Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The RTÉ Doc on One.

• 26-04-2014 6:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭

Listening to this programme. Aoife Kavanagh is presenting it. Is this the Aoife Kavanagh that had to resign from primetime investigates scandal? If so, I am glad to hear her back on the air as I think she is a good presenter (always felt she took a disproportionate level of the "blame" for the dreadful treatment of the priest on the programme)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

A lot of those documentaries are in the can for a long time... I'd say they are replaying something she did from years ago.. If you look up the RTE website you'll probably be able to find the date of it.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/

• Registered Users Posts: 7 LiamOBrien

@CountyHurler - it's incorrect to say that a lot of our documentaries are in the can for a long time. On average, we make/broadcast 50 new radio docs per annum - some do get the occasional repeat when we have extra slots to fill over holiday time etc - but we do out utmost to deliver new content week on week - and this weekend was no different.

@HoneyBear - The documentary we aired yesterday evening titled 'Eight Days in November' was a new documentary - and broadcast yesterday evening for the first time. It was narrated and produced by Aoife Kavanagh - the same Aoife Kavanagh to which you refer.

Best,

Liam O'Brien
    Series Producer - Documentary on One,
    RTÉ Radio 1

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

LiamOBrien wrote: »
    @CountyHurler - it's incorrect to say that a lot of our documentaries are in the can for a long time. On average, we make/broadcast 50 new radio docs per annum - some do get the occasional repeat when we have extra slots to fill over holiday time etc - but we do out utmost to deliver new content week on week - and this weekend was no different.

@HoneyBear - The documentary we aired yesterday evening titled 'Eight Days in November' was a new documentary - and broadcast yesterday evening for the first time. It was narrated and produced by Aoife Kavanagh - the same Aoife Kavanagh to which you refer.

Best,

Liam O'Brien
    Series Producer - Documentary on One,
    RTÉ Radio 1

Thanks Liam. Enjoyed last nights programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Disappointed that tonight's documentary is a repeat of last weeks one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 LiamOBrien

@HoneyBear

DocOnOne broadcasts a new documentary each Saturday - as Saturday is our main broadcast slot.

The Sunday night slot is our repeat slot - and that occasionally comes and goes. When we do have it, we stagger broadcasts so we don't have the same documentary airing on consecutive nights, so our Saturday docs repeat 8 days later i.e Sunday night week after their initial Saturday broadcast. That's why you heard the same documentary airing tonight as aired Saturday week ago. As a result of this broadcast pattern, we offer two different docs each weekend in our Saturday and Sunday broadcast slots.

If you go to our website rte.ie/doconone - you'll find each weeks new doc up top. This weekends new doc which aired yesterday is titled 'The Year General Franco Stole the Eurovision'.

Coincidentally, the 'Documentary On One' moves to a new permanent slot of 2-2.45pm on RTÉ Radio 1 from Saturday May 17th.

Best,

Liam

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭denishurley

Fair play to Liam for coming on and explaining things. I find the Doc on One to be one of the most interesting programmes on the radio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Is anyone else a fan of the RTÉ Doc on One series? I've recently started listening to them using Podcast on the phone.

There's some extraordinary pieces of radio available.

This is a doc about an elderly bachelor from East Galway, recorded in 1992. It's as poignant a piece of radio as I've ever heard.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2009/1010/646232-herman/

This in one from 1972 about the last generation of miners working in the coal mines of Ireland.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2009/1009/646220-miners/

I really enjoyed this one about the Communist Party of Ireland, recorded in 1983. They really believed the Soviet Union still had the power to change Europe.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2013/0129/647334-radio-documentary-communist-party-of-ireland-doconone/

It's a treasure trove of outstanding radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Where have you been?.....:D

I have been listening to it for a good while now either live, or on the podcast.There are some odd bad ones (such as the last one :P) which is to be expected, but very interesting ones for the most part.There are 1000s of them on the website going back years and years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

jimmyw wrote: »
    Where have you been?.....:D

I have been listening to it for a good while now either live, or on the podcast.There are some odd bad ones (such as the last one :P) which is to be expected, but very interesting ones for the most part.There are 1000s of them on the website going back years and years.

There is the odd dud. I agree with you about the last one. Having the series on a slot like that on a Saturday is a great piece of public service broadcasting. It doesn't help when you get an hour long indulgence about the continual failure of Mayo Football.

Or was that the week before? The point stands. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

I liked the one where the 2 lads got through airport security and the rest and got a free flight to New York.

Not sure if it would happen now.

Worth a listen.
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2010/0819/646486-radio-documentary-dont-go-far/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭robo

I think that this thread says it all - if its not broken then there is usually no thread about it in Radio forum :D Is this the first thread in years on the Doc on One?

Its a great show & the podcast is always great for some brilliant documentaries!

Greenman wrote: »
    I liked the one where the 2 lads got through airport security and the rest and got a free flight to New York.

Worth a listen.
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2010/0819/646486-radio-documentary-dont-go-far/

That is one of my favourites...fascinating story!

One of the earliest ones I remember is what goes on behind the "winning streak" show (no I don't view it ;-)).

Another one was about the horses of WW1 or 2,not sure which. That was kind of moving and sad for me. I think there is a kind of hypnosis effect on me :-o, such as the one about "ones knee"?..........I listened to all of that too.

I don't know how they can continue to find these good topics,but its all great.

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭More Music

Anybody can make a Doc on One if the idea is good. Doesn't matter if you never set foot inside a radio studio before or if you have made 20 docs.

Contact them with an idea, if they like it they will provide you with all the portable kit, editing tools and work with you.

Many of the docs they broadcast are made exactly that way.

Really is PSB at it's best.

Liam O'Brien is the head there IIRC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Greenman wrote: »

Worth a listen.
    I love the Doc on One. There are some really excellent documentaries there.

I also love that doc about the boys getting to America. It was especially impressive given that the Air India flight had blown up very recently, so you would have thought security would have been heavier.

Another good one, that fella sounds like good craic.Laughed at where he stripped the uniforms from the restaurant staff and told them not to move or they will "get it" with the bat :D, and then burnt them after they told him to f- off from giving them the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mountain

noticed a few promos on radio one this past week, the music played under it, sounds very much like this, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O51StLHCTrU
    which has to be one of the most beautiful and at same time saddest songs..

Heard this yesterday (repeated today) about the two unelected female candidates in the Longford-Westmeath constituency.The fella who was F-ing and blinding at one of them was funny.He made some good points, but what he said at the end just made him out to be a clown.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_documentaryonone.xml

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yiddo59

Really enjoyed this one "Con Carey and the Twelve Apostles"

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2014/1107/657531-con-carey-brosna-kerry-twelve-apostles/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I thought this one was great. It's about Marsha Mehran, the author who was found dead in strange circumstances.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2015/0821/722700-an-open-verdict/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Really excellent documentary today about rural electrification.

That was a good one about shooting the horse in "the hole", and the kid said, no, it was shot in the head.......

................also the husband and wife dressing up for the nine o clock news because Charles Mitchell the newsreader will see them.So innocent

Some of these are good, not a bad podcast at all, I dont miss an episode every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Strange how Damien Farrelly (ex 2FM, now 4FM) is still being used in the voiced jingle for The Doc on 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Last year, I trawled through the entire 'Doc on One' archive - at the time, I was creating a CD library of documentaries for an elderly relative. There is a wealth of excellent documentaries in the archive and I found myself listening to and thoroughly enjoying most of them as I was putting the audio library together.

I thought these four were very interesting.

Jack Doyle - The Gorgeous Gael

Cork born Jack Doyle, known as “The Gorgeous Gael”, was a Hollywood actor, an accomplished tenor, and at one time a contender for the British Boxing Championship.

Jack Doyle was born into a working class family in Cobh, in County Cork in 1913. At six foot three Doyle was always good with his fists and in 1929 he joined the forces of the Irish Guards based in Wales. There he quickly excelled at boxing and was famed for his strong hooks that won him the British Army Championship. A sensational record of 28 straight victories, 27 by knockout, brought him to the attention of promoter Dan Sullivan. He turned pro and notched up 10 victories on the trot all inside 2 rounds, making him the hottest thing in the sport.

In July 1933, at the age of 19 he missed out on the British Heavyweight title to the holder, Welshman, Jack Petersen. Witnesses claim that he had done most of his warming up in a pub not far from the bout. Within the opening seconds he knew he was in trouble and decided to take the easy way out. He was disqualified for repeatedly punching low. This is his story as told by those who knew him (First Broadcast: 1979).

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2011/0713/646785-radio-documentary-gorgeous-gael-jack-doyle/

Message in a Bottle

The extraordinary story of Frank and Breda, an American GI and an Irish milk maid. On Christmas Day 1945 American Serviceman Frank Hayostek stuffed a note into a bottle and tossed it from his troop carrier, eight months later it was found on a beach near Dingle in County Kerry by Breda O'Sullivan.

He was 21, she was 18. Breda wrote back to Frank, and in turn Frank wrote to Breda - and so a trans-Atlantic friendship started. Frank put aside $30 a month to come a visit Breda, it took him 6 years to save enough to fly to Ireland.

And so on August 5th 1952 Frank arrived in Shannon airport.

Would there be a romance? The world's press clearly hoped so, for they picked up on this impossibly romantic story and descended on Dingle en masse.

In the early 1950s this story was a worldwide news sensation. 60 years later we find out what really happened.
    (First Broadcast: 28/12/12)

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2012/1228/647286-documentary-podcast-message-in-a-bottle-frank-hayostek-breda-osullivan/

Open Verdict

When Gardai entered a holiday bungalow on Mayo’s Northwest coast in April 2014, they found a scene of desperation and solitude. Scattered amongst the rubbish lay the body of Marsha Mehran, 36. Marsha, an Iranian born author, set her debut novel ‘Pomegranate Soup’ in Mayo which became an international best seller with translation into 15 languages.

Marsha’s life was one of impermanence marked by a search for home that began when her parents were caught up in the coup in Iran in 1979 forcing them into exile when Marsha was just two years old. As a young woman she eventually found home in New York City but was denied residency by a rigid immigration system.

Marsha married an Irishman and lived here for on and off for 15 years in the counties of Mayo and Leitrim. Inspired by Ireland’s literary tradition she abandoned her career as a concert pianist to focus on writing. Marsha was a precocious talent, multi-lingual, a trained concert pianist and by all accounts a gregarious soul.

However, Marsha had struggles which exposed themselves during the writing of her first book and which ultimately took over after love and life had left her completely alone on the Western fringe of Ireland in the stormy winter of 2014. She became a recluse and died with no money and little food in the house. According to the coroner she lay dead for at least a week. (First broadcast: 29/08/15)

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/0625/797981-an-open-verdict/

The Irishwoman Who Shot Mussolini

Violet Gibson's bullet missed Mussolini's bald head but removed part of his nose.

Despite the fact that Violet Gibson - who grew up in Merrion Square, Dublin - was one of four people who tried to assassinate fascist dictator Mussolini, and the only one who ever came close to succeeding, she has largely been written out of history.

In the early years of his dictatorship, Mussolini was adored by Italians and admired by leaders across the world. People came to Italy just to hear him speak.

In April 1926, at the ancient site of the Compidoglio in Rome, the petite, grey-haired Irish lady edged her way into the crowd that was waiting to greet him after his address to an International conference of the College of Surgeons - but she had not come to admire him. She was there to shoot him.

Just as she pulled the trigger, he moved his head. The bullet hit his nose. At point blank range she fired again but - click - the gun jammed.

Violet was set upon by the crowd but dragged away by the police. She was first interned in Italy and then moved to St. Andrew's Hospital for Mental Diseases in Northampton.

She spent the rest of her life in the institution, battling to be released, writing letters that were never posted. (First broadcast: 21/06/2014).

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2014/0612/647669-documentary-irishwoman-shot-mussolini-violet-gibson/

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

The Jack Doyle story was the inspiration for Jimmy McCarthy's song "The Contender."I have found so many of the documentaries really interesting, especially the "12 Aspostles."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I also enjoyed the one about the Waterford born tennis player turned murderer http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/0623/797714-from-waterford-and-wimbledon-to-monaco-and-murder/

and the mystery behind Ireland's secret hangman http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/0630/799314-irelands-secret-hangman/

There's an interesting-looking book on that topic now, in time for Christmas

https://esbarchives.ie/2016/09/21/book-launch-of-then-there-was-light/

I just leafed through it in Eason earlier. Interesting enough, probably of special interest for the generations who can remember rural electrification.

This weeks episode was fascinating - [URL="Killerhttp://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/1110/830624-anatomy-of-an-irish-serial-killer/"]Anatomy of an Irish Serial [/URL]

Well worth a listen!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Jeff Buckley's Irish Odyssey
    Jeff Buckley’s connections to Ireland are largely unknown and untold.

Through his definitive cover version of Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah, haunting vocal talents and classic debut album, Buckley has become a true music icon. Once feted as the heir apparent to Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen, the US singer-songwriter was on the cusp of huge international success before his tragic death aged 30.

Emerging from New York’s East Village in the early 1990s, Buckley honed his unique talent at Sin-é, a bustling Irish café on St Mark’s Place, famed for its late-night celebrity music sessions. Sin-é became Jeff’s de facto workshop and a Mecca for a new breed of Irish emigrants and celebrities, drawing in everyone from U2 to Iggy Pop, Paul Simon, Sinead O’Connor and Johnny Depp.

On the eve of what would have been his 50th birthday, journalist Steve Cummins explores Buckley’s untold connections with Ireland, unearthing a never-before-heard and previously undiscovered recording of Buckley’s first-ever Irish performance at the Trinity Ball in 1992.

Buckley’s role with The Commitments, friendship with musicians Glen Hansard and Mark Geary, and legendary Irish performances are also touched upon in this documentary that sheds new light on a unique talent.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/1104/829140-sin-e-jeff-buckleys-irish-odyssey/

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

robo wrote: »
    This weeks episode was fascinating - [URL="Killerhttp://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2016/1110/830624-anatomy-of-an-irish-serial-killer/"]Anatomy of an Irish Serial [/URL]

Well worth a listen!

Listened to it last night, brilliantly done and such a sad and fascinating story. Gardai and Metropolitan Police have questions to answer on the back of it, but I doubt they will.