Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

@ rebel05

a teddy Annabelle ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Oh God, the thought of spider sex has just freaked me out :eek

Here's an oddball tale for the leadup to Halloween....

My friend used to live in a big estate in Co Louth and one night I was on the way out to his, I was stopped in town about 3km away getting a take away and a load of Garda and fire brigade whizzed passed me in a hurry.

I didn't think anything of it but when I got to his house him and his Mum were at the door looking across the green at a house on fire in the estate, we watched on for a few minutes as the firefighters tackled the blaze and looked to have it all under control, no one else seemed to be out watching or paying attention to what was going on, which was a bit odd we thought, it's a huge estate with a few hundred house's but it was very late.....

The roof looked half demolished the next day and the house looked abandoned, never really heard anything of it though locally.

Flash forward about 2 weeks to the day of the fire, again I had come from Dublin and we were up late about 3am playing game's in kitchen and my friends Mum was asleep in sitting room when there was a rap on the window...

My friend's mother asked us to open the door, it looked like a woman roughly in her 60s, we opened the door to a woman in a clearly distressed state, asking us did we know what happened with the fire... :/

She was drunk as you can be but we managed to calm her down and brought her in for a drink and a chat and she explained to us that her sister had died in a small fire in the house, confined to one room upstairs...

Her other sister then came over from the UK to deal with the aftermath, funeral, family business etc and was staying in the house herself (as the fire was contained to one room) and an electrical fire broke out and she died in the house also literally 3 days after, which was what we saw, 2 weeks previous...

The lady in question had not visited the house at all, and had just gotten the Dutch courage to come out from town in a taxi and have a look at the aftermath herself ...

It was freaky though as it was literally 2 weeks to the exact time after what happened the second sister in the house, she looked around and the only light on in the estate was us, so she called in and oddly enough we were the only ones watching the house burn for ages... :/

She was a lovely woman though, such a tragic event though for her and family... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I've always had a fear/hatred of spiders. Saturday night we were sat at home having a few beers and I mentioned that there seemed to have been very few spiders in the house over the summer, and especially at this time of year when the fukkers are supposed to be in the mating season and searching for mates (Oh God, the thought of spider sex has just freaked me out :eek:)

Eventually we went up to get ready for bed and after I picked up my toothbrush I felt a light tickle on the back of my hand. Looking down I saw a fairly big spider there (not one of the huge house spiders, thank God). A horrible, fat black body with stout little legs. I did a man-scream and flung it into the bath.

Now I know this might not seem spooky or paranormal or anything but it definitely creeped me out that I'd only just been saying how few spiders we'd seen recently. Oh, and I'm still a little unnerved four days later :o

This is like what I was saying about talking about (or writing about) something and then it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

My toddler woke up crying this morning around 5am. He's normally good to sleep until around 7, so after my husband picked him up I went in to grab his sippy cup to get him a drink. As I walked in I saw a dark shadow, a bit like a black cat, dart from up out of the cot but the movement was unnatural, like it slipped through the bars. Obviously my eyes playing tricks on me still half asleep, but unnerving nonetheless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭cml387

I've hesitated to post this story, but it happened and although it's not scary it was..

Firstly you must forgive my parents, these were different times fifty years ago and I suppose they didn't think anything could go wrong but..

I was plagued by vivid nightmares when I was young. These were of the "witch at the end of the bed" sort of thing but I would wake up absolutely terrified. I could see the crooked nose and the wizened face in the darkness.
    I would have been four or five at the time.

On this particular occasion I woke up with the witch at the end of the bed but had the presence of mind to get up and turn on the room light.

However the bedroom door was locked from the other side.

The door was panelled glass so in my renewed panic I must have smashed the glass and opened the door from the outside.

Actually I have no memory of this but my mother said (years later) that she had gone to my aunts (her sister's) house for a party, and my father had gone to get my mother later on in the night,leaving me alone in the house.

He had locked the door in case I wandered out.

One of them (I'm not sure who) returned to the house to find me covered in blood at the foot of the stairs.

Luckily it was a very superficial cut which had dried up long before they arrived.

I can only imagine how they felt.

This is what I can remember from my experience and a brief recollection from my mother years later.

We never spoke about it again and both my parents are dead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 HighF123

I'm after seeing it again tonight! He was up the road another 600 meters from where I'd seen him the other night. He was hiding behind a bush but I could see him.

I was terrified but slowed down the van and beeped the horn furiously to let him know I could see him, but he didn't move at all. On my left there is a gate to a field and I thought I saw a shadow move by it but I'm not sure, it was pitch black. I'm still shaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

I hope you're alright, that would frighten the crap out of me if I was on my own. Or probably if I wasn't alone! Since you've seen it twice would you be inclined to give the gardai a heads-up? Gob****es brandishing weapons and possibly being a road hazard should probably be reported...

cml387 wrote: »
    Firstly you must forgive my parents, these were different times fifty years ago and I suppose they didn't think anything could go wrong but...
    I would have been four or five at the time...
    ...Actually I have no memory of this but my mother said (years later) that she had gone to my aunts (her sister's) house for a party, and my father had gone to get my mother later on in the night,leaving me alone in the house.

He had locked the door in case I wandered out.

Now that's creepy and scary, leaving a 4/5 year old alone and locked in a room.

I know you said 50 years go. I was the youngest of 7 born from the 50s through to the 70s and we weren't left alone at night until we could nearly drive into town if anything went wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

HighF123 wrote: »
    I'm after seeing it again tonight! He was up the road another 600 meters from where I'd seen him the other night. He was hiding behind a bush but I could see him.

Why didnt you call the cops?

I was terrified but slowed down the van and beeped the horn furiously to let him know I could see him, but he didn't move at all. On my left there is a gate to a field and I thought I saw a shadow move by it but I'm not sure, it was pitch black. I'm still shaking.

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/s526x395/14702512_10155490777513747_7396530924001266362_n.jpg?oh=a7a1fd10099b5b332e3529cafd8d61ec&oe=5887067B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Please pick up the phone immediately and report this. It's obviously the same idiot hanging out at the same location night after night to get his jollies.

The Gardai will be glad you did, there's been all kinds of clown arrests across Europe because of this hideous #creepyclowns trend and you'll probably save someone else a heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭jprboy

(Oh God, the thought of spider sex has just freaked me out :eek:)

Right, spread your legs, that's right, all 8 of 'em :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭jprboy

beks101 wrote: »
    Please pick up the phone immediately and report this. It's obviously the same idiot hanging out at the same location night after night to get his jollies.

The Gardai will be glad you did, there's been all kinds of clown arrests across Europe because of this hideous #creepyclowns trend and you'll probably save someone else a heart attack.

This is probably going to escalate in the coming days with only 2 days to go to Halloween.

I'm afraid some "clowns" are in danger of taking quite the beating if they're not careful.

beks101 wrote: »

What's the clown doing in the middle of nowhere? He either lives there or he has a car somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Wish people would go back to planking and taking selfies in daft places. At least they only risk themselves. This clown craze is probably the stupidest one so far.

Do give the Gardai a call, HighF123. They might send an unmarked car down that way a couple of times and the moment he realises he's just tried to put the wind up a couple of Gardai (and/or a night in custody in his daft get-up) might larn him a lesson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I know you said 50 years go. I was the youngest of 7 born from the 50s through to the 70s and we weren't left alone at night until we could nearly drive into town if anything went wrong!

Theres always one.... both of this parents are dead, what do you hope to achieve with your post??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

i was a kid in the 80's (and i mean i was born in 86) and we were left alone all the time, ive an older brother and a younger sister and we'd be left alone at night its not a big deal, what could we possibly have done in the middle of the night? mom would go shopping and leave us alone, dad would be at work, mom would go to pick dad up from the pub and have a drink herself... when we were on holidays they would frequently go down to the bar or for food and leave us alone, its only since the madeline mccann people have been freaking out about it.
    Senna wrote: »
    Theres always one.... both of this parents are dead, what do you hope to achieve with your post??

im guessing to jusitfy his existance in the world?

...what could we possibly have done in the middle of the night? mom would go shopping and leave us alone, dad would be at work, mom would go to pick dad up from the pub and have a drink herself... when we were on holidays they would frequently go down to the bar or for food and leave us alone, its only since the madeline mccann people have been freaking out about it.

im guessing to jusitfy his existance in the world?

Your mum went shopping in the middle of the night?

Or she went shopping and to the pub, and your dad went from work to the pub, and you were left alone as a 4 year old through both the evening and night?

That was not the norm I experienced at all. To point that out is not to justify one's existence at all, what a ridiculous take. And the idea that people only started looking after children properly since Madeline McCann is preposterous.

Incidentally, my father is dead, really not sure what the relevance is but it seems to matter to a previous poster.

what could we possibly have done in the middle of the night?

It takes no time to have an accident. A fire. Point is you don't know.
    Both parents out at night, what if they have an accident? Most parents don't take risks with their kids for the sake of a night out.
    The change in attitude to this is one of the better things about modern times.

It takes no time to have an accident. A fire. Point is you don't know.
    Both parents out at night, what if they have an accident? Most parents don't take risks with their kids for the sake of a night out.
    The change in attitude to this is one of the better things about modern times.

And it was a time when just about everything was flammable...I recall an ad in the late 70s and early 80s about those dressing gowns that would just melt onto a kid. I think that was possibly the main reason we were never left alone, but there were many others...I suspect a well grounded fear that I'd watch filthy foreign films on cineclub was another...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It is child neglect and downright irresponsible to leave a very young child home alone. Anything could happen.

My parents always got babysitters when they went out in the evenings (never to the pub, usually to a restaurant). The first time I was left "home alone" was when I was about 11 and I insisted despite my Mum telling me that getting a babysitter was no hassle. My two older sisters were away that night too. I wanted to prove myself to my folks.:D

Anywho, the neighbours phoned every 20 mins to make sure I was OK and my mum phoned every 45 mins to check on me. I got a few videos out and had a great night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭jackboy

JupiterKid wrote: »

Anywho, the neighbours phoned every 20 mins to make sure I was OK and my mum phoned every 45 mins to check on me. I got a few videos out and had a great night!
    The neighbours phoning every 20 minutes is beyond weird. Creepy even.
    That would have freaked me out more than being home alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭jackboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

jackboy wrote: »

Nah, it was grand. More annoying than anything else as it interrupted my video watching. I remember watching my first ever McGyver show that evening. 30 years ago now!

At least I didn't get any phone calls like this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

I work for a big organisation, which involves me working with different members of staff everyday ie I could work with one person on a particular day and not work with them for another few months. It has its pros and cons.

The other day I was in for the early shift and the night before I decided to check who I was working with the next day.

Just before I logged in to look at my shift, I thought to myself, oh imagine I was working with X. Now X is renound to be Mr. Personality... a right prick.

I click login and who pops up, Mr. X. Havent worked with the fella in years and hope not to for another few!

I used to get sleep paralysis in my early 20s - it was horrific and terrifying. One night I really felt like a malevolent dark presence was in my bedroom, forcing me down into the bed. I tried to cry out but I couldn't. I thought that I was going to die.

Thankfully, the sleep paralysis seemed to go away in my late 20s.

My late Mum loved Fresia flowers and sometimes wore a Fresia perfume. From time to time, I get the sudden sharp smell of Fresia from out of nowhere - often times when I'm upset or stressed. My mum passed away over 25 years ago when I was 15 and my sisters also get the Frescia smell too. Perhaps that is her way of comforting us.

Shortly after my dad died (2 years ago), I was sleeping in his house and I distinctly heard him calling up to me from downstairs. This happened a couple of times. I wasn't freaked out - it was actually quite comforting.:o

And it was a time when just about everything was flammable...I recall an ad in the late 70s and early 80s about those dressing gowns that would just melt onto a kid. I think that was possibly the main reason we were never left alone, but there were many others...I suspect a well grounded fear that I'd watch filthy foreign films on cineclub was another...

Yes, that's true about the mixed man made fibres like rayon and polyester. I nearly went up like a Christmas tree myself when a 'vintage' top I was wearing , which was probably from the 70s, somehow caught alight not long ago.I don't remember how I did it but I was shocked how fast it caught fire.

I used to get sleep paralysis in my early 20s - it was horrific and terrifying. One night I really felt like a malevolent dark presence was in my bedroom, forcing me down into the bed. I tried to cry out but I couldn't. I thought that I was going to die.

Thankfully, the sleep paralysis seemed to go away in my late 20s.

My late Mum loved Fresia flowers and sometimes wore a Fresia perfume. From time to time, I get the sudden sharp smell of Fresia from out of nowhere - often times when I'm upset or stressed. My mum passed away over 25 years ago when I was 15 and my sisters also get the Frescia smell too. Perhaps that is her way of comforting us.

Shortly after my dad died (2 years ago), I was sleeping in his house and I distinctly heard him calling up to me from downstairs. This happened a couple of times. I wasn't freaked out - it was actually quite comforting.:o

I get the scent of roses and once the strong scent of hyacinth. No flowers in the vicinity at the time. It makes me think of my grandmother. And she used to get phantom whiffs of cigarette smoke, which she connected to a relative who had passed away long before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

If you are getting phantom odours on and off, you should maybe visit the doctor - it could be the sign of a medical problem...