Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Oh.. and bed now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I would love to run Clontarf again, but it may be a bit too soon.
    I have a charity place with Asthma UK in the London marathon in April so that's my next big goal. Already signed up to the Brentwood HM (my home town) which is 5 weeks before London. I'll have to look out for 10k/10m races to add to the plan. Oh, I'll have to pick a plan!

Shorter term, a pint in McGrattan's is the only post-DCM goal on my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Is it a good sign to be completely excited, bordering histeria? (Well... no so much but almost!)

Best of luck everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

This could be a trap asking questions just after ten looks suspicious.

However I'll be going back to the shorter stuff after Sunday . I did myles graduate plan last year and really enjoyed it so that's a possibility . It'll be parkrus and 10k mostly and I'll probably have to revisit Frank Duffy for myself next summer . That could all change after Sunday .

I'M Off to sleep now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Well since The Muppet already took the bait!!! :D I signed up months ago for the Run in The Dark on Nov 16th :S Might be a bit soon after DCM to race - but I can choose between doing 5k and 10k on the night so I'll see how recovery goes.
    After that I'm waiting for the Raheny 5m at the end of January, I want to spend a few months enjoying running just for the fun of it :)
    Goodnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Three more sleeps....can hardly believe DCM is nearly upon us.

Btw is anyone experiencing the whole world wishes to advise you on DCM this week, every where I turn I receive advice (whether asked for or not) just hope I can do it now, YIKES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

I haven't entered any races post DCM, I will return to the 5k (parkruns) and 10ks and maybe (only maybe) will I target a half next year....presuming I can, at some stage, get out of the bed after Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Maximus you may be winning at taper but I've been carb loading for months now, I've got that side of things down.

This taper madness is something else . Yesterday I was really calm and positive about Sunday . This morning I'm doubting that I will be able to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Post DCM :eek: as far as running goes, like kin9pin I have an entry for the Clontarf HM, but I'm ready to let that one slide if my race and/or recovery isn't to my satisfaction.

+1 on Jingle Bells, my first 5k race back in 2012, which I'll run again this year if college commitments allow; also the Raheny 5 will hopefully provide a long overdue 5 mile PB at the end of January.

Other than that, I plan to get back into actually running parkruns, as opposed to just jogging around them at the end of LSRs. For a while last year I had the full set of Dublin parkruns. I need three (Donabate, Father Collins and River Valley) to fill it up again. Plenty of XC races too, both BHAA and with the club, to keep me occupied through the winter.

More marathons....hopefully?!! I loved the Connemara HM this year, and hope to run the full at some stage, but it falls in the middle of my exams. We considered Barcelona, but not next year. I'll try another half in February or March; Carlingford is one that I like around that time. So maybe DCM 2017 will be the next full attempt....we shall see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Post DCM :eek: as far as running goes, like kin9pin I have an entry for the Clontarf HM, but I'm ready to let that one slide if my race and/or recovery isn't to my satisfaction.

+1 on Jingle Bells, my first 5k race back in 2012, which I'll run again this year if college commitments allow; also the Raheny 5 will hopefully provide a long overdue 5 mile PB at the end of January.

Other than that, I plan to get back into actually running parkruns, as opposed to just jogging around them at the end of LSRs. For a while last year I had the full set of Dublin parkruns. I need three (Donabate, Father Collins and River Valley) to fill it up again. Plenty of XC races too, both BHAA and with the club, to keep me occupied through the winter.

More marathons....hopefully?!! I loved the Connemara HM this year, and hope to run the full at some stage, but it falls in the middle of my exams. We considered Barcelona, but not next year. I'll try another half in February or March; Carlingford is one that I like around that time. So maybe DCM 2017 will be the next full attempt....we shall see :)
    WW - That's impressive on running the full set of Dublin ParkRuns. Really cool. It would be good to hear your thoughts sometime on your favourite, hardest, hilliest, most scenic etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

For me I may try the Nov Clontarf HM. I know it's a bit close so I'll see how I am after Sunday. I'll definitely get back into Parkruns from December and possibly try the Raheny 5 in January again and another HM in the spring hopefully. No thought for another marathon at the moment. I may give the full a miss next year so maybe 2018.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I'd like to get back into parkruns and work towards getting my time down there. Not sure I'll keep running after work - I'll see how things are as I won't have a plan to follow. Maybe it's better to keep going rather than waiting until I get home, otherwise I'll be just stuck in a car park after 5pm - aka, the M50.

I'd also like to start swimming again, to have that fitness. It's been too long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

IM Dublin next August.. as soon as it opens :D

Away to hotel next week for food and beers..

Recovery run next Monday.. but lets get Sunday done first..:pac:

In the lottery for Berlin 2017

Gotta have targets or I will stagnate.

I'm thinking of IM Dublin too - not sure if the timing of it will suit my other plans but hopefully it will work out.. if not, maybe one of the UK IM's. Cant swim too well and i've never cycled a road bike.. but sure, I'd never ran up until 14 months ago so - whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭woody1

after marathon.. get back swimming, 5k on the 26th dec that id be hoping to pb given 4 months of endurance training :cool: a lot of cyclocross stuff on around me too so first order of work on the 31st october is to get a mountain bike !

serious taper madness going on, have a somewhat / slightly tender / tight lower calf/achilles , which is alternately sore/ not sore, tight , grand or i dunno depending on the time of day, meteorological conditions and every other variable known to man, ran 5k yesterday at more or less marathon pace , twas ok-ish , fine when i stopped, fine walking around, fine this morning,

debating wearing compression socks/ calf sleeves / ordinary socks / insoles / a prosthetic leg / taking a load of nurofen / deepheat / tiger balm / cortisone / epo / going to jacuzzi / going for a walk in the sea ..
    maybe itl warm up and be grand... like i say taper madness !!!

guess itd be too much to ask to arrive at the start with no twinges or niggles at all !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

https://sushirunningzen.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/tapering-ecard.jpg

Almost there guys....only 3 more sleeps to the big day....gonna be epic ....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Just dropping back into this thread to say best of luck everyone on Sunday!

My training was a bit disjointed with a cold and reoccurring neck injury so I stopped logging my stop/start progress in here. I got a few long runs (incl the 32km/20mile) done though so feeling somewhat prepared although I may have to move my target from sub-4.30 to sub-5. The neck is sore and stiff again this week but fingers crossed it will loosen out for the weekend.

After the marathon I hope to get into a routine of regular short (5km) runs and maintain it throughout the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

FITZA wrote: »
    2 miles this evening, only 2 miles left to run on Saturday....I too had to slow down my run this evening which did feel great. Physio appointment after the run and she said all seemed ok so hopefully it's just get through the next few days and get to Sunday feeling like I can run a marathon :D

great news! Delighted for you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Post DCM Goals

November is going to be all about short, slow recovery runs; improving my swimming and getting into the gym to work on stuff that I have neglected.

December would like to race Jingle Bells, keep up with gym / swimming and attempt a 30 day running streak

January - I am away for the entire month, the runners will be with me but not sure how much running I'll really get done

2017 - concentrate on shorter distances, I won't have time to train for another marathon so focus on 5k, 5 mile and 10 k times - maybe do the DHM. AND attempt a set of Dublin park runs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I want to do some faster stuff after the marathon. I'd like to make an assault on getting as close to a 20 min 5k as I can. I'd like to maintain the mileage at the same time though so I'll have to see how compatible the two are at my level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 doozerydoo

My goals post DCM are to keep running at least three times a week, if nothing else it's good for my head.

I think if I sign up for a few races it'll give me something to focus on and make me more likely to remain consistent with the running.

A few adventure races are definitely on the cards for next year and possibly joining a running club too.

Can't wait to get back playing hockey next week!

If this Sunday goes well, I reckon I'll be back for DCM 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

The Muppet wrote: »
    This taper madness is something else . Yesterday I was really calm and positive about Sunday . This morning I'm doubting that I will be able to do it.

^^^THIS^^^ Just in from 4.5 miles run at a slower pace than i'm used to and I was shattered. My plan is to go with the 5hr pacer on Sunday so please tell me it'll be ok on the day :confused::confused: I was a glass case of emotion last week...full of self doubt but hubby talked me around. Been feeling numb this week with a few flutters every now and then. Now's it's 3 sleeps :eek::eek:

Glad to read some of ye mention HM's. I had it typed last night then deleted it in case ye thought I was crazy!!!!. There's one in Waterford on 3rd Dec that I'm hoping to run with the hubby who was bitten by the running bug recently too and is hoping to run this as his first one. I haven't booked it yet just in case but that's my thinking anyways. Then nothing except keeping fitness up thru December and January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭cmac8

I am getting a lift up for the morning, any suggestions on best place to be "let off" that would work out closest for the 9.30 wave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hi Everyone
    Just popping in to wish you all the very very best for Sunday. I’ve been dipping in and out of this thread since it started, and it’s been great to see the commitment you’ve all shown to the training. That’s to be commended in a big way, so all take a bow. Whatever happens after this, you’ve got to be very proud of yourselves for getting this far.

A few little tips from me below which you can take or leave!

Try and focus on getting plenty of rest and sleep and eating really well over the next few days (don’t overdo the carbs please, you’ll just feel bloated! Same goes for the water! Don’t overdo it !!! and don't drink too much the morning of the race - a few small sips is enough). You might find yourself getting quite nervous and some will find sleep a challenge, but don’t worry if you’re not getting 8 solid hours a night. As someone said up-thread, your body will be resting and still gaining most of the benefits of a night in the sack, even if you are not sleeping soundly throughout. As I’ve learned from racing very long distances recently, our bodies are much tougher than we give them credit for, and are really good at coping with whatever we throw at them, so don’t stress if every little thing isn’t perfect in the lead up, or if you have a bit of a cold, bug, etc. A lot of it might be in your head, but even the stuff that is real, won’t bother you much on the day more than likely.

If anyone is caught between going for a faster and slower time on the day, do yourselves a favour and go with the more conservative time and avoid stressing yourselves. Make the decision now and stick with it. The less you have to stress about between now and Sunday the better.

No heroics from anyone until after 20 miles. As you’ve been advised already, it’s a race of 2 halves – the first 20 and the last 6.2. It really should feel quite easy and you should be in fairly good condition up until 18- 20 miles if you’ve paced it correctly. If anyone finds that your planned pace just feels a little bit too much in the early stages, pull back and just run by feel and forget pacers, and watches etc. Relax and enjoy it.

FWIW (not preaching here, just relaying personal experience), I do almost all of my training runs with headphones, listening to music etc, but never wear them anymore in races up to 24 hours in duration, and I really don’t miss them. It was the same in my first marathon. I didn’t miss them on the day in the slightest, despite having used them in almost all of my training runs and all the long runs. When things get tough (which they do for most first time marathoners), they will likely be more of a hindrance than a help. Every little thing will start to annoy you when you’re struggling to put one foot in front of the other and even having to carry the blasted things will likely get on your nerves, so seriously consider leaving them at home.

If you’re running with someone, or get chatting to people in the early stages, don’t expend too much energy in conversations. You’ll need every ounce of energy for the later stages in the race, so if you’re running with a buddy, make a pact early on that you’ll only speak if it’s something important, and if some friendly folks you don’t know insist on chatting to you, don’t worry about being rude and not responding. You have to give yourselves every chance, and talking takes energy, and puts your breathing rhythm out of sync etc.

When things get tough, think of a mantra to keep you going. A little saying I used to use (and still do) is ‘I am healthy, I am strong, I can do this all day long’. Something positive and with a nice rhythm. If things get very painful, a good mental strategy is to repeatedly count backwards from 20 (from 100 might be too challenging:)!). It takes your mind off the pain and gives you something to focus on.

HAVE A BLAST! That feeling at the startline is just indescribably awesome! Remind yourself when you're standing there ready for the off, that you're trained better than most of the people around you doing their first, because of this wonderful thread. Smile, take deep breaths, and have confidence in yourselves. You deserve to!

Nop, your mentoring has been an absolute credit to you and I hope you got as much out of it as I did in 2014. You’ve played a blinder, sir! Take a BIG bow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

jameshayes wrote: »
    I'm thinking of IM Dublin too - not sure if the timing of it will suit my other plans but hopefully it will work out.. if not, maybe one of the UK IM's. Cant swim too well and i've never cycled a road bike.. but sure, I'd never ran up until 14 months ago so - whatever!

I would be the same on the swimming - I can do it and the stroke is good but I like to see the bottom! The pace and breathing is my issue - just need to work on a good steady stroke that will get me thru the distance and not kill me in first 100M.. swimming works the body so differently to running.

I've been given loads of assurances re the suits that they do really help the swim as they can keep you afloat etc but I need to do a lot of swimming. I've done some cycling over the years so happy on that.

Like yourself.. never ran the distance so that has given me confidence to consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

cmac8 wrote: »
    I am getting a lift up for the morning, any suggestions on best place to be "let off" that would work out closest for the 9.30 wave?

everyone enters the starting area the same way, north side of Merrion square, that's where you should be let off. And even for a 9.30 wave, plan to be there by 8.15 at the latest.
    Best place depends on which direction you're coming from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

The Muppet wrote: »

thats me too. Real calm today but totally doubting myself yesterday. Who knows how it will be after lunch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

kittyclaws wrote: »
    I think I'll bring 5 and aim for one every 5 miles.
    I've drank lucozade all tru training and luckily no adverse effects when combined with the gels - quite the opposite, I felt like Poppeye eating spinach when I had a bottle at mile 18 on my last LSR :D

Thanks for the advice all :) xx

If its worked for you so be it, but I think the theory is you should only combine gels with water as gels and sports drinks contain the same type of energy and if you take them both you overload your stomach?

Not going to do the 3 easy today but contemplating doing my pilates class instead . Not sure if it's a good or bad idea I think It shouldn't effect me for Sunday and I would enjoy it.