Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Enigma 2 boxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

The biggest change I think is that OpenATV can be updated over the network without need to use a laptop and USB stick etc. where as OpenVix can't on a Zgemma as it's not officially supported.

I have no idea about official support on a Xtrend.

Apart from that it's very hard to point out major differences.

Zgemma! The reason that openvix wont update as its not an official vix image. Its a hacked one by the manufacturers!

Zgemma are the ADT boys in Shenzhen who used to clone boxes as ICloud ripping off the VU+ boxes.

From what I have read those zgemmas are lethal with fake fuses with no silica and/or the fuse carrier is not even connected inside the 13A plug so the fuse will never blow - even if you remove the fuse completely, the unit will still be live. Get rid!

As regards the XTREND BOXES, You have official images from.

OpenATV, OpenVix, OpenPli, HDfreaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Kevcol

Hey guys,

Got a vu solo2 this week. Have plenty of channels on it but as of yet can't get any rte, tv3, tg4 etc. They are showing up on the menu but when I click into them it's just showing a blank screen. Any help appreciated

Kevcol wrote: »
    Hey guys,

Got a vu solo2 this week. Have plenty of channels on it but as of yet can't get any rte, tv3, tg4 etc. They are showing up on the menu but when I click into them it's just showing a blank screen. Any help appreciated

vu solo2.

That's satellite only. RTE TV3 TG4 are encrypted on 28.2E as they are part of the Sky package. They are not free on 28.2E.

You can buy a USB DVB-T stick and connect it to an aerial to get them free.

Ebay. RTL R820T SDR. Get an RF to MCX cable too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,974 ✭✭✭greasepalm

STB. wrote: »
    vu solo2.

That's satellite only. RTE TV3 TG4 are encrypted on 28.2E as they are part of the Sky package. They are not free on 28.2E.

You can buy a USB DVB-T stick and connect it to an aerial to get them free.

Ebay. RTL R820T SDR. Get an RF to MCX cable too.

i went the other way and bought a walker pvr so can now set my box to record hd content and leave my sd sat channels on solo2

Great, thanks for that. Was thinking it might have something to do with an aerial alright. Any of ye know the best wat to organise the channels??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭imnorobot

Great, thanks for that. Was thinking it might have something to do with an aerial alright. Any of ye know the best wat to organise the channels??
    Use Dreamboxdit to organize your channels in whatever order you like
    http://dreamboxedit.com/category/download/win-download/

You can use the remote to create a fav channel list and the drop in tyhe channels that you want to it and reorder in the way you want or if you have the box connected to your router, you can use free software like dreambox edit to edit a channel list on a computer and then flash it back to the box over your network.

Sound like a challenge ?

greasepalm wrote: »
    i went the other way and bought a walker pvr so can now set my box to record hd content and leave my sd sat channels on solo2

Why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭imnorobot

Also
    Dont forget there is an option in the webif page to manage your bouquets

Just use a web browser to browse to the ip address of your box make you changes and save

Why ?

i could have used my vu turbo tuner but might sell it on and prefare my irish content in the main room ,all other e2 boxes are networked.
    i do too much recording and adding a third tuner to solo2 space would quickly fill up with hd content,bad enough with loads of tsmedia stuff recorded also.:D

You can use the remote to create a fav channel list and the drop in tyhe channels that you want to it and reorder in the way you want or if you have the box connected to your router, you can use free software like dreambox edit to edit a channel list on a computer and then flash it back to the box over your network.

Sound like a challenge ?

I got the dreambox downloaded and got as far as the step to 'retrieve files from box'. When I get to there it says 'Directory C: dreambox not found on your PC'. Tried reinstalling a few times but no joy. It was connected to the box I think because I tested it and it said it was fine. Thanks for the replies, appreciate the help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭BobbyT28

BobbyT28 wrote: »
    Bit of a weird one.

I have an Xtrend ET8000. Twin tunner

Anytime a recording starts on RTE all my channels become greyed out like both tuners are being used.

It just happened for home and away (the missus) but never happens on any other channel. Like BBC HD or CH4

All my timers are.auti timers.

Any ideas??

This is weird. It happened again the other day a channel started to record on E! and all the channels all went grey. After the channel finished they were all selectable again. Also Tuner A was unavailable and Tuner B was also as it was recirding.

The next day I checked both tuners and both were available.

Could this be something to do with Openvix, Tuner going faulty or two Timers starting at the same time using both tuners.

I really am stumped here! It only happens when some recodings start.

BobbyT28

recheck both tuners have been setup and each are getting a signal as one might not giving you all greyed out= no access to second tuner, with auto timers how many programs are been selected,green button on remote says timer recordings.

when box is recording go through the list and see whats not greyed out and what is recording.

recheck both tuners have been setup and each are getting a signal as one might not giving you all greyed out= no access to second tuner, with auto timers how many programs are been selected,green button on remote says timer recordings.

when box is recording go through the list and see whats not greyed out and what is recording.

Cheers.

I will do that the next time it happens. I check what channels are not greyed out.

Both tuners are setup as simple.

Once recordings finish both tuners are available. Also on some recordings it records one channel and allows me to watch any other channel (not greyed out) which would mean that the tuners are working or that the connection on the LNB is loose or a tuner is becoming faulty.

Thanks again
    BobbyT28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Ardent

Do you have timeshift turned on? Mine does the same with timeshift enabled and when a timer recording starts.

Ardent wrote: »
    Do you have timeshift turned on? Mine does the same with timeshift enabled and when a timer recording starts.

The thing is, it only happens now and again not on all timers.

Here are some pics of when it happened tonight for Home and away (auto timer)

See attached channels greyed out and the ones not.

Before recording started, tuner a&b were available.
    When recording finished tuner A was available but tuner b was not.

So I restaryed the box and both tuners are now available!!!

BobbyT28

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Are those RTE channels on Astra or Saorview? I see it says 28.8E channels.

byte wrote: »
    Are those RTE channels on Astra or Saorview? I see it says 28.8E channels.

Astra.

Just recorded (Auto timer ) googglebox on TV3 and I was able to watch other channels.

you could record 3 programs at same time on same tp on one tuner and another 3 on another tp giving you 6.

you said earlier while recording you could view others not greyed out but more likely same tp as you are recording.

as i said before i think tuner b does not get a signal,check signal finder when setting up tuner,its a common thing it loses contact and means box has limited use.

power off box before checking any cables and look at your f connectors .

" Once recordings finish both tuners are available. Also on some recordings it records one channel and allows me to watch any other channel (not greyed out) which would mean that the tuners are working or that the connection on the LNB is loose or a tuner is becoming faulty. "

you sad recordings as more than 1?

i can check mine by pressing green button on remote.

you could record 3 programs at same time on same tp on one tuner and another 3 on another tp giving you 6.

you said earlier while recording you could view others not greyed out but more likely same tp as you are recording.

as i said before i think tuner b does not get a signal,check signal finder when setting up tuner,its a common thing it loses contact and means box has limited use.

power off box before checking any cables and look at your f connectors .

" Once recordings finish both tuners are available. Also on some recordings it records one channel and allows me to watch any other channel (not greyed out) which would mean that the tuners are working or that the connection on the LNB is loose or a tuner is becoming faulty. "

you sad recordings as more than 1?

i can check mine by pressing green button on remote.

Cheers I'll check when I get home today.

[/QUOTE]you sad recordings as more than 1?[/QUOTE]
    I meant recordings as in other programs recording indivually not together.

Would you have an example of how you setup a auto timer for lets say Home and away on RTE?

I thought that I just press auto timer and select save? Do you have to make any other changes etc?

Thanks for your help,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I've seen this problem before and it was a softcam issue. v 2.2.1 did exactly what you describe while 2.3 allowed multiple tuners to be used simultaneously.

lertsnim wrote: »
    I've seen this problem before and it was a softcam issue. v 2.2.1 did exactly what you describe while 2.3 allowed multiple tuners to be used simultaneously.

Come to think of it, I think I have two softcams installed one active and the other deactivated.

I'll get 2.3 if 2.2.1 is active to see if that fixes the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

lertsnim wrote: »

I have had this issue but it never greyed out any channels. The problem was the version of CCcam I was using was outdated and could not decode multiple channels at once. I could still change to the channel, but it would not decode anything (black screen) as the softcam was busy decoding the channel it was recording.

If updating your softcam does not work, try going into customise and changing the preferred tuner for recording from 'auto'. When mine was set to auto it was messing up my recordings so it could be causing problems for you too.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

Come to think of it, I think I have two softcams installed one active and the other deactivated.

I'll get 2.3 if 2.2.1 is active to see if that fixes the issue

Use oscam

Use oscam

Yeah I'm using oscam. I was using oscam-latest so I have changed it to oscam-2.3.1 let's see at 18:30 when home and away starts

Ok, so home and away started and nothing greyed out. Hopefully that's it sorted. Thanks for all the help people.

BobbyT 28

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

I remember having problems with latest a while back. Hope your issues stay sorted.

if only he had a zgemma then the fun begins lol

Feck it anyway. Just started recording Grand Prix on Sky F1 and everything greyed out. It was setup with just a once off recording. Tuner A was blank and Tuner B was being used for recording.

This is really starting to bug me

Any ideas?

like i said you have a dodgy connection on tuner f connection,

power off both remove and refit f connectors making sure no strands are touching centre core

insert into box and power on and go into tuner settings-signal finder.

note how both tuners have got a signal.:D