After hours no longer a safe place for irreverent humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Esel wrote: »
    Back to the page in the dictionary starting with Q then.

Hint: think Qu... Not Qatar anyway.

You should be questioning (SWIDT?) the italics in the post to which you replied- but I'm sure you knew that. Right? :)

Too early for this, a "straight" answer please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Too early for this, a "straight" answer please :)

Queue on the right if + bags.

Got your "joke", btw. Haw, haw, haw... Haw haw.

Pighead* will not deign to comment. Pighead is above all this.

* This post not authorised by Pighead.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Got your "joke", btw. Haw, haw, haw... Haw haw.

Pighead* will not deign to comment. Pighead is above all this.

* This post not authorised by Pighead.

Yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Jericho Caine

What the **** are you on about?

Edit: Directed at Esel spouting the Pighead nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Edit: Directed at Esel spouting the Pighead nonsense.

Must be smoking 'da herb'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Yawn

Q+ stands for Queer & anything else not covered by the rest of the letters. Even LGBTQ+ people are quite willing to admit that the acronym has gotten a bit out of hand.

Not the foggiest what Esel was talking about though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Samaris wrote: »
    Q+ stands for Queer & anything else not covered by the rest of the letters. Even LGBTQ+ people are quite willing to admit that the acronym has gotten a bit out of hand.

I'm unsure about a few things:

What's the difference between Gay and Queer?

Does "Gay" not include Lesbians? ie is there really a need for the "L"?

If the + means "anything else not covered by the rest of the letters", does the + include heterosexuals, assexuals (sp?), etc, etc? If so, isn't everyone in the world covered by the acronym?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

myshirt wrote:
    Place is gone very left wing. A lot of anti-life/pro abortion people, pro LGBTQ+ people given free reign etc

Isn't that a reflection of the country at large. 15 years ago you could make all the gay jokes you liked and most people would laugh and nobody would challenge you. The culture has changed and now gays have rights (like it or not). Making gay jokes is likely to be challenged by a lot of people.

Should boards not reflect society? That would genuinely require purposefully choosing what's ok and what isn't.

I'm unsure about a few things:

What's the difference between Gay and Queer?

Does "Gay" not include Lesbians? ie is there really a need for the "L"?

If the + means "anything else not covered by the rest of the letters", does the + include heterosexuals, assexuals (sp?), etc, etc? If so, isn't everyone in the world covered by the acronym?

I'm not exactly an expert on this, but bear with me. As I understand it, Queer is partly a reclamation of the word from an insult, much like "gay" itself has been. It also stands for people of a non-binary gender/sexual orientation (I'm not 100% on whether it covers both gender and orientation or just one of them).

The & is all the other letters that can be associated on, of which A is one (Asexual). Technically, yes, I think it can be used to encompass pretty much everyone with a bit of poking.

Oh, regarding the lesbian/gay thing. Yeees, gay is used to mean just homosexual, so male and female. However, it's often used to mean gay men. Most people can cope with gay men these days, but people seem oddly confused by gay women, so the term is probably as much of an "oy, yes, we do exist" to the people that think only men are gay!

Samaris wrote:
    Not the foggiest what Esel was talking about though.
    It's a reference to a poster named pighead from years ago who spouted random gibberish and referred to themselves in the third person.

That's the 'good ole days' under discussion.

Us it possible that boards has gotten less ridiculous? Pighead is probably rambling on someone's Facebook wall today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's a reference to a poster named pighead from years ago who spouted random gibberish and referred to themselves in the third person.

That's the 'good ole days' under discussion.

Us it possible that boards has gotten less ridiculous? Pighead is probably rambling on someone's Facebook wall today.

has pighead left us? I'm sure i seen a post from him not so long ago.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Pighead Lives.

Oh, I got the Pighead reference, just didn't understand what he was saying about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

myshirt wrote: »
    I am absolutely saying that. Bottom line, if you are going to kill someone at least be honest about what you're doing and stop trying dress it up as bodily choice and passing yourself off as having ethics. There is no ethical or moral justification to engaging in an act that specifically targets the life of an unborn child. None at all. If you are ambivalent to that, you haven't really thought through the issue, and that's irresponsible.

The op is right in his broader theme about the changes here in After Hours.

Well if you think people are murderers it's a bit comical for you to suggest they should be honest murders.

@Esel Explain this please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Why the fcuk are 2 posters talking about murdering unborn children on a thread like this? Blame the mods all ye want folks but jaysus!

Though that's kind of the madness of AH, everybody else is on about something in particular and along come a couple of other posters that nobody has a clue what they are on about.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

slapper999 wrote: »
    For that idiot of a mod who said I took my user name from my mother, I swear I'll in the end get you, I downloaded every one of your post's and I will eventually get you, not here, where you are.

My Mother is dead less than a year, I swear I will get you.

I'm kidding, I don't know you or your mother. And if you read my earlier posts I said the reason why the irreverent humour (such as yor ma jokes) don't work is because the folk on AH have all grown up. And most of our mas are probably dead. (same as mine!)..
    So sorry if you took it to heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Isn't that a reflection of the country at large. 15 years ago you could make all the gay jokes you liked and most people would laugh and nobody would challenge you. The culture has changed and now gays have rights (like it or not). Making gay jokes is likely to be challenged by a lot of people.

Should boards not reflect society? That would genuinely require purposefully choosing what's ok and what isn't.

In society though it is all about the context of the situation. What you say amongst friends in a pub will be more lax than what you would say to colleagues in work. In real life there are places for irreverant humour and that was the very inspiration behind the name "After Hours" for this forum. Other forums are designed to be more strict in their rules to cater for their specific topic but the very topic of After Hours is meant to be the place where people can just be silly.

If After Hours is no longer that place then what is it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

myshirt wrote: »
    Place is gone very left wing. A lot of anti-life/pro abortion people, pro LGBTQ+ people given free reign etc
    If you find you have a small bunch of people who think Boards has gone too Left wing and another bunch who think the very same Boards has gone too Right wing, IMH chances are the balance is probably about OK. You can't cater to the most reactive on either end in any group. The vast majority of folks who hang out here are mostly centrists, with some left leanings in some things and right in others and slow to change over time. IE Irish People(™).

Boards reflects that and is currently reflecting the growing importation of that mind numbingly retarded American polarisation of more extreme opinion. So you can go from full on handwringing Guardian reading bedwetter, to retarded Trumpites who can't go a full sentence without typing "cuck". But again most are in the middle.

This polarisation will change with time too. I suspect people will start to get bored with their Facebook, Reddit, Whatsapp echo chambers were everyone agrees with the "Correct View" and dissent and deviation from the approved script is down voted, if it's even invited in the first place. For fun find a Reddit forum that's "Left" or "Right" it doesn't really matter. Post a polite, measured, but contrary position. Step back and watch the reaction.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The only thing can that bring back AH from the yawning abyss of irrelevance is more threads about Facebook and people checking their mobile phones on a night out.

Maguined wrote:
    In society though it is all about the context of the situation. What you say amongst friends in a pub will be more lax than what you would say to colleagues in work. In real life there are places for irreverant humour and that was the very inspiration behind the name "After Hours" for this forum. Other forums are designed to be more strict in their rules to cater for their specific topic but the very topic of After Hours is meant to be the place where people can just be silly.

If After Hours is no longer that place then what is it?

Don't you think people are free to be silly in AH? If by 'silly' you mean racist and homophobic etc. then there are lots of other places where that has migrated to, YouTube comments section, Facebook. Check out the comments section at the end of a Fox News article. That should keep you ticking over.

Not as much as it used to and no I do not mean racist and homophobic comments. As others have pointed out in the past there was more leeway and this allowed entertaining responses from the likes of Pighead which would be silly and insulting but not necessarily racist or homophobic. Users were more accepting that such silly insults were not genuine and only a bit of fun as that was what After Hours was about but the bar has been raised to make the place that little bit more serious at the expense of sillyness.

For some of us we lament this loss of fun. Your suggestion is to go elsewhere but that is what users are doing, numbers are dropping and part of that reason could be the inreased seriousness of the site as a whole which is really seen in AH itself.

Maguined wrote:
    Not as much as it used to and no I do not mean racist and homophobic comments. As others have pointed out in the past there was more leeway and this allowed entertaining responses from the likes of Pighead which would be silly and insulting but not necessarily racist or homophobic. Users were more accepting that such silly insults were not genuine and only a bit of fun as that was what After Hours was about but the bar has been raised to make the place that little bit more serious at the expense of sillyness.

Fair enough. It's not my type of banter do I don't have a problem with the change.
    Maguined wrote:
    For some of us we lament this loss of fun. Your suggestion is to go elsewhere but that is what users are doing, numbers are dropping and part of that reason could be the inreased seriousness of the site as a whole which is really seen in AH itself.

The supply of venues to be silly has exploded in the last decade. Making AH less silly might be one reason but there are plenty of reasons to use Twitter to be silly and boards to chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭blackwhite

How many threads in feedback are there from people saying that liberal/left posters are victimised (Excluding the SF stuff which is a separate matter). I can think of the misogyny thread and that resulted in major changes.

There is loads on feedback from the other side

TBH - the complaints from the liberal/left side generally seem to be more about how "right/conservative" opinions that they find offensive are permitted, or else about how they have been punished for calling right-wing posters racists/bigots/"insert other insult here"

I haven't seen many complaints about actual left wing opinion being the reason for bans/mod actions.

Fair enough. It's not my type of banter do I don't have a problem with the change.

The supply of venues to be silly has exploded in the last decade. Making AH less silly might be one reason but there are plenty of reasons to use Twitter to be silly and boards to chat.

I am not disagreeing with there being other venues outside Boards for such things but that is not really a help if Boards numbers are going down. As a business surely they should be looking into growth or retention rather than simply accepting a decrease in users. I am not suggesting it is the primary factor in people leaving but I do believe it is a factor for many. I have been here for over 15 years and I have friends that have lost interest in Boards beause it is no longer fun for them and it is just too serious.

Even if we accept your view that the change is a good thing I have to ask what is the point of After Hours then? We often hear complaints that there is too much news dumps happening or too much political discussion and mostly that topics should be moved to the applicable specific forums to deal with. If the purpose of AH in the past was the silly fun place and they no longer want it to be the silly fun place while also lamenting that it is the go to place then what is it's actual purpose anymore?

If that is not your type of banter can there not be a section reserved for that type of banter somewhere on boards for those that do enjoy it to be able to? There are many sections of boards I personally do not aprpeciate so I don't go there but I do not think it would be good to deny those places as other people do enjoy them.

It feels like the management/mods are not happy with everything ending up in AH and would like to close it on principle but at the same time realise this could absolutely murder the daily views to Boards so for that reason don't.

Maguined wrote:
    I am not disagreeing with there being other venues outside Boards for such things but that is not really a help if Boards numbers are going down. As a business surely they should be looking into growth or retention rather than simply accepting a decrease in users. I am not suggesting it is the primary factor in people leaving but I do believe it is a factor for many. I have been here for over 15 years and I have friends that have lost interest in Boards beause it is no longer fun for them and it is just too serious.

I don't know anything about the Boards business model or what kind of market share they should be aiming for.

There's a great chance that anyone would be sick of any part of the internet after 15 years. I can't think of anything I used 15 years ago that I still use today - except for specialist sites like BBC or rte news.
    Maguined wrote:
    Even if we accept your view that the change is a good thing I have to ask what is the point of After Hours then? [...] If the purpose of AH in the past was the silly fun place and they no longer want it to be the silly fun place while also lamenting that it is the go to place then what is it's actual purpose anymore?

AH is still relatively more silly than the rest of boards. It still serves that purpose.
    Maguined wrote:
    If that is not your type of banter can there not be a section reserved for that type of banter somewhere on boards for those that do enjoy it to be able to? There are many sections of boards I personally do not aprpeciate so I don't go there but I do not think it would be good to deny those places as other people do enjoy them.

Yeah fair enough. I thought the pighead stuff was really silly. If that's your craic then there should probably be a section of boards for that type of thing. AH is more useful than that now and it would hardly serve boards business model to turn more people away by turning AH back into a forum with people spouting in the third person.

Why not establish a new section for the hilarious old days?

I would personally love to see it but I cannot see it happening because one of the first criterias is "does this already exist and is covered in another forum". It would be a request to have After Hours but held up to it's original ideals as a less serious place that nearly anything can be discussed.

I honestly do not think the current After Hours would pass such a request today if the forum did not exist already, asking for a place that is a catch all of anything being discussed that potentially could be discussed elsewhere I doubt would be well received.

After Hours exists because it is legacy carryover from it's olden glory days and so is the busiest place making it untouchable despite not really living up to it's legacy ideals or purpose anymore.

Maguined wrote:
    After Hours exists because it is legacy carryover from it's olden glory days and so is the busiest place making it untouchable despite not really living up to it's legacy ideals or purpose anymore.

Sounds like you missed the banter boat then. Tears shed, zero.

Why not ask for a banter forum where you can say mad stuff? Frame it with a different remit to AH and place emphasis on it being about mad craic rather than discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wibbs wrote: »
    Bring back Terry. Oh and allow pictures FFS. It's 2016, not 1996.
    They say he appears if his name is mentioned three times in a thread.
    Do I deserve to be?

What's a Terry?
    He's fúcking awesome. That's what he is.
    WTF is a Persepoly?
    Oh is he one of the attention se, I mean one of the ones who stripped off for charity? Or something?

:p
    One of?
    I was the motherfúcking first!

ScumLord wrote: »
    I blame iPhones, and android devices, and all the other devices that made the internet accessible to the masses. Being able to operate a PC was a pretty good way of filtering out stupid people and people that are afraid of technology. Now anyone with a hundred euros and the ability to put brightly shaped objects in the correct hole can connect with fellow idiots and be stupid on a grand scale. An infant can be on facebook and posting within minutes of their first use of a phone these days.

Generally before the plebs came online there was a sort of culture and jokes were understood to be jokes. Then everyone else turned up and sarcasm just became a thing of the past on the internet, it was replaced by people that genuinely meant whatever bat**** nonsense they heard down the pub or off the priest.
    What he said.

Winterlong wrote: »
    We should have a special section in AH called 'Personal issues for drunk people'.
    I second this.

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    I'm willingly to admit this place did become more accepting of right wing opinions since a certain mod's reign of terror came to an end. However, it's still largely a 'intolerance will not be tolerated' left wing safe space for commercially acceptable opinions.

Was it my reign of terror?
    I'll have you know I really enjoyed that time. A time when I posted stupid stuff, and got away with it. It was quite...Trumpian.

Terry wrote: »

He's fúcking awesome. That's what he is.
    WTF is a Persepoly?

I feel as though I am in the presence of greatness.

A Persepoly is a female being that is known for flights of fancy, sadistic guessing games, and a lover of peetza and craft beer.

Sounds like you missed the banter boat then. Tears shed, zero.

Why not ask for a banter forum where you can say mad stuff? Frame it with a different remit to AH and place emphasis on it being about mad craic rather than discussion?

No, as I already said I have been here over 15 years so I didn't miss any bus, I have witnessed what I perceive to be a change in AH from those "banter boat" fun years to the more serious less fun version we have now.

I have already pointed out my reasons why I think such a request would not go through but it's okay you prefer the place is now with your salty responses and serious discussion so it's all good, no point repeating ourselves.