Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

Well done to everyone. Some great running out there today. I'm really happy with it. I found it very emotional..and I'm not usually an emotional
    Person. I won't be making it to pub with you all. I am sipping a pint, but in O Neills. Looking out for NOP and Firedance helped me get through a few miles..as I had forgotten where they were going to be. Didn't see them in the end.

Enjoy the well earned pints now lads. 3 miles recovery in the morning...anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Massive well done to you all guys, I"m over the moon to see you achieve you dream. Delighted to have seen some of you today at the bag drop, on the course or in McGrattans. Celebrate! This your moment!

You are marathon runners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Well I missed my target time by 20 minutes, but I resigned myself to plan C at about 16 miles as the 4hr pacers slipped away. I actually choked up and had tears in my eyes in the last 500m!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Well done everyone today, we ran a marathon and should be so proud of ourselves :-)

I cant thank Nop, Firedance, Singer and co enough for all their advice and support, we couldnt have done it without you!!

Also, I didnt get a chance to thank the sub 4 pacers today, they were incredible, brilliantly even pace throughout and their encouragement at the finish line to get the rest of us over in time was just brilliant. I can't believe I actually made that target, those last 4 miles were the hardest thing I have ever done in my life but that support from the crowd in the last 3 miles was so uplifting, the crowd were incredible throughout but boy did I need them in the last 3!!

What an experience, very tough day, I have two huge blisters, I can barely walk but im beaming :-)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Well done everyone. What a day. The support was simply INCREDIBLE. Take a bow Dublin city and suburbs.

Plan B for me. Was fairly close to hitting the goal but had an awful last 3 miles with walk run mixture. Still 42 mins off my only other marathon in 2013 so I'm thrilled about that.

Will post up more details over the next few days but thanks SO much Nop and Co and we'll done all. Enjoy the well earned pints tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Well I can honestly say that was the hardest and most rewarding thing I have ever done....I was an emotional wreck at the end to be honest!

What an atmosphere.....unbelievable!

Was cramping badly for the last 6 miles and had to take a good few walk breaks.

A massive well f*cking done to you all we are now marathon runners!!! Sorry I couldn't make the pints but I hope you enjoyed them!

Massive massive thanks again nop and his support crew this has been an absolute blast!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 doozerydoo

That was 26.2 miles of mental torture for me, I did enjoy it for the most part but I was in my own head for too much of it. I'm surprised but delighted with my time. It's true what they say that your run the second half with your mind. I ran the first half too fast despite telling myself all week "it's the pace that kills you, not the distance!!". We live and learn, I guess. Still a happy woman though.
    A massive well done to everyone today,regardless of your finishing time, it's such a massive achievement. There aren't many people who can say they've ran a marathon, but you all can now! The months of hard work and training and putting your life on hold have paid off and you have the medal and the t-shirt to prove it!
    I'll try put a race report together over the next few days, for now it's guilt free pints of Guinness and pizza this evening!
    Massive thanks again to the mentors and everyone that was out supporting today, the crowd really does carry you along the way!
    We brought it home, lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Well done guys! It's a fantastic achievement and I felt just as emotional as last year crossing that line. I got awful cramp around mile 20 so had to drop back to my LSR pace to keep going but still knocked 20 mins off last year. The support was even better than last year, probably due to the better weather. I'm saying not again next year but I'd love to it again and really get my best as I was on track for 4:14 before the cramp cost me 13 mins!

From reading a lot of reports, there was a lot of cramp this year, more than I recall reading about last year. Hotter weather a factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Goal time 4.30
    Actual time 4.32

Maybe tomorrow I will care about those two minutes, but not today. After 3 years of trying I finally got the monkey of my back and ran a marathon. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Jesus I'm wrecked, had to wait for a friend's sister who came in around the 6 hour mark so didn't make the pub. By the time I got to my wave it just started and I was behind the 4hr pacers by a min so decided that was the new goal and stupid me decided to overtake them after chapelizod.

They had the last laugh, tough last 6 miles with cramping on the hamstrings and calves.

Us tall 6ft 4 guys aren't made for marathons! Will post more race report tomorrow, think that one beer has gone to my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Well done to you all on your achievements today! You're marathoners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭robinwing

Did anybody see the french guy carrying the Eiffel tower on his head ? I stayed with the 4hr ballons till the 12 mile mark then blew a partial headgasket , but it was a fabulous experience ! the crowd participation was just great !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

robinwing wrote:
    Did anybody see the french guy carrying the Eiffel tower on his head ? I stayed with the 4hr ballons till the 12 mile mark then blew a partial headgasket , but it was a fabulous experience ! the crowd participation was just great !

Passed him at Ballyfermot, turned to give him a clap and a cheer and he looked absolutely wrecked. Strikingly miserable. Tough going. Hope he got home ok.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

robinwing wrote: »

I'm told that was made of metal, it looked seriously heavy on him. Some job getting around 26.2 miles with that on! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

OMY God Guys We are Marathon Runners. I had a blast today , Enjoyed every stride of it, Revalutaed to get home when I realised i needed to and before I got into difficulties, I wouldnt have known to do that but for NOP and his crew here , Today I really realised how well prepared I was both Physicall and Mentally, Thank You guys you helped turn a Couch Potato Into a marathon runner.

Home now and very emotional so I'll switch off and spare you any more of my guff, I shall be publishing a race report over the next few days, Ill keep it brief, Ha Ha.

Oh Finished in 5:04:38
    Safrongirl wrote: »
    Omg I am a marathoner - still can't believe it - it was fantastic from start to finish thanks to the pacers who pushed us on - cannot move now - back in hotel having a lovely coffee

Really Nice sharing a few miles with you today, I caugh bback up with teh 4.40m pacers in the park but i couldnt see you. Well do
    ne I enjoyed the chat , who Knows might see you in Newcastle.

kin9pin wrote: »
    Well I missed my target time by 20 minutes, but I resigned myself to plan C at about 16 miles as the 4hr pacers slipped away. I actually choked up and had tears in my eyes in the last 500m!

I reevaluated around there too and reverted to Plan c.
    tony1980 wrote: »
    Well done everyone today, we ran a marathon and should be so proud of ourselves :-)

I cant thank Nop, Firedance, Singer and co enough for all their advice and support, we couldnt have done it without you!!

Also, I didnt get a chance to thank the sub 4 pacers today, they were incredible, brilliantly even pace throughout and their encouragement at the finish line to get the rest of us over in time was just brilliant. I can't believe I actually made that target, those last 4 miles were the hardest thing I have ever done in my life but that support from the crowd in the last 3 miles was so uplifting, the crowd were incredible throughout but boy did I need them in the last 3!!

What an experience, very tough day, I have two huge blisters, I can barely walk but im beaming :-)
    I am so happy for your Tony, Throughly deserved with the way you went about training and handled the injury which had the potential to take you out.
    Sorry I missed you in Mc Grattans if you made it there, we;ll have to make more solid arrangements at Jingle bells if we have recovered for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

WELL DONE NOVICES!! You are all now officially Marathon runners;)

I was near the 16 mile mark before the KCR handing out Jelly Babies to shattered runners for a much needed sugar kick.

I too, thought that it was quite warm at times today, so I'd say it was a little tougher than normal, so don't be too hard on yourself if you didn't hit your time, as your first marathon is a bit of unknown as nothing can really prepare you for the last 6 miles of the DCM.

Yep, I saw the guy with the Eiffel Tower on his shoulders at 16 miles in, he looked like he was just getting out of a swimming pool he was that wet....:eek:

I saw diego_b as well, looking good with the pacers and he gave me a shout out as did a few Boardies when flying past me.

Great job Pacers, great buzz of excitement around you when you all went past!

Nop, Firedance......et al.......Top Marks on a great thread....I have the DCM buzz again after watching the heroic Novices and Graduates today....is DCM 2017 open yet??? :pac::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Had a nightmare out there today with multiple disasters, I suppose one of us had to. Feeling extremely disappointed right now but there were lessons learned. Hard to talk about it at the noment, I need to digest it but there will be a report in the next couple of days.

Well done all, lots of great work done today I hope you're all proud of yourselves and enjoying the aftermath! Couldn't make it to the pub because I was in bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

smashiner wrote: »

I was near the 16 mile mark before the KCR handing out Jelly Babies to shattered runners for a much needed sugar kick.

I too, thought that it was quite warm at times today, so I'd say it was a little tougher than normal, so don't be too hard on yourself if you didn't hit your time, as your first marathon is a bit of unknown as nothing can really prepare you for the last 6 miles of the DCM.

Yep, I saw the guy with the Eiffel Tower on his shoulders at 16 miles in, he looked like he was just getting out of a swimming pool he was that wet....:eek:

I saw Diego_B as wel, looking good with the pacers and he gave me a shout out as did a few Boardies when flying past.

Great job Pacers, great buzz of excitement around you when you all went past!

Nop, Firedance......et al.......Top Marks on a great thread....I have the DCM buzz again after watching the heroic Novices and Graduates today....is DCM 2017 open yet??? :pac::D:D:D

I was one of those boardsies! You had no idea who I was :) Thanks for supporting, it really makes the marathon.

Well done everyone, even if you didn't reach your goal you can now call yourself a marathoner and not many people can say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Had a nightmare out there today with multiple disasters, I suppose one of us had to. Feeling extremely disappointed right now but there were lessons learned. Hard to talk about it at the noment, I need to digest it but there will be a report in the next couple of days.

Well done all, lots of great work done today I hope you're all proud of yourselves and enjoying the aftermath! Couldn't make it to the pub because I was in bits!

I've been there (multiple times) trust me, you will learn from it and be eager to make it right the next time. Sometimes we just have an off day, nothing we can do sometimes.

Well done on your achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Sorry to hear that. I was surprised when I saw your time. Hope you're still proud of yourself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,237 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Have to cover someone in work tonight, will apologise to my other colleague I'm on with as my brain is slightly out of sync with normality. :pac:

Great day
    Great atmosphere and support
    Great novicing
    Great to talk to the pacers and recognise some other novices
    Great to talk to yiz in McGrattans

We are now graduates of the Church of nop. :D

Ah Max Really sorry it didn't work out as you hoped but what an achievnment to finish your first Marathon and in a great time wheter you see it that way or not .

Try not to be too hard on yourself, There are so many positives to take from today for all of us irrespective of times, We all finished , even on my run in 40 minutes after you there were better runners than me really in trouble.

Reevaluate you day max, you only have one first marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Didn't hit target A but just got in for target B, 4:09:48...was bang on target at 30k but the last 8k was absolute torture, I wasn't sure I could finish with the way my leg and hip were feeling, I thought my leg was going to collapse and I had visions of an ambulance drive and was actually quite scared for a while :( Very happy that I did finish. Felt very unwell for about 2 hours afterwards. Delighted to meet some of you in McGrattans and I cannot thank Nop and Firedance and all contributors enough for getting me to where I am today....a marathon runner :) So happy that today went well for us, even if we didn't all hit our targets, we all finished and we are all ok :) Race report will follow in the next day or so. Thanks everyone :)

Was that you with the boards Novice Sign , If so you gave me a big shout which was brilliant Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

I was near the 16 mile mark before the KCR handing out Jelly Babies to shattered runners for a much needed sugar kick

Was that you with the "Go Boards Novices" sign smashiner? I gave out a Go Novices shout as I passed by, same to Nop and Firedance at Clonskeagh. Also spotted denis_b out supporting at the corner turning into Clonskeagh Road (God how I hate that road!!)

Well done Novices, like another 2015 grad mentioned above, I was also a bit emotional at the finish line, knowing you've given 110% to do something so damn hard, it's a very proud moment, eh!

Whatever happened today Max you have done one thing....become a marathon runner and what an achievement that is regardless of your time.

The past few months training and today has made me respect marathon runners ever more than I did in the past! Looks like we all got round in one piece.

Don't get down on yourself after everything that you have achieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Congratulations all the heroes who took part!

Well done to you all on your achievements today! You're marathoners!!

Thanks for the Flapjack In Mc Grattans C, It was very welcome at that time.

What was in them I'm up and down stairs no problem, wasn't expecting that or is it tomorrow I'll have the stairs thing?

Also thanks to all the boardies on here who either paced or volunteered throughout the course today....without you all this great event could not take place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

My Garmin is telling me I ran 26.4 miles today