Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just popping in to wish everyone the best of luck! The nerves, if they haven't already, will be kicking in, but you should all be enjoying the taper! You'll find yourself second guessing yourself, worrying about every small ache and pain. Ignore it. You've done the training, you'll get through this. The biggest risk now is to tire yourself out with the taper. You'll find yourself recovering and fighting yourself to go faster than an easier pace. Just reign it it. Almost there now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭kiloecho15

Firstly well done to everyone in the hard work in training and good luck in DCM 2016. Its my 3rd marathon but I still consider myself a complete novice. I am badly plagued by injury so hoping to get around. Just a quick question, are the mile markers fairly correct for pacing or should I work off my garmin miles. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Quick question - my plan for this saturday is to do 12 miles. This seems a bit high for the week before the marathon - what would you recommend? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

8 is plenty this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

kiloecho15 wrote: »
    Firstly well done to everyone in the hard work in training and good luck in DCM 2016. Its my 3rd marathon but I still consider myself a complete novice. I am badly plagued by injury so hoping to get around. Just a quick question, are the mile markers fairly correct for pacing or should I work off my garmin miles. thanks

The mile markers will be more accurate than your garmin so work off them. You could turn off the mile alert on your watch and hit the lap button at each mile sign so you know your splits.

Keep an eye out for the mile markers though, it can be difficult to see them, particularly at the start when the crowd hasn't thinned yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭kiloecho15

Neady83 wrote: »
    The mile markers will be more accurate than your garmin so work off them. You could turn off the mile alert on your watch and hit the lap button at each mile sign so you know your splits.

Keep an eye out for the mile markers though, it can be difficult to see them, particularly at the start when the crowd hasn't thinned yet.

Thanks Neady83. Will do exactly that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

For what it's worth, only twice this week did I consider that I wouldn't be running the marathon.
    Once when clattering my left Achilles off the bottom of a radiator at 6am on Monday morning, not sure how I managed to do that but the pain was pretty sweet for a few mins and for most of the evening thereafter (after running of course), been fine since and then earlier today when I had my first physio appointment since starting marathon training 15 weeks ago. All is fine, just to work out my right calf a bit.

I know I am not going mad, I am going through the taper!

Eyes on the prize everyone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

It's difficult for me to set a realistic goal, since my training didn't go as planned. I was confident of a sub-4 before the injury, but not sure what I'm capable of now. In some ways this is a blessing - I see plenty of people here who will be disappointed if they don't make their A goal. I'm just delighted to be starting - it was touch and go for a while.

My strategy will be to start behind the 4.20 pacers, and try to keep them in sight. Hopefully I will be able to maintain this pace. If I feel ok, I might try to push on and catch/pass them in the last 5 miles or so. But really I'll be happy to finish.

A Goal - 4.20
    B Goal - 4.30
    C Goal - run the whole thing, finish, without re-injuring myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

9 days 16 hours 0 minutes until Wave 2 starts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Haha I just text one of the lads pretty much the same thing! Just got abuse about my OCD!!
    kin9pin wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Nice quiet and gentle 15km this morning - nothing to report at all - was a beautiful morning out but boy was I cold for the first 1km - I wore a long sleeve top and leggins and was just feeling Ok - didnt start until 9.30am either so not like I was out really early - my hands were frozen too - I will be purple with the cold on the start line of the big day.
    A girl I sort of know - we started last year with the couch to 5km - came up to me in the street today - "I heard your running the marathon " The joys of living in a small town - she was really nice though and really bigging up the achievement of even doing the training ! Its getting real !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

I hope you're all feeling good and strong. I remember last year feeling super nervous and lots of jitters around now. Ignore all those thoughts, you CAN do it. You've already done the hard work. The worst part is the training. You won't stop smiling on marathon day. Enjoy every second and DON'T WORRY ABOUT TIMES!!!

Hope to see you on the day (if I make it to the start line!).

Plagued with injury this year. This is my second one but I'll be much, much slower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭seanin4711

13.5miles done this morning(twas a grand day for a run) long slow run needed to get it done! 8:30min miles, flat course quiet country roads lovely!!!

taper now on!

probably ill-advised to do such a distance but I am minding myself with physio last three weeks(one more sesh next week) and injuries have been very temporary(thank God!).

epsom salts bath after any run longer than 13miles.
    recovery shake straight after run plus good dinner no more than 2 hours after that.

feel good so whats the plan for final weeks of taper?
    I am thinking of doing
    • monday 8km flat easy
    • wednesday 5/6km flat easy
    • friday 5/6km flat easy

hitting the expo sat afternoon(up from Loughrea) and hanging out in CLondalkin for the night.
    then over to the start line by 8am.

hope your all well and happy and injury free!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Quick question - my plan for this saturday is to do 12 miles. This seems a bit high for the week before the marathon - what would you recommend? :)

KC from memory you're on Dave carrie is it not 10/12 go for the lower ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Seeing as you've all got a bit of spare time on your hands (:pac:) put the kettle on and have a read of this runners debut marathon :)

http://www.runnersworld.com/runners-stories/kathrine-switzer-runs-the-boston-marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Having lots of trouble sleeping this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

RasTa wrote: »
    Having lots of trouble sleeping this week

Epsom salt bath always makes me sleep like a baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

So taper madness hasn't yet taken over A? Good to know :)

In other news....I decided to skip the Boards plan 4 mile with strides and just do some stretching instead. I probably could have got the mileage in one way or another. I just wasn't willing to risk my chances of getting a respectable* time being fubarred. Saturday will tell a tale. As it stands, I intend to do the 8 miles, but I'll be ready to pull the plug if the seas get any way choppy.

*at this stage I'd consider sub 4 a more than decent outcome, not to mention still a sizeable PB...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

seanin4711 wrote: »
    13.5miles done this morning(twas a grand day for a run) long slow run needed to get it done! 8:30min miles, flat course quiet country roads lovely!!!

Well done, that must be close to a HM PB?
    seanin4711 wrote: »
    taper now on!

Ehm, for which marathon is this? :D

kittyclaws wrote: »
    RayCun wrote: »
    8 is plenty this weekend

Agree - no more double-digit mileage! There is nothing more to be gained in terms of fitness, and a lot to be lost. Save those legs, while keeping them ticking over. Lots of TLC for the legs, stretching, rolling, and Epson salt baths!
    Safrongirl wrote: »
    Nice quiet and gentle 15km this morning - nothing to report at all - was a beautiful morning out but boy was I cold for the first 1km - I wore a long sleeve top and leggins and was just feeling Ok - didnt start until 9.30am either so not like I was out really early - my hands were frozen too - I will be purple with the cold on the start line of the big day.

It is a bit of a balancing act alright. Plenty of people wear cheap extra layers at the start, and take them off as the mass starts moving. A lot of clothing gets discarded, which, AFAIK, gets collected and donated to the homeless. So get yourself a cheapie hoodie or so, to wear while waiting in the starting pin.

Last year, it was quite cold before the start and I wore an extra running layer. I was regretting it within a few miles, then spend most of Chesterfield Avenue juggling to take it off from under my t-shirt with the bib on it. A friend of mine was waiting in Castleknock so I sort-of flung it in his face as I ran by. I spent all about 3 minutes feeling guilty about that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

nop98 wrote: »
    Plenty of people wear cheap extra layers at the start, and take them off as the mass starts moving. A lot of clothing gets discarded, which, AFAIK, gets collected and donated to the homeless. So get yourself a cheapie hoodie or so, to wear while waiting in the starting pin.

This is 100% my plan.. have an aul pair of Leinster trackie bottoms that unzip whole way up and a heavy cotton hoodie that will be worn in and then tossed. Have given so many bags of "larger" clothes to charity this year; this is just a few more..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

16 weeks of perfect training, and now in the penultimate week I've missed my first two runs. Having achilles trouble. Convinced myself this morning that my marathon was over. Now this evening I feel fine. :pac:

I'll see how it is in the morning and possibly try to schedule an emergency physio appointment!

16 weeks of perfect training, and now in the penultimate week I've missed my first two runs. Having achilles trouble. Convinced myself this morning that my marathon was over. Now this evening I feel fine. :pac:

I'll see how it is in the morning and possibly try to schedule an emergency physio appointment!

:eek: - there might be a bit of taper madness in there, but if there's the slightest niggle, play it safe! And no worrying about the missed mileage. Hope all will be well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Came home tonight and my wife is smothered with a cold. I mean ffs, how insensitive is that?! I haven't had a cold for about 9 months and now I'm going to get one a week before DCM.
    She's gone to bed, I'm debating sneaking into the spare room.

Have had same myself.. think its just extra focus on anything out of the ordinary. I went for run yesterday afternoon and then at kids soccer last night my legs were aching, calves were sore etc.. I put it down to just over analysis of any post run fatigue and fact it was both legs I figured nothing wrong. Rubbed in some Voltarol gel to the calves before bed and got up this morning with great legs again.. Went for 4M this evening and all felt good and run went very well. My biggest worry now are airborne threats.. and contaminated surface threats! :eek::eek:

Came home tonight and my wife is smothered with a cold. I mean ffs, how insensitive is that?! I haven't had a cold for about 9 months and now I'm going to get one a week before DCM.

I find the thing with colds is that you don't always get them from where you expect.. odds are you won't catch anything off your wife and all will be good ;)

That said I went into my office yesterday morning and when one of the others came in stuffed up and all full of cold I quickly made my excuses and got out of there.. I work in a very small office with only few of us so wasn't hanging about..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Its too early to have any idea of what the weather will be like on the day but you can start to plan about how to keep as comfortable as possible before you enter "The Den" on he day. My particular tip would be to consider using a bin liner ( with a pre-cut hole for arms and head. Sounds silly I know but you wont be alone and it affords goodish rain and cold protection. Trick is to put it on early whilst you are still moving around. Try putting it on last when queuing at the bag drop. That way you keep the warmth from the approach walk. It will take a further 5 minutes, and possibly more to get to your wave zone which will generate a little more warmth. On the countdown, take it off and push it out off over the barriers so no runners trip over same.

I am not running but could not be more excited about this years DCM. Will be on the course and hope to get to Post Race HQ for the celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Have just been reading about colds, aches...etc.. I'm definitely feeling your pain... I have such upper back pain, I don't know if it's back pain causing stress or perhaps taper madness stress causing back pain!! I have had a lot of issues with my spine in the past but for the past 17 weeks have been mostly pain free! Doing a job in work at the moment that involves sitting and writing for long periods, most of the day in fact. However no pain when I run :) Will mind myself over the weekend, rest lots, no housework, etc :D I really hope for everyone that this is just taper madness and all will be well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Ha ha That must be grounds for divorce A.

I always though this taper madness was imaginary but no it's real,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭seanin4711

nop98 wrote: »
    Well done, that must be close to a HM PB?

Ehm, for which marathon is this? :D

HM PB 1:49 way back!

Clonakilty:D:D:D