If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Motorway speed limits in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Decrease them to 110 km/h
    chicorytip wrote: »
    120 K.P.H. or 75 M.P.H. is a dangerously high speed limit for roads such as the M7,M9 etc.which are, in effect, dual carriageways not motorways.
    55 M.P.H. is a sufficiently progressive rate for all drivers to complete journeys on time and in a relaxed frame of mind.

There obsessed with speed you see, They dont think of the people who dont want or need to be speeding. Im on the m8 regularly as i live close to it and the stuff I see every time shocks me. They have no patience or manners on the road now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Gold, pure gold. I guess the best of it is just out and out trolling rather than actual personal beliefs but it's funny stuff all the same.

"Stressing the engine" to run it at 50% of max rpm for more than 30 mins. Motorways not suitable for triple digit speeds...
    Oool blow the injin if ooo merge at more than 70, never change out of top gear unless oo are shtopping. Classic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Remove limit altogether with dynamic speed limit signs where necessary
    toptom wrote: »
    There obsessed with speed you see, They dont think of the people who dont want or need to be speeding. Im on the m8 regularly as i live close to it and the stuff I see every time shocks me. They have no patience or manners on the road now.

Those that don't "want it need to speed" can happily stay out of everyone else's way either on the driving lane or better still the old roads. But instead they act like imbeciles blocking the "fast lane" and joining the motorway as if in a funeral courtege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

CiniO wrote: »
    What do you mean by that?
    How exactly are you stressing the engine by driving at higher speeds?
    To be honest, it can only do good for an engine if it runs at higher steady revs. In diesels it can clear out the soot and carbon residue, and allow DPF regen, and in petrols it can also clear out carbon residue from oil and possibly have other positive effects
    The higher the rpm you drive at, the more stress the engine will endure. When you drive a vehicle everyday you quickly become aware of its optimum level of performance and what it is consistently capable of without straining it. For my vehicle that optimum is between 90-110km/hr. I encounter very few problems on the road as a result of driving safely and predominantly below the speed limit. Apart from occasional tailgaters and bad over takers of course, of which I'm sure there are none in this thread full of above average drivers!
    road_high wrote: »
    Is this for real? Scary to think you are out there somewhere with a full licence and driving...
    Scary to think you find what I said so objectionable i.e. driving below the speed limit, putting less strain on the car engine and saving money whilst doing so. Lock me up and take away my licence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I bet you're one of those drivers who does 80kph on national roads and 100kph on motorways. More dangerous than doing 10-20kph OVER the speed limit IMHO.

Raise to 150 km/h
    Ireland need to implement variable speed limits on all major routes and motorways. e.g. Driving from Galway to Athlone or Waterford to Naas could quite easily be done at 150km/h in good conditions and outside peak hours.
    Variable speed limits would allow for reduced limits during peak hours or in adverse driving conditions.

I bet you're one of those drivers who does 80kph on national roads and 100kph on motorways. More dangerous than doing 10-20kph OVER the speed limit IMHO.

Sounds like an absolute head wreck of a driver tbh. No wonder he/she gets tailgated, usually only happens when you hold up people driving a lower than appropriate speed. Never happens me and if I see someone impatient behind I'll try my best to safely let them overtake and give them room. No point frustrating people if it can be avoided.

I bet you're one of those drivers who does 80kph on national roads and 100kph on motorways.
    Not all the time.
    More dangerous than doing 10-20kph OVER the speed limit IMHO
    I'll go with the opinion of the RSA if that's alright with you.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,963 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

pa990 wrote: »
    Last xmas eve, I aledegly drove cork to dub at a constant 160km/h+

Used a lot of fuel, and only met a garda speed van near rathcoole.
    A quick dab of the brakes, and off I go again.

Similar return journey., but no speed van.
    160km/h+
    Surely at those dangerous speeds you died a few times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I think before we do anything there should be an overtaking lane blitz by the Gardaí, the amount of backward thick people who still assume it's the "fast lane" is frightening.

Well the cops should obey that one too. Have you EVER seen a squad car in any other and on a motorway except the overtaking lane. I know all the arguments about ****heads hoging the overtaking lane ....I'd be the first to execute the swines but expecting the poacher to become a gamekeeper...AD you know better than that...

Sounds like an absolute head wreck of a driver tbh. No wonder he/she gets tailgated, usually only happens when you hold up people driving a lower than appropriate speed. Never happens me and if I see someone impatient behind I'll try my best to safely let them overtake and give them room. No point frustrating people if it can be avoided.
    No excuse for tailgating. I often encounter slow cars and tractors doing 30/40 on 80/100km/hr roads. I don't tailgate them.

Stay well back and overtake when safe to do so. You should try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

The higher the rpm you drive at, the more stress the engine will endure.
    Please provide any proof of that.
    Because so far, it's only your own theory - which has nothing to do with real world.
    Engines are designed to work at any RPM below red zone on your tachometer.
    Driving it too often on red zone, might indeed cause problems, as well as driving it too often at too low rpm, which plenty of drivers do unfortunately, don't even realising they are doing harm to the engine.
    I have a suspicion, you might be one of them.
    When you drive a vehicle everyday you quickly become aware of its optimum level of performance and what it is consistently capable of without straining it.
    My 1.2 Fiat Bravo, which I had for 7.5 years, had it's optimum between 3000 and 5500rpm. I've driven it mostly within that range, and engine was performing the best. On 5th gear, such RPM would give speeds of between 100km/h and 184km/h if I remember correctly.
    For my vehicle that optimum is between 90-110km/hr. I encounter very few problems on the road as a result of driving safely and predominantly below the speed limit. Apart from occasional tailgaters and bad over takers of course, of which I'm sure there are none in this thread full of above average drivers!

Scary to think you find what I said so objectionable i.e. driving below the speed limit, putting less strain on the car engine and saving money whilst doing so. Lock me up and take away my licence!

So few facts.

By driving below speed limit you are:
    1. not putting less strain on your engine. You won't prelong it's life that way.
    2. not causing your driving to be safer - even opposite it causes more danger by encouraging other drivers to tailgate or overtake as you mentioned yourself.
    3. indeed you might be saving money - fair play for that :cool:

Well if you're getting tailgated and "dangerously overtaken" that often maybe you're going too slow... Ya know since 55mph is the correct speerd to be going at according to you...but 120kph on the motorway is "dangetously fast"

Nice how you can pick and chose what you want to from the R.S.A. ;)

Follow your own rules. Judge other people at what speed theyre doing while holding up half a mile of traffic behind you, good man.

No excuse for tailgating. I often encounter slow cars and tractors doing 30/40 on 80/100km/hr roads. I don't tailgate them.

Stay well back and overtake when safe to do so. You should try it.

Where did I say I tailgate? I'm not stupid, I understand about stopping distances and the need for a big gap, regardless of how slow the fool in front is dawdling st. But I regularly see it occurring thanks to people that can't drive holding up traffic behind them, totally oblivious to the fact. It's pathetic that some people have so little regard for others they can't show some curtesy for others that may want to go a little faster than them.

CiniO wrote: »
    Please provide any proof of that.
    Because so far, it's only your own theory - which has nothing to do with real world.
    Engines are designed to work at any RPM below red zone on your tachometer.
    Driving it too often on red zone, might indeed cause problems, as well as driving it too often at too low rpm, which plenty of drivers do unfortunately, don't even realising they are doing harm to the engine.
    I have a suspicion, you might be one of them.
    It is a theory. But it's a theory based on my experience driving my car. Engines aren't designed to work at any RPM below the red zone over any sizable period of time. I suspect you know this too. Good point about the low rpm. That's why I used the word optimum i.e. around 2000rpm for my car.
    By driving below speed limit you are:
    1. not putting less strain on your engine. You won't prelong it's life that way.
    2. not causing your driving to be safer - even opposite it causes more danger by encouraging other drivers to tailgate or overtake as you mentioned yourself.
    3. indeed you might be saving money - fair play for that :cool:
    I disagree. Driving below the speed limit is being a safer driver given all other things being equal. Tailgating is never condonable. I have no problem with overtaking. Which is why I said bad overtaking. Yep, save money and strain on my engine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

jay93 wrote: »
    The speed limit is lower here in the US it's 112Km/h if you convert 70Mph not that many people follow that anyway..

Ya drove in the US this year, did a long journey from Detriot to Winston Salem NC and back. Speed limit 70 on highway but brother said stick cruise at 80 and you won't be stopped. I wasn't saw a few cop cruisers checking speed, no issues though. Also saw no speed camera vans. Think in built up areas they are a lot stricter 25-35 mph limits.

Where did I say I tailgate? I'm not stupid, I understand about stopping distances and the need for a big gap, regardless of how slow the fool in front is dawdling st. But I regularly see it occurring thanks to people that can't drive holding up traffic behind them, totally oblivious to the fact. It's pathetic that some people have so little regard for others they can't show some curtesy for others that may want to go a little faster than them.
    It's pretty clear from the tone of your posts, and the language you use, to decipher what kind of driver you are. I mean, "fool" and "can't drive" is your response to someone who drives slightly below the speed limit on average. Pathetic indeed.
    Well if you're getting tailgated and "dangerously overtaken" that often maybe you're going too slow... Ya know since 55mph is the correct speerd to be going at according to you...but 120kph on the motorway is "dangetously fast"
    Tailgating and dangerous overtaking is never acceptable. As I said, I do neither even when stuck behind tractors and other slow moving vehicles daily. I also don't drive too slowly. Nor does the RSA or the Guards say I do (I've asked). And I most certainly never said 120kph is "dangetously fast" on a motorway. Firstly, because I can spell dangerously. And secondly, because I have no problem with high speeds on motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Raise to 140 km/h
    It is a theory. But it's a theory based on my experience driving my car. Engines aren't designed to work at any RPM below the red zone over any sizable period of time. I suspect you know this too. Good point about the low rpm. That's why I used the word optimum i.e. around 2000rpm for my car.

I disagree. Driving below the speed limit is being a safer driver given all other things being equal. Tailgating is never condonable. I have no problem with overtaking. Which is why I said bad overtaking. Yep, save money and strain on my engine!

But all other things aren't equal. This is Irish motorways with Irish drivers.

#1 - for the most part we only have 2 lane motorways, and only one 4km stretch of 3 lane at full speed limit. Less overtaking room to get past the american octogenarian a few posts up with his 55mph nonsense, and then past the person overtaking him at 110km/h.

(Mind you, if we had 3 lanes, everyone would be in Lane 2 rendering Lane 1 non existent, because it's Ireland, and we don't choose to utilise any sort of common sense whatsoever when it comes to educating the mass of morons. I once wrote to the NRA at the time about a "keep left" message on the VMS, and was told sorry but it has to be part of an agreed national campaign. Which begs the question of who authorised such campaigns as "Less speed, less hurt - nonsense on a motorway when compared to the potential for rubbernecking, for example, to cause an accident - or "never drink, never drive" - you can do both. Just not at the same damn time.)

#2 - Irish drivers. Refer to above, but add in the stupidly slow, the stupidly dangerous, the "ah it'll be grand" factor applied by most people to most things they know nothing about, and so on.

#3 - Tailgating is never condonoable, but it is a completely predictable behaviour caused by driving too slowly or in the wrong lane. People should be able to expect to go at the speed limit, or slightly above it, when the volume of traffic isn't heavy enough to slow the whole road down. We don't live in a perfect world, unfortunately, and while there are many things you can legally do, it doesn't mean you should do them.

#4 - tractors, bicycles, travelers with horses, go karts, quads, wild animals and anything else that shouldn't be on the damn road to begin with. 10 times more here than anywhere else and I've driven on motorways in eight countries.

For those who wish to travel in a bubble of "relative safety" across the country at 75km/h while wrapped in a miniature bale of cotton wool, Gay Byrne and Liz O'Donnell have re-classified a whole rake of national primary routes as regional roads and lowered the speed limit to 80km/h. Just for you.

sdanseo wrote: »

#3 - Tailgating is never condonoable, but it is a completely predictable behaviour caused by driving too slowly or in the wrong lane.
    Tailgating is caused by the tailgater being a dangerous driver. There is certainly a correlation between driving too slowly or in the wrong lane and tailgating.
    People should be able to expect to go at the speed limit, or slightly above it, when the volume of traffic isn't heavy enough to slow the whole road down. We don't live in a perfect world, unfortunately, and while there are many things you can legally do, it doesn't mean you should do them.
    On a motorway certainly. If the traffic flow allows, a person should be able to cruise along at +140kph. But there is no entitlement to always being able to drive at the speed limit or above it.

Nobody here is condoning tailgating.

And its really a dumb thing to pick on someone's spelling. Dyslexia.

Well done. You're literally showing yourself to be an ignoramus.

I'm out.

Nobody here is condoning tailgating.

And its really a dumb thing to pick on someone's spelling. Dyslexia.

Well done. You're literally showing yourself to be an ignoramus.

I'm out.
    Yes they are.

I didn't pick on your spelling so much as your lying.

Thanks. You've shown very little.

Bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

It's pretty clear from the tone of your posts, and the language you use, to decipher what kind of driver you are. I mean, "fool" and "can't drive" is your response to someone who drives slightly below the speed limit on average. Pathetic indeed.

Am i right in saying that your general rule of thumb in regards your current speed is to observe the speed limit and do just under this? Do you follow this rigidly?

Unlike yourself, I pretty much ignore speed limits, even though I am aware of them and do the speed I deem appropriate for that road and the conditions. The reason you may find tailgaters on your rear end regularly is likely due to poorly allocated speed limits; we all know roads where the speed limit is unfeasibly low, not to mention roads that are ridiculously high.

I obviously don't know you, and you may well be a good driver, but many a poster has posted in this forum before with a similar kind of vibe you're putting off that rubs people up the wrong way, something in the vein of "I do everything by the book and nothing else matters". I think if were more accepting of other road users, we'd all be better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Raise to 150 km/h

Maybe you should look up how manufacturers test their cars. Maybe look at some actual data from the manufacturer instead of peddling a perception you have.

Engines are designed to work in much worse conditions than those found in ireland and for much longer periods of time than the average journey done in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

I voted for 160. As it stands now I feel any man or woman not able to maintain 120kphsper hour in a car on the motorway should be fined and given points for being a nuisance On the motorways. Second offence 6 month ban no excuses bar heavy snow or ice.

sdanseo wrote: »
    For those who wish to travel in a bubble of "relative safety" across the country at 75km/h while wrapped in a miniature bale of cotton wool, Gay Byrne and Liz O'Donnell have re-classified a whole rake of national primary routes as regional roads and lowered the speed limit to 80km/h. Just for you.

Love it

Boys, there's really no point engaging with arcade tryer. He/she/it is the epitome of "5th gear by the end of the driveway" (saves strain on the engine!) and "lumber onto the motorway at anywhere between 60 and 80 kph but jaysus never attempt to drop a gear and match the speed of the main flow".

Whether this is motivated by a desire to be a nuisance on the road, troll people online or just general incompetence, who knows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

If you are being constantly tailgated, you are doing something wrong. Never happened to me funnily enough. You know what they say, if you meet one asshole, you just met an asshole. If you meet assholes all the time, you're the asshole. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Been driving for the past four months in Norway.The motorways surrounding stavanger have a limit of 90kmh.After driving at this speed for a while you feel like the 120 back home in Ireland is nuts.

Oh and to agree with a few posters,the standard of driving in Ireland is really really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Raise to 160 km/h
    (Dublin and surrounding counties is where I am all day)

The motorways in Dublin and out as far as the toll gates are too congested for a higher limit, especially the M50.

Also, Dubs don't bother with Motorway rules at all, not sure they even know they should keep left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

The motorways in Dublin and out as far as the toll gates are too congested for a higher limit, especially the M50.

Also, Dubs don't bother with Motorway rules at all, not sure they even know they should keep left.

Have seen the craziest **** on irish roads down the sticks to be honest.