How much to give the local priest? (rural living)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

The best donation the Roman church ever got was the deal from Woods and Fianna Fail on the abuse compensation in 2002. It was a disgrace.

18 religious orders limited their liability in redress payments to €128m, with the State picking up the rest of the over €1.3bn cost of the compensation scheme.

Woods was a strong Catholic and was conned by that disgusting organisation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

Carson10 wrote:
    collection for the priest so he can update his car it sounds like. No such thing as a poor priest. My local rural priest, drives a 151 Jeep and goes on golfing trips.

Mine has a 5 series 161 BMW lol dresses like a Milan male model and drives too fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mine has a 5 series 161 BMW lol dresses like a Milan male model and drives too fast

:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Magellan Murphy

And a pedo probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Sounds like he's a bebo stunna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

So....... A knock at the door at 8pm this evening and it's the neighbour next door asking for a donation to the local priest/church.

Brief background probably useful..... We've been here a year, get on fine with neighbours, we're not in the least bit religious.

So I gave her 2.65 which is all I had in coins.

The dog was barking and I didnt want the kids woken and I'm from Dublin originally so the whole thing of person gathering money for local church is foreign to me and I was caught on the hop a bit.
    The lady was perfectly polite and said thanks but did seem taken aback by my scant donation.

So I close the door and then get the head eaten off me by my missus saying I should have given at "least a tenner ffs".

Shes from Mayo so shes saying that you should always give a tenner.

How the hell am I supposed to know what you should "always give"?

So should I call round tomorrow and part with a tenner? Or would that look even worse?

I think I should leave it but herself is saying give the tenner tomorrow.

Feckin stupid situation imo. It's a Friday night, kids in bed and here I am worrying about supposedly not giving enough money to a religion that I dont even believe in.

Crazy crap.

Any thoughts?

Ah come on....you don't need to hand over a tenner...it's 7.35 you owe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

Biggest mistake you ever made. When it comes time to get your children into the local secondary school you will find yourself driving to Dublin every morning to a school there. Bite your tongue and give a small contribution every week and save yourself a fortune in a few years time. Sad but true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Next time the woman calls just say "Ah here missus, that auld priest had his hands deep in my pockets when I was an alter boy, and now you want me to let him do the same again?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What does one get for a tenner? As a non-believer? Any chance of the good PP coming round and doing a bit of ironing? Mow the lawn? Something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I wouldn't give the church a single penny. Not a single cent. They are filthy rich in terms of assets.

Collecting door to door for religious reasons is a disgrace. It is guilting people into giving money to a disgraced, corrupt organisation that has been a cancer on this country. I would not give anyone a cent who called at my door looking for money for the church.

This should not be happening in 2016.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I wouldn't give the church a single penny. Not a single cent. They are filthy rich in terms of assets.

Collecting door to door for religious reasons is a disgrace. It is guilting people into giving money to a disgraced, corrupt organisation that has been a cancer on this country. I would not give anyone a cent who called at my door looking for money for the church.

This should not be happening in 2016.

Yeah I agree with all of that.

Like I said, I was caught on the hop a bit and it's a tad more complicated when my good lady turns out to have a differing view so I think the best thing is to let her decide tomorrow.
    I won't be going around to them anyway.

I've decided that much. But if she wants to then that's her decision to make.

Thanks everyone for the replies, have a nice weekend. And only open the door if necessary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 966 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Tell them to fcuk right off calling to your door looking for money

Grandfather done that 50 odd years ago....the church is the richest organisation in the country

The Government is. They take half your earnings and then the rest on property/car/insurance/VAT etc

The Church as much maligned as it is, could at least run hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Christ will love you to the end.

You don't need to pay money to be part of our thing.

Only dirty bad boy cnuts go to Hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Leaving Dublin was a mistake

Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭SixSixSix

Not quite a neighbour calling, but I had a letter and envelope in the door during the week from the 'parish council' to say that Father Priest was retiring, my contribution would be appreciated and they would be calling back during the week for the envelope.
    I hope they have fun going through my recycling bin.

Brings to mind...
    Coming home and finding the other half shagging the local parish priest who was retiring.
    "WTF?"
    "It was you who said "Give him €2 and f*** him!""

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cheek of them going around begging for money and a huge number of the people they are bothering don't even practice and/or are not catholics.
    Closest we came here to that, was the packet of donation envelopes which used to be picked up at the start of the year by mass go-ers is now brought to your house and handed to you. The priest is forever banging on about the drop in attendance and more importantly the drop in collections. You'd swear he was going to be rationing the heating oil or counting the lumps of coal for the fire this winter. Thankfully, if things get too bleak he can always go out into his garage and sit in his enormous 161 yacht and warm his toes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Maybe the local church organises food or shelter support for people with little income.

As someone new in the local town, did you check out the level of religious participation in the town? Maybe it is not your sort of place. You can't be so unreasonable as to expect every place to be focussed on your needs and ignore the community that was there long before you arrived.

It is like arriving in at a new workplace, and there is a going away/retirement present for someone who you have only known a week.

Now, the envelope is going around - do you give money like a fiver like everyone even though you are fresh in the door, or do you make a dick of yourself and refuse?

Not giving whatever is typical basically means you will be regarded as a tightwad and not someone who wants to be part of the local community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The Cannon where I lived for the region covered up sexual abuse claims. An arrogant **** who my father always hated.

I have met 3-4 wondferful priests too, but I find it hard and never have given money.

EVENFLOW

dissed doc wrote: »
    Maybe the local church organises food or shelter support for people with little income.

As someone new in the local town, did you check out the level of religious participation in the town? Maybe it is not your sort of place. You can't be so unreasonable as to expect every place to be focussed on your needs and ignore the community that was there long before you arrived.

It is like arriving in at a new workplace, and there is a going away/retirement present for someone who you have only known a week.

Now, the envelope is going around - do you give money like a fiver like everyone even though you are fresh in the door, or do you make a dick of yourself and refuse?

Not giving whatever is typical basically means you will be regarded as a tightwad and not someone who wants to be part of the local community.

Not my sort of place? That's a tad OTT, I gave her a donation, I just misjudged the amount that is apparently expected.
    And like i said in previous posts I was just caught on the hop a bit, I wasn't trying to insult anyone with the amount I gave.

I agree with the rest of your post and fully see your point. I understand that the onus is on me to fit in rather than impose my views on the locals but at the same time I'm not going to try to pretend to be an ardent catholic when I'm not.

The thread wasn't intended to bash rural catholics, it was just to ask about whether this is common practice and how much is expected.
    Looks like I should have given her a tenner now with the benefit of hindsight but I'm going to leave it now because I'd feel awkward/embarrassed going around with more money today.

I highly doubt that I'll be ostracised from the local community for only donating 2.65 and sure if I am then you'll be right and it's not the place for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

I highly doubt that I'll be ostracised from the local community for only donating 2.65 and sure if I am then you'll be right and it's not the place for me :)

The shunning will begin soon I imagine - probably when it's time to offer the sign of peace and you will notice the lack of eye contact and reluctance to shake hands.

Life will become unbearable. :pac:

dissed doc wrote: »
    The shunning will begin soon I imagine - probably when it's time to offer the sign of peace and you will notice the lack of eye contact and reluctance to shake hands.

Life will become unbearable. :pac:

Haha, yeah and the most worrying thing of all is that this would mean i've suddenly started attending mass!

(you meant mass, right? There's no custom about offering the sign of peace and shaking hands while walking through the village?) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

One_Of_Shanks I think you'd have been right to give them nothing.
    They got more than that so they're doing well.
    If your OH is so worried about it let her drop over her own tenner when she can.
    I don't think your locals or strangers on the internet should be trying to goad you into giving anything.

The one or two posters saying you should have given a twenty or a fifty must be having a laugh.

Put it behind you, if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

In the first week of me moving into my new house, someone knocked at the door and asked for money for the dues. I thought she said jews and refused , asking what did they need it for. She went off in a huff. I found out the next day what dues were and ended up with a few of my neighbours not talking to me for years. One of the first things people like to know in country areas is what brand of christian you are.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

In the first week of me moving into my new house, someone knocked at the door and asked for money for the dues. I thought she said jews and refused , asking what did they need it for. She went off in a huff. I found out the next day what dues were and ended up with a few of my neighbours not talking to me for years. One of the first things people like to know in country areas is what brand of christian you are.
    So... eh... what are "the dues"? Sounds like payment for a protection racket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think the going rate is one small boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

byte wrote: »
    So... eh... what are "the dues"? Sounds like payment for a protection racket

The Priest's Dues, are his wage. The weekly collection goes towards the running costs of the parish. The Dues are the stipend the Priest receives as a wage. Some parishes collect it periodically such as Easter Dues, Christmas Dues etc., while others would have a monthly Dues envelope. Some Dues are collected by calling to houses while others are collected at mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

The Priest's Dues, are his wage. The weekly collection goes towards the running costs of the parish. The Dues are the stipend the Priest receives as a wage. Some parishes collect it periodically such as Easter Dues, Christmas Dues etc., while others would have a monthly Dues envelope. Some Dues are collected by calling to houses while others are collected at mass.

Why don't the Roman bank/cult start selling "indulgences" again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Hopefully within the next few generations this type of Little House on the Prairie backwards bullh1t is a distant memory.

Maybe if they had woken up sooner, rural Ireland would have decent broadband to brag about as opposed to 'good GAA church giving families'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Why don't the Roman bank/cult start selling "indulgences" again??

I have no idea, as I was just answering a question, but I think they had a problem as a result of that business model some years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'd always rather have 2.65 than nothing, personally.

From reading the OP I don't think this is true. You had 2.65, now you have nothing hahaha.