Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Update from this week

4 runs done 15.5 miles on the mid week runs and 14 miles yesterday....planning to get the recovery done later but just home from Howth the Cliff Walk....thought it would be good to look back at my original post on here and update it!

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

Been running on and off since the start of 2014.

5k PB 20:50 in the MSB St Patrick's Run this year still stands have only done one fast 5k since starting on here...that was 21:20 in the Grant Thornton
    5 mile
    Then 36:35 in Raheny in Jan
    Now 35:53 Irish Runner 5 Mile

10k last time one was the Great Pink Run last August 47:50; haven't raced a 10k so plan post marathon to get under 45:00; unfortunately was on holidays for Fingal 10k

10 mile only raced one...FD10 1:16:13

1/2 Marathon
    Then 1:44:30 in Clontarf in November
    Now 1:40:09 Race Series 1/2 Marathon

How much training do you currently do ?

Then :3-4 runs per week anything between 10km-20km...Don't have my mind calibrated to miles yet!

Now: whatever the boards plan tells me to do!! Through the whole of the training plan I have missed non of the long runs....I have probably missed 5 tops of the shorter ones since coming back from holiday in July.Also now work in miles!

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?

Then: Main aim is to try and enjoy the day as much as possible (hopefully that is possible);realistic finishing time 3:50 dream time under 3:40

Now: Dream time is still 3:39:59 am I crazy thinking that????? Still want to enjoy the day as much as possible!!

How many days a week can you train? And what plan do you intend to follow?

Then:4 days of running is my aim.

Have a modified Hal Higdon plan done up but will check the 2 mentioned.

Now: Followed the boards plan in the end.

Why are you running this marathon?

Then and this still stands:Been on the bucket list for a while now and want to do one before the big 40! To prove that I can do it and just to experience the atmosphere of it as I watched a good portion of runners go through Chapelizod last year and the atmosphere was too nothch.

We are nearly there folks and without the encouragement (here and on the Strava kudos) and advice from everyone involved on here it certainly wouldn't have been as enjoyable.

We have all come so far and put in a great deal of effort....thinking of those who also joined this journey but due to circumstances will not be "toeing the line"....good luck to you folks next year!

Good luck to all involved and roll on the next few months.[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Thanks everyone for the replies to my concerns. 4 hour pacers it is ��. Nothing much to report for this weekend. 14 miles yesterday morning in torrential rain and an hour of total darkness. 9:20 pace with no major issues to report. Great thread this. Best of luck everyone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 16, HHN1

Tues: 5.04 mi. Time: 49:28. 9:49 min/mi.
    Weds: 8.06 mi. Time: 1:38:08. 9:45 min/mi Avg Pace. Passed some council lads laying tarmac. Felt the glow of the heat running past it. :cool:
    Thurs: 4.05 mi. Time: 47:47. 9:38 min/mi Avg Pace.
    Sat: 12.06 mi. Time: 2:13:47. 11:05. min/mi Avg Pace. Final trip out to Loughshinny, full tide. Initially saw more cyclists than runners, a few hellos due to the weather. I was chased by an angry terrier around mile 11. Dunno what I would have done if he came at my legs, throw water at him? Weather was pretty atrocious through the whole thing. Could see my breath, assuming my watch is correct, it was about 9 degrees, wind from the east. The sun started to appear way off in the distance on the home stretch. Nice backdrop. Almost bought a pumpkin from the local farm later in the day, huge yolks!
    Sun: 3.05 mi. Time: 33:42. 11:02 min/mi Avg Pace. Thunder at about 7 this morning, good wake up call.

Weekday runs felt pretty dull, tbh, and it was only really yesterday that I 'got' the sense of the taper, that's despite reading the various links and stuff posted here...it wasn't concrete in my mind until Saturday. Sleep was pretty mixed through the week, hoping this doesn't cause problems later. Mindful of the posts have that come in over the past 72 hours - the route, not starting fast. Great advice floating around. Trying to let it all sink in...

Week 15
    Week 14
    Week 13
    Week 12
    Week 11
    Week 10
    Week 9
    Week 8
    Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

My week...week 16 HHN2 Plan

Mon - 5k recovery after 3/4 marathon @ 6.48 pace
    Tue - Rest
    Wed - 6.6k PMP (last one:)) @ 5.40 pace
    Thu - 8k @ 5.48 pace -followed by physio torture!!
    Fri - Rest
    Sat - 19.7k @ 6.12 pace (on grass)
    Sun - 5k @ 6.36 pace

I am not feeling the benefits of tapering at this moment but not a huge drop in mileage yet, I expect by next Sunday I'll be wondering what to do with all my energy!!! :D:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Above the left ankle is a bit sore...hopefully resting between now and Tues will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

I have picked up some sort of bug - upset tummy and generally off - havent managed to run since Thursday and barely managing work. I actally think its the whole stress at work at the minute that has me out of sorts and I havent even had a chance to think about this day 2 weeks !!!
    I am of tomorrow and Thursday this week and my long run this week is 19km so was going to attempt it tomorrow depending on how I feel.
    With the way I am working double shifts I havent managed to get an appointment with the physio yet but still foam rolling away.

Decided I am going to try and go with the 4.50 pacers when I eventually get moving out on the course and see how it goes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

LSR write-ups, week 16, take 2

There's a couple of folks lingering around the door of the infirmary... :eek:

Wubble Wubble - "live to fight another day" is right. There is nothing to be gained pushing runs through that barrier, so you made the 100% right call there. And as for your ability to shrug and adjust your goals for the day already - that's the way to approach these things. There are certain things we can't contro, but we can make sure our expectations for the day are realistic and in-line with what we have actually managed to do in terms of prep (not what we really wanted to do). So yes, take a few days off, try and get back on an easy few miles, and postpone your goals-conversation until at least this time next week, and maybe even closer to the day itself.
    Extrasupervery - yikes, that sounds sore. No running until you see the physio and don't try to make up for lost miles. Don't worry about missed miles, you have put in the training and your first and only goal is to get to the start-line at this stage. Please try and keep the head up, even tho I understand how hard this must be, so close to the day.
    TBO - 2 days off until any easy mileage, and any sign of trouble, another 2 days off. And lay off on those household chores. The dishes can wait until after the marathon - keep those feet up!

Then a few more LSRs reported but .... I still seem to be missing a few, how are kabuxa, Coffee Fulled Runner, spaceylou, A Neurotic, crogerso, tony1980, PaoloMN, sibeen, and all others ... ?

paddydriver - thank you for going out too fast (again :mad:) and to allow me to hammer home that point (which you also make!) (again!). Discipline in pacing will help you SO MUCH during the day itself. A minute ahead of pace before halfway, will almost guaranteed result in 2-3 minutes behind pace before the day is over, and likely much, much more. We'll talk about this later - but it is SO IMPORTANT to have this imprinted in the cerebellum already... Anyway - good going in the rain, that run will stand to you.
    ligerdub - will you have a look at the boards and HHN1 plans? Links in the first post. Your approach is spot on: reduce the volume but not the times you go out. So keep going out on the same days as you have been, just with reduced mileage.
    fatherted1969 - (belated) well done on your 22m and you will thank your slower friend on the day itself. Well done. Just keep ticking over, the day will be here sooner than you think.
    GOOSEPAUL - ouch ouch, I have been there with the sore nips. Stick a couple of plasters in your bag for the day itself, you can always put these over and you'll be fine for the day (I used k-tape based on advice on the thread last year). Thanks for the reminder :o
    Arsenium - good job Arsenium, sounds like a tough enough run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Havn't been on the thread as much as usual this last week with real life getting in the way, I did dip in and out but will catch up fully tomorrow.

I did get all my prescibed runs in but had to juggle a little by doing the LSR friday morning , It went grand . I was on the road with work early Saturday morning and was glad I wasn't out running with the torrential rain, Kudos to anyone out in that.

Monday

Having rested Sunday I got a 5.08 recovery run at 11:58 pace

Tuesday 5.66 miles easy @ 10.44 pace

Wednesday 7.8 miles @ 11.12 pace , should have been 5 but it was such a lovely evening I added on a little.

Thursday 5.26 miles @ 11.07

Friday 14.04 @ 11.04 pace , Real life meant I had no chance of getting this in saturday so I moved it to Friday, Not ideal running 5 consecutive days but i had no other option this week

Sunday 4.04 @11.32 recovery

Going to focus on getting plenty of rest this week , Tuesdays run will have to be moved as I'm going to the premier of Ouija , I hate horror movies.

Hope everyone is recovering well . Just saw nops post above hope all the niggles settle down in time for the Big day.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Sunday: 5 miles @ 9:54 pace recovery run
    Wednesday: 6 miles @ 9:07 pace
    Thursday: 7 miles @ 9:13 pace
    Saturday: 12 miles @ 9:30 pace

30 miles in total this week.

LSR went well, no problems outside of being absolutely drenched right from the off for about 5 or 6 miles, when the rain finally eased a bit. All good practice though as it could be same on the big day!

Niggle free aside from my hip which is still playing up and I think might be glute related. Appointment book for physio this week so will get it worked on.

One of the things that has been on my mind all week is thinking about my race pace. Would like to get opinions here. Goal A is sub-4, which is prob same as a few others on here. Am totally in the "don't go out fast" camp, but how slow would you go for the first half? Am thinking between 9:10 and 9:15 pace or thereabouts for the first half, with the aim of passing the half way point no more than a minute over the 2 hour mark, then hoping to be able to increase the pace to 9:05-ish to come in under 4. Is this what other sub 4 hopefuls are thinking?

(I do appreciate that this will go out the window if the weather or my body is not 100%, but I just want to have my Plan A worked out!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

PauloMN wrote: »
    Sunday: 5 miles @ 9:54 pace recovery run
    Wednesday: 6 miles @ 9:07 pace
    Thursday: 7 miles @ 9:13 pace
    Saturday: 12 miles @ 9:30 pace

30 miles in total this week.

LSR went well, no problems outside of being absolutely drenched right from the off for about 5 or 6 miles, when the rain finally eased a bit. All good practice though as it could be same on the big day!

Niggle free aside from my hip which is still playing up and I think might be glute related. Appointment book for physio this week so will get it worked on.

One of the things that has been on my mind all week is thinking about my race pace. Would like to get opinions here. Goal A is sub-4, which is prob same as a few others on here. Am totally in the "don't go out fast" camp, but how slow would you go for the first half? Am thinking between 9:10 and 9:15 pace or thereabouts for the first half, with the aim of passing the half way point no more than a minute over the 2 hour mark, then hoping to be able to increase the pace to 9:05-ish to come in under 4. Is this what other sub 4 hopefuls are thinking?

(I do appreciate that this will go out the window if the weather or my body is not 100%, but I just want to have my Plan A worked out!)

or go with 4hr hour pacers. I wouldn't be depending on running slower than 2hrs in the first half when you don't know how your body will handle the last 6 miles. Safest option is to slip in behind 4hr pacers as its really congested running with them. I think most people aim for that time so they're extremely popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

nop98 wrote: »
    Extrasupervery - yikes, that sounds sore. No running until you see the physio and don't try to make up for lost miles. Don't worry about missed miles, you have put in the training and your first and only goal is to get to the start-line at this stage. Please try and keep the head up, even tho I understand how hard this must be, so close to the day.
    Hi ESV, just to give you a positive slant on my recent bout of plantar fasciitis - I've had it for the last few weeks but have been able to continue following my plan without any issue. All under direction of my PT btw. Fascia responds really well to heat and friction so for me the pain goes away after about a mile. So hopefully you will get the same positive feedback from your physio. Just wanted to share incase you are worried or stressed about it. I know I was until I talked to my pt. my fingers are crossed for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Week 16:

Tue: 5m @ 9:37
    Wed: 5m @ 9:55
    Thu: 4.3m @ 9:55 cut this one short as I had to pick my daughter up.
    Sat: 14m @ 10:06
    Sun: 3.3m @ 10:08

31.6m for the week. No niggles and shin seems to be completely clear for the last 2 weeks. Physio appointment on Thursday, just for a check-up and massage.
    Regarding race pace I'm still planning on following the 4hr pacers. Feeling pretty confident at the moment, but who knows what will happen on the day.

Getting exciting now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 crogerso

Checking in after an ok week. No niggles but didn't get all planned runs in.

Mon:Rest
    Tues:5 mile. Tried out my new runners. No issues with them but calf again tightened up towards the end.
    Wed:Rest as I was away for the evening.
    Thurs:4.4 miles. Again in my new runners, definitely feel more support under my arch and no pain in them so think I'll keep going with them. Plan was to run my 14 miles Fri so I cut this one slightly short however Friday didn't happen.
    Fri: Organised to take an hour off work to get my 14 miles done but a nagging headache and headcold put a stop to that. Bed for the evening instead. Was pretty disappointed about this as I was thinking I could have got my missed 5 miles in Sunday but wasn't to be. Also I was going down the country for the weekend and had little options for a run there.

Sat: 13.9 miles!! up early for brekkie and ready to go around 10 bit visiting neighbours delayed my start to 11.30. Not a very interesting route. Ran nearly 2 miles to a local GAA pitch to have to run about 25 laps of it before a 2 mile run home. Found it very boring having always had good options in Dublin for routes but I got it done. Good big hill to contend with a mile from home and got over it without too much difficulty so that was good and delighted to say I had no issues with my calves or feet. Tired at the end obviously but in a good way.

Sun:Rest

Well done to all on the last double digit run, great feeling to get it done! This time 2 weeks it will all be done, hard to believe! Getting nervous/excited- bring it on!!!

joesoap5 wrote: »
    or go with 4hr hour pacers. I wouldn't be depending on running slower than 2hrs in the first half when you don't know how your body will handle the last 6 miles. Safest option is to slip in behind 4hr pacers as its really congested running with them. I think most people aim for that time so they're extremely popular.

+1 to this. It's very hard to negative split in the marathon, let alone your first one. Re-read the article, which number-crunched the numbers of the past 15 years, linked above.

If you are really keen on the 4-hours and all feels right on the day, I'd try and latch-on to the 4h balloons at some stage and try and stick with them. Respectfully, I don't think you'll outrun them over the second half.

Have a look at a couple of pictures on the official website.

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/start-long-shot.jpg

Note how congested :eek: the start waves are and how close the pace balloons (3h, 3h10, 3h20, 3h30, and so) are at this stage. So don't worry about pace too much at this stage. It will be incredibly busy around the larger pace-groups so if you're not near one at the start, don't worry. My advice would be to just line up somewhere between the 4h10 and 4h00. Enjoy the start, the mad spectators, the dressed-up runners, the anthem, pay attention to not being tripped up, until you have well settled into a nice rhythm. You will run in one large stream of runners for the first couple of miles, and as long as you don't go too fast, you'll be fine.

However, eventually, it'll spread out settle down. The pic below are the same 3h pacers on Knockmaroon Road, over 8M in. The 3h group will obviously not be the largest group, but the point is at this stage, you want to be settled nicely tucked in behind one of those balloons.

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/3-hr-pacers-in-park.jpg

So just keep those 4h balloons in sight, and resolve to slowly catch them sometime around Castleknock. They will aim to come home in about 3h59m30... so settle, buckle up, and enjoy the ride... It will be much easier than trying to pace it all yourself.

And a big +100 to this. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I'm planning on going the 4hr pacers but my trial runs over 3 races this year have failed miserably, I keep getting annoyed with the congestion and then pushing forward .. worried about the big day to be honest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Boards plan week 16

Monday: sports massage, freakin ouch.
    Tuesday: 5 miles easy (10:01 min/mile)
    Wednesday: 5 miles easy (9:56 min/mile)
    Thursday: 5 miles easy (9:32 min/mile)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 14 miles LSR (10:30 min/mile)
    Sunday: 3 miles recovery (10:56 min/mile)

Easy running on Tuesday and Wednesday was tougher than usual after the massage. Felt much better by Thursday.
    Pomplamousse - how come your legs are so heavy? Is it the massage earlier this week? I wouldn't overdo the foam-rolling. Some maintenance throughout the week, yes. But feeling you need to "fix something" with rolling excessively is not right. Maybe a few very, very easy miles for recovery tomorrow, and if you feel a day-off will be welcome, then skip one of the easy runs next week. Look after yourself, you are almost there.

Thanks for the feedback nop. I don't think it was the massage; legs felt fine for the first few miles and for my Thursday run & recovery run today. I have very tight calves & quads that I just can't seem to shake, and the long runs seem to bring out the worst in them sometimes. Hopefully the very reduced mileage for the next 2 weeks helps a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

+1 to this. It's very hard to negative split in the marathon, let alone your first one. Re-read the article, which number-crunched the numbers of the past 15 years, linked above.

If you are really keen on the 4-hours and all feels right on the day, I'd try and latch-on to the 4h balloons at some stage and try and stick with them. Respectfully, I don't think you'll outrun them over the second half.

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/start-long-shot.jpg

Note how congested :eek: the start waves are and how close the pace balloons (3h, 3h10, 3h20, 3h30, and so) are at this stage. So don't worry about pace too much at this stage. It will be incredibly busy around the larger pace-groups so if you're not near one at the start, don't worry. My advice would be to just line up somewhere between the 4h10 and 4h00. Enjoy the start, the mad spectators, the dressed-up runners, the anthem, pay attention to not being tripped up, until you have well settled into a nice rhythm. You will run in one large stream of runners for the first couple of miles, and as long as you don't go too fast, you'll be fine.

However, eventually, it'll spread out settle down. The pic below are the same 3h pacers on Knockmaroon Road, over 8M in. The 3h group will obviously not be the largest group, but the point is at this stage, you want to be settled nicely tucked in behind one of those balloons.

http://sseairtricitydublinmarathon.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/3-hr-pacers-in-park.jpg

So just keep those 4h balloons in sight, and resolve to slowly catch them sometime around Castleknock. They will aim to come home in about 3h59m30... so settle, buckle up, and enjoy the ride... It will be much easier than trying to pace it all yourself.

There is a few struggling faces on that pic 8 miles in, i know the lad wearing number 1148 in the blue at the front, comes from the same small estate in Limerick as myself, very fast runner, just done Berlin in and around 2h52m.

My week has been a mixed one, my knee has become a little tender again so I decided to reduce the mileage on the plan so I wouldn't aggravate it too much. It's not in pain, just gets stiff on the outside and a little sore on the back of the knee, other than that, I felt very good so I have been doing lots of stretching and foam rolling, just general tlc to get me to the starting line without too much discomfort.

Well done to everyone this weekend, we are nearly there :D

LSR write-ups, week 16, take 2

TBO - 2 days off until any easy mileage, and any sign of trouble, another 2 days off. And lay off on those household chores. The dishes can wait until after the marathon - keep those feet up!

Thanks nop. I threw an ice pack on it earlier. Will see how it is tomorrow, but happy to drop Tuesday if there's still an issue. Dunno if it's something I today as I didn't feel anything yesterday. Chores - at work I'm the only man in the office so tend to lift the heavier boxes. Will be extra careful. Given Saturday, I'm more concerned about being cold if the weather is particularly bad, first half would probably be fine. My arms felt a bit odd on Sat on the return leg, I'm prone to the cold anyway - orange/purple patches, etc - water safety course memories of swimming in the sea. I think as I had to walk a bit to get home that's where I felt it most after being out in poor conditions and was drenched. Just a slight concern as the double digit figures creep up on the day and I were to get colder and colder and this might banjax me altogether, hopefully not. I see a few lads wearing gloves and hats in that pic you posted, even thin gloves get soggy when the weather is OK. Vitamin C has been had and I can't control the weather.

Thinking of Anthony Foley's family tonight, don't follow rugby, but everyone is gobsmacked by this death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭sibeen99

Hi guys, finally checking in after another week. I had to cut my LSR short yesterday due to real life gettingvun the way so only clocked 8 miles. I'm feeling ok about this as I had a solid week of running. Also left calf is being a bit niggly so I didn't want to take any risks. Have physio booked for Friday.

I'm starting to get really excited about the big day- love those pics you posted nop!! The amount of runners is crazy. It going to be one amazing day!! :)

Thinking of Anthony Foley's family tonight, don't follow rugby, but everyone is gobsmacked by this death.

I seen that, its all over the british headlines as well and they don't say what happened him. They postposed the match as a mark of respect.

I also seen Tyson Gay's daughter aged 15 shot dead as well. She was supposed to be a potentially good track runner as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Hi Novices!!

First up, apologies Nop, I meant to post earlier in the week and promptly forgot!

I haven't been around on Boards too much lately but I ran DCM last year and was part of the Boards novice group.

In the run up to your big day I just wanted to wish every one of you the very best of luck. You should be heading into taper now so all the hard work is done.

Last year I got my name printed on my running top and I'm really glad I did so for those of you thinking about doing it, get it done asap, you should already have trained with the top you're going to wear. Make sure it's big and bold so supporters can easily see.

Hearing my name called was really entertaining at the start, then as the race progressed it provided a distraction. At the end when I pushed on and left the comfort of the pacing group, those supporters using it kept me company and kept me going.

You'll have been given lots of great advice over the last 15/16 weeks. Use it all as best you can. Most of all though please remember to enjoy your day and hopefully I'll see some of you in McGrattans afterwards!

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057429723/579

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

paddydriver - thank you for going out too fast (again :mad:) and to allow me to hammer home that point (which you also make!) (again!). Discipline in pacing will help you SO MUCH during the day itself. A minute ahead of pace before halfway, will almost guaranteed result in 2-3 minutes behind pace before the day is over, and likely much, much more. We'll talk about this later - but it is SO IMPORTANT to have this imprinted in the cerebellum already... Anyway - good going in the rain, that run will stand to you.

Honesty amongst friends is the best policy..:D It was like meeting a friend for a pint back in mid 90's.. no mobile phones so just gotta sprint up to the pub so he didn't get too far ahead on the pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

nop98 wrote:
    Then a few more LSRs reported but .... I still seem to be missing a few, how are kabuxa, Coffee Fulled Runner, spaceylou, A Neurotic, crogerso, tony1980, PaoloMN, sibeen, and all others ... ?

I am here!!! Sorry.

Ran on Tuesday 7 miles and it felt quite good. The intention was to do 5 but one of the girls insisted the plan said 7... so between that and taking the 'wrong' turn we did 7. My right leg is giving me some problems but it is only at start and then goes after a while.
    Next run was supposed to be Friday as life got on the way but as well could not be.
    Saturday went to the Running workshop with GOH and CMac. It was good. Would have been better a couple of months ago but ok. We planned to run after workshop but chips got on the way so we ran today as the weather was better.
    This morning we did 12 miles. Weather was good but windy. First couple of miles felt calf too tight but after 2 it was much better. Felt quite good as well.
    It is funny no matter what distance we plan on doing we are always wrecked!
    We did a lot of stretching and leg drains and felt much better afterwards.

Overall very happy. Crossing fingers so the calf gets well very soon but just in case I will make and appt with physio. Maybe this and next week.

Question... name on singlets. I know what I am wearing and I do want to put name on singlet HOWEVER I dont want to be permanent. At the SSE DCM page there is a pic with the Drogheda ladies that have what it seems like a sticker with their names on. This would be ideal! Does anyone have an idea on how this can be done or where ? As well physio suggested to have it at the back as well in case you are struggling, whoever comes behind can encourage you as well...maybe an overkill? Maybe badly needed? ;0D...

Thanks!

kabuxa wrote: »
    I am here!!! Sorry.

At the SSE DCM page there is a pic with the Drogheda ladies that have what it seems like a sticker with their names on. This would be ideal! Does anyone have an idea on how this can be done or where ?

Thanks!

Buy something in Arts and Hobby shop or buy black electrical tape and be creative yourself. Sure you'll have great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

14 miles done today at 9:40 pace. Finished strong with plenty of energy left. It's weird having no double digit runs left and only two weeks to go! It's getting real now.

I'm still having a bit of trouble with my calf/achilles but hopefully the taper will allow it time to get a grip on itself. I didn't run Friday or Saturday and it was feeling better, but the LSR seems to have aggravated it a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Ran a very comfortable 14.5m yesterday. Joined in with a few other people which made a differance usually i run on my own. So the miles flew by and i felt more energised. Average a 8.25 per mile So happy that maybe a sub 3:40 could be achievable. So time to keep healthy.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Thanks Nop, I'll aim to do that so. The 4:10 pacers will be in the wave behind, so will aim to sit towards the back of my wave which is cut off at 4:05 estimated time. Will keep the 4h balloons in sight and take it from there!

LSRs week 16, take 3 ....

The Muppet - good work, but as you say, plenty of rest going into the final 2 weeks. You have really put in a splendid training block and to do yourself justice, it's time to taper. :)
    PauloMN - same assessment. It's time to rest, let the body heal and charge up, and as you seem to be doing already, start thinking about race-day plans! And you're right about the 4h10 pacers, sorry, my mind is still thinking in 3 waves.
    crogerso - New runners (:eek:) - are they meant to be for the big day? Leaving it a little late... I hope you have an old pair as back up. Good job on the 14 miles, that route sounds like it can do with Maximus' animated picture from a while back. Don't worry about the missed mileage, get your reduced runs in this week and look after yourself.
    tony1980 - keep an eye on that knee (as I'm sure you will) - keep ticking over but skip an easy run if you feel like it might do you better. Imagine what those struggling faces look like another 14-15 miles later (although this stretch in Phoenix Park is uphill).
    sibeen99 - as with all others, take it easy and get those niggles sorted. Get to the start-line!
    kabuxa - good stuff getting your runs in and looking after the legs with stretches and drains. As Toulouse said, it's best to have your name on the front, so spectators can read it, and call it out. You'll get most energy from the spectators, especially in the later stages, when all runners are wrecked and have a hard enough time to get themselves home. I don't know about the stickers, maybe you can attach something to your number? I was never paying attention during arts/crafts in school :)
    Maximus - as above... good job getting through the mileage, plenty of TLC and an extra rest-day if that's what's required... Great stuff.
    boydkev - yikes/wow, that's 14M at PMP (3h40 = 8:23 min/mi) :eek:. Glad you felt okay but that's quite a workout... Save those legs for the real day! Slow easy miles until the big day, okay? It might feel too slow, but imagine how strong and wired up your legs will feel on the day itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

So I'm officially out... Two years in a row trying to run the Dublin marathon and getting injured a couple of weeks out. Just unlucky in that regard, nothing I did wrong in training just two fluke accidents. I won't be following this thread as it's too much of a bitter pill to swallow at the moment, I'll probably look back at it in a few months time and see how you all got on. So I'd like to wish you all well in DCM, I hope you hit your targets and enjoy the day, and most importantly keep running after it. Thanks to Nop98 and all those who contributed and gave such great advice. It was suggested that I start my own log in a PM which I might do once I'm back on track as I enjoyed this thread. Good luck guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

So I'm officially out... Two years in a row trying to run the Dublin marathon and getting injured a couple of weeks out. Just unlucky in that regard, nothing I did wrong in training just two fluke accidents. I won't be following this thread as it's too much of a bitter pill to swallow at the moment, I'll probably look back at it in a few months time and see how you all got on. So I'd like to wish you all well in DCM, I hope you hit your targets and enjoy the day, and most importantly keep running after it. Thanks to Nop98 and all those who contributed and gave such great advice. It was suggested that I start my own log in a PM which I might do once I'm back on track as I enjoyed this thread. Good luck guys.

Really sorry to hear this news CFR, marathon training can be so hard on the body and you need a bit of luck with it too. Better to pull out now and not risk a long term injury and be out of running for a long time. Best of luck with your recovery...