Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vasectomy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

Went and got the swimmers tested last week just to be sure , got the one test done after opp that came back all clear...so popped over to the new clinic in clane last week...and got checked still no live swimmers thank god... Only 50 euro to get checked so I think I will get tested once a year...at 50 euro it's a lot cheaper than the alternative 👶🏻🍼
    No need for referral from GP just ring and book in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭DvB

harr wrote: »
    Went and got the swimmers tested last week just to be sure , got the one test done after opp that came back all clear...so popped over to the new clinic in clane last week...and got checked still no live swimmers thank god... Only 50 euro to get checked so I think I will get tested once a year...at 50 euro it's a lot cheaper than the alternative 👶🏻🍼
    No need for referral from GP just ring and book in....

The clinic I got mine in will do the same for €30.

I had to do 2 of them (tests) after the op before they'd give me the all clear though. Both came back as negative for genetic material & I had up until reading your post considered it permanent (letter received confirming same) & therefore no need for re-checking. Or is it just for peace of mind?
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

DvB wrote: »
    The clinic I got mine in will do the same for €30.

I had to do 2 of them (tests) after the op before they'd give me the all clear though. Both came back as negative for genetic material & I had up until reading your post considered it permanent (letter received confirming same) & therefore no need for re-checking. Or is it just for peace of mind?
    Just peace of mind, where I got mine done it was only one sample needed then given the all clear so just making sure GP was saying to get checked at least twice.......was talking to lady in clinic today and she said a lot of men would get checked once a year..not sure if that is needed to be honest....reading some material in wating room today and that was saying the op in rare cases can fail even after a number of years 😵 Not what I wanted to read...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭darkmark79

Hey lads I'm thinking of biting the bullet and getting the procedure done, what's the main difference between the clips method offered in Clane and the no scalpel method offered in other clinics? I'd prefer to go to Clane as it's close enough to me but I could travel to a Dublin clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭waynegalway

Got it done this morning!

Process was grand. I was in the clinic for about 30 mins in total. I'd say the procedure itself took about 10-12 minutes. Didn't feel much, just a bit of pulling. I had the "no needle, no scalpel" procedure. The anaesthetic was sprayed on, it felt a little like an elastic band snap to the skin, but it was fine.

Sitting up looking at Top Gear and Wheeler Dealers repeats. Bit early for a beer.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,298 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Got my all clear last week. Herself was in work, and the consultant who did it was in her office. She was a bit flustered, and he turned and said to her you're not pregnant are you? No she replied. Good says yer man, 'coz it's not your husband's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Seriously looking in to this after we had our third baby.

To those who went to the Morehampton Clinic, is this the method they used?

http://vasectomy.ie/vasectomy-counselling/

Or is this a recent change to the procedure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I got the scalpel job in the North and it was sound.

fixxxer wrote: »
    Seriously looking in to this after we had our third baby.

To those who went to the Morehampton Clinic, is this the method they used?

http://vasectomy.ie/vasectomy-counselling/

Or is this a recent change to the procedure?

I looked into getting this done about 12 months ago in the Galway office of that website, and they were not offering "no scalpel keyhole" at that stage. It definitely involved a cut to the skin. So, it looks like it's a new procedure for them (in the Galway branch anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Zipppy

out of interest....anyone come across vasectomy not working after all clear...not me now...but recently heard of it supposedly happening...I've a feeling yer man never went through with it and said he did...
    As for those scared off by needle over no needle...don't be...it's grand...best thing I ever did...I went to clane...

Agree with that about it being a good job. Takes all the hassle or worry out of doing the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭OU812

Anyone feel like their balls are hanging lower since getting it done?

OU812 wrote: »

Maybe you're just getting old? ;)

I didn't notice any change tbh.

OU812 wrote: »

Balls a bit lower, voice a bit higher. It all balances out :)

(But to answer your question, no, I did not notice any difference)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭OU812

Mine are definitely lower now. They used to be quite high, non "danglers", now there's a distinct dangle (& slap) going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭gibbo_ireland

Lads, seriously thank you for all the insight and expertise - really helps those of us that are planning to get it done. Ive read all 26 pages of posts!

I suppose, Im still none the wiser though where best to get it done? I see Clane mentioned a lot, but there are several places that do it in Clane after a quick Google search?

I not too concerned about price or location (am based in Dub) - more about pain levels during & afterwards!

Is it fair to say they are all pretty much the same? Any recommendations really appreciated.

Sorry bud, I had it done in a north in a public hospital. No use to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭chewed

Lads, seriously thank you for all the insight and expertise - really helps those of us that are planning to get it done. Ive read all 26 pages of posts!

I suppose, Im still none the wiser though where best to get it done? I see Clane mentioned a lot, but there are several places that do it in Clane after a quick Google search?

I not too concerned about price or location (am based in Dub) - more about pain levels during & afterwards!

Is it fair to say they are all pretty much the same? Any recommendations really appreciated.

Are you referring to the pain levels or hospitals?

Sorry if unclear. I suppose Im asking which type of procedure is best to go for (no scalpel, no needle, more traditional etc) to limit pain :) And for that procedure which hospital/venues is best to get it done.

Im just struggling trying to differentiate between the options of procedure & venue available in Dublin and surrounding areas! They all seem very similiar to me!

Sorry if unclear. I suppose Im asking which type of procedure is best to go for (no scalpel, no needle, more traditional etc) to limit pain :) And for that procedure which hospital/venues is best to get it done.

Im just struggling trying to differentiate between the options of procedure & venue available in Dublin and surrounding areas! They all seem very similiar to me!

Hard for anyone to say one type of procedure is more painful than the other given most will have only undergone the OP once. I had the old school surgery with cutting and a fee stitches and it was fine. Bit sore after and I stayed in bed the next day but was back in the office 2 days after.

Yeah of course, makes sense. Any recommendations on where to go (or not to go!) for it?

Would value people on heres opinion much more than just researching the quality of their websites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

I'm having mine done Friday week. Not exactly looking forward to it per se but it's something I want to do (I'm 42, have two young kids and my wife and I are DONE). I have heard loads of positive stories and a few horrible ones (but I'm trying to block them out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭chewed

I had the traditional scalpel as well and it was grand. Didn't feel a thing during the op and the doc is having a good old chat with me, which was a bit bizarre! It's the pain afterwards which you need to expect and manage. I was OK but just had that feeling after you get a kick in the balls for a few days. Other than that it was grand. Just make sure you milk it with the mrs so you get some special treatment!!! ;)

doubledown wrote: »
    I'm having mine done Friday week. Not exactly looking forward to it per se but it's something I want to do (I'm 42, have two young kids and my wife and I are DONE). I have heard loads of positive stories and a few horrible ones (but I'm trying to block them out).

Best of luck with it all! Where you getting it done? Can you kindly post here an update please afterwards? I'm in the same situation as you pretty much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Best of luck with it all! Where you getting it done? Can you kindly post here an update please afterwards? I'm in the same situation as you pretty much!

Will do. I don't think I can name the place but I can PM it to you if you like. It's in South Dublin. I'll post an update afterwards as I will have loads of time on my hands. I have forewarned my wife that I will be spending that weekend on the couch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭Glebee

Will do. I don't think I can name the place but I can PM it to you if you like. It's in South Dublin. I'll post an update afterwards as I will have loads of time on my hands. I have forewarned my wife that I will be spending that weekend on the couch!

Milk it for all it worth.. i managed nearly 3 days on the couch.. Was alright after 2:)

Yes please if you could PM it to me, Id really appreciate it!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,298 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I went old school too, scalpel and stitches. Can recommend a guy in Tallaght hospital for any one that wants it.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

beertons wrote: »
    I went old school too, scalpel and stitches. Can recommend a guy in Tallaght hospital for any one that wants it.
    I would be intetested in that recommendation. Public/private doc?
    Had looked at a few locations in S.Dublin, outside didnt really suit in terms of logistics.
    Just as its close to me. Really need to get it sorted. We're DONE kidwise, better make sure of it from my end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 aomh

Lads, need to get this done. Do you need a referral from a doctor or not. Also, in the Midlands so where is convenient, thanks