The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Lol at the thinly veiled threat from government lackey Noirin O'Sullivan ordering the Guards to go to work Friday or else....

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all?

She could get them arrested ..no wait...

I wonder will she hand deliver the letter to her hubby ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Dont live in a rural area then

Yeah, go to Dublin where all the affordable houses are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Firmly agree with the Gardai, they should be paid a lot more for the work they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Firmly agree with the Gardai, they should be paid a lot more for the work they do.

So do I actually, They shouldn't have to be worrying about there wages at the end of the month, Think they have enough to be worrying about, also it must have there moral right down which again does not help in there work which in effect effects the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The gardai should have received a pay increase before those Luas drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

lawlolawl wrote: »
    I'd sooner see the tax I pay now spent properly.

Pay the people upholding the law/caring for the sick/educating the nations children a good wage for the job they do rather than throwing an extra 5 quid on all welfare payments and restoring the Christmas bonus.

Absolutely agree 100%. Unfortunately the well deserved pay restoration that the guards receive will be followed by strikes from all over the public sector for resulting in less deserving areas getting pay restoration that we cannot afford.

All these strikes are FG's fault for talking up the fragile recovery so much to win the election. Gob****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

AGSI reject the proposals now -

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1101/828226-garda-strike-talks/

All is not well in policing it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Aren't we already borrowing more per day than we take in to keep the country going?

Seems to me like the Guards and teachers want everything at once and have done no costings as to how it should be paid for.

We're not back in the celtic tiger days when the Government was taking in more money than it knew what to do with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Lol at the thinly veiled threat from government lackey Noirin O'Sullivan ordering the Guards to go to work Friday or else....

What you going to do Noirin, sack them all? They're panicking in Garda HQ/Leinster House alright.

Can't understand why the Garda get no respect of the Govt. If anyone deserves pay restoration its them.
    She doesn't have to sack them all. Just the ringleaders. Extract the poison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Aren't we already borrowing more per day than we take in to keep the country going?

Seems to me like the Guards and teachers want everything at once and have done no costings as to how it should be paid for.

We're not back in the celtic tiger days when the Government was taking in more money than it knew what to do with.

But yet the government saw fit to give the dole bonus back and an extra 5 to the unemployed ... logic ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not a smart move politically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda-strike-now-more-likely-as-gra-rejects-offer-1.2849933

Didn't see a thread on this but if I was a criminal i'd be preparing for Christmas.

Should the everybody be preparing for Christmas? It's just around the corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

hawkelady wrote: »
    But yet the government saw fit to give the dole bonus back and an extra 5 to the unemployed ... logic ??

And did they say the PC was going to get nothing?

No they didn't, but it seems the timescale isn't fast enough for the unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The thing I find ironic about this and the teachers strike is that the unions are claiming they are fighting for equal pay for newer entrants. A noble gesture you might say but these were the same unions who had a choice in how cutbacks during the economic crash were to be handled. They made a decision to allow new entrants get paid some 15-20% less so as to protect current members from the worst of the cuts. In short, it was the unions who created the inequality by throwing young people under the bus so other members could benefit. But now they are a bastion of equality all of a sudden whereas a few years back they had no problems sacrificing new entrants. The hypocrisy of the unions is pretty astonishing IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The thing I find ironic about this and the teachers strike is that the unions are claiming they are fighting for equal pay for newer entrants. A noble gesture you might say but these were the same unions who had a choice in how cutbacks during the economic crash were to be handled. They made a decision to allow new entrants get paid some 15-20% less so as to protect current members from the worst of the cuts. In short, it was the unions who created the inequality by throwing young people under the bus so other members could benefit. But now they are a bastion of equality all of a sudden whereas a few years back they had no problems sacrificing new entrants. The hypocrisy of the unions is pretty astonishing IMO

Gardai were excluded from negotiations and the cuts were passed by emergency measures legislation at a time when there was a recruitment freeze. There was no choice to be had.

Your Face wrote: »
    Not a smart move politically.

If something happens while they are on strike, like a big gangland incident, there strike will be blamed. Politically it will be easy if the action gets as unpopular as the Luas strikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭enricoh

They might as well go for gold, with a government as weak as ours they know they'll get their way. Unfortunate but true.

Plus with the effects of brexit to be felt next year there won't be a fiver knocking around for pay rises back to the Celtic tiger methinks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

and there i was thinking thatcher was dead and gone

last thing you want is workers standing up for them selfs isnt it ?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    and there i was thinking thatcher was dead and gone

last thing you want is workers standing up for them selfs isnt it ?

No, I have no problems with workers standing up for themselves once their demands are reasonable. The guards have been given a good offer and have rejected it.

There is nothing Thatcherite about wanting public sector workers to have demands that are in line with what is afordable for the country. The marginal tax rate still exceeds 50% and our public services are bad value.

Why should we pay more for the same ****ty service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

No, I have no problems with workers standing up for themselves once their demands are reasonable. The guards have been given a good offer and have rejected it.

There is nothing Thatcherite about wanting public sector workers to have demands that are in line with what is adorable for the country. The marginal tax rate still exceeds 50% and our public services are bad value.

Reasonable me bollix. They want to "restore" over a 3 year period (which ends up still less than pre recession), while still getting them to work 15 hours for free each year, state that they don't have the right to strike or negotiate pay. All the while they give themselves 5k extra a year on top of already stupid money for people who don't even have qualifications in their ministerial areas!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I'm off on Friday, gonna barricade the door and stock up on spam in anticipation of the purge type scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Muahahaha wrote: »

As far as I understand it the teachers were prevented by law from protesting or challenging the reduced pay for new entrants, at that time. One of the union heads explained it, several times, last week.

This government is a right wing tyranny. They're getting a bit of a land here with the Gardai.

More insufferable rhetoric from that 18 karat fūckwit Paschal Donohue earlier.

The nurses are getting on board as well. That's 3 vital services people can't do without but the government don't want to pay for.

To the barricades!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

There is nothing Thatcherite about wanting public sector workers to have demands that are in line with what is afordable for the country. The marginal tax rate still exceeds 50% and our public services are bad value.

a good offer ? lost up to 25 percent to pay cuts and new tax, asked for 15 percent back was offered 2 ?

there is money enough to pay for 5000 raises for the political elite but not the ones getting thoer hands dirty nurses and gardai ?

the services are poor ecase of foolish under investment in the first place can you not see that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Extract the poison. What. That would cause me to get extremely angry to be honest, I would be going down the doctor and going on sick leave for a few months. Let alone, the amount it could cost the state with cases of unfair dismissal.

You can't just sack a load of people, there is protocol, you get a warning first etc.. some poxy letter from the CEO isn't going to stop workers striking. But mark my words no one will get sacked, going down that route will cost more money to the state than any pay restoration or rise. I for one woild be marching on the Dail with any group of Garda who get sacked for taking a stand. As that is some serious stone age way of thinking, even considering such action would cause public uproar not matter what your option in the Garda, as it has the potential to set a presence for other employers to just fire staff in bulk as they please.

As a member of the public. I have no problem, with 1. Pay restoration 2. A pay rise 3. Allowing unionisation 4. Allowing them to strike (within reason so we don't have happen what's going to happen on Friday). Of all the people for the government to sit on there hands over these guys are not the ones to do it with.

As for crime rates soaring? You'll get clowns doing a few things, I'll be sticking to the laws with or without Garda telling me to do so. If I was a criminal of any serious magnitude or crime reporter I would be taking a holiday to the UK or staying up north in a hotel, if I was medium I would be staying in the house for the day. Then again these tickos shoot each other when the Garda are on duty and break the law anyway so there will be no change there. I think the vast majority of the Dublin are law abiding with or without the Garda there.

If it's not averted Friday, the justice minister should resign, along with the commissioner and it might even cause the government to collapse.

There's been more than enough time to resolve this and with two days left the government are clearly showing no respect for the Garda along with complete and utter disrespect for state security and it's citizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

hawkelady wrote: »

And a nice pay rise for themselves also. €5k. (Which they only waived after being shamed into)

While they were locked in negotiations for days, literally days about the merits on giving the pensioners a €5er.

Logic alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

What's so bad about it? And you expect the 'service' should improve by punishing the front line providers? You'd like to privatise the guards I'm sure.

An acolyte of O'Brien and an O'Learyite.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    a good offer ? lost up to 25 percent to pay cuts and new tax, asked for 15 percent back was offered 2 ?

there is money enough to pay for 5000 raises for the political elite but not the ones getting thoer hands dirty nurses and gardai ?

the services are poor ecase of foolish under investment in the first place can you not see that?
    Services are poor yet we pay top dollar for them. All the money we spend goes on wages and only a tiny proportion on capital investment - so you tell me how is awarding a pay rise to a teacher nurse or guard going to improve things?

The pay rises for politicians are a complete red herring, and they were awarded under Lansdowne road. Politicians pay is linked to civil service pay.

We all lost money during the recession, some of us even lost our jobs (how many gardai were made redundant?) And we are all slowly working our way back - what makes gardai so special that they get back to 2008 levels while the rest of us pay for it?

The guards have been given a good offer and have rejected it.

What was the good offer?

TallGlass wrote: »
    Extract the poison. What. That would cause me to get extremely angry to be honest, I would be going down the doctor and going on sick leave for a few months. Let alone, the amount it could cost the state with cases of unfair dismissal.

The gardai are different, it's illegal for them to strike and illegal to orchestrate a strike.

I don't think a guard can be in the force whilst also being in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Services are poor yet we pay top dollar for them. All the money we spend goes on wages and only a tiny proportion on capital investment - so you tell me how is awarding a pay rise to a teacher nurse or guard going to improve things?

The pay rises for politicians are a complete red herring, and they were awarded under Lansdowne road. Politicians pay is linked to civil service pay.

We all lost money during the recession, some of us even lost our jobs (how many gardai were made redundant?) And we are all slowly working our way back - what makes gardai so special that they get back to 2008 levels while the rest of us pay for it?

Ah right, private sector sour grapes it is.