mzungu wrote: » Fair point, I have heard the likes of Tokyo and Nagoya are quite expensive (more so than here) so unless you had a pretty decent income, your options are limited to say the least.
US university offers course for men to 'deconstruct toxic masculinities' Harriet Alexander, new york 1 OCTOBER 2016 • 11:31PM A university in the United States has begun offering classes in “constructive male allyship,” providing a space where male students are able to “question and deconstruct toxic masculinities.” Duke University, based in the city of Durham, North Carolina, held its first Learning Community session last week. The women’s centre has organised a nine-week series of seminars, as part of the Duke Men’s Project. And, with sexual harassment and sexism remaining hot topics on American university campuses, the university has created the seminar series under the banner of the Men’s Project. “Our purpose is twofold: to foster constructive male allyship, and to question and deconstruct toxic masculinities,” the Men’s Project says on its website. “We also understand how masculinity in its normative form alienates most – if not all – men, and recognise the part normative masculinity plays in alienating men and reproducing violence. “We want to deconstruct toxic masculinities to reconstruct healthier, more inclusive notions of masculinity.” The nine-week course aims to promote “unlearning violence.” The organisers say: “We want to explore, dissect, and construct an intersectional understanding of masculinity and maleness, as well as to create destabilized spaces for those with privilege.” Duke’s women centre opened the men’s project in the spring, and since then has held talks by sociologists on “sex, power and violence” and screened films about pornography. “Duke is an environment where some are rarely made uncomfortable while others are made to bear the weight of their identities on a daily basis - we aim to flip that paradigm,” the organisers say. The project has been backed by the student newspaper’s editorial board. They insisted it was “not a re-education camp being administered by an oppressed group, in the service of the feminisation of American society.” And few would argue against there being a problem in certain American universities.
gizmo555 wrote: » The O'Toole interview is in the context of a series started on Saturday by Hugh Linehan on "How to be a modern man in Ireland".
gizmo555 wrote: » The extraordinary sexism of this series of articles is outdone today by Una Mullally who has a lengthy piece today on how to cut suicide rates in Ireland which doesn't mention gender in any way, shape or form, despite the glaring fact that suicide rates among men in this country run at over four times the rates for women. Is it conceivable that if the figures were reversed and over 80% of victims of suicide were female, that Mullally wouldn't think this was worth mentioning? And what the fcuk is the editor thinking of in allowing this to appear in the paper he's responsible for?
newport2 wrote: » We have to do compliance certs in work once or twice a year, brain-dead stuff where you watch a short video for each question and are asked if and who did something wrong in each piece. I've got 100% in the last 5 of them answering questions based on the theory that if the person is a woman or part of a minority then they didn't do anything wrong, if it's a white male, then they did. Every f***ing time.
Eric Cartman wrote: » sounds standard, sure there was a pool safety poster by the US red cross thats apparently super racist because minority kids are also doing bad things in it : https://img.washingtonpost.com/wp-apps/imrs.php?src=https://img.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp-content/uploads/sites/21/2016/06/10858922_G.jpg&w=1484
kunst nugget wrote: » There's an article on the Irish Times about Peter Hook's revelations of abuse at the hands of Caroline Aherne. (Article here) Some of the comments on the facebook page are pretty interesting…
silverharp wrote: » can you link to the facebook page , its not a platform I use
kunst nugget wrote: » I think this is it. Sorry, I'm not sure of how to do it on the phone.https://www.facebook.com/#!/irishtimes/posts/10154023339001158
Eric Cartman wrote: » The amount of comments saying "ahh shes not here to defend herself" , there have been many cases of lads being cleared of rape charges and still being tarred with the brush for life , abd if you even dared say "sure lets get the wife beaters side of the story first" you'd be jumped on. Its sick really.
Sleepy wrote: » To be fair, the vast majority of the comments are positive. Sure, there's a handful of ****wits but out of the 90 odd comments most are fairly reasonable.
There are 1.1 billion girls in the world and four years ago the United Nations General Assembly declared October 11th the International Day of the Girl Child to “recognise girls’ rights and the unique challenges girls face around the world”.
iptba wrote: » http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/dublin-to-get-18-year-old-female-mayor-for-day-of-the-girl-1.2819602?utm_medium=email&utm_source=morning_digest&utm_campaign=news_digest A quick search suggests there is no International Day of the Boy Child.
daithi7 wrote: » Sure, but imho this isn't massively sexist. Why? Just cos I don't like sexism, doesn't mean you don't treat different genders differently in particular situations. So in this case, girls worldwide but particularly in the developing world face distinct individual issues of mutilation and rape, etc. Yes, if it were up to me, I would prefer to see this being encapsulated in a more general child protection day, or adolescent flourishing day, or whatever, but I don't find an international girl child day overly sexist really, as there are real issues pertaining to gender and misstreatment as a result of gender there, so it may well make sense in this particular case to highlight these issues specifically.
In Ireland, Étáin Sweeney Keogh, an 18-year-old from Fivemilebourne, Leitrim, will be “taking over” the lord mayor of Dublin’s office for Plan International Ireland. She will also be shadowing Senator Lorraine Clifford Lee in the Seanad, opening Pat Kenny’s radio show on Newstalk and if she isn’t busy enough, may even make it into the Taoiseach’s office.
As I write this, my children are asleep in their room, Loretta Lynn is on the stereo, and my wife is out on a date with a man named Paulo. It’s her second date this week; her fourth this month so far. If it goes like the others, she’ll come home in the middle of the night, crawl into bed beside me, and tell me all about how she and Paulo had sex. I won’t explode with anger or seethe with resentment. I’ll tell her it’s a hot story and I’m glad she had fun. It’s hot because she’s excited, and I’m glad because I’m a feminist.
When my wife told me she wanted to open our marriage and take other lovers, she wasn’t rejecting me, she was embracing herself. When I understood that, I finally became a feminist.
py2006 wrote: » Lost for words, check it out Poor pandering guy is being taken for a fool
Eric Cartman wrote: » what a sad story, I feel sorry for the lad and how he clearly despises himself too much to stand up to this.
Calhoun wrote: » On one level i agree with you but on another i think he deserves it and the enevitble other bad crap that comes his way. Seems to be the arch-type SJW, so convinced of the mantra hes effectively cutting his own nuts off.