Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Todd Toddington III

Can't believe we're approaching Halloween and nobody has anything scary to share!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 HighF123

I had a very frightening experience tonight. This only happened a few hours ago. The hairs on the back of my neck are still standing. I was driving home after work , it was around 1:20 am and it was pitch black. I live in the middle of nowhere. I was about 2 miles from my house. The road I was on is very narrow and is the width of one car.

I was driving along and noticed something up ahead of me on my right-hand side. I realized it was a person but they had no torch or reflectors despite it being pitch black. Immediately I felt something wasn't right. The hair on the back of my neck was standing and without thinking I locked the doors in the van. As I drove up closer I got the fright of my life when I realized it was someone dressed as a clown. His face looked be fully made up with make up and he was ghostly white. He had everything and was in a costume. As I drove past him I could also see that he was holding a big hurl in his right hand. He just stood there without moving, staring at me as I drove past him. He didn't salute, nothing, he just stared in through the window at me, his head following my van as I drove past him. He definitely wasn't wearing a mask, his face was all creepily made up with make up. It was the most frightening thing. Why would you be walking the roads in the middle of nowhere, in the dead of night, with no light or reflector and dressed like that, full make up, everything and carrying a big hurl? I got a very bad feeling off of him. He was about 6ft - 6ft.1". My adrenaline is still pumping and I can't get over it, it was terrifying, I've never been so frightened in my whole life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

HighF123 wrote: »
    I had a very frightening experience tonight. This only happened a few hours ago. The hairs on the back of my neck are still standing. I was driving home after work , it was around 1:20 am and it was pitch black. I live in the middle of nowhere. I was about 2 miles from my house. The road I was on is very narrow and is the width of one car.

I was driving along and noticed something up ahead of me on my right-hand side. I realized it was a person but they had no torch or reflectors despite it being pitch black. Immediately I felt something wasn't right. The hair on the back of my neck was standing and without thinking I locked the doors in the van. As I drove up closer I got the fright of my life when I realized it was someone dressed as a clown. His face looked be fully made up with make up and he was ghostly white. He had everything and was in a costume. As I drove past him I could also see that he was holding a big hurl in his right hand. He just stood there without moving, staring at me as I drove past him. He didn't salute, nothing, he just stared in through the window at me, his head following my van as I drove past him. He definitely wasn't wearing a mask, his face was all creepily made up with make up. It was the most frightening thing. Why would you be walking the roads in the middle of nowhere, in the dead of night, with no light or reflector and dressed like that, full make up, everything and carrying a big hurl? I got a very bad feeling off of him. He was about 6ft - 6ft.1". My adrenaline is still pumping and I can't get over it, it was terrifying, I've never been so frightened in my whole life

Thats that creepy clown craze at the moment. As creepy as he was, jaysus he could be killed being on the road like that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Could you not see his Red Nose:P

You are in the driving seat in these situations...You are at the wheel of a vehicle that could do serious damage to dodgy clowns and the like.

I was passing a pub in the middle of a summers night and it was already bright when one of the local headers (obviously on after hours nourishment) made a mad dash at my car trying to un-nerve me . Now I am not a nervous driver and the look on the headers face when instead of panicking I made for him at high speed was a joy to behold . Lets say it was a case of the biter bit...I don't think he was going to be doing that in a hurry again...I only scared the bejasus out of him and he was unharmed .

In my defence I was on my way to assist at a cow calving difficulty and was in no mood for such shenanigans . The look on his face as the tables were turned was worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Nothing paranormal in this once, just a general creep.

My wife works for a multinational. She's been there a few years but when she first joined her team gave her the newb seat, close to the printers and kitchen area, right by the walkway so it would be quite distracting. Being a new face folk would generally chit chat with her while waiting for a printer, all good fun. One day she noticed one guy standing there looking through at her, she started to feel uneasy, so thought she'd say hello, he continued to stare and mumbled "you're new, you're Irish". One of her colleagues came over for something work related and he scuttled off.
    Over the new few days and weeks he'd end up at the printers about a dozen times a day, never really saying anything but she kept picking up bad vibes.

It was coming up to a Halloween Party and her boss in passing said to her "I thought you weren't going to a the Party?", she confirmed she wasn't as we were heading back home for a wedding. Her boss apologised and said he probably "read it wrong". At the time she thought nothing of this and didn't even pick up on the "read".

Coming towards Xmas she wasn't the newb anymore so moved to a better seat, mentioned she still yer man make an appearance every now and then, he always ended up in the kitchen if she was there. Her boss came to her desk and said "here's your 2 tickets" for entrance to the Xmas ball". She said she thought partners weren't allowed and he replied "of course they are if they work here"...

Turns out this guy had signed himself up for the Xmas ball, the Halloween party and a few other events in between with her as his +1/partner. The boss' face dropped when she told him, he apologised, made a quick phone call and disappeared.
    Turns out he was in a meeting for an hour with the guy's boss and HR, this wasn't the first time he'd taken a shine to a new girl in the office. The last girl had reported she thought he may have followed her car home once or twice.

He was gone within a month, went out sick, never returned, there were some other issues that come to light when he was gone (work related) but they couldn't track him down, he'd done a complete runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

What an utter cnut. What county are you in if you don't mind me asking? Maybe put a warning up on your local FB group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

razorblunt wrote: »
    Nothing paranormal in this once, just a general creep.

That's horrifying! What a complete creep.

blinding wrote: »
    Could you not see his Red Nose:P

You are in the driving seat in these situations...You are at the wheel of a vehicle that could do serious damage to dodgy clowns and the like.

The poster was driving a van. I'm wondering if the clown was waiting for a car to come along. A van is more likely to have a burly man behind the wheel. I'm also wondering if there was more than one of them lurking around.
    Me granny always warned me about the bog roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I'd pull a Negan on his colourfull soul....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

La_Gordy wrote: »

Yep, we laugh about it now and even at the time she attempted to laugh it off, but she was a little concerned that he could be "out there".
    Her company handled it really well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

The poster was driving a van. I'm wondering if the clown was waiting for a car to come along. A van is more likely to have a burly man behind the wheel. I'm also wondering if there was more than one of them lurking around.
    Me granny always warned me about the bog roads.

It's a great pity there weren't a few burly men in this particular van to get out and ask what exactly his intentions were.

Imagine if he scared a vulnerable old person half to death (entirely possible if they have a weak disposition and he's in full clown gear with a "weapon" in his hands).

Who even takes the time out of their lives to pull this sh*t?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

pookie82 wrote: »

Arseholes - same as every other internet craze!

pookie82 wrote: »
    It's a great pity there weren't a few burly men in this particular van to get out and ask what exactly his intentions were.

Imagine if he scared a vulnerable old person half to death (entirely possible if they have a weak disposition and he's in full clown gear with a "weapon" in his hands).

Very true. I hope this clown gets caught and someone puts a stop to his funny business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I've always had a fear/hatred of spiders. Saturday night we were sat at home having a few beers and I mentioned that there seemed to have been very few spiders in the house over the summer, and especially at this time of year when the fukkers are supposed to be in the mating season and searching for mates (Oh God, the thought of spider sex has just freaked me out :eek:)

Eventually we went up to get ready for bed and after I picked up my toothbrush I felt a light tickle on the back of my hand. Looking down I saw a fairly big spider there (not one of the huge house spiders, thank God). A horrible, fat black body with stout little legs. I did a man-scream and flung it into the bath.

Now I know this might not seem spooky or paranormal or anything but it definitely creeped me out that I'd only just been saying how few spiders we'd seen recently. Oh, and I'm still a little unnerved four days later :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Dave0301

I've always had a fear/hatred of spiders. Saturday night we were sat at home having a few beers and I mentioned that there seemed to have been very few spiders in the house over the summer, and especially at this time of year when the fukkers are supposed to be in the mating season and searching for mates (Oh God, the thought of spider sex has just freaked me out :eek:)

Eventually we went up to get ready for bed and after I picked up my toothbrush I felt a light tickle on the back of my hand. Looking down I saw a fairly big spider there (not one of the huge house spiders, thank God). A horrible, fat black body with stout little legs. I did a man-scream and flung it into the bath.

Now I know this might not seem spooky or paranormal or anything but it definitely creeped me out that I'd only just been saying how few spiders we'd seen recently. Oh, and I'm still a little unnerved four days later :o

Now that you mention it, there is a video of a Huntsman spider in Australia carrying a mouse off.

As good as any reason to never set foot in Australia if you ask me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The other evening I rang my mother, and heard a man's voice in the background, obviously the TV. But for one split second I had a complete brain fart and went to ask what Dad was saying, completely forgetting he passed away 6yrs ago. Really silly, but I was completely unnerved and wasn't the better of it for a couple of days.

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Now that you mention it, there is a video of a Huntsman spider in Australia carrying a mouse off.

I've seen the video *shudder*

My eldest son and my daughter both live in Australia - I've already said to them that I will NEVER set foot in that spider-infested hell hole :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I hate staying in the house on my own at night and one evening after we had only moved, my husband was out at a work do.

I was in bed and heard a knock on the door. I looked out the window from my bedroom and there was a lad of about 23/24 at the door downstairs. Then he started looking through the windows in the sitting room.

He kept knocking so I went downstairs and there is a clear window in our door. He was staring blankly at me. I said through the door, "you have the wrong house" and he had his face right up against the window and he just nodded "no" with a smirk so I said again "YOU HAVE THE WRONG HOUSE" and he just stared back blankly at me for about five seconds.

I walked into the kitchen, thinking what to do and I was gonna call the police but when I came back out to the hall, he was gone. It was just so creepy the way he was staring and leaning in at the window :/

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I hate staying in the house on my own at night and one evening after we had only moved, my husband was out at a work do.

I was in bed and heard a knock on the door. I looked out the window from my bedroom and there was a lad of about 23/24 at the door downstairs. Then he started looking through the windows in the sitting room.

He kept knocking so I went downstairs and there is a clear window in our door. He was staring blankly at me. I said through the door, "you have the wrong house" and he had his face right up against the window and he just nodded "no" with a smirk so I said again "YOU HAVE THE WRONG HOUSE" and he just stared back blankly at me for about five seconds.

I walked into the kitchen, thinking what to do and I was gonna call the police but when I came back out to the hall, he was gone. It was just so creepy the way he was staring and leaning in at the window :/

I hate the way that some weirdos feel the need to pull sh!t like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

La_Gordy wrote: »

Agreed, some nutjobs around the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

73Cat wrote: »
    The other evening I rang my mother, and heard a man's voice in the background, obviously the TV. But for one split second I had a complete brain fart and went to ask what Dad was saying, completely forgetting he passed away 6yrs ago. Really silly, but I was completely unnerved and wasn't the better of it for a couple of days.

Easily done...my mam is gone 5 years and I wake up sometimes and forget that she's gone and think of going to visit. Then reality hits aftera few seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Dave0301 wrote: »

Are you a mouse??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I used to bring a pint glass of blackcurrant to bed as id sip through the night...especially after a night out.....didnt wake up one night woke up at 7 grabbed the glass took a big gulp....felt something fuzzy on my lip....big nasty spider had died in it :eek::D

Oh God NO!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,036 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Did you try mouth to mouth?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

everlast75 wrote: »

Not intentionally :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

Not my story but my uncles, who runs an antique shop. This happened years ago, and he has not seen anything like it before or since. He would be religious, but not superstitious about ghosts or things like that, so I believe him. Though I expect that many here will be skeptical.

He generally gets his stock from dealers or auctions in the UK or further abroad, but one day an older lady came in with an old teddy bear, a steiff bear I think. It was one of those that had a voice box inside that goes baaaaa when you turn it on its side. From what I remember of his story, something like this: https://youtu.be/4ul9VHRANKc

Anyway she first started asking him if he would buy it off her, then would he sell it for her, as he explained that he generally doesn't take in stock from the general public. When he told her that he wouldn't sell it for her either she got so desperate she told him,"Just take it!", and promptly left. Which should have been a warning as these bears can be quite valuable. So, thinking that she might change her mind, he put it on a shelf in the back and forgot about it...

... Until strange things started happening in the shop. At random times you would hear a little baaaa even though the bear hadn't moved. Everything (apart from the bear itself) simultaneously fell off the set of shelves that the bear was on when noone was around it. All the energysaver bulbs back of the shop had to be replaced twice over the couple of months after the bear moved in, and various electrical items that were checked before taking in, suddenly stopped working. A bird somehow got into the shop overnight and was found dead in the back room not fromfrom the bear. And finally, a customer that was browsing the back of the shop had a heart attack and had to be rushed away in an ambulance.

Now, I expect you are saying that all of this is circumstantial or just bad luck. Nothing supernatural whatsoever. I probably would too, only that I heard it firsthand. Not long after the heart attack incident, my uncle decided that it couldn't hurt to get the shop blessed by the local priest. Things did seem to settle down after that. No baaaas or other strange things.
    Then one day a customer happened to see the bear while browsing our storeroom one day, and only got more enthusiastic after being told its story. She offered to buy it, but my uncle said he would rather give it to her without payment so long as she knew what she was getting into. She thanked him and went on her way. I would love to hear how she got on, but I have no way to contact her, as she was just passing through town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Oh God NO!!!!!
    everlast75 wrote: »
    miamee wrote: »
    Not intentionally :pac:

There was even a little bit of webbing in it too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Are you a mouse??

Wats up :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss