Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I'll have 2 gel's in each pocket. I've never taken more than 1 during a run and the plan is to pop one every 5 miles.

Who is carb loading?

I'm looking at eating this on the Friday
    Breakfast
    1 bagel with 2 tablespoons strawberry jam (71 g)
    1 medium banana (27 g)
    8 ounces fruit yogurt (41 g)
    8 ounces orange juice (26 g)

Morning Snack
    2 Nature Valley Oats 'n Honey Granola Bars (29 g)
    8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)

Lunch
    1 large baked potato with 1/4 cup salsa (69 g)
    1 sourdough roll (40 g)
    8 ounces chocolate milk (26 g)
    1 large oatmeal cookie (56 g)

Afternoon Snack
    1 Clif Bar (42 g)
    8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)

Dinner
    1 chicken burrito with rice, corn salsa, and black beans (105 g)
    1 2-ounce bag Swedish Fish (51 g)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Mon: Resistance training
    Tues: Resistance training @ 9 km PMP + 1 minute.
    Weds: Resistance training & 6.6km easy
    Thurs: 8km PMP
    Fri: 5km easy
    Sat: 16km easy; round of golf
    Sun: Rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

This week has gone reasonably well, I still have some discomfort in my knee and I know it's going to be unpleasant on the day but I think it's manageable. I will continue with the stretching and foam rolling this week so hopefully this pain subsides to make the day more comfortable for me.

Week 17 Update:

Day|Miles|Pace|Time/Minutes|Type
    Monday|-|-|-|Rest Day
    Tuesday|4.4|9.30|41:57|Easy
    Wednesday|3.0|8.57|26:55|PMP
    Thursday|-|-|-|Rest Day
    Friday|3.5|10.10|35:43|LSR Pace
    Sat|-|-|-|Rest Day
    Sun|8.5|9.56|1:24:42|LSR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Gel Or No Gel?

Just trying to get an idea of how many of us will be taking gels on the day, and if so, how many?
    I'm taking 5 Hi 5 Berry ISO Gels. One every ~3 miles from mile 7. I will not take them when taking lucozade sport at 13 miles and later on and too much sugar will probably sicken me so will stagger them a bit then. Have some friends out from mile 20 with electorlyte drinks and banana halves if I can stomach anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

nop98 wrote: »
    From the FAQ page on the office DCM website:

Parking around the RDS won't be easy but is not impossible, especially on Saturday. I don't know how far your hotel is from Ballsbridge. If time permits, I'd sort yourself and your family out first, and then stroll over to the Expo to look around a bit.

Some folks have offered to collect your number for you and deliver it to your hotel, if you want to take them up on it, you need to get some paperwork in place a.s.a.p.

FWIW I was talking to a lad involved in the organising and this is their biggest field and they're expecting big queues on the Saturday - are recommending people go out on the Friday if possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

a148pro wrote: »
    FWIW I was talking to a lad involved in the organising and this is their biggest field and they're expecting big queues on the Saturday - are recommending people go out on the Friday if possible

I'm "working from home" on Friday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭robinwing

Does anybody have any advice about timing for eating meals during the last few days ? I do not want to be queuing for toilets before the off. I would like to be finished with going to the toilet by about 7 am . I don't know what times are best to eat breakfast , lunch, dinner etc in the days before the marathon in order for my digestive system to have finished its business by 7am .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

robinwing wrote: »
    Does anybody have any advice about timing for eating meals during the last few days ? I do not want to be queuing for toilets before the off. I would like to be finished with going to the toilet by about 7 am . I don't know what times are best to eat breakfast , lunch, dinner etc in the days before the marathon in order for my digestive system to have finished its business by 7am .

A lot of people drink coffee after their meal to help them out in that department, in fact if you read race reports some people make a special point of letting you know that detail.

I'd say nerves on the day would affect some people and they will be queuing for the John right up to kick off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Do they have urinals set up or is it all portaloo?

Skipping today's optional 3m rec. No reason other than being in a warm house watching football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

Bang 2 or 3 weetabix into ya before u hit the sack on sat night,...they will be waiting for u when u wake up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

All in all a good week for me got all the runs in but switched the 3 mile and LSR this weekend....been feeling like I had a bit of a head cold bit nothing serious....legs feeling better after the week of taper!

Nutrition for next Sunday will be two Hi 5 Gels and a packet of Fruit Pastilles....have not really relied of gels during training....plan to sip water at every station as well . Mrs scotindublin will be on hand in Chapelizod with a Protein Bar.

Off to Oxford tomorrow so will be some easy miles along the Thames this week.

Look after yourselves this week.....in 7 days we will be marathon runners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

My week...the penultimate week 17 HHN2 Plan

Mon - rest
    Tue - 6.5k @ 6.09 pace
    Wed - 5k @ 5.54 pace
    Thu - 6.5k @ 5.51 pace
    Fri - rest
    Sat - 13k @ 6.06 pace on grass
    Sun - 5k @ 6.06 pace

As I'm sure you all are, I am feeling quite tense and just want it to be next Sunday. This has been a great journey with you all and really hoping we all reach our destination smiling. Destination (I'm hoping at this stage) being the finish line :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

kin9pin wrote: »
    I'm taking 6 Hi5 isogels with me, plus 2 hi5 energy bars and 2 halves of the iso tabs to pop in water. My shorts have gel loops and a great pocket at the back, and I'll also be wearing my flip belt clone. Will probably throw a few jelly babys in as well.

Ditto.. probably 4-5 High5 Isogels, 2-3 energy bars, High 5 Zero tabs broken in 2 (wrapped in cling film) for drinks later in race & some jelly babies. Will rely on course water all the way.

I will use belt loops as opposed to pockets as that spreads the weight.

Plan to take Gel before start and then every 40 or so mins out on course. Will have more stock with wife in case I over indulge:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Skipping today's optional 3m rec. No reason other than being in a warm house watching football.

Good win for your lads..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Oddly enough that's the exact reason I went for mine .

My Week

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Monday Rest|-| |-|60
    Tuesday Easy|3.35|11:08|123|37:18|
    Wednesday pace|4.08|10:04|137|41:05
    Thursday Rest |-|-|-|-|
    Friday Rest|-|-|-|-
    Saturday LSR|8:00|10:58|129|87:44 mins
    Sunday Recovery|3.24|10:50|129|35:06
    Totals|||18:67 Miles|03:21:13 Hours

Good win for your lads..:D

Oh yes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Week 17 Boards plan

Monday: rest
    Tuesday: 3 miles easy (9:39min/mile)
    Wednesday: 4 miles easy (9:46min/mile)
    Thursday: 4 miles PMP (8:52min/mile)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 8 miles LSR (10:25min/mile)
    Sunday: 3 miles recovery (10:37min/mile)

Roll on next Sunday, the next week can not go quick enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭KathleenF

Hi - friend of mine hasn't received any emails from Dublin Marathon and thinks maybe his entry didn't go through. Can anyone confirm when last email they got from Dublin Marathon was received please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Hi everyone, I haven't been active on the thread but I've been following most of the way through since May this year. Great work building up the miles from all of you! I'm still a (marathon) novice, I got a bit addicted to the 2014 novices thread when I first found A/R and ended up training for DCM that year, but got injured 4weeks out. The full distance is still on my to-do list and I'm training for shorter distances at the moment.

Instead of running on Sunday, I'm going to get up early, go to the bakery, make a ginormous brunch and follow the marathon from the comfort of my sofa (I'll do my 8miles in the evening). I'll drop in here and post updates on your progress as I go.

In previous years there's been a table of Novices, bib numbers and target times getting filled in the approach to the big day. Here's a start for this year:

Bib No.| Username | Target Time | Actual Time
    0000 | hillsiderunner | xx:xx:xx |

If there are any celebrities on the thread wanting to keep their bib numbers off social media you are welcome to pm me those ;) (and I'll leave the seconds as xx on any times I post).

Enjoy the last week of tapering and eating and housework-dodging everyone :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

KathleenF wrote: »
    Hi - friend of mine hasn't received any emails from Dublin Marathon and thinks maybe his entry didn't go through. Can anyone confirm when last email they got from Dublin Marathon was received please?

I only got the one email at the time I registered back in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I'm hesitant to think of specific goals. My primary goal has always been to finish, and when pressed to consider times I thought if I can finish the thing in 5.30 I'd be delighted. That would have me running a pace of 12.35. Looking at my garmin online profile I realised how my pace is really all over the place and incredibly inconsistent. I'm not a mathematical runner and I never give pace much thought, but looking ahead to a 26.2 mile event perhaps I should, even at this late stage.

For some mad reason I went off way too quick in the half this year and buggered it all up, so I'm determined not to do that next week, but should I aim for a secondary goal of finishing sooner than 5.30? I'm not sure, as it's my first marathon and there are so many unknowns. My average pace for the longest events I've raced in the last two years are below, constructive input would be appreciated.

Frank Duffy - 11.50
    DCHM - 12.11
    Cork Half - 11.32
    Ballycotton 10 - 11.47

Ballycotton 10 - 11.10
    Stook 10 - 10.58
    DCHM - 11.14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

I think this is actually quite important, you don't want to be carrying around extra weight, be uncomfortable or be stressed / worried about where the jacks are on the route or before the start. I gather the queues can be very bad. Everyone being anxious and over eating in advance can't help. Ideally you would have a "regular" morning time to take this stress out of the race.

I have a big bowl of porridge every morning and two cups of coffee and as such will always go to the toilet before 9. This Sunday 9 is actually 10 in body clock terms because the clocks go back. So I hope to have gone before my short commute to the start. I imagine you will be having the same breakfast you always have but if you are planning on having a different breakfast I'd test it this week each morning and see if it makes your toilet visit more predictable? Coffee a great laxative and performance enhancer, but also a diuretic, not sure its the worlds best idea to have on marathon morning if you don't usually have it, but will certainly get things moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭KathleenF

Found his entry! Panic over.

a148pro wrote: »
    I think this is actually quite important, you don't want to be carrying around extra weight, be uncomfortable or be stressed / worried about where the jacks are on the route or before the start. I gather the queues can be very bad. Everyone being anxious and over eating in advance can't help. Ideally you would have a "regular" morning time to take this stress out of the race.

I have a big bowl of porridge every morning and two cups of coffee and as such will always go to the toilet before 9. This Sunday 9 is actually 10 in body clock terms because the clocks go back. So I hope to have gone before my short commute to the start. I imagine you will be having the same breakfast you always have but if you are planning on having a different breakfast I'd test it this week each morning and see if it makes your toilet visit more predictable? Coffee a great laxative and performance enhancer, but also a diuretic, not sure its the worlds best idea to have on marathon morning if you don't usually have it, but will certainly get things moving.

My concern here is not so much what you get rid of shortly after you wake, but will your breakfast give you problems about 3-4 hours later as you're running.

Can you get by eating enough the day before and then not really eating an awful lot the morning of the race? That's the plan I'm going for.

I plan on taking an Imodium just before I run and to bring one with me to take during the run. I want to keep the level of stomach discomfort down to as minimal as possible so will go with whatever advice suggests on that. To be honest that's about as big a concern for me as making my way around the 26.2.

Probably doesn't make pleasant reading I appreciate. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

More "LSRs" and more excellent taper news

What on earth am I going to do with my Sundays now this is coming to an end!?

kin9pin - I love that effortless feeling of miles ticking away. The taper is doing you good. Stay relaxed and controlled throughout and listen to your body. Good luck on the day!
    sibeen99 - Another one who is tapering well and set for a great debut. Good luck!
    Safrongirl - Get some sleep in! The best thing to do in terms of prep this week. I think you are going to do really well on the day - your determination will see you through the rough patches. Please let us know if you'll be okay for number pick-up?
    Extrasupervery - I think you'll find that niggles and bad patches come and go during the day itself. Recognize them in time, realize that it will go away, will help a lot to work through it. Walk through some of the water-stations to make sure you hydrate well, might also give it a little break. The very best of luck on the day - you'll do great! B.t.w. I hope Mr Neurotic is also doing well, and will do well on the day.
    GOOSEPAUL - another one who will tell anyone who want to hear that tapering actually works! :) Great to hear, and I hope you can replicate that feeling on the big day.
    tony1980, a.k.a. Ghostbuster. Glad to hear you'll be lining up on the day despite your knee worries - as with ESV, stay well tuned into your niggles. As long as it stays a discomfort, you're probably okay, you'll be the best judge. A sudden snap/sharp feeling is not good, in that case, live to fight another day... Good luck!
    paddydriver - Top marks for the "dress rehearsal". A rub-down is excellent, but as Myles recommended (oh, about 73 pages ago), don't do it too close to the day. Wednesday sounds fine to me. Good luck, sir - you'll do great, and I hope you get your family to join in the whole event!
    ToriV - another great dress rehearsal, we'll overlook the late bedtime as long as lights are out at 11pm each day this week! Great prep and all signs seem to be green for a great debut. Good luck!
    ligerdub - short and to the point update (10M today? :eek:). Good luck on the day!
    scotindublin - Another one who is feeling the benefits of the taper.. You have set yourself an ambitious target, by the way! All going well, you should nail it - really looking forward to see how you're getting on!

Nah that was yesterday morning. Today I rested, although given the United result I wish I hadn't. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Week 25 - Irish Runner Plan

Mon: 4 miles easy (had done 21 on sat and legs were still very sore)
    Tue: Pilates
    Wed: 5 miles (legs still a bit stiff)
    Thur/Fri: Rest
    Sat: 6 miles. Had planned 8 miles but I tripped about 5 miles in and felt something pull in the arch of my foot. Tried to run it off but it was niggling and I didn't want to risk it.
    Sun: Foot still a bit niggly so rested instead of running 3 miles.

Foot much better, still a bit of an ache but it's one I'd usually ignore if it wasn't so close to Marathon Day. Stretching and icing, I'll strap it up and it should be ok by tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I'm hesitant to think of specific goals. My primary goal has always been to finish, and when pressed to consider times I thought if I can finish the thing in 5.30 I'd be delighted. That would have me running a pace of 12.35. Looking at my garmin online profile I realised how my pace is really all over the place and incredibly inconsistent. I'm not a mathematical runner and I never give pace much thought, but looking ahead to a 26.2 mile event perhaps I should, even at this late stage.

For some mad reason I went off way too quick in the half this year and buggered it all up, so I'm determined not to do that next week, but should I aim for a secondary goal of finishing sooner than 5.30? I'm not sure, as it's my first marathon and there are so many unknowns. My average pace for the longest events I've raced in the last two years are below, constructive input would be appreciated.

Frank Duffy - 11.50
    DCHM - 12.11
    Cork Half - 11.32
    Ballycotton 10 - 11.47

Ballycotton 10 - 11.10
    Stook 10 - 10.58
    DCHM - 11.14

Hey ESV - couple of things come to mind.

If you say that you're not a mathematical runner, so let's not try and change that on the day itself. Nothing new on race-day! As for expressing specific goals, I'd suggest two simple ones, (a) 5h30 and (b) finish without being turned off from running for life.

As for race strategy, just based on the race-paces you listed, I would suggest, firstly, that the most important thing is to not go out too fast. Secondly, deploy a run-walk strategy when you feel you need to. So, how about making sure you don't exceed 12:20-30 minute miles from the start, and take your time getting through each of the aid-stations. It seems that in your previous 10-13M races you managed 20-100 seconds per mile faster, so it seems a reasonable target for pace throughout the day, given that the distance will be so much longer.

Additionally, mentally split up the race in three parts: 10M, 10M, and 10k. These distances are individually well within reach - so treat them as individual milestones for the day itself. In order to get through the day, make sure that the first 10M are slower than anything you have ran before. Don't go out too fast. This will set you up to push through the second 10M, which will be hard but you can succeed, since you banked some reserves during the first 10M. This second stretch will break the back of the distance. Once you're through the this big stretch and hit your second milestone of the day, you're in Clonskeagh and it's a 10k run home. You have covered 10k many, many times over the past few months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Thanks nop; I too think my target is ambitious but will be trusting my training to get me there....if it doesn't happen I am not going to get too hung up on it; anything could happen on the day. I am just happy that training has gone well and barring any last minute disasters I will be toeing the line! You guys are always saying that we only get one chance to run our first marathon so let's try and enjoy it as much as we can; that will be high up in my thoughts on the day.

6 days to go come on!!!!!!
    nop98 wrote: »
    More "LSRs" and more excellent taper news
    scotindublin - Another one who is feeling the benefits of the taper.. You have set yourself an ambitious target, by the way! All going well, you should nail it - really looking forward to see how you're getting on!