Would you report a dole scammer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I wouldn't report a fella 'cos F*ck da Poli...

I mean no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Here ye go: https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/secure/ReportFraud.aspx - let the games begin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

No I wouldn't. It's none of my business live and let live. Why should I do the governments work for them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

No I wouldn't. It's none of my business live and let live. Why should I do the governments work for them anyway.

... Because it's your money they are scamming?

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    ... Because it's your money they are scamming?

I know where you are coming from and I don't like people that blatantly abuse the welfare system but the government have sat back for long enough and let these situations develope. They are on huge salaries to run the country so let them do their jobs and I'll do mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Allinall

You mustn't pay any tax or make any contribution to society if you think it's none of your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Green Mile

I reported my neighbour before (foreign national in the country less than a year (nice guy)). My dad found himself unemployed but wasn’t able to claim from the social due to no PRSI contributions when he was self-employed. So when I seen my neighbour signing-on the monthly register and coming out of the sign-on office and putting a different jacket on and a hat and went back in and signed on again (as a different person), I just couldn’t see how that was fair. I had to report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,288 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Green Mile wrote: »
    I reported my neighbour before (foreign national in the country less than a year (nice guy)). My dad found himself unemployed but wasn’t able to claim from the social due to no PRSI contributions when he was self-employed. So when I seen my neighbour signing-on the monthly register and coming out of the sign-on office and putting a different jacket on and a hat and went back in and signed on again (as a different person), I just couldn’t see how that was fair. I had to report it.

Well done, but instead we need a system that is robust to these scams.

For example, biometric scanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have. I had a tenant who was claiming rent allowance of some sort but not giving any of it to me. When I finally got rid of her my then boyfriend called SW to report her.

She was a vicious bitch and deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I was on the dole a few years ago and there were two Roma lads who would sign on at the same time as me. They were identical brothers and even dressed alike (leather jacket, jeans). They had to do everything together because everyone thought they were one guy trying to scam.

Allinall wrote: »
    You mustn't pay any tax or make any contribution to society if you think it's none of your business.[/QUOTE

I pay my taxes always have done. I've never had an unpaid bill in my life. Me reporting Johnny or Mary down the road even if I wanted to do it wouldn't make any difference. A few weeks later they'd just be claiming a different benefit and there you go again. The government have created this mess let them sort it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Yeah, I would, in a heartbeat.
    People like that are sucking up scarce resources away from the genuinely vulnerable.
    I'd sleep like a baby afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

No I haven't and wouldn't.

It lowers them a lot in my estimation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭d2ww

chakotha wrote: »
    No I haven't and wouldn't.

It lowers them a lot in my estimation though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_XjlVrrU_A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

You are leaving out some important information: your father was refused dole because he failed the means-test - ie he was too rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I have seen how much hassle and confusion and trouble can be cause to a single parent with 2 kids under 12 just scraping by who goes to the post office to collect her weekly money only to be told there is nothing there for you!

I have also seen how others can work and scam while on welfare and nothing is ever done about them, they give genuine people who are doing their very best for their families a bad name so yes I would have no hesitation reporting any suspicions of fraud to the social welfare offices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Leo Varadkers recent warning to those that live on the dole as a lifestyle choice got me to thinking - would I report a dole scammer if someone I know was doing it? Say claiming while working cash in hand, or just failing to look for work while claiming jobseekers etc...

Honestly I'm not sure - on the one hand I can't stand the abuse that is allowed to go on when it comes to our Welfare system. It actually means there is less in the pot for genuine cases. On the other hand, those of a more left wing bent would, I imagine, claim that harassing the poor and downtrodden over a few bob seems like unfair targetting when compared with to what the bankers and bondholders were allowed to get away with. To be honest, I see the latter as whataboutery whenever it is mentioned.

So what about you upstanding citizens of AH? Would you snitch on a mate doing the dirty with the dole?

Depends.

If i knew someone on the dole who had a full time cash in hand job then i might consider reporting them.

However if someone was on the dole and just taking the occasional nixer for cash then i probably wouldnt unless the person was actually doing this to purposely avoid getting a full time job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yes I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Someone recommended a tiler to me who quoted me 150euro per day.
    He asked to be paid in cash as he was drawing the dole! Unbelievable

Did I report him? No.
    Dont ask me why. I think this is an Irish thing. We give out about this but wont actually stand up and do anything about it

And no he didnt get the job

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I have seen how much hassle and confusion and trouble can be cause to a single parent with 2 kids under 12 just scraping by who goes to the post office to collect her weekly money only to be told there is nothing there for you!

I have also seen how others can work and scam while on welfare and nothing is ever done about them, they give genuine people who are doing their very best for their families a bad name so yes I would have no hesitation reporting any suspicions of fraud to the social welfare offices.

Surely we have not had a couple more of immaculate conceptions without The Vatican knowing. The childrens other parent should be made pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

srsly78 wrote: »
    You are leaving out some important information: your father was refused dole because he failed the means-test - ie he was too rich.

I often think this when I hear people complaining about the medical card. Although I don't understand why some people who aren't earning a huge amount, with serious illnesses, can't get it, and it doesn't seem entirely fair to everyone..most people whose applications rejected are probably just over the income threshold and at least theoretically can afford their treatment, so why begrudge someone less well off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Someone recommended a tiler to me who quoted me 150euro per day.
    He asked to be paid in cash as he was drawing the dole! Unbelievable

Did I report him? No.
    Dont ask me why. I think this is an Irish thing. We give out about this but wont actually stand up and do anything about it

And no he didnt get the job

Sometimes they're not on the dole, it's an outside-of-work job and they don't want to be taxed on it. To be fair, if it's a one off or rare extra bit of money, having tax taken off it makes it a lot less worthwhile. Especially if they are already normally paying tax on their full time job.

Seeing my dad struggle to keep warm in the cold winters is the reason I reported the guy, The neighbour was pulling in close to €400 a week net doing what he was doing.

Self-employed didn't get the social due to their class S PRSI profile. I left nothing important out in my post but thank you for commenting.

You are wrong: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/unemployed_people/jobseekers_allowance.html

"Stamps" entitle you to JSB. People without contributions can avail of JSA but it's means-tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If he was too rich he would not be bothered going near them

no self employed person goes near them unless they are very sick

Or unless they really need the money.

You are wrong: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/unemployed_people/jobseekers_allowance.html

"Stamps" entitle you to JSB. People without contributions can avail of JSA but it's means-tested.

Thank you for your comment, link and fascination with my father's income status.
    I can guarantee you, there was no income coming in and my dad is not rich by a million miles. No problem with you disagreeing so please feel free to comment.
    Moving back to the point, the neighbor at the time was scamming the system and I felt obliged from a personal level to report the social fraud.

The government website disagrees with you. Your father is entitled to JSA - why don't you explain that to him? Surely this is more important than ranting about neighbours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,288 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Class S contributions do not entitle you to JSB.

This is what the self-employed are always complaining about.

"To qualify for Jobseeker's Benefit, you must pay Class A, H or P PRSI contributions. Class A is the one paid by most private sector employees. Class H is paid by soldiers, reservists and temporary army nurses, who do not qualify for Jobseeker's Benefit until they have left the army."

Of course, they can apply for JSA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Only if I was prepared to (a) tell the person that I've reported them, and (b) attach my own name to the report. Anything less would feel extremely sneaky and cowardly.