Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

spaceylou wrote: »
    Have just been too busy for boards of late but am caught up and can't wait to get this thing done!

Goals:

Everything goes perfectly A goal <4:19:59
    Much more realistic B Goal <4:29:59
    Totally stealing NOPs C Goal - high-five every kid coming in from Donnybrook and cross the finish line with a smile on my face.

Pacing strategy 10/10/10, starting toward the back of wave 3.

Hopefully see you there goals same as mine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

So who is wearing headphones?

Oh my god don't let Dubgal see this post !!! You'll miss all the atmosphere .... no headphones required ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Firedance wrote: »
    Hi Folks :)

As nop said previously we will be out on the course on the day, just before the 21 mile marker so as you're coming around onto Clonskeagh road we will be along the wall where the red dot is (or as close to that as space/crowds allow) on the left hand side of the road.

We will post more pics later in the week of what will make us uniquely identifiable :p

OVERVIEW

WE ARE HERE
    You sure that pic is right :) ?
    That would be past the crowds on the road back into Ranelagh.

Did you mean to put it on the left as you head to Ashtons on Clonskeagh Rd?

Yes, yes I did, thanks for spotting that rovers_runner, that's what you get for dealing with maps when you're literally running out the door :pac: I've updated the pic now and added an overview. Hopefully it's right now otherwise I'll be getting my p45 from the boss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

I can't imagine running without them TBH. I've done all my long runs on my own so I needed the distraction. I'm also asthmatic so when I can hear myself breathing I convince myself I'm in trouble. I reckon I'll have them in but not on because I want to soak it all up on the day. If things get bad I can put them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Right kids, as ye're all about to go mad with the thought of getting the plague or pulling your calf while getting out of the shower (happened to me) or getting hit by a car during your last training run and getting a cracked rib (happened to me), a quick note to wish you all the best.

Start slowly, drink a bit and often, enjoy the crowds, try nothing new and get plenty sleep until Sunday. The marathon is the easy bit if you've got through the training.

Best of luck to ye all and remember, pain is your friend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Oh my god don't let Dubgal see this post !!! You'll miss all the atmosphere .... no headphones required ....
    faithmc wrote: »
    I can't imagine running without them TBH. I've done all my long runs on my own so I needed the distraction. I'm also asthmatic so when I can hear myself breathing I convince myself I'm in trouble. I reckon I'll have them in but not on because I want to soak it all up on the day. If things get bad I can put them on

Oh no, I had thought we had all ditched the headphones by now.... :eek: The atmosphere along most of the course is absolutely electric, don't shut yourself off from it...! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭SausageDogDave

Very best of luck guys!

It's gonna be tropic

You sure that pic is right :) ?
    That would be past the crowds on the road back into Ranelagh.

Did you mean to put it on the left as you head to Ashtons on Clonskeagh Rd?
    Yes, yes I did, thanks for spotting that rovers_runner, that's what you get for dealing with maps when you're literally running out the door :pac: I've updated the pic now and added an overview. Hopefully it's right now otherwise I'll be getting my p45 from the boss :D

My bad, I asked FD to post this in a hurry tonight and I am sure she was just checking if anyone was really paying attention in the taper madness :)

We'll be on the *left* hand-side heading into Clonskeagh, roughly 100 meters after you turn right coming up from Milltown - crowds and space permitting as FD says. Somewhere halfway between the 20 and 21M markers. I'll have a couple of refreshments with me, if you have any specific orders, let me know and I'll see if I can get it in time (no guarantees that you'll actually see us on the day tho - allegedly there was a similar novices support station around that spot last year, but I never saw it ;):confused:). I hope to be there in time for the elites and we will stay out as long as possible.

Very best of luck guys!

It's gonna be tropic

SDD, nice of you to check in, how have you been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Yeah this is my thinking also. I'm so used to it now it would feel strange otherwise. I find it's a distraction from what I'm doing too.

I think given what so many people say about this event and the crowds I'll probably leave them on mute bar the quiet sections of the race.

I found the noise of the feet hitting the pavement as well as my own breathing a distraction during the DHM. Different sentiment perhaps for the full one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Sorry to hear that, sounds wuff.

Haha! Love it ..... Feeling even more barking mad today!

chinguetti wrote: »
    Right kids, as ye're all about to go mad with the thought of getting the plague or pulling your calf while getting out of the shower (happened to me) or getting hit by a car during your last training run and getting a cracked rib (happened to me), a quick note to wish you all the best.

Start slowly, drink a bit and often, enjoy the crowds, try nothing new and get plenty sleep until Sunday. The marathon is the easy bit if you've got through the training.

Best of luck to ye all and remember, pain is your friend :)

Love that bit about the marathon being the easy bit!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

ToriV wrote: »
    Haha! Love it ..... Feeling even more barking mad today!

Careful now. Check with nop in case you need to paws your taper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Thought I had dodged the man flu BF had at weekend but this morning sore throat, (slightly) swollen glands and not entirely clear nose :(:(:(

All tips for instant cure welcome!!

Thought I had dodged the man flu BF had at weekend but this morning sore throat, (slightly) swollen glands and not entirely clear nose :(:(:(

Echinea - asap
    Tyzets (not sure of spelling, throat lozenges with antibiotics can be bought over counter)
    Honey & lemon in hot water
    Any of the 'cold & flu' remedies

I find if I throw everything at it all at once ,this morning if you can, it can work quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Echinea - asap
    Tyzets (not sure of spelling, throat lozenges with antibiotics can be bought over counter)
    Honey & lemon in hot water
    Any of the 'cold & flu' remedies

I find if I throw everything at it all at once ,this morning if you can, it can work quickly

Throw a few spoons of real blackcurrent jam into a mug and fill with boiling water, drink this and then eat all the blackcurrent jam at the end of the mug. Full of vitimin c and anti oxidants too.

Careful now. Check with nop in case you need to paws your taper.

i canine help it.... It's taper madness!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Hiya, my wife has these Manuka Honey Lozenges with Propolis (whatever that is) she started getting from the health shop many years ago. I'm a bit sceptical about some of the stuff you get in the health shop but I couldn't believe how good these are, particularly for fighting off a sore throat and early onset of colds and flu. The brand is Comvita and they come in aniseed or honey & lemon flavour.

Also I think Echinacea is good, though you need to get that into you asap.

I'm sure you'll get 50 different recommendations but thought I'd share in case these are useful.

Hope you feel better very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

This, exactly. **** the atmosphere, I'm not listening to myself wheeze for 5 and a half hours. It makes me get anxious about my breathing and gets me into trouble. Stop the headphone censure lads, it does no one any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

This, exactly. **** the atmosphere, I'm not listening to myself wheeze for 5 and a half hours. It makes me get anxious about my breathing and gets me into trouble. Stop the headphone censure lads, it does no one any good.

I hedge my bets when I'm running - one headphone in and one out.. its lets you hear whats around you as well as keeping something other than heavy breaths in your head :pac:

Stop the headphone censure lads, it does no one any good.

On a serious note with regard to headphones, it's not advisable to wear them while racing due to health and safety reasons. In fact many races ban them entirely and with good reason. Such as, but not limited to:

Your inability to hear emergency services trying to reach another runner, this has happened quite publicly in several races in recent years.

Your inability to hear anything around you such as passing runners.

Your inability to hear stewards instructions on the course.

Your inability to hear your own breathing (I understand why some of you feel you don't want to listen to that but really it's one of the first indicators that something might be wrong).

If you don't want to hear or soak up the atmosphere on the day that's your decision but please re-consider wearing headphones when racing (for all races) for the health and safety of you and your fellow runners. If you must wear them on Sunday please consider just putting one in and be extra aware of what's going on around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

I don't wear them myself but would agree wholeheartedly with you ESV. Whatever it takes.

I heard a great interview with Padraig Harrington over the last few days and he said if he was told that playing golf naked would help him improve even just a little bit he'd be all over it. Whatever it takes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

I too have fallen victim to the manflu. I'm blaming the physio I went to on Saturday:mad:
    I second budhistmonk's Propolis recommendation. You can also get it in liquid format. I've been taking it religiously since Monday & the cold hasn't got too bad, just annoying, so hopefully I'm fighting it.

Found this little inspirational nugget from Coach Greg McMillan (of the famous pace predictor)

"Make an oath to yourself.
    There are lots of things we can’t control in a race, but the one thing we can control is doing our absolute best during all stages of the race—whether we are running a new PR or having an off day. Either way, make an oath to yourself that you will do your best on the day.
    That in the first miles, you’ll control your pace and run relaxed.
    That in the middle, you’ll focus on grooving goal pace and continuing to get in all your fuel.
    And, in the last part, where it gets really, really tough, you’ll smile through the pain.
    You’ll focus on your best.
    You’ll never relent.
    You’ll never give in.
    You’ll keep pushing
    and get to that finish line.""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Lads there's no cure for the common cold. This is known. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Weather is looking good for Sunday, maybe a bit warm. Don't think there will be much wind.

Still early to predict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Confirmation email from DCM just came through.. it has a number "8927" on it.. maybe my race number!

Lads there's no cure for the common cold. This is known. :p

Ah we know that Max, but there are ways to reduce the symptoms..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ah we know that Max, but there are ways to reduce the symptoms..

Big bag of cement does that job. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

nop98 wrote: »
    Oh no, I had thought we had all ditched the headphones by now.... :eek: The atmosphere along most of the course is absolutely electric, don't shut yourself off from it...! :cool:
    ligerdub wrote: »
    Yeah this is my thinking also. I'm so used to it now it would feel strange otherwise. I find it's a distraction from what I'm doing too.

I think given what so many people say about this event and the crowds I'll probably leave them on mute bar the quiet sections of the race.

I found the noise of the feet hitting the pavement as well as my own breathing a distraction during the DHM. Different sentiment perhaps for the full one.

Sorry Nop98...I'm bold I know but they're part of my checklist at this stage. I promise i'll try very hard not to tun them on!!! It's funny actually but I run during the week with a friend who talks all the way around...I just can't talk (save an odd mmhmm, aha, yeah!!!) but for the 1st time ever last week I ran 4 miles with her, didn't turn on the earphones and actually replied in sentences :pac::pac::pac: Maybe it's a sign!!!