Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fergal D'Arcy -afternoons on Today FM

• 06-07-2016 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Off The Charts is the name of the show! His own brand of imagining that's different to a lot of the other Today FM stuff. Ed Smith producing. One of the producers from Louise's old show is still there to, her name escapes me at the minute (Leah maybe?) Lotta new features. What are people's opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Off The Charts is the name of the show! His own brand of imagining that's different to a lot of the other Today FM stuff. Ed Smith producing. One of the producers from Louise's old show is still there to, her name escapes me at the minute. Lotta new features. What are people's opinions?

It's like I expected, only worse.
    Even the jingles grate on me.
    I switched to Moncrieff, but had to go back for a while when the Newstalk signal dropped.
    I actually ended up turning the radio off altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

May as well air my grievance in the official thread.

This guy is the blandest most generic radio dj imaginable. He us not unique in any way down to his contrived radio voice which makes him sound like every local dj on every local station in Ireland. He is not funny and his track choice is so excruciatingly boring it may as well be a chart show on shuffle show. But then the show is called "off the charts" I guess.

Fair play to him on the promotion to a prime slot like this but my god he is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Kaiser84

Pisser wrote: »
    t
    Shut the f**k up you C*NT... Fergy Darcy is one of the best presenters in the country, he had more listeners on his I-radio drive show for 7 years then Will Leahy had on an national station.

You don't agree, Fergal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Mod:
    Pisser wrote: »
    t
    Shut the f**k up you C*NT... Fergy Darcy is one of the best presenters in the country, he had more listeners on his I-radio drive show for 7 years then Will Leahy had on an national station.

If you can't discuss the show in a civil manner, please refrain from posting.
    Kaiser84 wrote: »
    You don't agree, Fergal?

Similarly, accusing posters of having connections to shows is also not allowed. Consider this a final warning.

Please continue discussing the actual show please. /Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Yesterday's show was a lot like his old 7pm show - uninteresting. I'll give him a couple of weeks but I'm not expecting much to change

As a measure of Ferg, it has been agreed that Today FM gets changed at 12 noon.

Hate that, you're missing out on Dermot and Dave :)

Synode wrote: »
    Hate that, you're missing out on Dermot and Dave :)

Thats an added bonus. Do not like them either, but have learned to tolerate them somewhat in that I can block them out.

With Fergal I mentioned that his voice may justy send me over the edge and a few others chimed in to agree. That was that.

Went over to 2FM and "dont stop believing" is the first song thats come one. Good times :)

What do you like :p

You just know that Fergal will have the highest figures on lunchtime ever now that everyone is slating him. :pac:

Synode wrote: »
    What do you like :p

I liked Louise :(

The music is fairly crap too. At least Duffy played some good tunes (well, the good mixed with the bad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,690 ✭✭✭✭siblers

gimmick wrote: »
    Thats an added bonus. Do not like them either, but have learned to tolerate them somewhat in that I can block them out.

With Fergal I mentioned that his voice may justy send me over the edge and a few others chimed in to agree. That was that.

Went over to 2FM and "dont stop believing" is the first song thats come one. Good times :)

Tracy Clifford for 2 hours? I'd sooner turn the radio off

Amusingly, I hadnt actually switched to 2fm, but Spirit FM. Only noticed when the presenter started talking about letting jesus into your life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

He's been reading the thread lads, he almost repeated one of the posts here verbatim.

He ain't happy.

Sorry Ferg. Love you buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

He's been reading the thread lads, he almost repeated one of the posts here verbatim.

He ain't happy.

Sorry Ferg. Love you buddy!

What did he say?

Something along the lines of "oh I just play chart hits over and over again because I sound like a generic local radio jock" followed by an impression of what kinda sounded like a Tony Fenton voice.
    It was all while he was doing a bit with another guy about old life new life.
    I tweeted him about it and he sent a kissy emoji back.

Silly of him really to be reading what boardsies think of him, he must have been banking on a good reception and what he read upset him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Howard100

<mod snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Howard100 wrote: »
    <mod snip>

Is that you Fergal?

Did you ever think that maybe people think he is a great presenter and their criticism is solely based on that.

I would say that radio as a medium in general is quiet annoying and therefore if you don't have a really top class presenter on any show it can become unbearable.

I'd say on music shows that 99% of the listenership actually just want the presenter to say and here's a song from such and such from there latest album, No more than that and then just play the song.Unfortunately the people who run radio stations don't seem to want their presenter to do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I'd say on music shows that 99% of the listenership actually just want the presenter to say and here's a song from such and such from there latest album, No more than that and then just play the song.Unfortunately the people who run radio stations don't seem to want their presenter to do just that.

You have hit the nail on the head.

Mod:

Folks, a reminder. If you can't post civilly, please just don't post. If you like the show, say why you like it, if you hate it, say why you hate it, and discuss the points that come up through this discussion. Abusing people who hold the opposite opinion to you will not be tolerated on this forum.

Also, accusing people of having connections to shows is not allowed. It does not contribute to the discussion, and serves only to rile people up. We've warned about this numerous times, and from here on out cards will be given.

Cheers.
    /Mod

So, any more feedback from those who haven't turned the dial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Meemzie

Delighted Ferg got this slot he's doing a decent job. Good personality, has a good connection with the listeners, sound guy off air as well.

Just like anyone with a new show, give him time to settle.

Meemzie wrote: »
    Delighted Ferg got this slot he's doing a decent job. Good personality, has a good connection with the listeners, sound guy off air as well.

Ha ha ha, just joined boards today and this is your first post.
    There's not a smell of Mayo off that at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Meemzie wrote: »

Welcome to boards.ie. Nice of you to join to tell us you know Ferg :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Meemzie

Long time reader so thought it'd be nice to contribute. I don't know him as such but do work in the industry so have met him a couple of times. I just think he's doing a better job than people are making out.

UsedToWait wrote: »
    So, any more feedback from those who haven't turned the dial?

I haven't turned yet (the alternatives aren't very appealing). The music has improved a little but there's still some awful sh1te played. Ferg is also still a bit manic and needs to calm down. At least he doesn't have the sidekick on from his 7 o'clock show (and hopefully he doesn't ever come to the fore). The two of them together again might just be enough for me to turn over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I think he's ok. And I neither know him nor am I him nor did I just register today :pac:

I only heard him sporadically in his iRadio days and tbh I thought he was intolerable on there, but that's just the vibe I get off that station in general. It's a really terrible station. However since I've heard him on Today FM he's definitely calmer / less shouty. I don't think his voice / accent has changed though, I don't know where people are getting that from :confused: He sounds as "country" now as he did on iRadio - which is no bad thing imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Elianna Gray Undergarment

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I think he's ok. And I neither know him nor am I him nor did I just register today :pac:

I only heard him sporadically in his iRadio days and tbh I thought he was intolerable on there, but that's just the vibe I get off that station in general. It's a really terrible station. However since I've heard him on Today FM he's definitely calmer / less shouty. I don't think his voice / accent has changed though, I don't know where people are getting that from :confused: He sounds as "country" now as he did on iRadio - which is no bad thing imo.

He's an improvement on the Duffy show, but he needs to dial it back about 30percent...music selection is ok, needs a bit more of a range...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Generic boring dj voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

I used to like Louise....not so much Ann G...but would put up with her.

Cant stand Darcy in this slot...not too bad at 7, but doesnt fit well for my liking at this slot. Ended up turning off and listening to youtube /anntenne bayern(good music...no idea what they are saying as its in German!)

Bring back Louise...or even Paula Mcsweeney!!

Anyone catch the story about the lad breaking the vases? All that build up and he didn't even know how much they cost! Seriously! That was the entire point of that segment and when it came to the costs he just says "a lot".... Seriously??? I've been an all day Monday - Friday Today fm listener since Darcey used be on at 10 and Phil Cawley at lunch time but this show is seriously making me consider turning the dial, What's with all the stupid accents? One minutes he has his "professional radio Dj" voice and the next it's his "culchie from the country" voice. Then his constant jumping from whispering to shouting! Coupled with him taking over the Today FM snapchat feed and it's all about......you guessed it HIMSELF! Constantly taking videos of him self from the side on (must be what he considers his good side) and pulling all these weird faces into the camera as well! I'm struggling to find a positive really, if I was pushed, I'd say I like the 3 in 1 feature it's tough at times but no need to constantly reference food, people aren't stupid we know it's a play on words!

I've only caught snippets of the show, but the overriding impression I get from it is that it's very... how should I say... "Spin-ish". It sounds to me like he's trying to do an iRadio/Spin style show (i.e. aimed at the teens and early 20's) in a slot whose audience skews a bit older. Not really my cup of tea, I think his style would be more suited to a show similar to The Blast! for a while while he matures in style a bit.

I dunno, that's just the impression I get from it.

Wish him the best though, seems like a decent chap, maybe I'll warm to him if I get to listening a bit more regularly.

daheff wrote: »

Cant stand Darcy in this slot...not too bad at 7, but doesnt fit well for my liking at this slot. Ended up turning off and listening to youtube /anntenne bayern(good music...no idea what they are saying as its in German!)

No no just no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Elianna Gray Undergarment

threein99 wrote: »
    No no just no

Her snapchat is the most irritating thing ever, had to get rid of it, the poor fella on it gets a rough shake of it dealing with her

daheff wrote: »

Could we get the one who'se covering Louise at the moment in that role full time, she seems energetic , fun and a better range of music than Louise's show

Her snapchat is the most irritating thing ever, had to get rid of it, the poor fella on it gets a rough shake of it dealing with her

I noticed shes not snapping him as much as lately I wonder did he tell her to knock it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Cliff Walker

Could you give an example of what other radio presenter sounds just like fergal darcy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭gotapaininmy

Lost all respect for this guy when I happened to be listening one evening a while back and he had Joseph McCaul on and continued to kiss his bum and say how great he is....to Joseph McCaul!?

I switched over yesterday when the first item he had on the show was him tickling his niece. Cringey stuff. I've also switched off all of today because Delamere is doing the breakfast show instead of Savage. Though I did go back for D&D

He just played two tracks over each other for a good 10 seconds

Kungs cooking on 3 burners - this girl and the intro of an 80s song that name escapes me at the minute

School boy error

Could you give an example of what other radio presenter sounds just like fergal darcy ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mcKzDwm8_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭smallorfaraway

I've always listened to TodayFM right through the work day, and besides a short period when there was an insufferable idiot doing the advice slot for RD in the mornings, I've never felt the need to turn it over. Until now.
    I can't abide this iRadio style of "tell me about your Irish mammy's favourite hang sangwidge".

Changing the dial to Lyric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

As was said before, bland, kinda reminds me of the colour brown.

I cant see him keeping or gaining any viewers at that time slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Don't think he could be more cringe tbh, Louise for all her short comings at least had a personality, this guy blatantly has no personality and the fake one he put on is just so generic and unfunny it's nauseating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

In fairness to Fergal, he seems to have settled down a bit.

I don't think he is my cup of tea, however, as I seem to be well out of his target audience age profile but I will wait a few weeks yet before I make up my mind.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Right, I've tried my best to keep giving the benefit of the doubt but I'm out. Off to spotify for the afternoon.

I've counted myself lucky in not being that bothered about the line-up on TodayFM since the other D'Arcy left and was able to listen from early morning to late night without many issues bar the usual overplaying of some songs but I'll have to find something else to listen to from 2-4.30 from now on.

^ I admire your patience - I was off from day 1

UsedToWait wrote: »
    ^ I admire your patience - I was off from day 1

Same

Think he's an improvement on Duffy , different strokes I guess