Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Year 4: "It's a game of inches"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck tomorrow Myles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

+1 to all the good wishes above. If good will counts you will have no problem tomorrow!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Delighted for you L :) hope I didn't frighten the life out of you on the Clonskeagh Road, I thought I"d missed you so got a bit overexcited when I realised I hadn't :D:D

Really looking forward to your race report! Congrats and well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Not a bad debut Luke :)
    Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Great going, well done. Hope you enjoyed the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Well done, that's a fantastic time. Enjoy the recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Firedance wrote: »
    Delighted for you L :) hope I didn't frighten the life out of you on the Clonskeagh Road, I thought I"d missed you so got a bit overexcited when I realised I hadn't :D:D

Really looking forward to your race report! Congrats and well done.

Not at all was great to have support there as that was the beginning of the end haha

Mon 5 miles easy (7.56 min/m)
    Tues 4 miles easy (7.53 min/m)
    Wed 4 miles (2@MP)
    Thurs 4 miles easy (8.11 min/m)
    Friday 3 miles easy (8.27 min/m)
    Saturday 2 miles (800m @ MP)
    Sunday D(CM) Day - 1 x 26.2 miles @ MP no recovery:D

Fairly uneventful week itching to pull the trigger. Wednesday the watch decided to have a bit of the taper madness as I didn't manage to hit MP despite feeling like 5k effort but all and all ready to go for the big day. Report to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Mon 5 miles easy (7.56 min/m)
    Tues 4 miles easy (7.53 min/m)
    Wed 4 miles (2@MP)
    Thurs 4 miles easy (8.11 min/m)
    Friday 3 miles easy (8.27 min/m)
    Saturday 2 miles (800m @ MP)
    Sunday D(CM) Day - 1 x 26.2 miles @ MP no recovery:D

Fairly uneventful week itching to pull the trigger. Wednesday the watch decided to have a bit of the taper madness as I didn't manage to hit MP despite feeling like 5k effort but all and all ready to go for the big day. Report to follow.

Made the coffee before clicking in - will have to wait another while for the details I see :rolleyes: Congratulations on a great time - enjoy the recovery :)

Background

So After about 5 years of threatening to and one false start training for Rotterdam in 2014 I finally got around to a marathon for once. Training had gone well and felt I was as strong as I had ever been though 2 things had played on my mind during the taper.

1) I had only ran 2 races since July; Frank Duffy 10 mile which aside from the weather conditions was not fully satisfied with and a 6k Cross country race where I felt stuck in 2nd gear the whole way around, a sign of strength but had me worried about the mental strength of digging in when things started getting tough on the day

2) Best well laid out plans and all that. My training between one thing and another only looking about 70% like what I had originally planned between one things and another and ended up being a little lighter on mileage that I had originally intended (in particular on long time on feet easy runs.

The Race

I was eerily calm the night before and slept like a baby. Taxi in with Subzero from the novice thread here (super run again man fair play) made in plenty of time and got going.

Lined up beside theboyblunder with a bit of a chat before the race and was still not bricking it, perhaps the fact you ease into the first few miles had me tricked into a less "go like the clappers when the gun goes" mentality. 1st 600m I was just trying to settle in a bit of bobbing and weaving behind the selfie brigade who were right up the front of the wave so they could get a better pic of the crowd behind them :mad:. At about 400m I started to hear a unanimous grumbling and abuse and soon saw why; a motor bike right on the course, managed to avoid and someone had hopped on in mean time to move it.

Bumped into one of the lads from the club (funny enough his brother use to coach me) just before 1 mile. Hadn't ran with him once this cycle of training but knew he was aiming for about 2.43 so I thought that would be perfect to keep me from losing the head for the first half of the race. Bit surprised when the first mile was bang on pace but figured could be with being flat and next one down hill so I figured no harm especially as I would start losing a bit of time on the climbs. First two mile were 6.01, 5.58

From here the start had settled down and groups started forming and there were about 8-10 of us by the sounds of it all aiming for around the 2.40-2.43 range. I hadn't run the Stoneybatter section of the race but knew it was a sharp climb so I sat off the back of the group feeling very controlled. cam onto North Circular and a shout from Dublin Runner (second on of the day so I was already getting signs of the sheer support around the course

Into the park and a few Northie runners and a few of the Irish elite women were pushing ahead a bit though I was sitting off knowing the long drag up chesterfield. The plan had been that I would still be in a very good place if I was about a min -90 seconds off pace by the time I got to Castleknock however with the next 4 miles reading 6.18, 6.02, 6.01, 6.01 the only mile in the whole marathon that I had been off pace was the climb at Stoneybatter.

At this stage despite telling me to kick on a few times the lad from the club was still there and we were working well together. Took on gel here and used the downhills as a reprieve though I was moving well and feeling very controlled. Miles 7-10 ~ 6.02, 5.49, 5.54, 5.52

Sarsfield road and I knew I was gonna slow or pay the price and given the fact that I was a good bit ahead of where I had planned I really did back off up the hill but the pace didn't drop too much - 6.08 (I guess them runs home from work up by Mount Anville were kicking in as hills were fine) Shout out from Duanington here and I was feeling real chipper at where I was and how I was feeling. Was also getting a good front row view to the battle for the Irish womens title as I was with Graham and Ross at this point.

Came around to Kilmainham and had a bit of a shock. As soon as I rounded the corned got a blast of the sun in all its glory for the first time in the race as it reflected off the road surface. It was alot warmer than I had thought and I panicked a little thinking I may not have taken on as much water as maybe I should (few swigs consistently but like one mouthful or a gargle mostly per bottle) From here decided to pop a zero tab, this was definitely one element of my training where I got caught on the hop. alot of fumbling trying to open the wrapper and get it into the bottle had the group gain about 15-20m on my (club mate included) but I didn't drop pace, and from here took the whole 250ml bottle of the mixture over the space of the last 1.5 miles.

Next was the drag up Crumlin Road and the half way mark and came through the Gantry with the clock reading 1.19.11, I knew I was well on pace but this put it into exact context and I was still feeling like I was just ready to pull the trigger which was a great feeling especially and groups had thinned to single file stretched up the road but I was still hitting pace without feeling like I was working too hard. Next few miles rattled off fairly consistently. Miles 12-15 - 6.00, 5.57, 6.02,6.03.

Hit Walkinstown and I was now on the part of the course that i knew like the back of my hand and the part of the course most of my training was done on. The lad from the club at this point decided to back off a little while I kicked on. Made fair big mistake here missing a gel I was planning on getting as I thought the gel station was further on but only realised after that the water station was handing out the gels to, but it was too late (wasn't struggling with it though and took on very little in training so figured might be alright without it. Miles 16-18 ~ 5.57, 6.00, 6.02

Had been running the last few miles with a lad from Mullingar who seemed to be pushing on from a conservative first half and coming down past Rathgar and through the water station I got a ping of electricity that sent fear through my body, twinge of cramp i the hamstring, gone as quick as it came but I knew it was too early in the race for that and knew it was a bad sign. Coming down Orwell I backed off a bit and took on a Zero tab. This was somewhere in the course where I knew time could be made but figured hold pace, ease effort I may prolong the inevitable. It worked, for a time till I got to the climb at milltown and another dart. At this stage the hills were doing the worst of it so if I could get over that I would be good. Coming around by Clonskeagh and a big shout out from Firedance, which was badly given I looked at the incline to come and knew that there was no respite for the cramping now. Miles 19-21 ~ 6.05, 6.11, 6.21.

From here I knew I was done as I started seeing the pace climbing while I went backwards, thoughts now were just get around. I still was well under 2.40 pace and with only 4 miles to go I can still get there as I just needed to get over heartbreak hill and hopefully the decline back into town would get me back on track pace wise as aside from the cramps I was feeling good (although I was taking on gels, lucozade, water and anything else I could get my hands on. 22 miles in 6.40 was hell but I was over the hills for pretty much the last time on the course and the pace then started creeping down again with a 6.29

At this stage though there was no management of it even I was running like John wayne if he was a severe heel striker, hamstring gone, calf gone, groin going I was in a world of hurt that wouldnt end with a 6.37 despite the downhill coming by RTE.

Next two miles were a death march and knew that The A goal was gone, followed shortly by the B goal but even if I walked I should get the sub 2.45 and Berlin Qualifier for next year. Kept expecting the club mate to come by my but in the end it was theboyblunder who came barrelling by me. Forced to stop sad stretch for a few seconds just before 25 miles as the cramps fully locked in and was about to tear a muscle if continued. Miles 24,25 - 7.08,7.11 Helped and bit and got going again and managed to just about get over the line.

Not the prettiest way to run it but finished in...

2.43.03 official

Afterthoughts

Overall despite not getting the time I wanted I was happy Even though I trained for this as best I could it was always in my mind that this was about getting my marathon legs under me. I made mistakes in training and in the race itself but felt I was in great nick and probably did myself in with being a bit agressive in first half but felt good and put it on the line and don't regret that, whether it was hydration or the race approach I am not sure but one thing is sure, I came away from it hungry to do another one so as of this morning I am Berlin bound next year. in the mean time it will be about recovering, gettiing back out on the mud and back to basics to have me in great shape to go into another marathon cycle in 8-9 months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Although you are a hugely experienced runner, I think everyone (regardless of ability) learns a lot from their first time 'racing' a marathon and the vast majority will greatly improve their time in their next attempt. Considering that to be the case and knowing how meticulous you are in your approach, I can see you destroying that time on a much more favourable course in Berlin next year. Look forward to watching the build up.

Not taking anything away from Sunday's time by the way.
    Absolutely savage effort!

Suppose I should update this.

Mon OFF
    Tues 20 min light spinning (below 130 bpm)
    Wed AM 20 min light spinning PM 2 miles rec (8.50 min/m)
    Thurs 3.2 miile rec (9.07 min/m)
    Fri 4.1 mile rec (9.40 min/m)
    Sat AM 45 min S & C PM 3.2 (9.12 min/m)
    Sun AM 3.4 miles rec (8.46 min/m) PM 3 miles (9.44 min/m)

Total mileage: 19.2 miles

Despite what it looks like this was all about recovery and down time. All runs were done simply as easy as possible to help aid recovery. Also spent 90 min in recovery boots on a daily basis. Truth be told the marathon had the body absolutely shot for a couple of days and only started coming around about Thursday.

Had planned to start up on gym work the following week as its long been neglected but the OH was signing up this week so figured would be good to see if could try and establish a routine of going together to keep each other honest as I tend to not be as consistent as I should. As such decided to forget about wait and just work on technique of lifts doing bar only. Didn't help too much as the CNS was fried by the end and the DOMS Sunday morning was back to post marathon levels.

Plan for the rest of the winter is to keep things simple, keep training going without being specific and get stronger and work on weaknesses.

Format will be pretty simple - 3 sessions a week (Hills, LT reps, MP long tempos) a long run and 3 weight sessions a week and aim to try and get that done week in and week out till January

Dublin Intermediates Cross will be the main race before Christmas and signed up for Dungarvan 10 in the new year which will probably be the turning point for more specific work.

Mon AM 4.1 easy (8.17 min/m) PM 4.5 easy (7.41 min/m)
    Tues 8x1 min hills (3 min rec) -10.7 total daily
    Wed 9 easy (7.47 min/m)
    Thurs AM 2x6 min LT w/ 2 min rec PM 4 easy (7.53 min/m)
    Fri 5 easy (7.48 min/m)
    Sat AM 5 mile MP Effort PM 3 easy (8.19 min/m)
    Sun 11 easy (7.46 min/m)

Total Weekly Mileage - 63.3 miles

Strength Work
    Mon PM - Upper Body - 45 min
    Thurs AM - Posterior Chain - 60 min
    Sat AM - Lower Body - 45 min

And we are back!!!

Not quite full training just yet but back into normal routine this week with shorter sessions. Tuesday had the benefit of company for a dark miserable morning in the form of Dublinrunner. Thankfully the recoveries were chunky for this as lungs were burning and the legs were wobbly for first few as it is the fastest I have ran since around May, will probably take a while to get a bit of zip back in the legs.

Thursdays session did not go to plan, this was not fitness related however as I was moving well but simply I pre programmed the session for 2 reps instead of 4. Kinda reminded myself its still only 11 days since Marathon so might be a blessing in disguise getting a light session done with touching on paces without working too hard so kept it short.

Saturday's session and legs were still screaming from the gym Thursday and given this was early one (I don't do well on sessions before 10) so settled into Marathon effort - mad I couldn't hit MP for 5 but shows that on any given day things can change. Happy with the effort as was controlled but steady.

Overall the Gym work had gone well I have managed to tweak a power lifting style plan to have it work as specific strength and conditioning for running. Some of the new exercises show real weakness'es I didn't know were there that have me optimistic that working on them over the winter should wield big improvements in terms of power though I will have to keep and eye to ensure that the 3 session template isn't taking too much out of the running.

Sunday's "long run" was the culmination of a very tiring week and probably the hardest 60 mile week I have done in the recent past. I was fecked for it and even though the pace was grand the legs were just hevy as hell. Got through it but was not pretty.

Aim is to get back to normal full training this week and aim to maintain close to that (probably hit 75-80 mpw and keep the three Gym Sessions)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

What a brilliant debut, L - enjoyed the report, and ++1 to what yaboya sez. Congrats on the Berlin qualifier - great course to capitalise on your learnings from this year.

Mon AM 4 easy (8.18 min/m) PM 6.2 easy (8.06 min/m)
    Tuesday 10x1 min hills w/ 3 min rec
    Wednesday 10 easy(8.10 min/m)
    Thursday 3x8 min @ LT w/ 3 min rec
    Splits: 5.41, 5.44, 5.45
    Fri AM 4 easy (8.02 min/m) PM 5 (7.27 min/m)
    Sat MP run (3.9 miles @ 6.17 ave)
    Sun 14.2 moderate (7.00 min/m)

Total Weekly Mileage: 68.8 miles

Strength Work
    Tues AM Upper Body - 45 min
    Fri AM Posterior Chain - 60 min
    Sat AM Lower Body - 45 min

First full week back. Overall was pretty with it. Less mileage in these weeks but is grinding me down a bit more with having to recover properly between sessions and the Gym work.

Tuesday's session was a step up from last week not just in terms of reps but also the fact that the hill itself was a good bit steeper. Had me really working up it but the generous recoveries helped make sure it was more about focusing on turnover and leg power (which post marathon is exactly what I want from this session)

Thursday's session was feeling good for body feeling grand but ended up getting caught in a wintery downpour which had me hating life a little bit but just kept the mantra in my head "winter miles for summer smiles" paces start off a little bit too hot which surprised me but good sign meaning that a bit of pop might be starting to come back into the legs. Caught for time so ended up having to push gym back to Friday (not ideal but I didn't wanna drop it as only getting the routine bedded in.

Saturdays session again got the best of me for the second week running, was probably down to the gym the day before coupled with early session morning (which I always struggle with but struggled to hold the pace so pulled the plug (not what I wanted but a step up on last week so progress none the less) Gym session actually compensated a bit as I was a good bit better than last week and thankfully DOMS is being replaced by just regular cumulative fatigue.

Sunday morning and had gotten a FB message for a group long run which was ideal for getting me out before work. Great to have a big group to run with and tipped along nicely even if I was hanging out at the back for most of it with the pace being healthy enough (for me anyway as I am pretty sure I was the slowest runner bar one other lad who finished just behind me in Dublin)

All in all I am happy with the training at the moment, though non specific I am confident it is gonna have me in very good nick going into the next year.

Mon 6 miles easy (7.49 min/m)
    Tues 10x1 min hills w/ 3 min rec
    Wed 2.6 easy (8.13 min/m)
    Thurs 3x8 min LT w/3 min rec
    Splits: 5.41, 5.44, 5.43
    Fri OFF
    Sat 5 easy (8.18 min/m)
    Sun 18.1 easy (7.13 min/m)

Total Weekly Mileage: 48.5 miles

Strength Work
    Wed AM Upper Body - 30 min
    Sat AM Lower Body - 45 min

A poor week as I have been fighting something since about Tuesday. A combination of standing around in cold after a session (coaching kids) on Tuesday and sickness in the house all week (which I was actually around for most of being the one week I am not in work, typical). I was working a bit harder than should have by the end of the session Thursday and woke up Friday not feeling great so took a day off and kept Saturday morning run easy rather than planned MP tempo (this saturday session keeps alluding me)

While today I wasn't 100% I was feeling like I could manage a run without making me 10 times worse so met up with with a group of the lads including, TRR, TW, KC, Davedanon and TBB of these parts as well as a couple of the lads from club. The company made this fly by and coming back from waterworks pace heated up further aiding the rattling off of miles.

All in all happy with the week all things considered, could have pushed it a bit but knew it would blow up in my face with race next week so just continue to keep it handy and get over the worst of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Intermediate xc?

RayCun wrote: »
    Intermediate xc?

Indeed, had planned interclubs to but Jury Duty and work put a stop to that idea

Mon 10.3 easy (7.49 min/m)
    Tues 10x1 min hills w/ 3 min rec
    Wed 5 easy (8.05 min/m)
    Thurs 45 min spin bike
    Fri OFF
    Sat 2.4 shakeout (with 400m pickup)
    Sun Dublin Intermediate Cross Country 27th - 28.46

Total Weekly Mileage: 35.5 miles

Supplementary work
    Tues AM S&C Upper body

A good start to the week which sharply fell off with cliff like descents. Still not 100% from illness last week that had been floating about so as such the hills were a little down but not by a whole lot however after some time in work started getting a bit of a sharp pain in the foot randomly. Thought this was just a phantom pain however Wednesday's run told me differently with sharp darting pains across the outside of the foot which was followed up with a bit of bruising across the top of the foot.
    Given that it hadn't eased throughout the run I had fear that it was of a non muscular nature and panicked a little. Stayed on the bike Thursday and off Friday which had helped it ease a bit and put my mind at ease that it was muscle after all as it was sore weight bearing but not as bad walking. Saturday's tester was not pain free however it was no worse after run than it was before.

Had it been a client I would have advised not to run or indeed if it was another race however given that it was the first cross country team we had managed to get out this season and the fact it was a local race there was no way I was gonna let the team down by not running. got through warm up not too bad and course was great, credit to the council who did a great job clearing up fields which till this week were near enough unrunnable to the point where they produced a decent little course.

I took it easy at the start however pace was slow, so slow in fact that I found myself making a dart to the front to avoid congestion for some of the sharper turns. These turns started to undo me however as the foot started flaring up . As the laps went on I was going backwards despite feeling aerobically comfortable I was grimacing and form was so much all over the place that the lower back on left side started compensating and stiffening up something fierce. I thought about dropped but I was still top 30 despite being 4th man and was still a scoring member of the team. Dug in and finished as strong as I could before hitting the deck

Not the race I would have liked to run as this is always one I aim to do well in but it was what it was and we managed to get out a strong team so I was happy enough.

Spent the morning having my leg used as a pin cushion and 2nd opinion confirmed same thing as I thought, peroneal tendonitis so probably gonna be off running a couple of days before getting back into it hopefully.

Onwards and Upwards come 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Hopefully it will only be a couple of days as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Jesus, ouch! 'Had it been a client' yes but do they listen to you when you say 'don't run' :D Fair play to you for stepping up for the team, and sticking it out through the pain, I hope you recover quickly - take as much rest as you *should* (deaf ears?!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Had it been a client I would have advised not to run or indeed if it was another race however given that it was the first cross country team we had managed to get out this season and the fact it was a local race there was no way I was gonna let the team down by not running. got through warm up not too bad and course was great, credit to the council who did a great job clearing up fields which till this week were near enough unrunnable to the point where they produced a decent little course.

I took it easy at the start however pace was slow, so slow in fact that I found myself making a dart to the front to avoid congestion for some of the sharper turns. These turns started to undo me however as the foot started flaring up . As the laps went on I was going backwards despite feeling aerobically comfortable I was grimacing and form was so much all over the place that the lower back on left side started compensating and stiffening up something fierce. I thought about dropped but I was still top 30 despite being 4th man and was still a scoring member of the team. Dug in and finished as strong as I could before hitting the deck

Not the race I would have liked to run as this is always one I aim to do well in but it was what it was and we managed to get out a strong team so I was happy enough.

Spent the morning having my leg used as a pin cushion and 2nd opinion confirmed same thing as I thought, peroneal tendonitis so probably gonna be off running a couple of days before getting back into it hopefully.

Onwards and Upwards come 2017

Therapists make the worst patients! :) Mind that foot, hopefully it's just a flare up.

pconn062 wrote: »
    Therapists make the worst patients! :) Mind that foot, hopefully it's just a flare up.

Haha to true. To be fair I knew what I was dealing with and weighed up the pro's and cons before hand and this was one race where the team and club came first.

Needled, joints mobilized and muscle freed up his morning as well as strapped up so should be back on my feet in a few days thankfully with no ill effects other than a few scalps needing to be taken in redemption in the new year :p

Jesus, ouch! 'Had it been a client' yes but do they listen to you when you say 'don't run' :D Fair play to you for stepping up for the team, and sticking it out through the pain, I hope you recover quickly - take as much rest as you *should* (deaf ears?!).

Took a whole 2 days off running last week so i am indeed being good :P

On a serious note I am playing it safe and won't go back till feel its okay and have been sticking to instructions of the therapist regarding getting back out running. Very Tender after the needles this morning but should be able to evaluate it better once the swelling and tenderness subsides in the next day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Took a whole 2 days off running last week so i am indeed being good :P

On a serious note I am playing it safe and won't go back till feel its okay and have been sticking to instructions of the therapist regarding getting back out running. Very Tender after the needles this morning but should be able to evaluate it better once the swelling and tenderness subsides in the next day or two.

ouch, mind it and listen to your therapist!!:D

Arnica, taken orally and rubbed into the foot will do wonders for it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Get well soon! And well done on scoring for your team in spite of it!

I suppose its time for an update on this

December

December ended up being a pretty poor month in general. Took a few days off after the Cross country for treatment which extended to best part of a week as I was away at the Christmas markets in Vienna so thought it was perfect time to not force it. In hindsight I perhaps was trying to rush getting back to get ready for the Intermediate XC. It's a target for me every year and one we can manage to get a team into so not one I wanted to miss. Don't regret the decision but probably wasn't practical.

Came back the following week though and started to come back around and string together a few half decent sessions before the madness of Christmas kicked in

5x1 mile w/ 3 min rec
    Splits 5.33, 5.22, 5.18, 5.25, 5.19

2x3k @ LTw/ 3 min rec
    Splits: 10.35 (5.38pace), 10.34 (5.38 pace)

XC Fartlek - 2,3,4,4,3,2 min off 1/2 rec
    Splits 5.38, 5.46, 5.56, 5.53, 5.56, 5.37

Goal mile - 5.14 (quickest Christmas day/hangover mile ever)

Despite these the mileage was low all month with weeks as follows

December 5-11 (injury week) - 6.1 miles
    December 12-18th - 49.9 miles
    December 19-25 - 28.6 miles
    December 26-Jan 1st - 9 miles

January

Back to our normal programming

Jan 2nd - 8th

Mon 4 miles easy (8.00 min/m)
    Tues 7 miles easy (8.02 min/m)
    Wednesday 10.5 miles easy (7.44 min/m)
    Thurs 5.1 miles easy (7.14 min/m)
    Fri 6.2 miles easy (7.18 min/m)
    Sat AM 5 miles easy (7.33 min/m) PM 7 easy (7.46 min/m)
    Sun 18.1 easy (7.19 min/m)

S&C
    Thursday (Lower body - Pos)

Total Weekly Mileage 62.9 miles

Decided given the poor December I had I just wanted to get back running consistent and build into session rather than jump in straight away so slowly built the days up. Break seemed to have done me good as naturally easy pace has come down a little

Jan 9th - 15th
    Mon AM 4 miles easy (8.06 min/m) PM 9 easy (7.37 min/m)
    Tues 6x5 min hard XC w/ 3 min rec
    Splits: 5.48, 5.51, 5.51, 6.00, 5.56, 5.56
    Wednesday 6.5 miles easy (7.31 min/m)
    Thurs AM 4.4m moderate (6.52 min/m) PM 8.6 easy (7.21 min/m
    Fri 20x400 w/ 40 sec jog rec (100m)
    Splits:
    81, 80, 81, 81, 80
    80, 81, 81, 81, 80
    81, 81, 81, 81, 82
    81, 81, 80, 82, 80

Sat 6.1 miles easy (7.48 min/m)
    Sun 16 easy (7.22 min/m)

S&C
    Wed (Lower body - Pos)
    Sat (Lower body - Ant)

Total Weekly Mileage 81 miles

Aim is to stick to the Grass for one session a week for the next few miles and try and reset the pain threshold as I think I was running too far in my comfort zone for a large part of last year which worked to an extent but over the next few months want to aim to dig in a bit more and build a bit of toughness which can be so easily lost with easy miles and sessions.

Friday was wit Dublin runner who dragged me along a bit.Session flies in with the short recoveries but with 10k on track it can be a tough one to keep the concentration in the middle section of the session. Great little group for Sunday run with some of the top lads on the comeback trail coupled with a few of the lads like myself who rarely make it up to the club ( just puts things into perspective when the three 2.43 lads in the club are the back markers of the group in terms of ability haha)

Jan 16th - 22nd
    Mon AM 4 miles easy (7.47 min/m) PM 9 easy (7.48 min/m)
    Tues 8x3 min hard XC w/ 75 sec rec
    Splits: 5.45, 5.41, 5.42, 5.42, 5.47, 5.46, 5.45, 5.42

Wednesday AM 4 easy (7.37 min/m) 6 miles easy (7.51 min/m)
    Thurs 3x(3x600m w /75 rec) - 3 min between sets
    Splits: (1.59, 1.57, 1.58) (1.56, 1.57, 1.57) (1.57, 1.59, 1.57)

Fri AM 8 miles easy (7.44 min/m) PM 4 easy (7.54 min/m)
    Sat BHAA Eir 5 mile XC (7.48 min/m)
    Splits: 6.05, 5.58, 6.01, 5.49, 5.42
    Sun 12.4 easy (7.46 min/m)

S&C
    Wed (Lower body - Pos)

Total Weekly Mileage 79 miles

Tuesday's session probably took a bit more out of me than I thought as I spent Wednesday,Thursday, Friday not pushing it to try and shake it. As a result I committed to not pushing it in the Business house. Given it was the 1st of 3 weekends of racing I decided to play it smart so the aim was to tempo 1st 3 miles and up it. Was controlled for the tempo miles and managed to kick on after that finishing strong but the legs were heavy from the mileage. Happy enough with the run though.

Jan 23rd - 29th
    Mon AM 4 miles easy (7.10 min/m) PM 8.6 easy (7.33 min/m)
    Tuesday AM 4 miles easy (7.52 min/m) PM 9 easy (7.21 min/m)
    Wednesday 8,2x6,3x4 min hard XC w/ 3,3,2 (walk) min recoveries
    Splits: 6.02, 5.52, 5.56, 5.48, 5.49, 5.43
    Thurs 7.5 miles easy (8.01 min/m) PM 4.1 easy (7.15 min/m)
    Fri AM 9 miles easy (7.38 min/m) PM 4 easy (7.20 min/m)
    Sat 3 miles shakeout (8.30 min pace)+ 4x15 sec strides
    Sun Raheny 5 mile - 27.36 official
    Splits: 5.30, 5.34, 5.29, 5.34, 5.28

S&C
    None

Total Weekly Mileage 72.8 miles

Another week of mileage and another race on the cards. Cumulative mileage had me a little warn out throughtout the week but plan is to do 3 weeks on and a down week for the forseeable future to counteract the fact that I am running my easy mileage that bit harder this year. Happy with how it worked last year but aiming to build on it and my continual tinkering to try and eek out a few extra percent performance.

Plan was to go out a little conservative and crank it up as the race went on. Felt smooth and controlled if a little faster than planned in the 1st mile (5.30) saw gosh and a lad from the club not too far ahead and thought if I could keep in touch they would came back to me

Second mile and tipping along again feeling nice and controlled. Despite pacing being faster it felt closer to 10 mile pace tbh. Unless things went dramatically wrong and I blew up I thought I should be good to finish strong. Second mile came in at 5.34. Third mile and I started making inroads on people ahead of me as I was with the lead lady and we started kicking on through the casualties of a fast start. Despite this the pace didn't really change and I was holding strong. this was the quickest mile to so far but only by a second and in truth this was probably down to the downhill nature of this mile (5.29)

Bit of a drag up the avenue where I had lost a bit of ground on the lads up ahead but where normally I would be trying to hang on I found I was able to keep the head and the pace from drifting despite teh minor drag up the avenue, (another 5.34). With how good I felt I thought here comes a strong last mile. I had run a 5.20 paced mile in 10 miler last year at the end and here I felt stronger yet the legs were having none of it, came around the square and a hard kick to finish line cross the line with 27.42 on the watch (5.28 last mile) (later confirmed as 27.36)

If you had given me that time before the race started I would have taken it however given how strong I felt throughout the race I think a PB could be achievable if I had a bit more zip in the legs but its been a tough little block of training and didn't ease off so to run my second fastest 5 miler definitely bodes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck in Dungarvan tomorrow L, hope it goes well for you.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Best of luck tomorrow L,