Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Bike outa action 4 days now, it's amazing how much you'd miss it.

Never bought one as I enjoy walking for cows ,have a good sheep dog too.furthest walk only 1.1 km as well

Thanks lads for the replies. Yere right I better do them with a drench, better be safe. To be fair, I've never had an issue with ivermectin before, but it doesn't seem have to done the trick this time.
    Balls, as I was hoping for tomorrow off, and the heifers were dropped to an outside block on Monday. No crush there and they're roaming a 20 acre field.
    Looks like the missus is going to get in that Sat morning run she was hoping for. Dunlops instead of Nikes though :D

I always alternate doses every second time with calves .first dose is always a cheap white drench (albencare) which last 6 weeks and then next dose is a pour on ,zearl (doramectin)which I can get 9/10 weeks out of before I hear a few coughs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hit the 4 here also! 4.7bf, 15l. Do you dry off, and if so when you planning on drying off?

If I was right Dec 15 I'd dry off all the spring stock. But I'm losing the will to look at them. Highly unprofessional but if I do another month I'll be doing well. Four rows of winter milk that Id love to go oad but I won't be let.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Thanks lads for the replies. Yere right I better do them with a drench, better be safe. To be fair, I've never had an issue with ivermectin before, but it doesn't seem have to done the trick this time.
    Balls, as I was hoping for tomorrow off, and the heifers were dropped to an outside block on Monday. No crush there and they're roaming a 20 acre field.
    Looks like the missus is going to get in that Sat morning run she was hoping for. Dunlops instead of Nikes though :D

I had the same thing happened a few years ago with my heifer calves and did them with a white drench to no effect. Turns out I had an outbreak of PI3 and lost a good few. A lot of the rest didn't thrive either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Never bought one as I enjoy walking for cows ,have a good sheep dog too.furthest walk only 1.1 km as well

Is that back and forth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Signpost wrote: »
    What type of teat spray do ye all use? I've been using Deosan Teatfoam but at 47 euro per 20 litres I'm getting a bit fed up of the price. On pre & post spraying this time of the year so I know its good for that but going forward next year when just on post surely a good cheaper alternative? I've no scc issues for years here so the spray is prob working alright but still very hard to justify the expense of it

47e ?? I won't tell you how much we're paying for teat tip.
    You are definitely on the cheap side there.
    If it isn't broke don't fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I had the same thing happened a few years ago with my heifer calves and did them with a white drench to no effect. Turns out I had an outbreak of PI3 and lost a good few. A lot of the rest didn't thrive either.

What did you do, blood test and vaccinate.
    I'll get a few blood test bottles from the vet when I get the drench. I've never had an issue with hoose before, so this is coming out of no where. I'll talk to the vet, but I think I'll drench and blood test a few just to see what's going on.

Is that back and forth

One way ,not that far

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 33 Billyballs

What type of teat spray do ye all use? I've been using Deosan Teatfoam but at 47 euro per 20 litres I'm getting a bit fed up of the price. On pre & post spraying this time of the year so I know its good for that but going forward next year when just on post surely a good cheaper alternative? I've no scc issues for years here so the spray is prob working alright but still very hard to justify the expense of it

Uncle uses ark Sheild pre post €230 for 200ltr drum no scc issues after changing from deosan. Osmonds do bio-lac pre post for €270 for 220ltrs very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Was thinking the same using virolac here €200-20l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

You'd save 10% if you bought it in the 200l drum. There's also usually a sale offer at some stage in the year when they throw in an extra 20l drum which means you'd be saving close to 20%.

Buying in 20 ltrs is a pure rip off ,why not buy in 200 ltr drums ,a lot cheaper and you'll get a hand pump to dispense with first drum .
    I use a product called udderguard from Arrabawn ,scc for year 72 only use post milking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Teat spray unit is broke here, so using little hand sprayers from dealz. 20 Litres used to do me just over a week. 20 litres has lasted me a month so far with the little sprayers, some money saving, scc is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

simx wrote: »
    Was thinking the same using virolac here €200-20l

That makes 100l though doesn't it. Teatfoam doesn't get diluted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

visatorro wrote: »
    If I was right Dec 15 I'd dry off all the spring stock. But I'm losing the will to look at them. Highly unprofessional but if I do another month I'll be doing well. Four rows of winter milk that Id love to go oad but I won't be let.

Unprofessional, fook that, look after man and beast before ya worry about keeping the tap on for Glanbia. We had a very wet few days early/mid Nov last year, I remember drying off 28 cows over the space of 2 days, good few of them were dried off several weeks early, but the alternative was messing about trying to juggle feed space, standing cows off, poaching fields etc etc. I'd love to go OAD with the 30 odd cows I'll milk over the winter, how close I am to my liquid contract will dictate that, if I head off on holidays Jan again it will be a no brainer to go OAD then and save on paying the milker.

I'll get a few blood test bottles from the vet when I get the drench. I've never had an issue with hoose before, so this is coming out of no where. I'll talk to the vet, but I think I'll drench and blood test a few just to see what's going on.
    Yeah, did bloods on the calves and PI3 showed up. All calves vaccinated now. I had problems with calves for a while before hand but thankfully very few problems now.

Until the next disease rears it's ugly head:(

Bike outa action 4 days now, it's amazing how much you'd miss it.
    You should get a scooter to replace it.

Buy a parka as well and you'ld be a shoe-in for becoming a mod:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Yeah, did bloods on the calves and PI3 showed up. All calves vaccinated now. I had problems with calves for a while before hand but thankfully very few problems now.

Until the next disease rears it's ugly head:(

We're vaccinating for ibr here and calves weren't really running until they got their second dose. Might be something to do with it. Maybe worth checking out Clyde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

We're vaccinating for ibr here and calves weren't really running until they got their second dose. Might be something to do with it. Maybe worth checking out Clyde.

Be careful going with ibr and rispoval pi3+rs, had a nightmare outbreak of puemonia with calves when I went with both a few days apart....
    Their was some kind of weird reaction and every calf in the place got a virus, zactran solved the problem but it cost a fortune going with it across all the calves.....
    Questioned a pharma rep that was peddling it at a open day when he was doing a presentiion on it and no testing had been done to see if any side effects occur where your going with ibr on calves aswell

Date 13/10/2016 B/FAT-4.47 PROT-3.96 LACT-4.59 SCC-91 UREA-29

Doing 18L with 3.6kgs meal. No silage yet

If you're on twitter, this lad is worth a follow. This thread is about hoose and explains the immunity building in young stock.

https://twitter.com/tommythevet/status/786869926816575488?lang=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

It takes some one special to become a mod, the kinda guy that wears a hi vid and takes control of parking at a funeral :):)
    Every parish has one or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Job done a new bike arriving mon am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Didn't dawg pre spray with peracetic acid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Used a mountain bike for a while, grand in the summer no good when roadways were mucky

That makes 100l though doesn't it. Teatfoam doesn't get diluted.

That's right yes, Glanbia have it if you buy 4 ya get 5th free, €200 drum see it somewhere online for €170/drum, Glanbia would work out cheaper if buying the 4@ €200 over 5@€170 but 3 do me the year, post spraying, if got a scc prob be pre spraying too though

whelan2 wrote: »
    Teat spray unit is broke here, so using little hand sprayers from dealz. 20 Litres used to do me just over a week. 20 litres has lasted me a month so far with the little sprayers, some money saving, scc is fine

Was going to get a spray system for convieience sake but talking to a man with 60 cows using a drum virolac a month with spray system, I have 15 less cows and am only coming on finishing my second drum this year, so now have 3 spray bottles tied to bungees in Parlour, some difference in usage level with system over spray bottles

Job done a new bike arriving mon am

Feck that, old jeep only way to go, heater,radio,coffee....luxury.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

4wd, windows, doors etc.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

on 3rd jeep here this year, walking for cows at the minute.