Spontaneous holiday?

• 31-10-2016 12:25PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

Took a mad notion last night of going somewhere, I'm in the BA first class lounge at Heathrow now heading for Berlin. Have you ever just said feck it and fecked off somewhere? How did it work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Took a mad notion last night of going somewhere, I'm in the BA first class lounge at Heathrow now heading for Berlin. Have you ever just said feck it and fecked off somewhere? How did it work out.

Aww Jesus , we're gonna have a monologue of your adventures till you get back.
    Is there turf and the piss you drink in Berlin ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aww Jesus , we're gonna have a monologue of your adventures till you get back.
    Is there turf and the piss you drink in Berlin ?

I don't know how the internet works out foreign so you'll be safe enough.

Na, no turf or Tennent's but you know what they say about being in Rome. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

I'd love to do that! Enjoy man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Thats amazing! Even though you're a complete stranger it made me genuinely happy to hear this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Fair play. Not quite the same thing as I already had plans to be away but had two flights cancelled last year at last minute so instead of going home and cursing the French air controllers or the weather just drove from airport to Achill and Wicklow respectively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Myself and a mate went off to Sweden on a whim about 11 years ago. Probably had more money thsn sense at the time. Ever hear of a town called Umeå?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Got steamed one night. Next morning 5 of us had booked flights to Chernobyl (well, Kiev, with the intention of Chernobyl)

We went :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

nkav86 wrote: »
    I'd love to do that! Enjoy man

Nah, may he feck off, making us all jealous with talk of first class lounges and holidays and the like.

I hope it pisses rain the whole time, Germany is struck with a sudden beer drought and he gets a vicious bout of Delhi Berlin Belly

Harrumph!

My oul lad used to collect Komatsu diggers in Umea years ago, believe it or not. That's about all I know of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

maudgonner wrote: »
    Nah, may he feck off, making us all jealous with talk of first class lounges and holidays and the like.

I hope it pisses rain the whole time, Germany is struck with a sudden beer drought and he gets a vicious bout of Delhi Berlin Belly

Harrumph!

Thread title has a question mark so I assumed he was looking to bring one of us with him. I think you can save yourself trying to remember where you left the passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

First class lounge?

We'll, la di da, Mr.posh head.

Seriously, enjoy it dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Collie D wrote: »
    Thread title has a question mark so I assumed he was looking to bring one of us with him. I think you can save yourself trying to remember where you left the passport.

Sniff. It's fine. I'll just sit here wallowing in my misery. Waiting to go back to work tomorrow. Or death, whichever comes first. Sob...

First class lounge?

We'll, la di da, Mr.posh head.

Seriously, enjoy it dude.

It's not even that great, it's a major disappointment actually, there's this big sideboard full of drinks, fancy brandies and such, but nobody's drinking them, I'm not going near them till somebody else goes first, the whole place will think I'm an alco!!

Is it free booze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

My friends used to say about me "she could go out for milk and end up in spain".

Haven't done anything spontaneous in ages and nothing really that mad generally but have had a few unplanned small trips.

Once left Dublin intending to go to bruges but ended up in Amsterdam.

Friend was having a halloween party in glasgow that I had said I wouldn't go to but booked a flight the morning of it and showed up as a surprise.

Booked a trip to the rugby world cup the day before the game.

Booked New York drunk.

Decided two weeks before to go to Boston for Paddy's weekend.

I'm sure there were more I can't think of.

Bit of fun if you have the money for it!

Is it free booze?

Yep, everything's free, I just saw a woman the spit of Yoko Ono walk out with a fancy armchair

Just grab some wine. No designated drinking times in airports.

Wohoo, sombody just went up to the drinks dresser, it's all downhill from here folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Taking the phrase "take a seat" a bit too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I've made quick decisions on weekends home alright but that's probably different.

A friend's sister wouldn't plan a holiday, instead would rock up to the airport and ask if there were any cancellations on a package holiday, she'd often get a week away in Tenerife and those places for peanuts, as she'd fill in on their booking. Would get the whole thing for cheap as chips too. It may have taken her a trip or two to the airport but she'd get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Yes but not abroad. We go on lots of spontaneous drives. I went up to N.I for a weekend and the hotel owner who was on reception was so suspicious and nosy and clearly didn't believe I'd just come up by my self on a whim that I started suspecting myself of being up to something nefarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I don't know how the internet works out foreign so you'll be safe enough.

Thought you said you were going to Berlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

God, I'd love to do that! At work at the moment and am completely allergic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

That's cool! Fair play to you. I'd love to be that spontaneous sometimes...

How long will you stay for? Are you winging it for accommodation too?
    Very jealous. Enjoy.

HiGlo wrote: »
    That's cool! Fair play to you. I'd love to be that spontaneous sometimes...

How long will you stay for? Are you winging it for accommodation too?
    Very jealous. Enjoy.

Back on Thursday, I'm staying at the zoo, well, beside the zoo, only 50 Euro a night, no breakfast, but I think they like sausages in Germany so I should be grand for something to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You couldn't have picked a better city tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Best city in Europe by a mile. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Back on Thursday, I'm staying at the zoo, well, beside the zoo, only 50 Euro a night, no breakfast, but I think they like sausages in Germany so I should be grand for something to eat.

Eh, I don't think the German sausages are like Dennys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Went to Paris for the day back in February. Booked the flights the night before for 54 euro return. The most action packed 10 hours in Paris ever. Went up the Arc De Triomphe, stopped off at Invalides and the Pantheon to visit some famous dead people, on to lunch where we dined like kings for less than 20 quid, went to Nicholas Flamels house, had ice cream in Berthillon, got drunk, wandered around the Marais, figured it would be a great idea to go to Montmarte, watched Paris light up at the sacre Coeur and then had to rush for the flight in Beauvais.

Got on the plane and just as we are about to take off, flight is cancelled due to some damage being noticed on the outside of the plane. Off the plane and queue up for an hour, only to be told that accommodation in Beauvais is booked out for the night and that we will have to stay in the terminal.
    So bed for the night was a yoga mat and a tin foil blanket that you'd see on people after being rescued in the med. And the most annoying announcement every 20 mins, first in french then in english, telling us not to leave luggage unattended :mad:

Got back into Dublin the next morning around 10 and onto work, which was a struggle. A few weeks later though, 250 euro arrived from Ryanair arrived in my account as a form of compensation.

So can you go to Paris for the day? Yes. Recommended? yes....but bring a phone charger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I think they say......"Thank fúck we don't drink Tennent's píss water here."