Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Lockhart's food looks like dog****.

Dude needs to take a few lessons. I'm sure it's nutritionally spot on, but it looks terrible any time I've seen him cook.

Who cares what it looks like? It's fuel and it has to taste good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,106 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

darced wrote: »

No way would they throw.

Maybe a lot of hair pulling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Conor is 5'9"? I heard before that he was 5'10".

Sneaky feckers cutting height to make 155lbs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Some idiots will buy it. A smarter person would spend the same on a series of personal trainer sessions and gym membership over the same time and have infinity better results.
    Devils advocate here, but how much PT time would that get you? Genuine question as I've no idea what Dublin prices are like.
    I'm sure you could get some pleb to hand you a cookie cutter program and dial it in for peanuts. But how much does quality coaching cost?

Also, I presume with the FAST option (as with any program). You can just run it again after you finish it. it could be 6-12 months worth of training if you stick to it. Maybe my view is a bit warped from paying $140/month anyway, but €265 doesn't sound too excessive for health/fitness to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Mellor wrote: »
    Devils advocate here, but how much PT time would that get you? Genuine question as I've no idea what Dublin prices are like.
    I'm sure you could get some pleb to hand you a cookie cutter program and dial it in for peanuts. But how much does quality coaching cost?

Also, I presume with the FAST option (as with any program). You can just run it again after you finish it. it could be 6-12 months worth of training if you stick to it. Maybe my view is a bit warped from paying $140/month anyway, but €265 doesn't sound too excessive for health/fitness to me.

The problem is with this programme you still need to pay gym fees and/or buy the equipment for home. It's not like doing the Insanity programme in front of the telly.

Even if you had a few sessions with a PT to develop a programme, then one or two follow ups over the few months and then paid gym fees you'd have change from the 300 to buy yourself some nice rebok fight gear or a few maclife t-shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Well I look forward to someone who has bought it coming on here to review it. Someone will buy it no doubt with the thoughts that they can emulate Conor's look by doing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Seen a great comment on fb along the lines of ''**** conors fitness plan I want Nate Diaz's one he smokes pot and does triathlons'' Ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

John and Connor have been very foolish here. Mcgregor seems to have gone for the cash n grab basically packaging cardio routines which anyone could find online into some sort of life changing programme. Gsp had a dvd before that was similar codology. I pity the poor suckers who will pay for this. Not sure is John getting a cut or is it primarily dalby, who while clearly has a background in cardio,it was based in cycling which is a very dirty sport. Would be interesting to see if the results are as good without the use of performance enhancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I don't know why everything Conor does, John automatically gets tagged with. I'd be surprised if John has anything to do with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

John and Connor have been very foolish here. Mcgregor seems to have gone for the cash n grab basically packaging cardio routines which anyone could find online into some sort of life changing programme. Gsp had a dvd before that was similar codology. I pity the poor suckers who will pay for this. Not sure is John getting a cut or is it primarily dalby, who while clearly has a background in cardio,it was based in cycling which is a very dirty sport. Would be interesting to see if the results are as good without the use of performance enhancers

Dalby looks like he lifts weights more than does cardio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

He's 5'4" at least!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 swivel50

Newbie...

Just watched the embedded. Eddie Alvarez looks like an animal and very well toned and muscular. He looks almost too big for this weight. What is his cut like does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

swivel50 wrote: »
    Newbie...

Just watched the embedded. Eddie Alvarez looks like an animal and very well toned and muscular. He looks almost too big for this weight. What is his cut like does anyone know?

He said before he's about 180 in the cage. I'd say he'll have about half a stone on Conor at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

This whole fast thing hilarious. The reaction from some people is so ott it doesnt seem real. A successful athlete releases a paid training program and suddenly he's only out to exploit his fans. At this stage its like he could build a childrens hospital in haiti and the same loons would still hop on and find some way to give him hate for it.

Eddie will weigh more in the cage than Nate did, but for some reason we won't be hearing fairytales of him being some 8 foot 300lb monster like we did about Nate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Depp wrote: »
    This whole fast thing hilarious. The reaction from some people is so ott it doesnt seem real. A successful athlete releases a paid training program and suddenly he's only out to exploit his fans. At this stage its like he could build a childrens hospital in haiti and the same loons would still hop on and find some way to give him hate for it.

Haiti....why ****ing Haiti...we need one here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Depp wrote: »

Some people question why there are so many "haters" on this board who can't just get behind Conor and just want to berate his fans with labels like "fanboy". Then you see people draw parallels between participation in overpriced commercial ventures and charitable works in impoverished nations.

So Alvarez' weight cut won't be too bad?

Not sure I agree that McGregor is shaking down his fans or going for a cash grab. He is offering a product. No one is being forced to buy it. If that product is poor then the product will fade away into obscurity.

McGregor admires the Fertita's and fancies himself as a businessman too. He should be careful though, he has made his millions through fighting not business acumen.

Obviously someone crunched the numbers, but I doubt there is a whole lot of money to be made off of the FAST program.

Eddie will weigh more in the cage than Nate did, but for some reason we won't be hearing fairytales of him being some 8 foot 300lb monster like we did about Nate.

I doubt there would be much between them. Maybe Nate would be lighter if they were fighting at 155 but Nate at 170 is probably around the same weight as Alvarez.

Alvarez is much more muscular so I reckon he can cut more water weight at 155 than Nate could.

If you look at Nate when he's competing at 155 vs 170, you notice he looks much fuller at 170, much less gaunt in the face. Nate is also at least 3 inches bigger than Alvarez, has longer limbs too which all add to the total.

So Alvarez' weight cut won't be too bad? .

A 25lb weight cut isn't all that odd in mma. He's never had a problem making weight before, I'd say he'll be grand.

Lukker- wrote: »
    I doubt there would be much between them. Maybe Nate would be lighter if they were fighting at 155 but Nate at 170 is probably around the same weight as Alvarez.

Alvarez is much more muscular so I reckon he can cut more water weight at 155 than Nate could.

If you look at Nate when he's competing at 155 vs 170, you notice he looks much fuller at 170, much less gaunt in the face. Nate is also at least 3 inches bigger than Alvarez, has longer limbs too which all add to the total.

He was 176 the Monday before the fight and hadn't started cutting, so he was probably 176 on the cage. The talk of him being 190 is a total fabrication.

So Alvarez' weight cut won't be too bad?

Not sure I agree that McGregor is shaking down his fans or going for a cash grab. He is offering a product. No one is being forced to buy it. If that product is poor then the product will fade away into obscurity.

McGregor admires the Fertita's and fancies himself as a businessman too. He should be careful though, he has made his millions through fighting not business acumen.

Obviously someone crunched the numbers, but I doubt there is a whole lot of money to be made off of the FAST program.

Eddie looks gaunt enough coming in at 155. He has 10 fights at 170. He has said before that before camp starts he's 186, a month out usually 181. He's probably cutting close to 23 pounds which is probably as much as Conor used to cut to FW. It might be a bit easier for Eddie because he is carrying so much water weight but its not an easy cut IMO.

He was 176 the Monday before the fight and hadn't started cutting, so he was probably 176 on the cage. The talk of him being 190 is a total fabrication.

I never said he was 190. I doubt he's even 190 out of camp. Source on the 176? Numbers get thrown around a good bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Some people question why there are so many "haters" on this board who can't just get behind Conor and just want to berate his fans with labels like "fanboy". Then you see people draw parallels between participation in overpriced commercial ventures and charitable works in impoverished nations.

clearly made no comparison between the two. Just used a charitable venture to make a point that the same people will be on commenting the same bs nomatter what conor does at this stage. Not just on here either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

id like to point out for the record im not a hater or a fanboy....i just troll.

Lukker- wrote: »
    I never said he was 190. I doubt he's even 190 out of camp. Source on the 176? Numbers get thrown around a good bit.

I know you didn't but Dana said it and Conor claimed Nate had 20lbs on him.

In a press thing on the Monday before the fight someone asked Nate what he was weighing because people were talking about him being big and he said he was 176 that morning and then someone else shouted 190 and Nate started laughing and said 205.

Isn't Conor's point null and void because he has a similar weight advantage that Diaz has when he fights at featherweight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

He should be careful though, he has made his millions through fighting not business acumen.

Nope, he needed a certain level of business acumen to get where he has and to earn the money he has earned.

He has earned his money primarily from fighting. I agree he has marketed himself brilliantly, which is one aspect of business acumen, but he is a fighter first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Isn't Conor's point null and void because he has a similar weight advantage that Diaz has when he fights at featherweight?

It would be if he got beat by a featherweight the way he beat Diaz, so no it's not really