Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Hi all. I have a quick question. I am alternating two pairs of runners - an older pair that i use for my LSRs and some short ones and an new pair that I am breaking in using on short runs. I was planning on using the older ones to run the marathon as they should have plenty of miles in them yet.

I put them on yesterday and my right one felt ....weird. Like it had all gone squishy and unsupportive. They were fine the day before! I checked the laces, the undersole etc. to make sure there was no visable damage that may be causing it. Didnt risk running in them and they still feel weird today (dont know what I was expecting!)

So should i just retire them and go with my new ones until DCM. I have a 19 miler tomorrow (HHN2) so it would be a good test.

Anyone ever have this experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Murph_D wrote: »
    Do you think that's a good idea? That would have you covering the second half in 1:30 pace. Quite a jump. The first half will should certainly feel comfortable but then you'll have a long way to go at 6:52 pace or so.

Quite a jump indeed, as you describe above (my emphasis, also FYP a bit :)).

I'm nowhere near 1:30 standard at the moment, but I don't want to just sit back and take 1:40ish either. Picking a spot somewhere between the pace groups might be better? At least that might mean a more consistent effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Best of luck Novices running the HM tomorrow, I plan to be there myself and will be lurking in and around the 1:50 pacers, although the weather might blow us all a bit further back than we would like :eek:.

I personally like this race, but the first 1-2 miles can be a bit congested, hopefully with a different route this year it might be a bit better. If the first mile or two are a bit slower than you would like, do not panic and try and catch up too quickly as this may blow your race, there will be huge gaps opening up in the second half of the race and you will have plenty of time and space to make up any lost time if you are chasing a particular finish time.

I am going to go out 10-20 yards AHEAD of the pacers at the start as this tends to avoid being caught up in the herd and bumping off people and it might be easier for people to get a bit of a rhythm going, just an idea that has worked well for me in other races, still planning to be in the pace group at the halfway point.

Again, don't' jeopardise the 'Main Thing' by pushing too hard in the Half and annoying a niggle too much.....be sensible as you all have worked too hard to miss the big day!

Hope to see a few of you guys there, I will be wearing ASICS runners, so that should make me stand out in the crowd, so if you see me say hello.....

Is there a 'Flapjack' meeting point for Novice and other hungry Boardies at the finish line??.....TFGR I am looking at you :pac::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

kin9pin wrote: »
    8 people posting after 11pm. Anarchy!

(Technically doesn't include me, I'm not running this weekend ;))

It's only the half...:P We'll have you tucked up in bed early for the main event next month!

So plan is to have us all out the door for circa 7:45 - 8 in the morning. Probably be getting there for 08:30. Anyone ideas on what parking in the park will be like then - I am thinking too not to park somewhere that we cannot get out of! Probably head for Conyngham Road area or across to Blackhorse Av. Have seen mention of Hole in the Wall pub - is it OK to park here and are they good with it?

Just checked updated weather.. its looking bleak TBH. "Tomorrow will start very wet and heavy rain spreading East in the morning" and "Very windy initially East".. Rain I can hack but wind and rain is not good. Let's hope Met Eireann let us down..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Best of luck to you all running tomorrow, definitely take it as a proper race day dry run for the big event (the extra sleep you have been accumulating going to bed early this week will help the run and the recovery afterwards) and if rain/wind comes then so be it. We don't know what the 30th of October will bring so take it as a practice for the day, the more varying conditions you can run/race in the better prepared you will be. Key into the effort you are running and be mindful not to try race into a head wind or driving rain as you are unlikely to win that battle and will simply blow yourself out.

There's a good chance some of you will pick up some pbs but do remember that you're back out training next week so don't overcook it. Also the pb you get in a half marathon now will be nothing in comparison to the one you can get in the first few months of next year if you're continue to mind yourselves between now and after the marathon in your recovery (no races in November btw). The benefits that come off the back of a marathon training cycle should make you faster at all distances. Your legs might not feel like it now but that's simply the cumulative effect of your training cycle, don't worry and give it your best....but do remember this a far more significant race in 5 weeks and that should be the main focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Have seen mention of Hole in the Wall pub - is it OK to park here and are they good with it?

I parked there for the 10 mile race with no issues. There's a massive area right beside the pub & it was completely filled up with cars by around 9.15am. It's right beside the park so about a 10-15 minute walk from there to the start line.

Cool.. Thanks a mil. Will maybe go for that. Daughter's swimming back out in Dundrum at 1:10PM... Ambitious maybe but Hole in the Wall gets us back up Navan Rd and around on M50 quick enough:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Quite a jump indeed, as you describe above (my emphasis, also FYP a bit :)).

I'm nowhere near 1:30 standard at the moment, but I don't want to just sit back and take 1:40ish either. Picking a spot somewhere between the pace groups might be better? At least that might mean a more consistent effort.

That's what I'd do, J. If the weather is right I'll be trying to run a relatively even 1:35-1:36 pace so I'll keep an eye out for you if you want to join me. Same goes for anyone else in the 1:35ish bracket. I'll be the aul grey haired lad in the Crusaders vest. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

I'll be the aul grey haired lad in the Crusaders vest. ;)

I think you should post that photo of you and your "friend" again so people know what you look like ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

chickey2 wrote: »
    I think you should post that photo of you and your "friend" again so people know what you look like ;)

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

chickey2 wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek:

Ehm, keep it decent, folks! :cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

smashiner wrote: »
    I am going to go out 10-20 yards AHEAD of the pacers at the start :pac::D:D:D
    I did this at clontarf a few years ago and realized a bit later in the race that I could not let the pacer catch up or I'd miss the time by a few seconds. I spent the last few miles looking over my shoulder. At one point I could hear the pacer shouting encouragement. I felt hunted.:) This is still my PB.

I think though I was more than 10-20 yards ahead of them at the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

smashiner wrote: »

Is there a 'Flapjack' meeting point for Novice and other hungry Boardies at the finish line??.....TFGR I am looking at you :pac::D:D:D

You know, that's not a bad idea! I could definitely bring flapjacks if nop doesn't mind handing over the baton over to me?

nop98 wrote: »
    Right-so, show of hands, please, who's running the HM on Saturday?
    Hi nop, Yep I'm doing it tomorrow. I'm planning to go out a little behind the 2 hour pacers and see how far I can keep them in sight. I've never been under 2 hours in a half in the park and what with the rain and wind forecast I don't expect to get under 2 tomorrow either so will adapt as I go. The still, sunny and cool conditions this morning would have been perfect. Aw well - the weather is out of our control so all we can do is design around it.

My race number is: 8726

Will keep an eye out for you where you said you'd be but you may be gone to the finish by the time I pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

You know, that's not a bad idea! I could definitely bring flapjacks if nop doesn't mind handing over the baton over to me?

Yep, I think that we should have a 'Boardie Bake off' where Nop and TGFR both bring a few pallets of Flap Jacks each and we can compare and contrast them....in the name of post race recovery of course......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

It's yours! :) As long as you suggest a meet-up location, too!

Here I was nervously studying online recipes. Lemon zest? Oatmeal? Thanks C!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

Good luck to everyone running tomorrow! I wish I could be out there too. But instead I'll be tucked up in my nice warm bed :P

If you're using the bag drop, I'd advise you to make sure you use a water-proof bag, or put your stuff in a plastic bag inside another bag. My towel and dry clothes were soaked at the end of the FD10!

The good news on my end is that I've had no pain for the past few days, so I'm feeling relatively optimistic that I can go back to training soon. I will wait for the all clear from my physio next week though.

nop98 wrote: »
    It's yours! :) As long as you suggest a meet-up location, too!

Here I was nervously studying online recipes. Lemon zest? Oatmeal? Thanks C!!

Somewhere after the finish line I guess? :confused: I think Singer is the best person to pick a spot. His maps are so detailed and accurate too.

I will of course think up a sign to carry around with me so you can't miss the spot. :D Well, I'm off to buy some balloons! And oats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Thanks G, enjoy your rest tomorrow, and hopefully it won't be long before you're training again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah I'm running tomorrow. 2nd ever race so running to get an idea of what it will be like to run with 1000's of people. I do this route a lot during my LSR's however I think I run it backwards compared to where they are sending us tomorrow.

PB is 1:42.44 but I'll be starting with the 1:50 pacers.

I see the folks at DCM are paying tribute to the John McHugh who passed away during the HM last year by retiring his number (2158) this year. Lovely touch. His friends have started a "finish for John" campaign to raise funds for the Mater Hospital Heart House. The photo of him with his number on obviously taken just before the off last year is so poignant. Puts so much in perspective. RIP John.

https://www.facebook.com/dublinmarathon/photos/a.420615423184.196476.291874688184/10154538598323185/?type=3&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Do you think I could tie a rope around the 1:50 pacers and let them tow me along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Best of luck to all running tomorrow.
    I wont be running it. I 'disliked' it the last 2 years... holding back tears last year... so I do wish you the very best.
    I have a mental thing against Conhyngham road and this year is out!!!
    I left it too late to register. But I found out husband and children have competition all weekend so in a way all worked out.
    Doing LSR after work!
    As I said best of luck and be careful. No injuries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

jameshayes wrote: »
    Do you think I could tie a rope around the 1:50 pacers and let them tow me along?

I was thinking something like this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

ToriV wrote: »
    Hi all. I have a quick question. I am alternating two pairs of runners - an older pair that i use for my LSRs and some short ones and an new pair that I am breaking in using on short runs. I was planning on using the older ones to run the marathon as they should have plenty of miles in them yet.

I put them on yesterday and my right one felt ....weird. Like it had all gone squishy and unsupportive. They were fine the day before! I checked the laces, the undersole etc. to make sure there was no visable damage that may be causing it. Didnt risk running in them and they still feel weird today (dont know what I was expecting!)

So should i just retire them and go with my new ones until DCM. I have a 19 miler tomorrow (HHN2) so it would be a good test.

Anyone ever have this experience?

My advice would be start using the new ones for the LSRs now, and keep the old ones for shorter stuff. If they still feel wrong after a few more short runs, bin them.

How old are they? You might be surprised how many miles you have put on them with marathon training.

Also did they get very wet recently? Sometimes I find that if the runners get really soaked, it can take a few days for the sponginess to "recover", once all the water is gone.

I found polka dot balloons!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

Best of luck to all running in the half marathon tomorrow. Looking forward to reading all the reports. It looks like I will be in Dublin next Saturday I'll get to have my first ever run in Dublin. I'll be looking for advice on routes next week from all you knowledgeable Dublin folk.

If it's raining tomorrow make sure you have used plenty bodyglide in all the right places and use some zinc oxide/ similar tape to cover the nipples. I saw a few pictures from Charleville last weekend of guys with two lines of blood coming from the nipples, very painful. One guy was wearing the tshirt he had just got in his goodie bag. As they say nothing new on race day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

My number for tomorrow is 2048....I will be wearing my usual race gear of black shorts and dark grey t-shirt....running OCD means I have worn this for both the 5 mile and the FD10 tend to wear it on all the LSRs as well!.

I will be hovering around the 1hr40 pacers if you spot me.....I will keep an eye out for the polka dot balloons and try and give a thumbs up going past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I was thinking something like this.

I don't think the 1:50 pacers are that cute.... :D

Yiz will all be grand, the pacers are brilliant, they'll do their very best to keep you with them all the way.