Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Firedance wrote: »
    Incredible that it took another 5 years before women were officially allowed enter Boston...I didn't realise that about Dublin ESP, have the declined by much?

I got the info from a link someone shared a while back.

https://medium.com/running-with-data/a-data-analysis-of-the-dublin-marathon-48138724973e#.7u02w9whq

46% of participants in 2000 were women, last year it was 30%. We make up about 55% of society yet we are horrendously under-represented in sport. Sign your daughters up for soccer and bring them to park runs! Girls who participate in sport have more self confidence, do better at school and build better relationships all round.

Hon the women marathoners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

UM1 wrote: »
    Boards heads and non boards heads(NB) doin pacin this year ,Do come over and say" hello",Dont say "are we goin too fast".. :)
    3hrs. Frank Q.marty ,cannine runner
    3:10 .dublin runner,Paul,some dude from la galaxie..
    3:20 beepbeep ,GChris
    3:30 NBCharlotte,NbRolando, fboto1
    3:40. PauliC , yaboya,snailsong
    3:50. NB Olie, Ankers , NBRex Brillantes
    4:00.. Gary "red shorts" Reinhardt,martastew,Mr stew
    4:10.. meno,bostondave,NBPeter
    4:20.. Jbski1. RayLanigan , Davedanon
    4:30. UM1,NB,pascal ,NB,Alison
    4:40 NB andrew, hoganstand,charliechapman
    4:50. Cassin40,Paceymule,NB Ann
    5:00. NB anne,,ultrarunner,QunniP

Apologies if this has been asked already, but how come there are multiple pacers? Do they split the task taking turns? Or does this mean there will be a 3.30 pacer in the second third waves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

a148pro wrote: »
    Apologies if this has been asked already, but how come there are multiple pacers? Do they split the task taking turns? Or does this mean there will be a 3.30 pacer in the second third waves?

No, there will be three pacers per group. There are good reasons to have "back-up", one of the pacers might injure him/herself and have to stop, and some of the groups (3h30, 4h00, 4h30 primarily) are so large - especially at the start - that it make sense to have the pacers run a little spread-out to just ease the congestion a little. But as far as I know, they will not run in separate waves.

I have heard through the grapevine, that during the DCHM one of the pace-group got split into two waves (accidentally) because the pacers lined up in separate waves. But again, I don't think that was intentional, even tho that seem to have worked out well on the day itself.

https://medium.com/running-with-data/a-data-analysis-of-the-dublin-marathon-48138724973e#.7u02w9whq

46% of participants in 2000 were women, last year it was 30%. We make up about 55% of society yet we are horrendously under-represented in sport. Sign your daughters up for soccer and bring them to park runs! Girls who participate in sport have more self confidence, do better at school and build better relationships all round.

Hear hear!

Speaking of women marathoners, how were your last couple of weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭sibeen99

Final 'long' run done and dusted. 8m at 10 min pace. I must say I felt great today. Legs felt strong so pace was probably a little faster than it should've been. Followed the run up with final vision to physio and all is looking good now :)

It's hard to believe it's nearly time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Is this the longest week of the longest weeks ? Can even imagine how next week will be. Have been very busy at work and another long day tomorrow so still feeling very tired and not sleeping at night - have my herbal tablets to take to help me sleep but even they arent working now .

Still cant get a physio appointment and really need my quads worked on - tempted to ask hubby to have a go !!!

Talking to a seasoned marathon runner today and he said it will be very busy in certain areas and quite narrow so be careful not to trip or get tripped - slow slow slow is the order of the day until it spreads out a bit. Another thing to put on the worry list.
    Does anyone know what time the expo closes at on the Saturday ? Is there parking out there or should we go to the hotel and get a taxi out ? I had thought straight to the expo get the number and then to the hotel ???

Don't think I count as a woman marathoner just yet. My 8 miler turned into a 6 miler but I was happy with it. My right foot was burning and very sore at 3 miles so I doubled back there instead of at 4, however by mile 5 it had kinda loosened back out again. I go between thinking it's actually fine and I'm just being paranoid to thinking it's stupid for me to expect to run 26.2 miles when 3 is sore but overall thoughts are **** it, it'll be grand. I'll continue the icing and stretching exercises given to me by my physio. Looking forward to the final few short runs and the big day itself now.

nop98 wrote: »
    No, there will be three pacers per group. There are good reasons to have "back-up", one of the pacers might injure him/herself and have to stop, and some of the groups (3h30, 4h00, 4h30 primarily) are so large - especially at the start - that it make sense to have the pacers run a little spread-out to just ease the congestion a little. But as far as I know, they will not run in separate waves.

I have heard through the grapevine, that during the DCHM one of the pace-group got split into two waves (accidentally) because the pacers lined up in separate waves. But again, I don't think that was intentional, even tho that seem to have worked out well on the day itself.

At the DCHM one of the pacers in the sub 2 hour group kept having to stop to pee (to the entire crowd's amusement, dude couldn't hide with that balloon) and then had to repeatedly catch up to his fellow pacer. Would've been very stressful for him if he didn't have a buddy, and confusing for the runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Penultimate week!!!

Monday: rest
    Tuesday: 5 miles
    Wednesday: 5 miles
    Thursday: 3 miles
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 8 miles

Wow, what a nice day for the final long run. I do hope we get a day like today next Sunday. Taper going well but I did not think the legs would feel this good. It was one of the nicest runs I've had in a long time. Alot of runners out along the canal. Averaged 9 minute miles and the temptation was there to run faster. Will stick to the prescribed miles for next week.

Well done everyone, it's almost over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Got my 3 runs in mid-week without incident, decided to take today off and spend some quality time with the family but got a lot of foam rolling and stretching in earlier while playing pretend Ghostbusters on the ground with the small fella :pac: He was very curious as to why the Ghost (Me) had to keep doing so much stretching after been chased :pac:

Will get my 8 Mile LSR in tomorrow morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Fieldsman

Sorry for coming into this tread so late. Well folks I'll be having a go tomorrow week and then I'll return home to the west and blow out a few candles maybe ??
    Yes it is a long race but bear in mind I've a good chunk of the eight decade used up so I can tell ye it's like a lump of lead on your back. Anyhow that's enough of 'looking for sympathy' but last year the wheels came of my wagon in the last six miles and I finished up doing 4 48.
    This year I'm hoping for better with a target of 4 30 in my mind, though I had a few health issues during the summer which curtailed my training for a few weeks leaving me doing only two 20 mile runs.
    This year I intend to hang in behind the 4 20 pacers for as long as I can and suffer the consequences for the last six or more. Good luck to everyone on the 30th

Fieldsman wrote: »
    Sorry for coming into this tread so late. Well folks I'll be having a go tomorrow week and then I'll return home to the west and blow out a few candles maybe ??
    Yes it is a long race but bear in mind I've a good chunk of the eight decade used up so I can tell ye it's like a lump of lead on your back. Anyhow that's enough of 'looking for sympathy' but last year the wheels came of my wagon in the last six miles and I finished up doing 4 48.
    This year I'm hoping for better with a target of 4 30 in my mind, though I had a few health issues during the summer which curtailed my training for a few weeks leaving me doing only two 20 mile runs.
    This year I intend to hang in behind the 4 20 pacers for as long as I can and suffer the consequences for the last six or more. Good luck to everyone on the 30th

Hello Fieldsman, I seem to recall you popped into last year's thread too? Some serious running history if I recall, including many marathon finishes. Delighted to have you pop in and say hello - the very best of luck next weekend!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

It seems to start at a young age alright. Boys are more likely to be involved in clubs. Girls engage in vigorous exercise less often. Recent study from NUIG.

Body image probably has something to do with it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Another week closer to the big day.Got the miles in this week and then 8M LSR today.. which I ran at PMP (just cause I could not resist and I felt liberated having a shorter run on a Sat morning).

Had a bit of a lie in today and didn't go out till after 10AM. I headed over via Churchtown and joined the DCM route at The Dropping Well. Tipped along and picked out where I reckon best place for wife and kids is next week and which side of road is best to give them longest view up the road etc. I followed the route then all the way to end of Foster's Av at N11.. as I ran up thru Clonskeagh and along Roebuck Rd I was wondering if my legs will be feeling same next week or will my HR be at similar rate etc.. I practiced my stride up the last climb on Roebuck Rd and then relaxed into the downhill down Fosters. As I hit the N11 and stopped and looked out along the N11 towards towns and imagined what I hope it will be like next Sunday and how I will be feeling.. it was spine tingling!

From there I ran up the N11 all the way to Tree's Rd and headed home via Mt Merrion for just over 8M - through to form, I put in a fast 1M for the last one.. (Nop is gonna kill me..).

I decided to load up with all my gel's, bars and jelly babies today so that I was at racing weight. I took 2 x gels in quick succession too so that I could do final tests on tummy and there were no ill effects. I took an energy bar and some jelly babies soon after too and again just wanted to see how much fiddling involved in getting all out.

Got home feeling fresh enough and was happy with no ill effects.. except usual wear and tear. I chatted to a few people today about how that 8M run felt like a simple aul jog compared to the 20M'ers we have been doing.. to think that most would find running 8M an absolute torture and just couldn't do it; I guess that's how far we have come and what we have trained our bodies to be able to do.

I too am paranoid about coughs, colds and sniffles etc.. but whatever will be, will be. I worked yesterday in a hospital and honestly was thinking not best place to be.. now I did spent most of it in a computer room but all the same its not a great place to try avoid bugs.

So I will follow Boards plan for this week and have PT session booked for right after my 5M on Weds as that's when he said best time to meet is as he will be able to check me over with my legs worked and in running mode... I trust his judgement! Any thoughts here and do I need to just leave it to the expert? There is no particular reason I need to go to him but just figured a nice sports massage and rub down would be worth it so as to reset the muscles for Sunday.

Great to see all the check in's from today! 1 week to go.. stay healthy everyone and enjoy it. Can't wait for Sunday and so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Eight miles done ...hard to believe that the last one. Nice slow jog around at 10.00 pace, practiced the gels and some Opal Fruits and felt great. I know it's late sir, but I'm having a long sleep in in the morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Not sure if this will post or not but good article on coping with taper time http://www.runnersworld.com/ask-coach-jenny/three-mantras-to-calm-taper-madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

At the DCHM one of the pacers in the sub 2 hour group kept having to stop to pee (to the entire crowd's amusement, dude couldn't hide with that balloon) and then had to repeatedly catch up to his fellow pacer. Would've been very stressful for him if he didn't have a buddy, and confusing for the runners.

Either that wasn't this year or it wasn't the sub 2 group :)

Myself and Marthastew paced sub2 this year and it wasn't me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Good Morning All,

Fabulous morning..(Hopefully can't jinx anything if I don't mention it, NOP ..lol)

..imagine this time next week folks.....a a a ah!!!!!! Suppose just remember the training is in the legs, just need to keep the mind positive and after that we can't control it. Originally was planning to break DCM into 10m, 10m and 10km then heard yesterday to treat it as 10k intervals as smaller intervals but as its mathematically incorrect will stick to the original idea.

Thanks again NOP98 & Co for all the advice and patience along the way, I would not be here now without your help so much appreciated, it appears as if the challenge started longer than five months ago, can't remember life without runners.

Thanks to all the fellow novices, for sharing their experiences both bad and good as it's helped to shape our own DCM path, it also helped me to reminisce while out on the running 20 miles solo particularly when the weather was awful.

Anyway think ye would be better off if I had running to do today instead of letting my voice wander on and on...

Happy Final DCM training week all

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

4307794.jpg

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Does anyone know what time the expo closes at on the Saturday ? Is there parking out there or should we go to the hotel and get a taxi out ? I had thought straight to the expo get the number and then to the hotel ???

From the FAQ page on the office DCM website:
    Where do I pick up my RACE / BIB number (Race Pack)?

Race numbers (race pack) will be available for collection at the Dublin Marathon EXPO in the Main Hall of the R.D.S on Friday 28th from 12 to 7pm and Saturday 29th October between the hours of 9am and 7pm.

Where is the EXPO?

The SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon EXPO takes place on Friday 28th and Saturday 29th and you must attend to collect your race (bib) number. You must bring Photo ID with you to collect your number. As last year the EXPO is in the Main Hall of the R.D.S in Ballsbridge, Dublin 4.The venue has great facilities and is easily accessible by road, bus, dart (local train service) and car.

Parking around the RDS won't be easy but is not impossible, especially on Saturday. I don't know how far your hotel is from Ballsbridge. If time permits, I'd sort yourself and your family out first, and then stroll over to the Expo to look around a bit.

Some folks have offered to collect your number for you and deliver it to your hotel, if you want to take them up on it, you need to get some paperwork in place a.s.a.p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Gel Or No Gel?

Just trying to get an idea of how many of us will be taking gels on the day, and if so, how many?

I've one left from the box I got in August. At the moment, I'm thinking that if my wife is going to be out on the course supporting, I might give it to her to hand to me wherever. If not, I'll probably just throw it in the bin. There's two gel stations on the course anyway, if I feel like I really need them at that stage.

Meanwhile, I got home from yesterday's parkrun volunteering stint feeling like I'd been knocked for six by some bug or other, which is still with me today. Well at least it's happening this weekend and not next :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

I plan on carrying 5 gels, I use High 5 Isogels which are not the same as provided. I plan on wearing two (very light) belt bags as I found during the 3/4 marathon 5 gels in one bag annoyed me as it bounced up and down, it was grand when I went down to 3 gels....so two caffeine gels in one bag with some dextrose energy tablets and two half electrolyte tabs if I feel the need I can pop a half into a bottle of water from the water stations, and 3 non caffeine gels in the other bag. That should be it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I'm using High5 iso gels orange favour I will be carrying 8 with me 1 every 3 miles but it's unlikely I will use them all will probably bring some jellies to alternate and take the in course Lucozade as well . I'd say I'll take 4 gels at most. I will be using gel belying we got in the fingal 10k pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I'm taking 6 Hi5 isogels with me, plus 2 hi5 energy bars and 2 halves of the iso tabs to pop in water. My shorts have gel loops and a great pocket at the back, and I'll also be wearing my flip belt clone. Will probably throw a few jelly babys in as well.

Either that wasn't this year or it wasn't the sub 2 group :)

Myself and Marthastew paced sub2 this year and it wasn't me :D

Apologies, it was one of the later groups! With two men pacing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

nop98 wrote: »
    Parking around the RDS won't be easy but is not impossible, especially on Saturday. I don't know how far your hotel is from Ballsbridge. If time permits, I'd sort yourself and your family out first, and then stroll over to the Expo to look around a bit.

Leinster have a home game in the RDS on Saturday @ 5.15 - expect traffic to be very busy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 17, HHN1 :eek:

Tues: Physio - all clear
    Weds: 6.02 mi. Time: 59:14. 9:51 min/mi Avg Pace. Back running. Shower at work had warm water for about 30 seconds.
    Thurs: 3.03 mi. Time: 29:38. 9:46 min/mi Avg Pace.
    Sat: 8.02 mi. Time: 1:29:58. 11:13. min/mi Avg Pace. All grand, feet felt good. Nerves started to kick in on Friday night. Great to read all the final LSR reports. Quite a journey we've been on.
    Sun: 3.02 mi. Time: 33:01. 10:56 min/mi Avg Pace. Mild discomfort on the arch of the right foot now. :mad:

Week 16
    Week 15
    Week 14
    Week 13
    Week 12
    Week 11
    Week 10
    Week 9
    Week 8
    Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1

Don't forget the acceptance slip for collecting your number.

I'm taking 2 gels and 2 energy bars, plus water with electrolyte - have never trained with any more than that. I'm sure the Lucozade will seem tempting...

Just wanted to say very best of luck to everyone throughout the thread (not just the ones making the start line) its the beginning of a journey into a great sport and best to view it as a starting rather than end point

Your mentors have said most of what I could say and you are in safe hands the only bit of taper advice I can add and one that I tell most of the people I coach:

If your OH is not a runner the most important thing you can do during your taper is earn brownie points at home. What you do over the next week around the house will have a huge bearing on how much training you can do in your next cycle ;)

Thank you for your well wishes, Myles, and your nuggets of wisdom spread around the thread. Really helpful and insightful. That last paragraph is a secret tho, isn't it? We won't talk about that strategy outside this thread ;)

The very best of luck with your own goals for the day. I just saw your target on the main event thread and read through your log. Very impressive. Good luck!

Gel Or No Gel?

Just trying to get an idea of how many of us will be taking gels on the day, and if so, how many?

I've one left from the box I got in August. At the moment, I'm thinking that if my wife is going to be out on the course supporting, I might give it to her to hand to me wherever. If not, I'll probably just throw it in the bin. There's two gel stations on the course anyway, if I feel like I really need them at that stage.

I brought 2 and had 3 with friends out along the course (M8, 15, and 22). I knew where they would be and made sure I took the one I was carrying just before I would meet them. Can't remember if I used all 5, but at least 4 and some jelly beans that one of the lads gave me.
    Meanwhile, I got home from yesterday's parkrun volunteering stint feeling like I'd been knocked for six by some bug or other, which is still with me today. Well at least it's happening this weekend and not next :rolleyes:

Volunteering at parkrun is now added to the list of forbidden activities during the taper. Best to get it now and out of the system!