Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

nop98 wrote: »
    I have seen almost the entire field come by on Clonskeagh Road today. From the smooth running elites to the guy struggling with the Eifel Tower. :cool: But what struck me were the polar opposites performance, even in the faster groups. From strong and relaxed running to complete and utter carnage. Amidst all this, you all looked controlled and well prepared for the task at hand. The amount of totally exhausted, cramped, bloodied (:eek:), spaced-out and generally underprepared runners was something else. In contrast, most of you looked really strong, relaxed and determined. Most importantly, you finished and graduated (not everybody I saw at 21M did). It's testament to your commitment to your training.

Would you say they were winging it, or what was going on there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

conor_mc wrote: »
    The other guys have commented on mileage etc, so no need for me to go over that, but this comment struck me - do you train with 3 Isogels on your LSR's? Your 10m and HM PB's are both 3-4 mins faster than mine, but I've gone sub-4 in both 2015 and this year. On Sunday I had 1 gel and maybe a dozen or so jellies out on the course.

It does sound like your endurance is the problem, and if you're running LSR's loaded up on gels like you race, then you're not improving your body's fat-burning capacity.

For what it's worth, my LSR pace tends to be 9:30-10 m/m. But I frequently ran LSR's before eating in the morning, certainly the 12-16 mile runs, maybe not the longer ones.

Very interesting, I'm split on the influence of gels etc and I know you're not saying ignore it but what is the key to your endurance? Is it running on empty and getting your body used to it?

What plan did you follow by the way? Thanks

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Firedance closed her account. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Pompla, hopefully not all is lost and a bit of tinkering will get you sorted. Have you checked that Garmin megathread? Maybe it's one of those things like a phone and you've to put it into recovery mode. My Garmin often fails to sync first time I connect it. Maybe there's a more underlying issue and the files are not corrupted. Am not that techie with the watches, fingers crossed. Are you using Garmin Connect - does it store past workouts even after you've unplugged?

It was saying it had synced yet my marathon run wasn't appearing on Garmin connect. Then when I unplugged the watch, it was saying I had no running history at all. Unfortunately I ended up having to reset the Garmin so if there was some way of getting it back before, I'm pretty sure that's now gone. Seems to be working ok now that it's been reset. I suppose it could've been worse, it could've failed the morning of the race!:eek:
    But thanks anyway! And well done again on your performance on Sunday! I also found it really really strange not having to go for a run this evening!:o

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

This is my race report. Sorry its so late, but it was a bit of a blur to be honest for the last few days. it was only this morning that it started to clear - or I came down off the high.

Prerace Saturday morning - had a bad night with my 9 month old having a bad cough and waking at least 10 times in the night. Got up at 6 with him and decided to go to Dublin earlier than I has planned, to get the expo out of the way and have a early nap. The nerves and fears of the last two weeks - classic taper madness - had given away to a calm acceptance. I ran through all the possible outcomes in my head on my last run. Finish within my time - great. Not finish within my time - great and lessons to be learned. Not finish - not so great, but still got through all the training, learned so much and could learn so much from not finishing - it can happen to Paula Radcliffe, so why not marathon novice like me. there is always another marathon. I was ok with any of these and it really helped to keep me calm.

Got to the expo, got my number very quickly and had a quick look around. Looked at the pacers, but they were jammed so headed off to where I was staying. Had lunch and a two hour nap and vowed to just sit as much as i could for the rest of the day. Had a short bath and was in bed and asleep by 9.30. Slept great and really felt the benefit of the proper rest. If i was at home I would have been up and down doing stuff, so I can really recommend doing that the day before if you can.

Race Day. Woke at 5.45. Had some porridge, bagels and coffee. Drank 500 mls of High Zero sports drink and sipped some water while I waited. Put on my race gear - and felt excited and privileged. I was running this for a childhood cancer charity. I had a picture of the little boy in whose memory it was founded on my wrist band and I remembered that I was so lucky. I walked up to the start and reminded myself of my plan - easy out, steady middle, floored finish. Went to the loo and wandered up to the coral. It felt like a long time standing there and I was glad to have something to throw over me. My plan was to follow the 4.10 pacers and i settled in a few people behind them. We soon started the walk up to the start and Out of the corner of my eye i spotted a line of portaloos. I made the decision to go - in out quickly and save having to stop later. But by the time I came out - the 4.10 pacers were very far ahead of me. We hadnt started yet - and I knew it would be congested for a while so didnt panic. Next thing the gun went and we were off.

Started my watch and thought about the graph - slow out, slow out. I kept looking at my watch to make sure i was ok pace wise and it suddenly tells me im running 5.35 minute mile. Garmin acting up so switched it off and on at one mile and hoped it would right itself. I love running with a pacer cos it takes all the pressure off watching the watch, but they were getting further and further away from me. So I had to make a decision - my watch was still jumping around the place, so as we headed in to the park i vowed to slowly catch the pacers. I could see them so it was by inches that I reeled them in. I knew booting up just to catch them would cost me later and cost dearly. Increased my pace very slightly and stuck to the shortest line and slowly those balloons got closer.

If anyone thinking of doing a marathon reads nothing else of this report, please please read this bit. In the park, the amount of people passing me was really unsettling me. They were jumping and weaving to get past and really putting in a hard effort - sweat, laboured breathing the whole lot. It made me want to run faster, like I wasnt doing this right and i would get left behind. It look a huge amount of control not to do do it and I watched more and more fly past me like a bat out of hell. Three runners bedside me actually said it will be grand cos we are banking this time for later!! I swear I whipped my head over to them and for one minute i doubted everything I knew. They smiled at me and ran off into the distance. Think of the graph - think of the graph i told myself. I had a gel, drank some of my electolyte drink and sucked a Star Burst. And stayed put. I kept my balloon in sight and just kept trucking. I passed so many of these people at 20-22 miles in absolute shreds. it was not a pleasant thing. I saw my three "banking" runners holding each other up around Miltown. I felt bad for them. So dont so that - you dont want that feeling EVER. SLOW OUT -

Out of the park and was delighted to see the words "supple" on the back of a tee shirt which could only be our TBO! I got up to him and had a few words and wished him well. I was then in the pace group so felt very relaxed and just concentrated on enjoying it. The crowds were amazing - Castleknock was spine tingling!! The noise and people calling your name - it was just electrifying. I would do it again just for that alone. Being part of the pace group was great cos they also shouted "Come on the 4.10s" and made you really feel like you were in this together. it was warm so took water at every station drank some and poured some down my neck to stay cool. Gels every 5 miles and my starburst when i felt like it. Just as I practiced - downed with plenty of water.

Pacers were fantastic - even paced and spoke to loads of people. Even found a woman on her 700th marathon - which stunned us all into silence. If they are Boardsies, i loved you guys so much I'm surprised I didn't follow ye home!

Through halfway dead on pace - felt great and just trusted to keep doing as I was doing and go from mile to mile. I just tried to keep it even and take it in things around me. The only niggle i has was the unknown of going over 20 miles - would i be able to keep going at this pace?? I was feeling more tired than earlier but that was as expected. I knew no matter how tired i was I would keep going. I would kick myself on Monday if i quit. Had a great chat with a guy named mick about football for a few miles and that really passed the miles. Most of the time I didnt know what mile I was in, i just dug a little deeper and smiled and ran. Smiling makes you think its enjoyable - it really works. I looked my the face on my wristband and reminded myself that it was nothing in comparison what kids with cancer go through.

Got to 20 miles feeling really steady. The pacer with beard shouted that there were a few hard miles and coming up and then we were free wheeling home. They paced us up those hills and they were over in an instant. I knew then I was going to finish this thing and feel ok. Got up heartbreak hill and then it was hit for home. I had faced that fear of that distance i hadn't done yet and I knew I could do it. I ended up on the other pacers shoulder for a few miles and had a great chat about his running - from the Comrades in SA to nearly dying of cold in Connemara. He was inspiring and told me if I could still be chatting at the RDS that I should hit for home. I thanked him and started to ease into a higher pace. My left thigh was complaining a bit, but I just stuck with the plan to come in just ahead of the pacers. So I floored what i had left and went.

That green carpet was a welcome sight - heard my son and OH half roaring at me , waved and kicked for home. And then it was done....

it was the most amazing experience - the training, the boards support and the marathon. I will do it again - in a heartbeat. Worth every step and black toe nail. You will not be sorry you did it - if you do it right. Get a plan, follow the plan, trust the plan and then trust it again. This race will fool you into thinking you are invincible at the start - only so it can chew you up and spit you out in those heartbreak miles at the end. But if you resist, trust your race plan and execute as best you can, you will feel bloody superhuman.

Did something happen?

Great report. The shout outs like the 'come on the 4:10s', were great, didn't expect that sort of thing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

It was saying it had synced yet my marathon run wasn't appearing on Garmin connect. Then when I unplugged the watch, it was saying I had no running history at all. Unfortunately I ended up having to reset the Garmin so if there was some way of getting it back before, I'm pretty sure that's now gone. Seems to be working ok now that it's been reset. I suppose it could've been worse, it could've failed the morning of the race!:eek:
    But thanks anyway! And well done again on your performance on Sunday! I also found it really really strange not having to go for a run this evening!:o
    Hi P, it's possible the fit file is still on your computer. I had a similar problem. If you use windows I think the fit files are synced from the watch to "ProgramData/Garmin/CoreService/Devices/<number of your device>/Sync/<Fit Type directory/"
    or
    "ProgramData/Garmin/GarminConnect/<name of your device>/<Fit Type directory/"

and then from there to Garmin Connect site.

Might be worth seeing is there are fit files under here that match the date/time you might have synced with the marathon run on it. If you find one maybe try to manually sync from Garmin Connect webpage and if it does not sync try to repair it and try to upload again.

Not sure if any of this will help but maybe worth a try.

Great report. The shout outs like the 'come on the 4:10s', were great, didn't expect that sort of thing at all.

Neither did I! But it was mad cos I really felt we were this group. Made it so much easier. I swear it was the most surreal experience.

Hows the body?? Feels weird to be finished now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Very interesting, I'm split on the influence of gels etc and I know you're not saying ignore it but what is the key to your endurance? Is it running on empty and getting your body used to it?

What plan did you follow by the way? Thanks

Boards Novices plan, both times. There is an element of running-on-empty foodwise, but it's not really running on empty because of your body's own glycogen stores. It's just about training to increase fat-burn as a proportion of energy source, so that glycogen lasts longer.

The other side of that is using gels/sweets to keep glycogen topped up. You don't particularly need to train the body for that, but you do need to start the process early in a race, not when you need a kick/sugar-rush. It just doesn't work that way, you only end up making yourself sick and diverting oxygen/blood-flow away from leg muscles and back into your digestive system..... the opposite effect of what you'd expect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Fbjm wrote: »
    There's always the Clontarf half marathon in two and a half weeks :P

Ehh... pass. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Ehh... pass. :pac:

No one but me is mental enough to go for it no? No...? Guys? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Fbjm wrote: »
    No one but me is mental enough to go for it no? No...? Guys? :D

Think a bit longer term, even medium term....by all means run it but don't race it. The mantra of a not racing/hard running for a day for every mile raced is a good way to avoid injury.

So 26 days....from last Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

diego_b wrote: »
    Think a bit longer term, even medium term....by all means run it but don't race it. The mantra of a not racing/hard running for a day for every mile raced is a good way to avoid injury.

So 26 days....from last Sunday.

True yeah. I'll tóg go bog é, just looking forward to another running event :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

This question is now probably in the wrong thread!

Has anyone looked at/tried the MyAsics plans? I'm already looking into suitable plans for London in April, hopefully a plan that can get me closer to 4 hours.
    MyAsics seems to have faster long runs, this is where I feel I fell short for DCM as I missed 2 weeks of training that included DCHM and the 9m PMP run (and I only did 15m of the last 20m run). However, it only has 4 runs per week so I'm wondering if this offsets the faster long runs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

kin9pin wrote: »
    This question is now probably in the wrong thread!

Has anyone looked at/tried the MyAsics plans? I'm already looking into suitable plans for London in April, hopefully a plan that can get me closer to 4 hours.
    MyAsics seems to have faster long runs, this is where I feel I fell short for DCM as I missed 2 weeks of training that included DCHM and the 9m PMP run (and I only did 15m of the last 20m run). However, it only has 4 runs per week so I'm wondering if this offsets the faster long runs?

My DCM was the Mysics plan Kin9pin. Couldn't fault it but nothing to compare it to

Thanks for all the lovely responses to my marathon report guys...I'm blown away that it touched ye.

Muppet please don't apologise...I asked for honest advice and ye gave it. I didn't say anything about my dad at that time purely as I was so late to the group. It was solely my responsibility to take or leave your advice and genuinely if there wasn't so much emotion behind my marathon; I would've listened to ye because as ye said 4 weeks ago, there'll always be more marathons. Also, a sincere thank you for counting me as one of ye as the answer to nops question about what I would've done differently is that I would've liked to have been here from the start for support and maybe to have met some of ye at other events. I'll stick around and I'm definitely gonna keep running...is this thread gonna stay active or do ye start a Graduates thread?!!!

Congrats again to all you graduates...aren't we a pretty awesome bunch!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

I actually thought about it now going on a well deserved (for the other half supporting my training) weekend to Berlin.

Planning on doing Jingle Bells 5k though
    kin9pin wrote: »
    So.......is Clontarf HM too much too soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I thought it was all fun and games hobbling around the house the last few days but it's time to go back to work and my right foot is still acutely painful when I weight bear. If it's short staffed today I may just go and hide for the day!

Hope ye are all recovering well. The Clontarf HM was my first and I loved it but I don't think I'd be up for it again just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

faithmc wrote: »
    Thanks for all the lovely responses to my marathon report guys...I'm blown away that it touched ye.

Muppet please don't apologise...I asked for honest advice and ye gave it. I didn't say anything about my dad at that time purely as I was so late to the group. It was solely my responsibility to take or leave your advice and genuinely if there wasn't so much emotion behind my marathon; I would've listened to ye because as ye said 4 weeks ago, there'll always be more marathons. Also, a sincere thank you for counting me as one of ye as the answer to nops question about what I would've done differently is that I would've liked to have been here from the start for support and maybe to have met some of ye at other events. I'll stick around and I'm definitely gonna keep running...is this thread gonna stay active or do ye start a Graduates thread?!!!

Congrats again to all you graduates...aren't we a pretty awesome bunch!!!

Thanks faith . I'm not sure of the plans if any for this thread . In previous years it stayed active and the a followed up plan was introduced to get full benefit of the training. cleariers plan in 2014 and myles splitz plan in 2015.

I've done both of those plans even though I hadn't ran a marathon both of them improved me as a runner and I really enjoyed them .

I'm hoping it will be the same this year too.

You mentioned your waterford hills in you post and your not exagerating . I was in Waterford in the viking hotel the weekend of my 19 mile long run . THE hills on Sunday were nothing compared to the hills up to the hotel.

Congratulations again on your achievement . Take care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I am so behind on the thread but well done to everyone just starting to read reports and the first one I came across was faithmc. Oh my god what an emotional report I am so delighted for you what a lovely emotional story I'm just short of crying but on the dart to work so have to hold it together. Wear that medal with pride for you and your Dad. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

ToriV wrote: »
    Did something happen?

Don't think anything happened.

Think she just wanted some time offline for a while. She might well be back in a few months.

Hi P, it's possible the fit file is still on your computer. I had a similar problem. If you use windows I think the fit files are synced from the watch to "ProgramData/Garmin/CoreService/Devices/<number of your device>/Sync/<Fit Type directory/"
    or
    "ProgramData/Garmin/GarminConnect/<name of your device>/<Fit Type directory/"

and then from there to Garmin Connect site.

Might be worth seeing is there are fit files under here that match the date/time you might have synced with the marathon run on it. If you find one maybe try to manually sync from Garmin Connect webpage and if it does not sync try to repair it and try to upload again.

Not sure if any of this will help but maybe worth a try.

Just tried that but there seems to be no .fit files in that location:( Thanks a mill for the suggestion anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Just tried that but there seems to be no .fit files in that location:( Thanks a mill for the suggestion anyway!

Did you have a look at the tool called "**Garmin Online FIT Repair Tool: Useful if your activity file is corrupted/incorrect/dorked up." on this site: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/tools

jameshayes wrote: »
    Did you have a look at the tool called "**Garmin Online FIT Repair Tool: Useful if your activity file is corrupted/incorrect/dorked up." on this site: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/tools

Unfortunately I don't seem to have any activity files to even attempt to repair. But I've kept that link for future reference. Thanks!
    Sorry, I don't mean to distract this thread with my technology woes.

How are all the marathon legs doing today? My quads and heels are still sore but much improved since Sunday. Apparently it was hilarious watching me attempt to walk:P

Unfortunately I don't seem to have any activity files to even attempt to repair. But I've kept that link for future reference. Thanks!
    Sorry, I don't mean to distract this thread with my technology woes.

How are all the marathon legs doing today? My quads and heels are still sore but much improved since Sunday. Apparently it was hilarious watching me attempt to walk:P

Pomplamousse did I read you have the Garmin Forerunner 10?

My legs are almost better. Was minutely worried about the lower end of my hips yesterday...thought I'd never bean ambiturner again!!! But this morning I reckon i'm almost there. I swear by the omega oils with glucosamine and Chindriton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I managed to walk to work today looking like a normal person. Quads and calves are still tender, but they are at least functional again!

Also in the 24 hours after the marathon my achilles was vibrating when I moved my foot. Like if you put your finger on it you could feel a sort of tremor. That has now stopped. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Brilliant reports! You can all be very proud of what you've achieved. Since Monday morning when I posted my own, I've been away for a short break with my number one supporter, before being brought back to earth with a double shift in college last night.

Three days later, my quads are feeling less like cement blocks. Everything else feels fine, although when we got home on Tuesday lunchtime I felt so drained I had to have a nap.

Anyway, to answer the questions put to us....

What went well with your training plan?
    Most of it. Doing intervals with the club was great, and I enjoyed the weekend LSRs, and the fact that I actually had a plan. One of the best weeks was the first, on Inishbofin, including hill sprints through the wind and rain! During the cycle, I managed to break my 10k and half marathon PBs, as well as getting a massive marathon PB on the day.

What would you do differently with your training?
    Possibly more faster stuff. The club (MSB) organise a tempo session on Saturday mornings, which to date I've been too lazy/scared/busy to attempt. I also had a holiday on a cruise ship for Week 11. Loved it, don't get me wrong, but it was hardly ideal from a marathon training point of view :D

What went well about the race?
    Controlling my pace. On more than one occasion I've gone ahead of pacers, or others trying to help me, to my eventual cost (as Murph_D can verify). This time, I stayed in control of that particular emotion. Overall, I'm very happy with how my race turned out - still nearly half an hour quicker than my previous one, whatever else you want to say about it!

What would you do differently if you could start the race again?
    Possibly start with the 3:50 group rather than 3:40. My HM time suggested 3:40 was more than achievable, but from about 15 miles or thereabouts it was clear that I wasn't going to hit that target. How much I was hampered by illness during the week of the race, I will never know for sure, but it didn't help. Also, knowing I had a serious injury problem beforehand, should I have started where I did? I was very close to an early DNF. Maybe, just maybe, I won't have such problems for the next (FCTW) marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

The Muppet wrote: »
    Thanks faith . I'm not sure of the plans if any for this thread . In previous years it stayed active and the a followed up plan was introduced to get full benefit of the training. cleariers plan in 2014 and myles splitz plan in 2015.

I've done both of those plans even though I hadn't ran a marathon both of them improved me as a runner and I really enjoyed them .

I'm hoping it will be the same this year too.

As for the plans for this thread, we'll keep this one active for another couple of weeks as everybody recovers from the marathon and a few straggles post their race reports ;)

In the background, I'm pulling a few strings to get the graduate mentor in place, at some point I'll be looking for a volunteer to kick off the thread eventually (mid-Nov or so, PM me if interested - not all at once, please ;). The grad thread is really a place to fill the post-marathon void / blues, to compare progress, plan and train for races, etc - and generally stay in touch. Purely optional of course, but it's a great tradition (and the 2015 one is still ticking over).

I am *loving* the race reports, trying to do my usual "LSR write-up" on them and am literary running out of superlatives. And funnily enough, there seems to be a speck of dust in my eyes every time I reading them. What a phenomenal achievement from you all!

I really like the idea of a "graduate" reunion at the Jingle Bells, I wonder if old grads from 2015 are allowed to hang out with the cool 2016 kids? Last year, the weather was so bad that there were no timing mats possible, hopefully it'll be better this year.

In other news, the dark-blue "Stick With The Plan" t-shirt clocked up 8 easy miles on its first run on Monday - thanks again. :)

Firedance has indeed decided to take a sabbatical from being Firedance, we owe her big-time for her positivity and enthusiasm on this thread (and on Sunday itself), and she did ask me to thank you for her present.