Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fergal D'Arcy -afternoons on Today FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

gimmick wrote: »
    Scraping the bottom of the barrel today by trodding the oft trodden path of old radio/tv ads.

He is getting worse as the weeks pass.

Why are you torturing yourself?
    I was gone from week 1..

Must say I'm enjoying Moncrieff, but need to get a bluetooth speaker ordered for my workplace so I can switch to tunes / podcasts as the mood takes me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Scraping the bottom of the barrel today by trodding the oft trodden path of old radio/tv ads.

He is getting worse as the weeks pass.
    That over the top Darcy intro is woeful. Also he needs to take EVERYTHING down a gear he's not Foley or Dermot and Dave. Just try to be himself and lose the stupid voices! That story about not having the national anthem at a Dj gig then pulling it from YouTube was cringe worthy. He thought it 'twas great Craic when in reality he just sounded like an amateur! Even his Grand national promos they run during other shows are ****e. His accent changes around three or four times as he's talking

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,023 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

As an aside does anyone know why D'Arcy says he's from Roscommon? Isn't he from Ballinasloe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Why does he have to talk over the intro of every song? We want to hear the song not his annoying voice. Some songs have great intros and he just ruins them, like with Stevie Wonder's Superstition the other day, amazing intro but he kept talking over it thinking it's him we want to be listening to. Before people ask why I'm listening if I don't like him, I work in an office where Today fm is on all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Barack Obama

Accidently left the radio on and on comes the most annoying voice on Irish radio waffling away. Couldn't change the channel quick enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭flazio

As an aside does anyone know why D'Arcy says he's from Roscommon? Isn't he from Ballinasloe?
    Ballinasloe is right on the Galway Roscommon border, so some of the surrounding townlands of Ballinasloe (Taughmaconnell for example) would count themselves as part of Ballinasloe.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭smallorfaraway

Hurdley gurdley, I'm a potaaayto, hang sangwidges, back in the day, hurdley gurdley durdley.

Nope.

He irritates the life outta me at this stage!! Everything bugs me. I've started to flick around but haven't found any decent alternative and I listen to Today fm religiously all day for years... even the forced banter with Ed Smith isn't any where near funny and comes across very rehearsed. Think he was promoted to fast. It's just not clicking for him and he's at it now 3 months. Does anyone here like him? I'm not asking do you prefer him to Duffy or KC or Fenton etc I'm asking, Do you listen from start to finish and enjoy the show?

MrMac84 wrote: »
    He irritates the life outta me at this stage!! Everything bugs me. I've started to flick around but haven't found any decent alternative and I listen to Today fm religiously all day for years... even the forced banter with Ed Smith isn't any where near funny and comes across very rehearsed. Think he was promoted to fast. It's just not clicking for him and he's at it now 3 months. Does anyone here like him? I'm not asking do you prefer him to Duffy or KC or Fenton etc I'm asking, Do you listen from start to finish and enjoy the show?

I generally just leave the radio on Today FM all day in the office. There's the odd moment of the show that is okay, and he seems nice and like he's trying, but jeez, sometimes I get an uncontrollable urge to feck my coffee over the radio. Today went a step too far down fake culchie road and I just flipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Elianna Gray Undergarment

I generally just leave the radio on Today FM all day in the office. There's the odd moment of the show that is okay, and he seems nice and like he's trying, but jeez, sometimes I get an uncontrollable urge to feck my coffee over the radio. Today went a step too far down fake culchie road and I just flipped.

I despise the Cultchie gimmick by anyone, ....Im now changing today fm like when Duffy was on that slot too. its now the podcast of the Paul McCloone show the night before or my ipod that's coming on at work.....The dare to care for everyone it seems to be is to listen to his show uninterrupted :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

He is culchying it up again today telling lies about being a junior b gaa player.

Awful terrible stuff. Everything is just so forced. And it just is not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

There aren't sufficient words to clearly and adequately describe the abomination that is this moronic cretin. It's the very pits of the world and an outrage to the hundreds of more capable presenters who are left kicking up there heels because this balloon is a cheaper enthusiastic alternative to the actually talented.

Please tell me someone else noticed the "on the rise" gaff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I switch to Spotify now. Couldn't take it anymore

Ya me too. Very awkward silence followed.

In fact there was no chemistry at all between Darcy and Cooper. Just seemed like a very stunted handover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

What was that?

Himself and Cooper were talking about what would be in in the show. Cooper said they would be discussing penis cancer (which is a thing apparently) and our Ferg said "ya it hear it's on the rise".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Elianna Gray Undergarment

Ya me too. Very awkward silence followed.

In fact there was no chemistry at all between Darcy and Cooper. Just seemed like a very stunted handover.

I notice he never appears at the end at all like he did with Duffy for a quick chit chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Euphoria Intensifies

Ironically, I think he's actually turned the volume/culchie shyte down a notch since moving to Today FM. God only knows what yous would have thought of him on iRadio.

I pity anyone forced to listen to him at work etc. I would go mad altogether.

Ironically, I think he's actually turned the volume/culchie shyte down a notch since moving to Today FM. God only knows what yous would have thought of him on iRadio.

I pity anyone forced to listen to him at work etc. I would go mad altogether.

I flick over to iRadio sometimes in the car searching for music. It seems to be a "shtyle". There isn't an S that doesn't have an H rammed in after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Just had a listen, that was painful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

At least once per show he plays Selena Gomez. Do you think he likes her.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,793 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator:

Just a reminder that while robust criticism of presenters is allowed, the charter prohibits personal abuse of presenters and guests on radio. Personal abuse includes name-calling. You can quite capably in most cases describe your issues with presenters etc. without resorting to calling them names.

I'm big critic of him but in fairness it's only the 1 Selena Gomez track, that's in the charts, and is quite catchy aswell so how that's a critic of him I'm not sure?

Today's show was about things you say instead of cussing in front of kids. It's very possible I'm losing my marbles, but I'd swear they've covered that topic before. And quite in depth. Fluff me but they haven't been on long enough to warrant repeating topics yet.

I need to download some audio books as there isn't much in the line of credible alternatives. I'm up in Donegal so don't have any of those swanky Dublin stations.

I believe he fancies Anna Geary judging by one of his shows a couple of days ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Today's show was about things you say instead of cussing in front of kids. It's very possible I'm losing my marbles, but I'd swear they've covered that topic before. And quite in depth. Fluff me but they haven't been on long enough to warrant repeating topics yet.

I need to download some audio books as there isn't much in the line of credible alternatives. I'm up in Donegal so don't have any of those swanky Dublin stations.

Use Tunein radio app and you can listen to any station in the world, even from Dublin

Stayed tuned in today for the Dare to Care. Credit where it's due, he brought in the dough.

Did he ask yer one out?