U.N. says ‘racial terrorism’ against Black people in the U.S. endures

• 28-09-2016 03:10PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30

United Nations working group of experts has said recent killings of Black people by police officers are reminiscent of 19th and 20th century lynchings, months after a visit to the United States, in which they called for the distribution of reparations.
    “Contemporary police killings and the trauma that they create are reminiscent of the past racial terror of lynching,” said the report by the U.N. Working Group of Experts on People of African Descent.

Police killings of Black people has become a major talking point in American society over the last couple years, after coverage of multiple high profile cases. This year alone, 195 Black people were killed by police at a rate of 4.88 kills per million people. That makes a Black person more than twice as likely to be killed by police than a white or Hispanic/Latino person and only just behind a Native American.
    But with a history so steeped in racial violence, the group said it would take much more than recognizing the effect of state violence. The group railed against the country’s treatment of people of African descent, said that white supremacy is still present in the American population, and called for reparations to be issued to members of the Black community.

“Despite substantial changes since the end of the enforcement of Jim Crow and the fight for civil rights, ideology ensuring the domination of one group over another, continues to negatively impact the civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights of African Americans today.”

This is a very welcome development in righting the wrongs of the past in the US.

Repatriations can be:

- land
    - no taxes
    - free college tuition
    - business loans specifically available for Black people

All of these things contribute to Black people being able to economically empower themselves, and not rely on system that is traditionally hostile towards non- whites. Hopefully it will be introduced throughout the old colonial European powers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

JL2106 wrote: »
    This is a very welcome development in righting the wrongs of the past in the US.

Repatriations can be:

- land
    - no taxes
    - free college tuition

All of these things contribute to Black people being able to economically empower themselves, and not rely on system that is traditionally hostile towards non- whites. Hopefully it will be introduced throughout the old colonial European powers too.
    I don't know, we're kind of doing something similar to women with equality laws and many seem to think it gives women an unfair advantage and that people better suited to jobs are getting overlooked to fill a quota.

I'm not saying it shouldn't be done, just that I'm sure there will be plenty of people tha will find fault with it.

It's not equality either, at what point do you take away these benefits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Repatriations can be:

- land
    - no taxes
    - free college tuition

reparations lol! sure I just wrote to the Queen there last week wanting payment for the 800 years of misery against my father's father and his father's father Und so wieter...

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

silverharp wrote: »
    reparations lol!

I reckon they should start with not shooting unarmed black men and boys again and again.

Here is how they treated a white supremacist terrorist:

Cops bought Dylann Roof Burger King after his calm arrest: report

wes wrote: »
    I reckon they should start with not shooting unarmed black men and boys again and again.
    That's easy to say from here. But if you're a cop and you know many of these lads are armed, it's going to put the fear of god into most people. As much as I don't like seeing innocent people being shot I wouldn't want to be an American police officer, you just don't know who's carrying. We don't get to hear reports of how many black men are shot and are carrying firearms, or how many police officers get shot on duty while stopping black men.

Point being police officers aren't shooting these lads for fun, their scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

Might have had more to do with his arrest involving him calmly pulling the car over to the side of the road, handing over his ID and admitting who he was rather than a systemic attempt by police to treat white supremacists nicely.

exactly , he put his hands up and obeyed instructions, Chris Rock had this sussed years ago.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's easy to say from here. But if you're a cop and you know many of these lads are armed, it's going to put the fear of god into most people. As much as I don't like seeing innocent people being shot I wouldn't want to be an American police officer, you just don't know who's carrying. We don't get to hear reports of how many black men are shot and are carrying firearms, or how many police officers get shot on duty while stopping black men.

Considering the that people of all races own guns in the US, it seem rather strange that unarmed black men and boys are the ones being gunned down, and mean while a white supremacist terrorists gets brought to Burger King.

exactly , he put his hands up and obeyed instructions, Chris Rock had this sussed years ago.

Except for guys like Philando Castile, who got shot in anyways. He should have been a white supremacist terrorist and murdered a bunch of people, and got a trip to Burger King.

Might have had more to do with his arrest involving him calmly pulling the car over to the side of the road, handing over his ID and admitting who he was rather than a systemic attempt by police to treat white supremacists nicely.

Really? He just massacred a bunch of people in cold blood, and they take him to Burger King, as opposed to a cell. Something very wrong when a white supremacist terrorist who just murdered a bunch of people, gets better treatment than an unarmed black man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭GeneralVanilla

I agree with this reparations idea. Everyone should be paid according to the race of their great grandfather.

Thus white people will not only pay the credit due to black people - they'll also inherit all of their forebearers inventions.

Non whites will thereafter either be banned from using whiteys inventions, or will pay a tax to the white man when using technologies made by grand pappie Tiberius in the year 18-diggity and five, since those technologies were caused by white people.

Suffering accounted for, luxury accounted for. Everyone's happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

American Police Forces kill more whites per year than any other race. The vast majority of these shootings are deemed justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

Really? He just massacred a bunch of people in cold blood, and they take him to Burger King, as opposed to a cell. Something very wrong when a white supremacist terrorist who just murdered a bunch of people, gets better treatment than an unarmed black man.

Except he wasn't taken to a Burger King, its an entirely false fact. What happened was over the course of his 9 hour interrogation he was given some takeaway from Burger King, which is not exactly uncommon in long interrogations.

Except for guys like Philando Castile, who got shot in anyways. He should have been a white supremacist terrorist and murdered a bunch of people, and got a trip to Burger King.

its a big country lots of sh1t happens there every year, this debate only make sense with robust statistics. At the end of the day most black people are killed by black people who arent cops. there are certainly justice reforms I could think of but as far as I can see BLM and their fellow travellers arent interested in an honest discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

White guilt

Considering the that people of all races own guns in the US, it seem rather strange that unarmed black men and boys are the ones being gunned down,
    Is that the case though? I haven't seen statistics, all I hear about is when an unarmed black man is shot. I don't hear how many unarmed white, mexican, chinese people get shot, or how many armed black, white, mexican, etc. get shot.

Maybe the neighbourhoods where these unprovoked shootings are happening are preceded by a lot of verbal provocation? Maybe the crimes rates are really high and the police know their entering a neighbourhood where a lot of people are armed and they're just scared.

I'll say it again, not for love nor money would I be an American police officer. It's a dangerous country to be a law enforcement officer. If I was dumped into the role right now I'd probably have shot someone by bedtime out of fear.

It's not right that ordinary black men instil that much fear in white people. I honestly don't know how America is going to fix it's race issues, it should be long past these kinds of problems, before these shootings I thought America was fairly integrated. Part of me wonders if this is mostly a media storm, with vested interest groups whipping the crowd into a frenzy rather than settling things down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

When you take a country with massive inequality and ghettoisation and add in mass gun ownership and a slightly paranoid frontiersman mentality, this is what you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

reparations lol! sure I just wrote to the Queen there last week wanting payment for the 800 years of misery against my father's father and his father's father Und so wieter...

Reparations don't apply to whites. Your starving dispossessed ancestors had immense white privilege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

its a big country lots of sh1t happens there every year, this debate only make sense with robust statistics. At the end of the day most black people are killed by black people who arent cops. there are certainly justice reforms I could think of but as far as I can see BLM and their fellow travellers arent interested in an honest discussion

A recent study showed that whites are killed by cops in the same proportions as blacks. However it won't be covered of course. White cop kills white perp isn't even local news. White cop kills black man is international news.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 276 ✭✭Ilovemybricks

Hopefully it will be introduced throughout the old colonial European powers too.

Be careful what you wish for. If they pay away their misplaced guilt then they may well enforce stringent border control and stop sending tens of billions to the developing world each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I disagree with anyone paying for the misdeeds of their ancestors, or should that be, the misdeeds of their ancestors' contemporaries, because plenty of white people had no hand nor part in subjugating anybody of any race at the time of active slavery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Dr Jakub

Why are whites the only race that is supposed to accept collective guilt for the deeds of a tiny fraction of their ancestors? How many white Europeans and Americans owned slaves? 1%?

Why aren't we demanding reparations from the Turks for the millions of whites enslaved by the Ottomans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Dr Jakub wrote: »
    Why are whites the only race that is supposed to accept collective guilt for the deeds of a tiny fraction of their ancestors? How many white Europeans and Americans owned slaves? 1%?

Why aren't we demanding reparations from the Turks for the millions of whites enslaved by the Ottomans?

Somehow I don't think Baltimore in Cork will be getting a big check....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

From a previous post I mate in the café

White guilt has to be the biggest load of bull**** propaganda ever come out with.

No white person should "feel guilt" from modern English citizens due to the empire or modern Americans due to the Indians being almost wiped out.

You could apply feckin guilt to every nation if the criteria is ancestors actions.

Should every African feel shame as their people once attacked and enslaved opposing tribes, in some cases selling them into the US slave trade?

Should Iraqi, Iranian or Syrians feel guilty as the Persian empire enslaved countless peoples?

The Japanese or Chinese, Italians or South Americans (Aztec & Incas)

If Germans weren't so bloody thick they woukd also say it was awful the holocaust but we weren't born then, well most these days had nothing to do with it anyway. They shouldn't feel guilt, I'd acknowledge it being sad as much as I'd acknowledge it as a Irish citizen but otherwise a German shouldn't be dwelling on it more it's pure beating a down dog like propaganda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

From a previous post I mate in the café

White guilt has to be the biggest load of bull**** propaganda ever come out with.

No white person should "feel guilt" from modern English citizens due to the empire or modern Americans due to the Indians being almost wiped out.

You could apply feckin guilt to every nation if the criteria is ancestors actions.

Should every African feel shame as their people once attacked and enslaved opposing tribes, in some cases selling them into the US slave trade?

Should Iraqi, Iranian or Syrians feel guilty as the Persian empire enslaved countless peoples?

The Japanese or Chinese, Italians or South Americans (Aztec & Incas)

If Germans weren't so bloody thick they woukd also say it was awful the holocaust but we weren't born then, well most these days had nothing to do with it anyway. They shouldn't feel guilt, I'd acknowledge it being sad as much as I'd acknowledge it as a Irish citizen but otherwise a German shouldn't be dwelling on it more it's pure beating a down dog like propaganda

The German mental self flagellation is incredible. Would they want their children punished for something their grandparents did in their lifetime? Imagine that. It would rightly be classed as mental abuse.
    And yes, by the same token, all ethnic groups and nationalities must pay compensation for the evils perpetrated by their own people. It would be crazy and have a very detrimental effect on almost everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ScumLord wrote: »

Except a lot of cops are ardent supporters of the 2nd amendment and hate the notion of gun free zones. It's bemusing to think that they support making their life more difficult.

Also have seen too many investigations where the cop can be heard telegraphing intent to kill. "I'm going to kill this mother****er" etc etc. Including against people who "audit" police, the kind with hidden cameras and things. Seen some where they won't find one of the cameras and you'll overhear them taxing their brains to drum up sometimes the dumbest charges to pin on people just for talking to them.

Depending on the jurisdiction, you will run into either some fantastic cops, or some awful ones. Cities are usually generally bad, you'll hear all sorts of horror stories about police brutalities. Some townships are almost as bad, where cops have been caught shaking down drivers for drugs (for their personal use) or setting up speed traps solely for the purposes of revenue generation (look up Cottageville SC, some great stories there, FBI pending investigations and all). Border patrol agents are especially bad, and I am very thankful I don't live within their operating parameters. Even at the University here, the CUPD are a great bunch of lads, but their counterparts in the county sherrifs office are a massive shower of c*nts.

Thing is even the ex-mil cops should know better. Military units are trained to adhere to so many levels of engagement before live fire. Some cops, however, really do appear to just be looking for trouble

And from a debate standpoint unfortunately, it's all anecdotal, and this thread will go in circles like so many other conversations online. People were argue about crime rates, murders per capita, etc. but one thing to note is there aren't any national stats on police brutality - they aren't adequately kept. The CDC has recently called for it to be investigated as a national epidemic, which is as crazy as it is sad.

Even when you do happen upon these high profile cases, you won't be surprised at the number of times the body cams were "defective" or "not operating" at the time of the incident.

A lot of these shootings, too, were completely avoidable. A lot of them regularly deal with mental health issues, whether the victim was a mental health patient, suicidal, homocidal, or whatever. Back in JFKs time, he passed the Community Mental Health Act, which would have funded mental health facilities all across the country to cover many of these purposes. however, the bill never got properly funded and over time basically meant that patients have entered the general populace uncared for, sometimes homeless, or worse. And those problems still persist today, given that people can not access adequate mental health services.

It's been said for years and its essentially the truth of the matter: guns in themselves aren't the issue, it's the crazy mother****ers that use them. But the two go hand in hand, and for whatever possessed reason there hasn't been much of an effort either to expand national mental health care or to control access to firearms to the competent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

How can the Us government be accused of this honestly. Like its not perfect compared to parts of Europe. But when you consider how awful governments like in India and Saudi arabia treat minorities in their own countries then it just really highlights how small of an issue black 'oppression' in the US relatively

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

wakka12 wrote: »
    How can the Us government be accused of this honestly. Like its not perfect compared to parts of Europe. But when you consider how awful governments like in India and Saudi arabia treat minorities in their own countries then it just really highlights how small of an issue black 'oppression' in the US relatively

It'd easy come up with rubbish when you won't bother your hole acting on serious issues.

Plus if they tried to tell India or China what to do they'd tell them to shove there opinions up their holes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

lot of shinny new profiles on this thread

lol can we move it to under the bridge i wonder ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Whenever I hear about the latest black 'victim of police brutality' it's always some drug dealer or crook. I don't get this sudden craze the world has for feeling sorry for scumbags just because they're black.

I have a Facebook friend who is always posting about the American police gunning down poor black men. This is the same person who complains about criminals around here getting away with murder.