If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

OpenSparkz - already dead in the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

So, Opensparx lives? Hungry planet had a full page in the Connaught this week with actual real jobs advertised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,167 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

So, Opensparx lives? Hungry planet had a full page in the Connaught this week with actual real jobs advertised
    New jobs start rolling out in Mayo
    http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2016/07/20/4123618-new-jobs-start-rolling-out-in-mayo/
    Hungry Planet, a world leader in industrial scale vertical farming
    http://www.hungry-planet-farms.com/

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have to say I was sceptical on this one. Good to see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

yop wrote: »
    Have to say I was sceptical on this one. Good to see it happening.

I am still skeptical over it, hopefully the 200 jobs in 2018 come to fruition, it would be nice for an announcement for the town to actually have some truth behind it for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭TruthEnforcer

Still Nothing happening on site .. about 2 /3 months after the 'latest' BIG announcement.

Only 1 job actually created so far ..

amazing that according to the Opensparkz blurb that 'Hungry Planet' are relocating their 'Manufacturing Facility' to Castlebar .. when the only address they have is a shared Office Suite facility in downtown Austin TX .. no mention of any existing Manufacturing Facility ??

Still nothing happening on site I downtown Castlebar .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Still Nothing happening on site .. about 2 /3 months after the 'latest' BIG announcement.

Only 1 job actually created so far ..

amazing that according to the Opensparkz blurb that 'Hungry Planet' are relocating their 'Manufacturing Facility' to Castlebar .. when the only address they have is a shared Office Suite facility in downtown Austin TX .. no mention of any existing Manufacturing Facility ??

Still nothing happening on site I downtown Castlebar .....

Hungry planet have had a delay with facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Hungry planet have had a delay with facilities.

so had northgate.

i wonder is anything lined up for the empty IDA building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭godskitchen

irishgeo wrote: »
    so had northgate.

i wonder is anything lined up for the empty IDA building.

IrishTV are strongly suggested to be moving in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

IrishTV are strongly suggested to be moving in there.

Strongly suggested by who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭naughto

Missed it on the radio but I think this project is finished

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

naughto wrote: »

Sorry what project? Hungry Planet? They interviewed a lot of lads that I know of but none of them got offered a role.

Be great to see IrishTV in that building, great success story. They seem to be making great progress with that building.

naughto wrote: »

do you mean this

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/news/35828-northgate-business-centre-to-close-its-castlebar-facility

Northgate gone not that anyone would know they existed in the 1st place.

irishgeo wrote: »
    do you mean this

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/news/35828-northgate-business-centre-to-close-its-castlebar-facility

Northgate gone not that anyone would know they existed in the 1st place.

Wow, another false announcement by Mr Kenny and his gang. Has to go down as the most failed politician in delivering anything to Mayo in his role as a TD, never mind the fact he has been Taoiseach of the country. I'd say all the former taoise (sp) are laughing at him, they made sure their areas got well looked after yet all we have from Mr Kenny is Northgate, Openspark and thats about it really, none delivered.

Sorry for the rant but its just so frustrating. :rolleyes:

Strongly suggested by who?

The usual Castlebar chatter. I can't go naming people on here....

Wow, another false announcement by Mr Kenny and his gang. Has to go down as the most failed politician in delivering anything to Mayo in his role as a TD, never mind the fact he has been Taoiseach of the country. I'd say all the former taoise (sp) are laughing at him, they made sure their areas got well looked after yet all we have from Mr Kenny is Northgate, Openspark and thats about it really, none delivered.

It's completely unbelievable. Doesn't matter though, the people of Castlebar have spoken time and time again. Enda is going nowhere.

I voted him in 1st time as I thought he genuinely would aim to lift the county and bring back some of those like myself who have had to move away or commute to work, I have met him a number of times and he is very personable and seems like a nice person, but as a TD for the area his record is shocking in my own view.
    We have seen little to no infrastructural improvements, we have a hospital with 70% management to 30% "real staff", zero major job improvements only those which in the end exploited the scambridge project, a BB system which is the same for many now as it was 10 years ago.

I remember driving through Edenderry, the place where Mr Cowan is from and was taken aback at the roads around it and the massive IDA unit they have there which is full of jobs, I'm sure Mr Ahere delivered much to his area also.

I KNOW it shouldn;t be parish pump politics and I will get hit over the head for it, but its an opportunity we probably may not see again.

Anyway, Ill apologise again for my extended rant!

I voted him in 1st time as I thought he genuinely would aim to lift the county and bring back some of those like myself who have had to move away or commute to work, I have met him a number of times and he is very personable and seems like a nice person, but as a TD for the area his record is shocking in my own view.
    We have seen little to no infrastructural improvements, we have a hospital with 70% management to 30% "real staff", zero major job improvements only those which in the end exploited the scambridge project, a BB system which is the same for many now as it was 10 years ago.

I remember driving through Edenderry, the place where Mr Cowan is from and was taken aback at the roads around it and the massive IDA unit they have there which is full of jobs, I'm sure Mr Ahere delivered much to his area also.

I KNOW it shouldn;t be parish pump politics and I will get hit over the head for it, but its an opportunity we probably may not see again.

Anyway, Ill apologise again for my extended rant!

I raised a lot of the very same points to an Enda supporter recently. The answer I got was "If you were a head of a multinational company, would you locate in Castlebar?"

I found it hard to argue with to be honest. It's a self fulfilling prophecy. No investment breeds no investment.

It doesn't matter though. He gets a massive vote of confidence each time he goes to the polls, apart from 2002. Why would he change what he is doing?

I raised a lot of the very same points to an Enda supporter recently. The answer I got was "If you were a head of a multinational company, would you locate in Castlebar?"

I found it hard to argue with to be honest. It's a self fulfilling prophecy. No investment breeds no investment.

It doesn't matter though. He gets a massive vote of confidence each time he goes to the polls, apart from 2002. Why would he change what he is doing?

Agreed, and he will get in again. He has himself setup and probably a top EU job to cap off the teachers, TD, taoiseach pension.

And I can agree with that comment but he should have started a change for Castlebar, all its turning into now is a town with bargain discount stores.

Anyway not going to change now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

Ah here, what did fiannna Fail's Bev bring, only controversy.

If he gets in top grade broadband into the west's homes and improves the infrastructure further it would be something for the future growth.

voz es wrote: »
    Ah here, what did fiannna Fail's Bev bring, only controversy.

If he gets in top grade broadband into the west's homes and improves the infrastructure further it would be something for the future growth.

Can't remember a bean she did either, but she wasn't taoiseach, and NO I am not defending her. They all stink as far as I'm concerned.

He won't get in top grade BB, thats been pushed out another 3 years and the major infrastructure project, the new road to Westport, while its been fenced will be put on hold as the finances aren't there to fund it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

Can't remember a bean she did either, but she wasn't taoiseach, and NO I am not defending her. They all stink as far as I'm concerned.

He won't get in top grade BB, thats been pushed out another 3 years and the major infrastructure project, the new road to Westport, while its been fenced will be put on hold as the finances aren't there to fund it.

I know Yop, and I'm not impressed about Enda's impact on our county either. And it is important to note that he was the head of government from the bottom of the pit to where we are today, still i think Castlebar has not been any better of as a result of where Kenny was born, rared and lives today.

His outlook to me appears to be a nationalistic and not at all regional. I will further that and say I feel Kenny's term as leader of government will be seen as a very pro urban one. And if you look at the current top table members a lot of them are urban based.

The ignoring of the western rail corridor is one such point. Looks like it will be another cycle track, showing the vision of fog, and then again its only a five year term and voter more so looks at the ambiance of the idea and not the foundation.

I think the unions push for more money will be the death nail for a lot of projects like that. Fencing these things off, feels to me similar to getting the roof and windows on a new build before the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,277 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Nothings going to change if the people don't change and there's little hope of that.

I think Kenny has done a decent job of running the Country but wouldn't get carried away as the IMF handed over the instructions for the most part. I genuinely believe Kenny has the right intentions, he's not in if for the power like a lot of them, he wants to leave the country in a better place than he got it.

He's got plenty of charisma in person but sadly that doesn't really project itself to the nation. The "Keep the recovery going" message was the right one during the election they just didn't sell it correctly or convince people.

The people decided to elect a weak government because people put themselves first. We know we need someone like Kenny but when it boils down to it, we don't really want someone like Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Sorry what project? Hungry Planet? They interviewed a lot of lads that I know of but none of them got offered a role.

Be great to see IrishTV in that building, great success story. They seem to be making great progress with that building.

Latest rumour is that Irish TV has now gone bust. Although they are still broadcasting as I type so might not be true.

Not sure thats true at all, the Westport office is still full of cars ever day and they are rumoured to be moving to Castlebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/news/35867-reports-that-production-has-ceased-at-irish-tv-following-withdrawal-of-key-investor

Not 100% finished by the sounds of things but 'production has ceased' doesn't sound too encouraging.

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/news/35867-reports-that-production-has-ceased-at-irish-tv-following-withdrawal-of-key-investor

Not 100% finished by the sounds of things but 'production has ceased' doesn't sound too encouraging.

Ah, I stand well and truly corrected.

It's a real shame, they were employing a lot of people, not just in Westport but across the country and beyond.

I hope they can find another investor, the husband and wife team behind it are good people who genuinely wanted to bring employment to Westport.

Jeebus thats shocking. My dad lived by that station, can't say I ever watched it but I know expats used to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Opensparks

Were the IDA involved at any stage in this project?

They normally do a thorough job assessing project before jobs are announced.

The key investor appears to be the only investor.
    The venture is to be exclusively funded by Mr Griffin, who Mr O'Reilly says is the firm's only investor.

Mr Griffin said that he was happy to fund the expansion, saying: that while he did not want to spend money unnecessarily "Whatever it takes to make Irish TV work, I will supply."

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/car-tycoon-griffin-sinks-3m-more-into-irish-tv-30953462.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,277 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It's as close to 100% finished from what I heard. Investors for projects like this will be hard found and they needed to be found last week from what I've heard from someone in there.