

Wireless charging of mobile phones is a thing now.

Free energy isn't all that attractive if the capital costs , maintenance or operational costs re too high. That's why we don't have much tidal or wave power yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

What exactly used they do all day in work??

They had an "exhibition" on grand canal dock about 5 or 6 years ago. Myself and a colleague went down one lunchtime for the craic. We got talking to one of their "engineers". About 3 minutes into the conversation (about the time we started contradicting him) an alarm went off in another room and he excused himself and left. We did get free t-shirts so they're not all bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It would have been handy for powering those wind turbines yokes when there was no wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

They might take some small consolation, as they wind their
    business up, in leaving unpaid energy bills.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

I remember they first came up in conversation here in AH a long time ago, people thought they were a joke back then also.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

In this country, we obey the laws of thermodynamics!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,571 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Unfortunate that people who lost their jobs, but can't find much sympathy for people who invested in a perpetual motion device.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,215 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

How many people did they have working for them? and what were they actually doing given that the whole thing was a scam?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,094 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Physics and god in the same exclamation, what sorcery is this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

And he is now going to make a living playing poker. Not.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,215 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The Sunday Business Post article was interesting. It seems that they had a load of small investors who kept doubling down to keep the thing afloat but even they realised they were being conned.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭conorhal

So was flying.

Yeah, but these guys were no Wright brothers, they were the green energy equivilent of a bloke with a feather duster up his arse claiming to have achieved 'manned flight'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭conorhal

osarusan wrote: »
    Unfortunate that people who lost their jobs, but can't find much sympathy for people who invested in a perpetual motion device.

I've not much sympathy for people involved in a pyramid scheme designed to scam people out of money loosing their jobs TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

The Sunday Business Post article was interesting. It seems that they had a load of small investors who kept doubling down to keep the thing afloat but even they realised they were being conned.

Nothing new there.

Plenty of companies do the same thing to keep afloat with bullsh*t products. The solarroadways.com crowd are still going, despite being debunked many times.

Their crappy, half broken demo is still going and can be viewed here: http://www.cityofsandpoint.com/visiting-sandpoint/solar-roadways#ad-image-6

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sunken costs fallacy.

The guy at the top was also clever enough to keep promising big product launches. On the back of this he could gather some additional funding that would keep him afloat when eventually the product launch came to nothing.

Looks like a couple of months ago the main investors attempted to oust the CEO/Founder and just rebrand as a technology company. When he wouldn't go, they walked away and lo and behold six weeks later the company is out of business since they have no money.

The CEO is a great guy for convincing people to give him money for vapourware, no so great at the engineering part.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Cowboys Ted, they're a bunch of cowboys.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Every day I woke up hoping this company went out of business. In fact, it was my last thought at night.
    Come to think of it, it has dominated my thoughts for the last year or so now and had a daily internal fued that I can finally say is over.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

So was flying.

Look out the window.

See those flappy feathery things in the sky?

They've been flying for millions of years. Anyone who laughed at the concept of flying is an idiot.

Free energy, on the other hand, violates one of the most fundamental laws of nature, and if anything claims to get energy from nothing, then they're either lying, or they're tapping into an energy source that they hadn't included in their calculations

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

They were a gang of charlatans who took 23 million euro of investors' money and whittled it away on their own salaries on an idea that was always, 100% guaranteed to fail because it was complete and utter nonsense.

They deserved to fail and I'm delighted that economics has forced them to stop where the collective opinion of the world's scientists wasn't able to.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

So, they finally ran out of energy