The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭millingmachine

Nice work Goodlad.
    fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

^^^^
    Was blood drawn in your endevour?:eek:

Ah sure a few bits of blood here and there but nothing mental.
    It all worked out great.

I have the bike in with mototuning.ie for an ecu flash and custom map.

Well fúck me lads... what a difference. Poxy fuel cut delete from the ecu and a few other tweaks too. And then the custom map was done. Bike jumped 11 bhp but apart from that the power curve is beautiful now. So much nicer to drive the bike but its an absolute animal now :D

29330606561_bf8730d389_c.jpg

28788536823_e353a2858b_b.jpg

Also got my lowering links installed today. Was some fecking job trying to lie on the ground, push up the back wheel with one hand and shove the bolt through with the other. There was a bit of an incident with the bike rolling forward off the main stand and falling onto me. By some fecking miracle I held grabbed it about a ft from my face and managed to push it back up.

Its absolutely brilliant having it lowered. Way more secure on it at low speed.

28829570984_e9b1273e09_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

goodlad wrote: »
    There was a bit of an incident with the bike rolling forward off the main stand and falling onto me. By some fecking miracle I held grabbed it about a ft from my face and managed to push it back up.

Jeez man thats dangerous shyte, always secure the bike with rope or tiedowns to a rafter at least so that if it does come off the stand it won't fall on you.
    If the front wheel touches the ground use a small bungie to hold the front brake on and chock it.

I actually had some velcro cable ties handy with the intention of locking the front brake on but completely forgot about it. Ah sure it ended up grand. I managed to grab it by the crash protector and the grab rail. I think some adrenaline kicked in because i lift the bike off me like it was a feather but was fooking nackered about 5 minutes later... haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭two wheels good

A strap from main stand to front wheel is easy and effective too. Steering lock on helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Fair play Goodlad. Decent weight difference between them exhausts ? Are you putting the 2B's one on adverts?

I put the 2b back on the bike! haha.

The volume of the coffmans was fine. But the pitch of it really didnt sit well with me so much that it had to come back off

Feck all weight difference to be honest man. The 2b weighs feck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭GBX

No way .. that's disappointing.

Ah sure i will throw the coffmans onto ebay later tonight. It was lovely under 80kmh but anything over it just hit a pitch that wrecked my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Started to fit the carbon today.
    Still have frame protectors and longer race bellyban to fit.This will have to be cut here and there to be made to fit.
    But Im making steady progress.

Ordered wheel rim stripes,but I stupidly ordered 16 inch wheel stripes instead of 17 inch ones. D'oh.:pac::o:o

20160909_151039_zpso2bdzdvz.jpg

20160910_151115_zpsw59udas1.jpg

20160910_154941_zpszkmy14e0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I fitted a set of Saito brake pads. Even with the pistons pushed right back its still a pig of a job to fit the caliper back onto the disc. The original pads (Honda) came with a metal clip and plastic insert that mimics the shape of the pad. I fitted this last change and this change. Im wondering if I should be reusing this piece. I think I read before its to cut down on brake screech etc etc. Anyone know? Im thinking if I didnt fit this part the caliper would go back on the bike alot easier.

I also have a fender extender and radiator protection grill to fit but ill do that tomorrow. All ordered from louis.de using a €20 voucher code to bring the cost down.

2myccck.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Some pads have a bonded film on them to stop squeal, others need ceratec on the backs, and the stock ones have a metal backing shim that stops squeal.
    I'd fit the Saito with some Ceratec or Copper grease and see if they are OK.
    If they squeal then maybe try the old shims.

I fitted a set of Saito brake pads. Even with the pistons pushed right back its still a pig of a job to fit the caliper back onto the disc. The original pads (Honda) came with a metal clip and plastic insert that mimics the shape of the pad. I fitted this last change and this change. Im wondering if I should be reusing this piece. I think I read before its to cut down on brake screech etc etc. Anyone know? Im thinking if I didnt fit this part the caliper would go back on the bike alot easier.

I also have a fender extender and radiator protection grill to fit but ill do that tomorrow. All ordered from louis.de using a €20 voucher code to bring the cost down.

Maybe removing some fluid would allow the pistons to retract a little more. When the pads wear a little you can fit the plate.

More importantly .. where did you get the Louis voucher? and can I get one? (I was disappointed to see that they don't sell spockets separately , only c & sp kits.)

Maybe removing some fluid would allow the pistons to retract a little more. When the pads wear a little you can fit the plate.

More importantly .. where did you get the Louis voucher? and can I get one? (I was disappointed to see that they don't sell spockets separately , only c & sp kits.)

Pistons were flush with caliper. Anyhoo its done now. I got the voucher in an email. Normally they send a discount voucher when I dont need anything so it goes to waste. Sorry I should have added, you had to spend €99 or more to avail of the voucher.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I gave the bike a good clean at the weekend and used ACF-50 which I had heard lots about. Great stuff, really gives the bike a fantastic shine on all the plastic and metal parts. One tip though. Be sure to totally mask off your brakes. I thought I was being careful but a bit got on and my god that stuff is slippy, brakes went to shyte! Had to come home dismantle the brakes, give thee pads and discs a really good clean with brake disk cleaner but they are ok now. Anyway ACF-50 is highly recommended, just not for brakes :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

Zascar wrote: »
    I gave the bike a good clean at the weekend and used ACF-50 which I had heard lots about. Great stuff, really gives the bike a fantastic shine on all the plastic and metal parts. One tip though. Be sure to totally mask off your brakes. I thought I was being careful but a bit got on and my god that stuff is slippy, brakes went to shyte! Had to come home dismantle the brakes, give thee pads and discs a really good clean with brake disk cleaner but they are ok now. Anyway ACF-50 is highly recommended, just not for brakes :P

The stuff "creeps" so best to keep well away from brakes for sure, and use very sparingly.

Great stuff though. Always have a few tins in the shed the last few years. Must have for every Irish bike.

I fitted the fender extender and radiator protector. All simple work. Also gave it a clean and acf-50 treatment. It bugs me how expensive radiator protectors are for what they are. €60 I paid for this one and they go over €100 if you want.

2n7qyvc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Zascar wrote: »
    I made a similar mistake first time, got some on the tyres. Around brakes and that I put it on a cloth and apply from that rather than spray on. But it's brilliant stuff for protecting your bike, well worth doing every few months. Its fine on rubber or plastic, some sprays make rubber crack or fade, ACF50 doesn't.
    I fitted the fender extender and radiator protector. All simple work. Also gave it a clean and acf-50 treatment. It bugs me how expensive radiator protectors are for what they are. €60 I paid for this one and they go over €100 if you want.

http://i63.tinypic.com/2n7qyvc.jpg
    That looks like one clean bike. Might drop mine over to get a once over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

yesterday cleaned chain and adjusted slack, gave a bit of a clean. Sanded off a bit of paint from the exhaust from catching the wall putting the bike away.

today cleaned the road **** off the chain again, and then put chain wax on.

did an oil and filter change (roses tin for collecting the oil :o )

got acf50 today but didn't get a chance to use it will do a bit of that tomorrow. Will make sure to get my brake pads, seat, and grips nice and slippery to ensure the next trip on the bike will be interesting.

need to think about doing a valve clearance check but don't have any of the accoutrements. want to get around to doing all of the scheduled maintenance stuff

will get around to doing the throttle position sensor adjustment, it's still set to the stock 3,000 revs so the fuelling feels like **** under that, needs a security torx bit so will have to order that online. also going to eventually get around to doing the gear position sensor lock to 5th gear mod

397375.JPG

need a new front tyre in the next while too

I wound out about 1 and a half turns of preload on the front, doesn't feel any worse. Going to have a mess with the rear shock in the next while. Feels like I only compress it <30mm when I sit on from a rough measurement (from point on the tail to the top of the wheel.. no idea if I'm measuring that right).

just passed 3,000km since getting the bike :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

My new number plate arrived last week :)

H9_zpsze7wcoyi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Open clutch cover arrived. Just need time to fit it now. Want nice weather, probably won't be done till next year!

will get around to doing the throttle position sensor adjustment, it's still set to the stock 3,000 revs so the fuelling feels like **** under that, needs a security torx bit so will have to order that online. also going to eventually get around to doing the gear position sensor lock to 5th gear mod

What's the benefit of this? Fuelling or power improvement?
    I found some info here about the theory but not the affects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

What's the benefit of this? Fuelling or power improvement?
    I found some info here about the theory but not the affects.

There's apparently a timing retard in gears 1-4 for emissions and this gets rid of it but I can't find any actual proof that it has a real world difference. According to all of the posts the bike just feels smoother when working up through first to second to third gear fast.

The throttle position sensor one is apparently the big one for smoothness, this changes the fuelling to turn on the injectors sooner (i've tested mine with the 'dealer tool' and mine come on at just over 3,000 rpm). You set it to start injecting at just over idle so it's smooth and you can't feel the injectors turning off then on then off around 3000 rpm, and that it's just smoother under that speed.

Bought some nice Gilles adjustable rearsets for the S1000rr today.Seems well designed and engineered too.Comes with carbon heel plates.
    Also got my TechSpec Snakeskin tank pads too.

20160926_171906_zpsxhib6wkl.jpg

Akra titanium headers arrived this morning for the S1000rr.
    Also managed to get the rearsets through Heathrow Airport security without them even blinking at them.never even looked in the suitcase.

Allmost thought I was landing in Tenerife and not Dublin,the weather was that nice on the way back.:)

20161004_091913_zpsjv09ii8h.jpg

20161004_092707_zpswz2jmmq7.jpg

20161002_122607_zpstcfkjnom.jpg

20161002_142306_zpsl2uh0lg6.jpg

Those headers are a work of art, had them on my BMW. keep us posted on the install

Here we go again.:pac::):)

Old and heavy oem headers off the bike,will fit Akras tomorrow.

Do I need to stick the Lambda sensors into the Akras or can I get away without them on the bike??

20161004_165854_zpsnpudzbc9.jpg

20161004_193023_zpsacjoiv9r.jpg

Lambda (O2 sensors in the US :D) are required for the fuel injection system to work properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I've said since downsizing to a DL650 Vstrom that it was gutless & boring.

So this week it wouldn't idle & was running like a pig, so I checked the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) and it was fooked.

Installed a new TPS this evening (bit of a bitch to set it correctly), and the bike feels like a whole new bike, and wheelies off the gas :)

Bit of a pain in the hole striping all the plastics and setting the whore, but well worth it.

Oh and cost, from Priory I was quoted €129 plus VAT.. Online from the UK ~ €80 delivered in 48 hours, happy fooking days :)

Lambda (O2 sensors in the US :D) are required for the fuel injection system to work properly.

Thats not really true. Its needed for the bike to run at its stock settings.
    But if he puts in a power commander then an o2 eliminator plug is recommended as when making the custom map you dont want the damn sensor interfering