Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

visual wrote: »
    In fairness that car is build for comfort not handling. Lighter cars can actually stop quicker with less effort.

I beg to differ. Bigger 4 pot Brembos, 265 tyres of decent quality, Mercedes Pre Safe system which detects the pressure you put on the brake and assists in an emergency. The other car is a typical car driven by a typical person who doesn't care, buys the cheapest tyres and only fixes what fails an NCT. Unfortunately that's who we share the road with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Patww79 wrote: »

I hear these 8 year old cars are terribly dangerous now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So if you can't afford a car with 4 pot brembos you're incapable of looking after a car? I've never been a big time Charlie with cars but I always minded any of them to the last.

Your an exception.

So many even with the best of cars are always taken in by cheapest tyres and only fix when broke sort.

Hopefully we see some more cars lifted today.

Honestly with the amount our there uninsured etc there should be tons of cars across the country lifted each day and posted on their twitter etc. more

Your an exception.

So many even with the best of cars are always taken in by cheapest tyres and only fix when broke sort.

Hopefully we see some more cars lifted today.

Honestly with the amount our there uninsured etc there should be tons of cars across the country lifted each day and posted on their twitter etc. more
    Merc = Triangle tyres round these parts anyway.
    Best adornment I've seen on a merc was a magnified to A2 size vinyl masscard / tribute to Johnny Madbaxtard plastered to the side of it "Gone to soon Johnny, with the angles now" or whatever. I'd say they were awesome drivers all the same though.

I didn't mean to suggest that. There are plenty of high powered cars out there with cheap tyres. I spotted an X5 outside my local with new rear tyres and couldn't resist pricing them - £38 each from camskill. 20' tyres for £38? You're unfortunately an exception, most people just don't care about maintaining their cars.

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    20' tyres for £38?
    :eek: Go on, what were they - Accelera Alphas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

:eek: Go on, what were they - Accelera Alphas?

Hardly, shur all de taximen use thems.

Careful before we go too o/t, I can't access twitter on the work server, the guards lifted any scrap yet today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,534 ✭✭✭✭Alun

20' tyres for £38?
    20 foot tyres you say?

worlds-largest-custom-wheels.jpg

this-is-spinal-tap-stonehenge-t-shirt-6.jpg

I drove to Dublin yesterday. I wasn't in a rush and the motorway was quite busy. I did a steady 82mph on cruise and I may as well have been parked. I'm in a 2.5 ton CL500 with hydraulic suspension and active braking and I'm being passed by people carriers with baby seats in the back. The Audi and similar Mercedes is designed to eat motorways at high speeds and to stop quickly with discs the size of pasta plates. When a 16 year old Micra passes you at 90, it's time to be afraid.

I was crusing along the M6 at 160km/h about 2 years ago, relaxing listening to the radio absolutely nothing to my car and I look right and see two women passing me out in a total sh*te of a Peugeot 206, the thing was absolutely hopping and shaking I've no idea what they were at especially as they cut in and took the next exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

Not the garda twitter but Im sure someones in a whole heap of trouble with them

https://twitter.com/DubFireBrigade/status/786610687036493824

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

A "victim" of using slicks on the N3 slip for M50 this morning, crash bang, idiot wreckless driver...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/786604643300192256

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

that's dangerous driving if i ever saw it.

"check ur tyres!!!!!!! #arriveAlive this poor soul had bald tyres SNEAK up on them!!! retweet within 30 second or ur 11 year old tyres lose their tread"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

A "victim" of using slicks on the N3 slip for M50 this morning, crash bang, idiot wreckless driver...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/786604643300192256

There had better be a prosecution on foot of that (and send the pictures to their insurance company at the same time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

blackwhite wrote: »
    There had better be a prosecution on foot of that (and send the pictures to their insurance company at the same time)

Yes I wonder did the driver not bother with the "it's a money racket" NCT either?

• Moderators Posts: 6,952 ✭✭✭Spocker

ReefBreak wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/785396256424206336

218 kph, or 135 mph on a Motorway, almost twice the speed limit. Crikey. At that speed, you're overtaking cars like they're standing still.

No time wasted on this one: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/motorcyclist-charged-with-travelling-218km-h-on-m20-1.2829843

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Buncrana Traffic Corp must be one of the busiest around the country.

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/786623646542417920

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Yes I wonder did the driver not bother with the "it's a money racket" NCT either?

Insurance companies have recently reinforced the money racket notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Falcon L

No tax for 6 years

I wonder does anyone in AGS ever think on why it took 6 years to catch them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I briefly lived with a lad who had no insurance or tax and drove to work everyday, about 4 miles. The tax was out of date by at least 3 years, insurance the same.
    That is all he ever used the car for.

walked to the shop
    walked to the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Buncrana Traffic Corp must be one of the busiest around the country.

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/786623646542417920

That's a piss take, fixed penalty notice. Would have had his ass handed to him over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

I always thought that failing to use a tachograph/keep charts was a very serious offence?

If you go on the tacho course's they would agree with you to.

Big fine, penalty points/ban, massive fine for company for not watching drivers etc etc is blurb they tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

It usually ends up in a court appearance. The penalties are normally a fine of a few hundred euros for the driver and a few grand for the opperater. Some examples here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Even after taking away the cost of the impound and the fine for no tax, if that car was actually on the road for those 6 years (which would be no surprise) he would have saved €2k :eek: should have bought a 3.0 and saved that every year :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

RustyNut wrote: »
    It usually ends up in a court appearance. The penalties are normally a fine of a few hundred euros for the driver and a few grand for the opperater. Some examples here.

yeah but get caught in france or spain without your tacho paperwork in order and your screwed. theyve been known to seize trucks and sell them to cover the fines