Sexism you have personally experienced or have heard of? *READ POST 1*

• Site Banned Posts: 391 ✭✭paralysed

mzungu wrote: »
    Fair point, I have heard the likes of Tokyo and Nagoya are quite expensive (more so than here) so unless you had a pretty decent income, your options are limited to say the least.
    There ya are!

I caught you mzungu... albeit vicariously through Wibbs. Honey's always better than vinegar.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I wonder if anyone showed up :pac:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/10/01/us-university-offers-course-for-men-to-deconstruct-toxic-masculi/

US university offers course for men to 'deconstruct toxic masculinities'

Harriet Alexander, new york
    1 OCTOBER 2016 • 11:31PM
    A university in the United States has begun offering classes in “constructive male allyship,” providing a space where male students are able to “question and deconstruct toxic masculinities.”

Duke University, based in the city of Durham, North Carolina, held its first Learning Community session last week. The women’s centre has organised a nine-week series of seminars, as part of the Duke Men’s Project.

And, with sexual harassment and sexism remaining hot topics on American university campuses, the university has created the seminar series under the banner of the Men’s Project.

“Our purpose is twofold: to foster constructive male allyship, and to question and deconstruct toxic masculinities,” the Men’s Project says on its website.

“We also understand how masculinity in its normative form alienates most – if not all – men, and recognise the part normative masculinity plays in alienating men and reproducing violence.

“We want to deconstruct toxic masculinities to reconstruct healthier, more inclusive notions of masculinity.”

The nine-week course aims to promote “unlearning violence.”

The organisers say: “We want to explore, dissect, and construct an intersectional understanding of masculinity and maleness, as well as to create destabilized spaces for those with privilege.”

Duke’s women centre opened the men’s project in the spring, and since then has held talks by sociologists on “sex, power and violence” and screened films about pornography.

“Duke is an environment where some are rarely made uncomfortable while others are made to bear the weight of their identities on a daily basis - we aim to flip that paradigm,” the organisers say.

The project has been backed by the student newspaper’s editorial board. They insisted it was “not a re-education camp being administered by an oppressed group, in the service of the feminisation of American society.”

And few would argue against there being a problem in certain American universities.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭gizmo555

gizmo555 wrote: »
    The O'Toole interview is in the context of a series started on Saturday by Hugh Linehan on "How to be a modern man in Ireland".

The extraordinary sexism of this series of articles is outdone today by Una Mullally who has a lengthy piece today on how to cut suicide rates in Ireland which doesn't mention gender in any way, shape or form, despite the glaring fact that suicide rates among men in this country run at over four times the rates for women.

Is it conceivable that if the figures were reversed and over 80% of victims of suicide were female, that Mullally wouldn't think this was worth mentioning? And what the fcuk is the editor thinking of in allowing this to appear in the paper he's responsible for?

The extraordinary sexism of this series of articles is outdone today by Una Mullally who has a lengthy piece today on how to cut suicide rates in Ireland which doesn't mention gender in any way, shape or form, despite the glaring fact that suicide rates among men in this country run at over four times the rates for women.

Is it conceivable that if the figures were reversed and over 80% of victims of suicide were female, that Mullally wouldn't think this was worth mentioning? And what the fcuk is the editor thinking of in allowing this to appear in the paper he's responsible for?

The BBC were all over the self harming stats that came out in the UK last week and highlighted that women and girls self harm at twice the rate of boys yet the ultimate in self harm rarely gets split by gender in the headlines.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

If 80% of victims were female we would live in a "suicide-culture". It would be presented as if it didn't involve men at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

We have to do compliance certs in work once or twice a year, brain-dead stuff where you watch a short video for each question and are asked if and who did something wrong in each piece. I've got 100% in the last 5 of them answering questions based on the theory that if the person is a woman or part of a minority then they didn't do anything wrong, if it's a white male, then they did. Every f***ing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

newport2 wrote: »
    We have to do compliance certs in work once or twice a year, brain-dead stuff where you watch a short video for each question and are asked if and who did something wrong in each piece. I've got 100% in the last 5 of them answering questions based on the theory that if the person is a woman or part of a minority then they didn't do anything wrong, if it's a white male, then they did. Every f***ing time.

sounds standard, sure there was a pool safety poster by the US red cross thats apparently super racist because minority kids are also doing bad things in it : https://img.washingtonpost.com/wp-apps/imrs.php?src=https://img.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp-content/uploads/sites/21/2016/06/10858922_G.jpg&w=1484

White, Straight Men. The group that everyone is allowed blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,469 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

sounds standard, sure there was a pool safety poster by the US red cross thats apparently super racist because minority kids are also doing bad things in it : https://img.washingtonpost.com/wp-apps/imrs.php?src=https://img.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp-content/uploads/sites/21/2016/06/10858922_G.jpg&w=1484

There is a diving board in the pool but it is not cool to dive? Seems a bit of a cruel temptation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

maybe
    There's an article on the Irish Times about Peter Hook's revelations of abuse at the hands of Caroline Aherne. (Article here)

Some of the comments on the facebook page are pretty interesting…

There's an article on the Irish Times about Peter Hook's revelations of abuse at the hands of Caroline Aherne. (Article here)

Some of the comments on the facebook page are pretty interesting…

can you link to the facebook page , its not a platform I use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

maybe
    silverharp wrote: »
    can you link to the facebook page , its not a platform I use

I think this is it. Sorry, I'm not sure of how to do it on the phone.

https://www.facebook.com/#!/irishtimes/posts/10154023339001158

The amount of comments saying "ahh shes not here to defend herself" , there have been many cases of lads being cleared of rape charges and still being tarred with the brush for life , abd if you even dared say "sure lets get the wife beaters side of the story first" you'd be jumped on. Its sick really.

I had a flick through , certainly an amount of shaming type comments that would probably be toned down if the sexes were reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,707 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

To be fair, the vast majority of the comments are positive. Sure, there's a handful of ****wits but out of the 90 odd comments most are fairly reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

The amount of comments saying "ahh shes not here to defend herself" , there have been many cases of lads being cleared of rape charges and still being tarred with the brush for life , abd if you even dared say "sure lets get the wife beaters side of the story first" you'd be jumped on. Its sick really.

I remember when people started to come out over the jimmy saville abuse people said the same thing (can't defend him self) look how that turned out

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Sleepy wrote: »
    To be fair, the vast majority of the comments are positive. Sure, there's a handful of ****wits but out of the 90 odd comments most are fairly reasonable.
    hmm, I just had a quick count and there's 30ish comments attacking him in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

On the Guardian (I htink it was) article about it, there was a magnificent rhetort levelled at someone banging on about how she [Aherne] is not here to defend herself and how dare he, blah blah blah etc. ..... "Jimmy Saville".

As bad and as disgustingly shameful and/or hypocritical some of the comments are, there are plenty more either being positive, or slapping those attacking Peter Hook.

Edit; the one accusation I find particularly insidious and vile is that he is only cashing in on her death; like he somehow managed to write an autobiography, get it through publishing approval, printed, and marketing material all assembled inside the space of a couple of months. Fvck. And. /. Or. Off. In any case, he doesn't need to cash in on her death, he's even more famous than she is FFS (if you want to go into that particular account-balance-waving exercise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

I recently came across JaclynGlenn on YouTube because she has some really great videos on atheism and religion etc.

However she did this funny video response to a recent Buzzfeed article which asks girls which of these men should be banned!! Try it out, they are all the right guy to be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Signing up for Flickr today and see the following in their guidelines:

Flickr2.jpg

I assume there is also:

Don't be a bitch.

You know that girl. Don't be that girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭iptba

There are 1.1 billion girls in the world and four years ago the United Nations General Assembly declared October 11th the International Day of the Girl Child to “recognise girls’ rights and the unique challenges girls face around the world”.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/dublin-to-get-18-year-old-female-mayor-for-day-of-the-girl-1.2819602?utm_medium=email&utm_source=morning_digest&utm_campaign=news_digest

A quick search suggests there is no International Day of the Boy Child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭daithi7

iptba wrote: »

Sure, but imho this isn't massively sexist. Why? Just cos I don't like sexism, doesn't mean you don't treat different genders differently in particular situations. So in this case, girls worldwide but particularly in the developing world face distinct individual issues of mutilation and rape, etc. Yes, if it were up to me, I would prefer to see this being encapsulated in a more general child protection day, or adolescent flourishing day, or whatever, but I don't find an international girl child day overly sexist really, as there are real issues pertaining to gender and misstreatment as a result of gender there, so it may well make sense in this particular case to highlight these issues specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭iptba

daithi7 wrote: »
    Sure, but imho this isn't massively sexist. Why? Just cos I don't like sexism, doesn't mean you don't treat different genders differently in particular situations. So in this case, girls worldwide but particularly in the developing world face distinct individual issues of mutilation and rape, etc. Yes, if it were up to me, I would prefer to see this being encapsulated in a more general child protection day, or adolescent flourishing day, or whatever, but I don't find an international girl child day overly sexist really, as there are real issues pertaining to gender and misstreatment as a result of gender there, so it may well make sense in this particular case to highlight these issues specifically.
    I agree that days for specific groups can be useful to highlight issues they face. That's why I feel more should be made out of the International Men's Day on November 19 each year.

Note that the event today has also led to the following in Ireland:
    In Ireland, Étáin Sweeney Keogh, an 18-year-old from Fivemilebourne, Leitrim, will be “taking over” the lord mayor of Dublin’s office for Plan International Ireland. She will also be shadowing Senator Lorraine Clifford Lee in the Seanad, opening Pat Kenny’s radio show on Newstalk and if she isn’t busy enough, may even make it into the Taoiseach’s office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

No
    daithi7 wrote: »
    Of course it's sexist. It's not a competition like but boys are forced into labour camps and given guns at 8. Both genders face issues. A day for one gender is sexist.

Lost for words, check it out
    As I write this, my children are asleep in their room, Loretta Lynn is on the stereo, and my wife is out on a date with a man named Paulo. It’s her second date this week; her fourth this month so far. If it goes like the others, she’ll come home in the middle of the night, crawl into bed beside me, and tell me all about how she and Paulo had sex. I won’t explode with anger or seethe with resentment. I’ll tell her it’s a hot story and I’m glad she had fun. It’s hot because she’s excited, and I’m glad because I’m a feminist.
    When my wife told me she wanted to open our marriage and take other lovers, she wasn’t rejecting me, she was embracing herself. When I understood that, I finally became a feminist.

Poor pandering guy is being taken for a fool

py2006 wrote: »
    Lost for words, check it out

Poor pandering guy is being taken for a fool

what a sad story, I feel sorry for the lad and how he clearly despises himself too much to stand up to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

I know I'm in the minority but as long as the woman wouldn't mind it when the man did it, I would have no issue with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

what a sad story, I feel sorry for the lad and how he clearly despises himself too much to stand up to this.

On one level i agree with you but on another i think he deserves it and the enevitble other bad crap that comes his way.

Seems to be the arch-type SJW, so convinced of the mantra hes effectively cutting his own nuts off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,641 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Calhoun wrote: »
    On one level i agree with you but on another i think he deserves it and the enevitble other bad crap that comes his way.

Seems to be the arch-type SJW, so convinced of the mantra hes effectively cutting his own nuts off.

Or he could be the victim of emotional and financial abuse. He admits he gave up work and has no financial input. That can be a scary place to be if you're completely dependent on a spouse. Then when her ladyship rocks in and tells him she kissed another dude and wants extra wavin on the side he might feel like he has no option but to go along with it.

Either way it's a sad existence for anyone to have to live through. Your wan in the article comes across as a right piece of work.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Any time I've gone to a concert, even or gig of any kind. I've always seen the men stopped and searched like a terrorist in an airport with the women just waived through, despite there being female security there.