Anton Savage Radio Thread [Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Testament1

Haven't ever heard him, better off that way by the look of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭thesaurus2

Judging by the latest JNLR's I'd imagine this show is doomed. He's lost 20,000 listeners in less than a year. That form probably won't be tolerated by Today FM bosses for much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

I'm not so sure, I'd say if you said to the bosses at Today FM Ray D'Arcy is leaving but we expect to retain a little over 90% of his listeners they would be delighted with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I'm not so sure, I'd say if you said to the bosses at Today FM Ray D'Arcy is leaving but we expect to retain a little over 90% of his listeners they would be delighted with that.

Except, estimating Ray's final figures at 210,000 (I think it was actually higher, but not looking it up right now), Anton has retained less than 80% of the listeners and is showing now sign of improving.

I reckon he'll get until September next year and be gone if there's no improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 loumasry

Ray D'arcy had 215,000 listeners in his final book. Anton now has 166,000. My calculator says he's "retained" 77% and the trend is still downward. But your point is correct. Given how badly they are doing those bosses are probably delighted he has any audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭sonic85

This lad is a Grade A clown. Doesn't seem to have much remorse - he should be in jail not on national radio trying to flog a book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

sonic85 wrote: »
    This lad is a Grade A clown. Doesn't seem to have much remorse - he should be in jail not on national radio trying to flog a book

what was his name ?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

what was his name ?

Cathal McCarron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Disappointed to see Savage sustain further drops in listeners because he's arguably one of the best broadcasters around. His intelligence and versatility are glaring and it's clear hes highly well read and articulate. It seems to me that his strength is also his weakness, I think listeners are disconnected emotionally from him because he rarely puts a foot wrong and also because he reveals so little of himself. While D'Arcy revealed way too much, Savage is the opposite by revealing no personal experiences or details and I think comes across as almost machine-like in his delivery and efficiency. Listeners can't relate to Savage and are switching off. Shame but understandable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

heybaby wrote: »
    Disappointed to see Savage sustain further drops in listeners because he's arguably one of the best broadcasters around. His intelligence and versatility are glaring and it's clear hes highly well read and articulate. It seems to me that his strength is also his weakness, I think listeners are disconnected emotionally from him because he rarely puts a foot wrong and also because he reveals so little of himself. While D'Arcy revealed way too much, Savage is the opposite by revealing no personal experiences or details and I think comes across as almost machine-like in his delivery and efficiency. Listeners can't relate to Savage and are switching off. Shame but understandable.

I can see where your coming from but for me I like that and also I think he actually connects more over the witty replys to people and the way he accepts mistakes and goes off on tangents giving us an insight into his thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭lambayire

ziggy wrote: »

Ray always had those dopey cooking segments.
    I think they do those to get themselves some nice nosh.
    Makes for brutal radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

He seems to get the most uninteresting 'celebrities' to interview on the show. It's like listening to paint dry.

In contrast, he had a very good interview with Elle McPherson and two excellent interviews with Michael Buble and Bryan Cranston who actually had something to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

I don't think he'll ever get the big name celebrities and even if he does, the nature of his family's business and the company he's managing director of will prohibit him from asking any hard questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I don't think he'll ever get the big name celebrities and even if he does, the nature of his family's business and the company he's managing director of will prohibit him from asking any hard questions.

I think that's the crux of the matter. I would usually tune in but haven't in a long time, his interviews are too soft, fluff pieces, and I've wondered if he's hamstrung because of his other business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

If the comments on FB are anything to go by (along with the big angry head on him in the pic below) his interview with Cathal McCarron yesterday was anything but a fluff piece.

209985_54_news_hub_178696_588x448.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I won't be tuning in for the once in a blue moon interesting interview, especially ones that Paul Kimmage and Second Captains have also done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I won't be tuning in for the once in a blue moon interesting interview, especially ones that Paul Kimmage and Second Captains have also done.

I'm in a new job with no radio, so I haven't listened to the show in ages, bar the odd time I'm in the car. That image just showed up on my FB feed.

I think Anton is alright, but as I've said before, he's the autonamatron 2000 when it comes to presenting, more than capable but very straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

BaZmO* wrote: »
    If the comments on FB are anything to go by (along with the big angry head on him in the pic below) his interview with Cathal McCarron yesterday was anything but a fluff piece.

That is probably why they are giving out. I think it was the first time I have ever heard Anton really challenge an Irish "celebrity" on the show. He always does fluffy/promotional type interviews. Would love if he brought that kind of questioning to some d list Irish media celeb hawking their next book. Anyone rememeber the terrible Rosanna Davison interview with her terrible health claims.

The Tyrone lads already have a siege mentality about Irish media and this isnt going to help:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    BaZmO* wrote: »

That is probably why they are giving out. I think it was the first time I have ever heard Anton really challenge an Irish "celebrity" on the show. He always does fluffy/promotional type interviews. Would love if he brought that kind of questioning to some d list Irish media celeb hawking their next book. Anyone rememeber the terrible Rosanna Davison interview with her terrible health claims.

The Tyrone lads already have a siege mentality about Irish media and this isnt going to help:;)

Well then let them stay up in the queen's country then and not be coming down here starting rows. Off with them to London to do the gay porn !!!!

Maybe its just me but I didn't think Anton was that hard on McCarron. All of the stuff that was asked is in the public domain - he wrote a book about his problems FFS so you can't blame Anton for asking him about them.

The gay porn is bull really just a side show - the man's an adult so he can do what he wants and make his own decisions but he's done some horrible things so I'll not be feeling too sorry for him if he gets asked to try explain his actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

lambayire wrote: »
    Ray always had those dopey cooking segments.
    I think they do those to get themselves some nice nosh.
    Makes for brutal radio.

But Ray's push up sections were great !!

Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain - "We have to teach people about democracy". What is that supposed to mean? So if someone votes against the establishment or common concensus it's not democratic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

sonic85 wrote: »

It's the typical media outlook, its our way, anything else your seen as scum,uneducated or unenlightened ... the tolerant seem the most intolerant imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

It's the typical media outlook, its our way, anything else your seen as scum,uneducated or unenlightened ... the tolerant seem the most intolerant imho

A sentiment not unfamiliar to the US themselves tbh.

At least here we'll just piss and moan a bit as opposed to secretly funding a coup or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

The show is gone downhill big time.........When Anton stood in for Ray, he was excellent, but now that he is the main man the show has turned into a show aimed at Women with Children, as I have posted before it has turned into a radio version of Loose Women.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

There is something quite not right about him, I listen more to the show for his guests than I do for him, which is not what you want from a radio show host.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I still listen every day and enjoy the show. You know what you're getting with Anton. A polished presenter with a positive outlook on life who does his research properly. Vastly different than the last fella with his boring stories, lectures and general miserable attitude (most of the time).

Mc Love wrote: »
    There is something quite not right about him, I listen more to the show for his guests than I do for him, which is not what you want from a radio show host.

That doesn't work either because for the most part the guests are rubbish. Same people recycled over and over with the odd interesting person.