Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

SSE Race Series 1/2 Marathon
    Time 1:40:09
    Average: 7:38 per mile.

The joys of being an early riser had me up at 0645; had my porridge banana 1/2 a cup of coffee and some water.

Headed over to Castleknock for 0900 and made my way down to the start area.....met up with some lads I hadn't seen in a while and had a natter about how training etc was going.

Dumped the gear and got onto Chesterfield Avenue for a bit of a jog....started off in wave 2 about 5 rows back from the 1:40 pacer. Starting at the front of wave 2 meant we had a clear run up the avenue and most of the 1st mile was grand....this is where the fun started....Mile 1-3 was really congested with folk who had gone off in wave 1 but shouldnt have been there.....best 2 quotes from this part that I heard were..."what the f*ck is the 1:40 pacer doing he must have started too far back and "I can't believe the 1:40 pacer has gone past I thought I would be under that" this was less than 2 miles in!

Miles 3-6 is in a part of the park I always struggle on and lost a little bit of time on the pacer here.....took on some water at the water station....found the little path up to the Castleknock gates a bit frustrating.....was probably about 30 seconds behind the pacer as we made our way down Chesterfield Ave.

Made the decision at this point to just keep the distance between me and the pacer as I didn't want to blow myself out catching up.

It got pretty windy through Farmleigh and was a bit isolated at this point but got through it
    ......Glad to hear that the lad who was in trouble at Tower Road is ok kudos to those who were able to help out.

Back into the park and just kept trucking along....managed to up the pace a bit towards the end on Furze Road......all in all happy with how things went.

Lesson learned though make sure the toenails are cut....nice bloody sock at the end! And surgical tape works a treat for chaffing where you don't want chaffing!

Sorry I couldn't get to taste the flapjacks C but happy that you spotted me waving at the 6.5 mile mark.Didn't manage to spot Nop at the Castleknock roundabout.

A nice shiny 1/2 marathon PB so delighted.....well done to all who ran today....not long now until "M" Day.

Looking forward to all the reports!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

SSE Race Series 1/2 Marathon
    Time 1:40:09
    Average: 7:38 per mile.

Small world, seen your group photo on strava, that was my mate who took it, I was standing beside him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Well done to all of you running DCHM today - and of course all LSRs as well. The weather didn't seem to bad, albeit a bit windy. I was at the Castleknock roundabout for a good stretch, but nearly tripped up a female runner as we crossed the road - on the very odd chance your're reading this, apologies. :o

I'll respond to all reports later - keep them coming!

Thank you to TFGR for organize the meet-up, it was nice meeting A Neurotic, Pomplamousse, Extrasupervery, Mrs Singer, and a gentleman whose name I now can't recall :o! Also good to catch up with Singer, TFGR and Bungy Girl.

Again, well done all. I hope the legs are up and the Epson salts at the ready. But, as is mentioned already, the real hero of the day is benwed and his co-worker(s), for managing to avoid another tragedy at this event. Words can't adequately express the required admiration and thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Well done to everyone who raced today, enjoyed the reports so far.

This is my final weekly review!

19th September - 24th September
    Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

The plan for Monday had a session - 400 reps at 10k pace, but I just did some easy miles instead as I felt I had nothing to gain from the session at this stage. Did some strides instead.

Tuesday's run was short and easy. Legs felt great.

Thursday was more of the same, with maybe half a mile at MP near the end to see how it felt. All good.

Arrived in Berlin on Friday, and did a bit more walking around than I had planned - all very relaxed, mind - so I skipped the planned easy run.

Gave some thought to doing a very easy jog this afternoon, but again, some more walking around made me feel like I'd spent enough time on my feet.

I'm feeling great, mentally and physically, so eh, that's it really. All that's left now is 26.2 miles at MP in the morning. Sounds like a tough old session, but I'll give it a good go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

tailgunner wrote: »

Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

The plan for Monday had a session - 400 reps at 10k pace, but I just did some easy miles instead as I felt I had nothing to gain from the session at this stage. Did some strides instead.

Thursday was more of the same, with maybe half a mile at MP near the end to see how it felt. All good.

Arrived in Berlin on Friday, and did a bit more walking around than I had planned - all very relaxed, mind - so I skipped the planned easy run.

Gave some thought to doing a very easy jog this afternoon, but again, some more walking around made me feel like I'd spent enough time on my feet.

I'm feeling great, mentally and physically, so eh, that's it really. All that's left now is 26.2 miles at MP in the morning. Sounds like a tough old session, but I'll give it a good go.

All the very best tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

benwed wrote: »
    Yes rasta.that runner shud make a full recovery.i am a firefighter/paramedic and myself and a ban garda done cpr on that guy.it worked and he was responsive within 5 mins.he was tajen away concious and breathing to hosp.two lessons here folks are the importance of filling out ur details on ur race number abd cpr training shud be compulsary in school.so as u can imagine it was hard to get going after that so jogged the last 5 miles ti con home in 1 52

Amazing stuff Ben. Great time considering you SAVED SOMEBODY'S LIFE on the way!!!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/offduty-firefighter-and-garda-save-runner-who-suffered-heart-attack-during-half-marathon-35075906.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,360 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I rather enjoyed that today. I'd thought the conditions were great, a light shower to cool us off but not constant rain the whole way, temperature was cool and little wind, I'd take that on the big day.

This was my first time running in a race with high numbers and it was interesting, I wasn't using the pacers but I didn't realise they started so far back! I also don't think there was any time where I wasn't in some sort of traffic, I thought the crowd would have spread out a lot more over the course. It was never a problem or anything, I'm just used to smaller 10k's where you have a little more space.

As for the race, I had been adamant that I was just going to do a LSR and for the first 10k I stuck to that rule, I was actually quite proud of my pacing in that first stretch, that I hadn't let the occasion affect my pace. But as the race went on I was feeling really good, really strong and I found my pace naturally increasing, so I decided to just let it go and see what happened. As a result the 2nd 10k was nearly 6 minutes quicker than the first 10k, and while I was always going to get a PB, my time was about 16 minutes quicker than the LSR 1/2 marathon I had done in training. In the end I finished in 2.01.40, and while I'm delighted with that I'm of course wondering what might have been, had I picked up the pace earlier I could have had that sub 2 hour race!

Happy out though, it was all supposed to be practice for the main thing and it served that purpose, I learned a few useful little things today. I've also been eating like a horse since I got home, hope thats allowed!

Good luck looking forward to the race report!

Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

benwed wrote: »
    Yes rasta.that runner shud make a full recovery.i am a firefighter/paramedic and myself and a ban garda done cpr on that guy.it worked and he was responsive within 5 mins.he was tajen away concious and breathing to hosp.two lessons here folks are the importance of filling out ur details on ur race number abd cpr training shud be compulsary in school.so as u can imagine it was hard to get going after that so jogged the last 5 miles ti con home in 1 52

Well done. I passed the scene after the ambulance/other paramedics had arrived. Was worried when I saw the bare chest and air bag. It's amazing that you were there so quickly to work on him.

I'm sure you've seen this, but for other boardsies' benefit, here's an article outlining your good deed: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/offduty-firefighter-and-garda-save-runner-who-suffered-heart-attack-during-half-marathon-35075906.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

Best of luck tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

The very best of luck tomorrow tailgunner:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Loving the reports, well done on the half marathon today.

Seriously amazing stuff there Ben, brilliant that you and the lady were there to help him out and it appears to have worked out okay.

Best wishes to tailgunner in Berlin tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest

Best of luck tomorrow. I ran the half there in April, some amazing sights to run through. Looking forward to the report :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

nop98 wrote: »
    and a gentleman whose name I now can't recall :o!
    Hi nop, that was possibly me. It was really nice to meet you, TFGR and the others. Loved those flapjacks C. Thank you so much. Had a tough day today but lots of positives. Will write a report tomorrow when my brain starts working again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Hi nop, that was possibly me. It was really nice to meet you, TFGR and the others. Loved those flapjacks C. Thank you so much. Had a tough day today but lots of positives. Will write a report tomorrow when my brain starts working again.

Ah! Thank you, nice to meet you and well done on your race. :) Looking forward to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Best of luck Tailgunner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Good luck in Berlin, tailgunner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Really great to see you all yesterday! Said hi to so many boardsies I don't think I could name you all. So good to see some of my fellow grads from last year and very nice to chat with the novices. Glad you liked the flapjacks!

Really sorry to those who missed the meet. I was at the finish until the 1:45 group came through then went to find a spot so you were probably already gone. I should have said what time I'd be there!

Tailgunner, have a fab race today! Best of luck to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Best of luck today tailgunner

Good luck in Berlin today tailgunner. You're probably well into it at this so hopefully you are flying already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Best of luck today Tailgunner!

I'm late to check in, was late home last night after the hole in the wall :)
    Friday night I seriously doubted I'd finish yesterday. I went out and ran a very slow 5k, I was in bits with my hip. It ached all night and kept waking me. I agreed with himself yesterday morning that id pull out of the half if I was still sore.
    I got there about 9 and spent a good half hour warming up and stretching. I started with a small group and we all agreed to stay just behind the 2:30 pacers. We were chatting and drifted just ahead of them and had lost them by mile 6. I had a little bit of hip/back pain starting but it had completely cleared up by this point. I was still afraid to push too hard but had a nice pace going. Finished at 2:24 and more importantly had no pain :)
    Met TFGR after the bag drop but everyone else had left. Thank you for the amazing flapjacks, they were such a boost - I'll have to try make my own.
    Today I expected to be sore - but I have absolutely no pain.
    Should I try a recovery 3-5 miles or take the rest day and do it tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Well done kittyclaws, glad to hear you got through it without pain! I'll be doing a recovery today but it'll be more like 2 or 3 rather than 5.

My HM race report:

Up around 6.50 for a breakfast of porridge, brown bread and coffee. Had possibly over hydrated on Friday as was up so many times to pee during the night - you get used to that when head towards your 50's :) and therefore didn't sleep great. Took a deoralyte before heading out the door.

Got to the park around 8.30 and got parked easily on Chesterfield ave. Found TFGRs polka dot balloons at the start and introduced myself and said hello.

Lined up a bit behind the 2hr pacers in the 2nd wave. Decided I'd run by how I was feeling today. As we went off the 2hr balloon went away and I knew that pace wouldn't work for me today so was content with ~9.30/m pace. This was fine for the first 3 miles which were uneventful apart from a deer running straight across the pack just in front just before the 3 mile mark. How it didn't hit anyone I don't know.

I started to feel it from the hill at the bottom of the kyber road up to chesterfield. Was a bit concerned to be puffing so early. I had to adjust my pace here. Was a bit disappointed to be adjusting so early. Took a gel just after the water station around 5.5 miles in. Earlier than I planned but was not feeling it so thought I'd see if this helped. Pace at this stage was 9.50 which I remained at until 8miles just by Farmleigh.

At 8m I started to really struggle. Mentally I wanted to stop. Very early for these thoughts. Adjusted my pace again to 10min/m. The little downhill on tower road helped. I think the worst period for me was actually on chesterfield ave coming up to the 10m mark. Possibly to do with being able to see the finish. Kept going at 10min pace after plenty of mental chats. I remember feeling ok as I turned onto Acres road.

Stomach started to act up a bit on the downhill part of acres road but was manageable. I dropped my pace to 10.15. Once I stared up the Upper Glen road and hit the 12m marker I was ok as I knew I'd finish. Struggled on up the hill but was actually able to chat to people. As I turned onto Furze road I felt quite good (mentally anyway). I somehow had something in the tank to empty and was able to put a spurt on to the finish. Felt a bit sickly for a few minutes after but this passed fairly quickly

I met up with TFGR again (with her wonderful flapjacks), nop, singer and a neurotic (who was quick to mention he was NOT neurotic :) ). Really nice to meet you all.

My time was 2:08:56
    Pace:9.50/mile

A little disappointed with the time/pace. Was hoping I'd make 2.05 as was planning on aiming for 4.30 next month, (double HM time + 20 mins hence 2.05). Anyway thoughts on that for another day.
    I obviously was having a bad day for some reason, so very happy that I adjusted things as I went along. Also very happy that I stayed mentally tough and resisted the massive urge to stop. I know from experience that once I stop I give myself permission to stop again so really happy about that.
    A little concerned about the stomach but this may have been related to overhydration on Fri but will work on it.
    Happy I finished strong.
    Anyway great lessons learned for me I think.

Tailgunner update: He went through 5km a little behind schedule (29:01) but might have just been stuck in traffic as he has picked it up for his 10km split (28:28). Looks like he's now running at his PMP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

My HM race report:

Up around 6.50 for a breakfast of porridge, brown bread and coffee. Had possibly over hydrated on Friday as was up so many times to pee during the night - you get used to that when head towards your 50's :) and therefore didn't sleep great. Took a deoralyte before heading out the door.

Got to the park around 8.30 and got parked easily on Chesterfield ave. Found TFGRs polka dot balloons at the start and introduced myself and said hello.

Lined up a bit behind the 2hr pacers in the 2nd wave. Decided I'd run by how I was feeling today. As we went off the 2hr balloon went away and I knew that pace wouldn't work for me today so was content with ~9.30/m pace. This was fine for the first 3 miles which were uneventful apart from a deer running straight across the pack just in front just before the 3 mile mark. How it didn't hit anyone I don't know.

I started to feel it from the hill at the bottom of the kyber road up to chesterfield. Was a bit concerned to be puffing so early. I had to adjust my pace here. Was a bit disappointed to be adjusting so early. Took a gel just after the water station around 5.5 miles in. Earlier than I planned but was not feeling it so thought I'd see if this helped. Pace at this stage was 9.50 which I remained at until 8miles just by Farmleigh.

At 8m I started to really struggle. Mentally I wanted to stop. Very early for these thoughts. Adjusted my pace again to 10min/m. The little downhill on tower road helped. I think the worst period for me was actually on chesterfield ave coming up to the 10m mark. Possibly to do with being able to see the finish. Kept going at 10min pace after plenty of mental chats. I remember feeling ok as I turned onto Acres road.

Stomach started to act up a bit on the downhill part of acres road but was manageable. I dropped my pace to 10.15. Once I stared up the Upper Glen road and hit the 12m marker I was ok as I knew I'd finish. Struggled on up the hill but was actually able to chat to people. As I turned onto Furze road I felt quite good (mentally anyway). I somehow had something in the tank to empty and was able to put a spurt on to the finish. Felt a bit sickly for a few minutes after but this passed fairly quickly

I met up with TFGR again (with her wonderful flapjacks), nop, singer and a neurotic (who was quick to mention he was NOT neurotic :) ). Really nice to meet you all.

A little disappointed with the time/pace. Was hoping I'd make 2.05 as was planning on aiming for 4.30 next month, (double HM time + 20 mins hence 2.05). Anyway thoughts on that for another day.
    I obviously was having a bad day for some reason, so very happy that I adjusted things as I went along. Also very happy that I stayed mentally tough and resisted the massive urge to stop. I know from experience that once I stop I give myself permission to stop again so really happy about that.
    A little concerned about the stomach but this may have been related to overhydration on Fri but will work on it.
    Happy I finished strong.

Well done on adjusting your pace mid run. That's very hard to do without giving up and a great lesson in understanding your body and what it's telling you. 4.30 still within reach so don't rule it out that hm course is very tough a lot of drags on it for a lot of the course so well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Was looking forward to this all week. Love this race and the plan was to run with the 2 hour pacers.

Went to bed early enough and had a good nights sleep. Had everything prepared the night before so it was up, breakfast and foam roll for 30 minutes.

Arrived at the park at 9 and did a small half mile warm up with some stretching.

Made my way over to the 2 hour paces and waited to cross the line. Rain came down just before we started but it did not bother me, at least I would remain cool during the race. About 300 metres after the start I had to find a tree for a quick pitstop (always happens). Started off again and I said hi to TFGR just before the first corner. Met a work colleague too so we spoke briefly before I took off.

I felt really good (the best I felt running in a long time) so I remained with the 2 hour pacers up until mile 2. I decided to push on and see how the race went. The race was pretty straightforward but there was a few things that stood out.

The poor man who had a heart attack, thank god there was someone there to help him. Glad to hear he is on the mend. I saw 3 people collapse and it was quite scary.

The volunteers once again were excellent. Sun or rain you guys rock. The was a good crowd cheering us on despite the rain. The cheers helped me to push on. So thank you to all

My last 3 miles were really quick: 8:05, 8:12 & 7:50. Plan A (my only plan) was to finish in two hours but crossed the line in 1:52.

I went over to TFGR and said hi to the other novices. Apologies for not trying your flapjacks, my stomach was not feeling too good.

Well done to all who finished yesterday. Nice to meet some of you and only one event to go. I hope to see you all on the big day.

Paul

Plenty of positives to take from that yesterday....remember the mantra that we learn more from our "not so good" runs....look how for you have come already and keep those positive thoughts coming.

My HM race report:

Happy I finished strong.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    My HM race report:

Happy I finished strong.

Well done on adjusting your pace mid run. That's very hard to do without giving up and a great lesson in understanding your body and what it's telling you. 4.30 still within reach so don't rule it out that hm course is very tough a lot of drags on it for a lot of the course so well done.
    thanks for the encouragement Mrs mc. I definitely won't rule out 4.30.

Plenty of positives to take from that yesterday....remember the mantra that we learn more from our "not so good" runs....look how for you have come already and keep those positive thoughts coming.
    thanks S. Agree fully about learning more from the bad days. Sounds like you had a great day. Congrats

Tailgunner update: He went through 5km a little behind schedule (29:01) but might have just been stuck in traffic as he has picked it up for his 10km split (28:28). Looks like he's now running at his PMP.

He went through half in 2:00:02, talk about precision timing! He's holding that pace at 25km too. Hon tailgunner!