Do you ever wonder

• 31-10-2016 10:14PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭

About old school friends or just people you spent the same class/School with, what became of them? who's no longer alive and if not how did they die?.....especially for those in their 30's/40's not recent school leavers, often find myself thinking about this don't know why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Maybe once in a blue moon. Very rare though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

I do wonder the odd time, but never worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Why people have started these sh/tty clickbaiting thread titles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

sonofenoch wrote: »
    About old school friends or just people you spent the same class/School with, what became of them? who's no longer alive and if not how did they die?.....especially for those in their 30's/40's not recent school leavers, often find myself thinking about this don't know why

Yeah, the odd time. Usually Facebook can answer most questions. I'm still in touch with lots of people I was in primary school with. Less so those from secondary school.

I do wonder about the ones that I haven't heard from in years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Not really, to be honest. I'm in contact with one person I went to kindergarden and primary school with, but other than that I've no contact with anyone from school or university. I'm not really wondering about them, either, otherwise I'd probably get into contact with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I don't really, but I do think of a fella (not really a mate as we were only work friends) I worked with in the local supervalu when we were teenagers who died 11 years ago. It was one of those teenage heart things you hear about.

I hadn't heard or seen him in a few years and the next thing I hear is that he passed away.

Again we weren't close but I do think of him and his family on occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not really. I left school about 55 years ago and made many friends since. I meet school friends occasionally but most are now strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

I went to private school. I meet most of the people I went with once a month up in the gout clinic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

I used to the odd time, before facebook was invented. It's easy enough to find people now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

People's lives often move off in very different directions.

We used to have five year reunions. TBH after the second one, I just got fed up with people saying how wonderful they were and all that jazz.

I could have bought and sold them, but I kept my counsel.

School, like college, and like work when you retire is all done and dusted. You move on to a new phase in life.

I am no lover of nostalgia, it is usually rose tinted in the rear view mirror anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I talk to the ones I like and the rest of them could drop dead for all I care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Nah, listening to dickheads I didn't like 10 years ago attempt to boast about their painfully mediocre lives is not how I like to spend my time. Play golf with a couple of lads I liked from school but that's the height of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Why people have started these sh/tty clickbaiting thread titles?

The Responses WILL SHOCK YOU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I went to a big school so there were a lot in my LC year, I'm only aware of one that has died there may be others but it is a small number in any case. That's not surprising as actuarial life tables would predict that approx 2-3 out of every 100 18 year olds would be dead by age 40.

I'm not in touch with anyone from school and haven't been since school and have heard nothing about any reunions (wouldn't go anyway). I do occasionally browse facebook and linkedin public profiles to see what they're at though. By age 40 it becomes apparent how age affects people differently, how good looking people can get noticeably worse while others can improve, how some people do far better in their careers than you would have predicted while others do worse.

School is about 20 years ago for me. It makes me think of the song and video 74-75 by The Connells. It was first recorded about 20 years after those people graduated from high school and then again after another 20 years (there were deaths in the second period)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Shenshen wrote: »
    I went to kindergarden

Well la di da. All I got was fecking playschool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Bumped into a guy I went to school with today in tesco,ain't spoke to him in about 15 years.

He started telling me he is a born again Christian,his wife then asked me if myself and my wife had jebus In our lives! I said no but we do have a puppy,I left shortly after the awkward silence. I only went in to buy pasta for fcuk sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'm only in touch with one or two guys who were in school with me. I didn't have a brilliant time in secondary school - I endured quite a lot of bullying - so I don't have very fond memories of school days although I liked primary school.

One of the guys who bullied me popped up as a "people you may know" on Facebook. I'd hardly want to put in a friend request although that was 25 years ago. School is long ago in my past and I've long since moved on.

On the other hand, I made quite a few good friends in college and to this day we're still good friends. I intend to remain friends with them. One college friend turned out to be an egotist and I cut them out of my life but the others are great pals.

But the longer you are out of school, the more you realise that school is just a brief phase in your life and its the friends who stay loyal and true to you that really matter.:) It's hard to see that at 18 but at 41, I have a good sense of perspective now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Notsomindful

Yeah a bit. I keep bumping into people from school who remember me.

A few years ago, i learned a girl from primary school died of an aneurysm and it shocked me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

I went to a re-union about ten years ago.
    A good few of my old chums had joined the Guards. (Two were Officers, Inspectors I think)
    They arrived dressed in uniform and wrapped in arrogance.
    They spoke to nobody but each other all day.
    They all departed at the same time (when the free grub and free drink were gone) without as much as a goodbye to the rest of us.

One lad had fallen on hard times since I'd last met him. (Drink) A mere shell of the fine man he once was, but I spent most of the day in his jovial company. Chronic Alcoholic he may have been, but at least he'd not forgotten his old friends, or his manners.
    Two more were in 'the clink' but sent their best wishes via their wives!
    Some had emigrated to USA, Australia and Canada.
    Several had passed away young, and I hadn't heard, which was a shock to learn at the time.

I found the whole re-union thing a sad experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

I went to my 20 year reunion. I had a bit of rose tinted view of the people I went to school with. We all seemed to be great pals in school but very few stayed in touch. The friendships at school were very superficial. I didn't bother going to the 25 year reunion and won't be going to the 30th either.
    No one has died.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 63,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Crea wrote: »
    I went to my 20 year reunion. I had a bit of rose tinted view of the people I went to school with. We all seemed to be great pals in school but very few stayed in touch. The friendships at school were very superficial. I didn't bother going to the 25 year reunion and won't be going to the 30th either.
    No one has died.

I have never kept in contact tbh, bullying and some other issues but i do know what some are doing due to the 'Mammy evening post'
    I'm amazed that after 25 years there has been no deaths in your group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I went to a school reunion about 15 years ago in London about 30 years after I had left school. Out of about 90 in our year, four had died, one cancer, one run over by a bus, one motorbike accident one some other illness.

One had become head of Reuters news agency in Washington DC and had a photo of himself with Bush on Air Force One. I was quite impressed to be honest. The others were mostly accountants or managers.

One guy told me that he hadn't had a very good life, so I asked him:

"Was everything else all right?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Nomis21 wrote: »
    One guy told me that he hadn't had a very good life, so I asked him:

"Was everything else all right?"

I'm sorry, you have lost me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Is this not what FB is for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I couldn't name most of them now, never mind wonder about them.

FB has helped me look up some of the hot ones whose names I remember and see how they are doing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

This happened to me just the other day. I was reading an article online about the 20th anniversary of the Tomb Raider game. It was a nostalgia trip and I remembered the lad I sat beside in Irish class back in 1996 because he banged on about Tomb Raider incessantly. He wasn't a friend of mine really, but I remembered his name and knew whereabouts he was from, but I'd never even thought about him in 17/18 years.
    2 minutes on google and I know where he works, and that he's not long married.

We take it for granted now but t'internet is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I think of one guy every time I hear of a school shooting in America. His name was Cormac. He was very intelligent and very quiet, keeping to himself a lot of the time, but school kids, being the mean arseholes that they are, used to push his buttons and make him go bezerk. It got to the point where people would joke about him, to his face, bringing a machine gun into school and slaughtering every single one of us.

I didn't know Cormac one bit. He was in my year, not my class, but I got the chance to know him during a school trip to Connemara. There was some orienteering exercise and the two of us were paired together. I remember my group of friends, in unison, making that noise when it was announced we'd be together. You know the noise lads make when a teacher pulls a kid out of class or something - the 'You're f*cked now' noise. That must've been really hard for the bloke.

I was never nice to him, but then again I was absolutely never mean to the guy either. I just had zero interactions with him in the four years that we shared a school, which is odd because we got on really well during our orienteering adventure. If either one of us was gay, we would've ****ed each other in the forest. It was that kind of Brokeback Mountain vibe.

I think I'm pretty intelligent now, but I had zero confidence at the time with regards to academics. I thought I was thick more or less, but I contributed a lot to our game and he'd give me nice words of encouragement which felt great.

We probably never had another conversation after that, but we'd acknowledge one another in the form of a smile and a nod if we passed each other in between classes and stuff. He was a good guy and I hope he's done well for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I still meet up from time to time with 3/4 lads I was in school with. 25 years on now. On the other hand, they're lads I grew up with from nappies. I know nothing of anybody else I was arbitrarily placed with on the 1st day of 1st year. I'm not really interested. I hope life has been good to them, but I'm not really interested in actively finding out if it has. I haven't gone to any reunions. I've enough people already, thanks. Don't need to be reintroducing extras from seasons 12-17!