Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Ok, I'll wait til Monday and go for a recovery run then.
    Thanks for the advice :) xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Physio said I could do 10-12 miles today but I had to pull up after only 8. I feel a bit stupid, my hip was sore but I think I let the fear get to me. I might try again tomorrow, see if I can get my weekly milage back up to the twenties :'(

Well if it was your car making a funny noise you'd pull in and get it looked at by a mechanic so why would you treat your body worse than your car. I think you did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

kittyclaws wrote:
    Physio said I could do 10-12 miles today but I had to pull up after only 8. I feel a bit stupid, my hip was sore but I think I let the fear get to me. I might try again tomorrow, see if I can get my weekly milage back up to the twenties :'(

Take it slowly... forget about what you didnt do. But you are back in action!!!! That's the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

I did my half marathon time trial this morning. Can't say I enjoyed it, but at least I got it done.

Got up at 7:30, had some breakfast and was out the door for 8:30 I went to the shop to get three 500 ml bottles of water. As I was doing a 5 mile loop I was able to pick up one of the bottles off the window on my car each time I went around.

The course is fairly flat with 1 hill and a bridge over the motorway (which I had to tackle 3 times). I did a warm up mile and then I was off.

The plan was to stick to 8:30/ mi pace. Of course I made the classic mistake of going out too quick. The first 5 miles were closer to 8:20/mi. Things slowed a bit after that with a couple of 8:40 and 8:50 miles.

I took two gels. One at 5 miles and the other at 8 miles. I find it better to take then slowly over the space of a few mins. Although this does slow you down somewhat.

Came in at 1hr 55 mins which I was happy with. Although I was hoping to be closer to 1:52. A PB of nearly 4 mins, but I suppose I can't really use it as it wasn't a race.

I'm going to put the feet up for the evening now and have a few well deserved drinks.

Some going to do that on your own, fair play. I reckon you'd have no bother holding 8:30/mi pace in a proper HM race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Ok, I'll wait til Monday and go for a recovery run then.
    Thanks for the advice :) xx

+10 to all the advice. Take it easy.

Kabuxa's wise words are worth repeating (this time, with the apostrophe added to avoid the wrath of the Irish Apostrophe Preservation Society).
    forget about what you didn't do

Great going on all the LSR's / HM trials. Looking forward to reading more of them tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Another great morning out there for a run nice few miles recovery done.

Hopefully everyone is feeling OK after yesterday and those on the injured list are improving.

For any of you going to the match today enjoy...I will probably catch some of it on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

nop98 wrote: »
    (this time, with the apostrophe added to avoid the wrath of the Irish Apostrophe Preservation Society).

Great going on all the LSR's / HM trials. Looking forward to reading more of them tomorrow!

It's 'LSRs'. :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Hey all,

Great to read all your reports well most of them (as sorry just don't have time anymore to log on during the week).

To all in sick bay, hope you are feeling better soon, if it's any consolation I understand how frustrating it is not getting the exact mileage in and even worse, running while in a pain zone is so not pleasant. Assume it's down to the miles we are have run to date in that our bodies are waving a white flag, begging for surrender although we respond with its just six weeks to go!!

To date I have managed to get all the mid-week and LSRs completed but each week my hip plays up and sometimes leads on to pain in my knees. Physio has given all clear to continue running for now subject to respecting my body, by doing excerises and returning to them etc. Hoping to still do DCM however will be a far slower time then originally thought however that's why we were advised by NOP et all to have a plan B at the beginning :)

To summarise would suggest anyone suffering niggles get them seen to now, no point holding off.

Happy Running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

After the half marathon on previous Saturday we were given Sunday and Monday off. But training will be hard going for the next few weeks.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: My legs were still feeling the half but just a easy run 13.3km at 5:05/km average.

Wednesday: 8km easy to start (4:40/km average) then 16km slightly faster then MP (4:12/km)  followed by 1km warm down. I knew I still had the half in my legs and was a bit tired towards the end.

Thursday: 10.4km easy run at 5.04/km

Friday: Another easy run 8.5km at 4.57/km

Saturday: Hit the road at 7 am. Lovely morning with the rising sun just slowly burning off the fog from the mountains, no breeze just nice and fresh. I had to do this run on my own but I don't mind long workouts where I'm checking my paces and have targets to hit. Long slow runs are a different kettle of fish and can be mentally very challenging if I've to do them on my own. Started of with a 3km warm up then 9 × 2km @ MP with 1km recovery 30 seconds slower than PMP. Then just over 2km warm down at the end. Total workout was just over 32km or 20 miles old money with an overall average of 4:29/km . Even though my legs were still fairly tired I had no problems with my paces.

Sunday: Nice and easy 10.4km at 5:03/km to wrap up the week. Bringing my millage to 100 kilometres. Now to put my feet up and watch Mayo hopefully beat Dublin as unlikely as that is to happen .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Lovely hazy conditions out there with not much wind. Recovery done and onto watching sports until 6pm.

Wed - 11.02m @ 8:38
    Sat - 17.13m @ 9:46
    Sun - 3.62m @ 10.03

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,365 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

RasTa wrote: »
    Lovely hazy conditions out there with not much wind. Recovery done and onto watching sports until 6pm.

Live NFL starts at 6pm. Just sayin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Week 12 update. Take your time reading this one, some epic mileage:

Mon: Physio, advised to rest until weekend.
    Tue: Rest/ice
    Wed: Rest/ice
    Thu: Rest/ice
    Fri: Physio and 3 miles at 10:22.
    Sat: LSR (Long Slow Rest)/ice
    Sun: 1 mile at 10:28

Total 4 miles for the week :(

Today's run was a test on grass. I planned to run maximum 3 miles, but cut it short as I could still feel something. Not painful and much better than last week, but I didn't want to take a chance. Should I have pushed it a bit further??

I don't have the constant ache now so I'm on the right path. Going to take it day by day this week and probably won't try another run until Wednesday. I'll decide on DCHM on Friday, but if I do run it will definitely be at easy pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Had a lovely run this morning - nice 11Km which is 2 laps of my local forest - got a wee bit wet but generally nice conditions to run it - came back home and was faffing around a bit before my shower and since then have been feeling very chilly - hope after all my crowing Im not getting a bloody cold .

Of to work now for the evening - so not feeling it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Week 12 Boards plan

Monday: crosstraining, Pilates for about 10 minutes:o(I'm getting bored of crosstraining)
    Tuesday: 6 miles easy (9:40min/mile)
    Wednesday: 11 miles including 9@PMP (9:10min/mile)
    Thursday: 3 miles recovery (11:51 min/mile)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 16 miles LSR (10:36min/mile)
    Sunday: 3 miles recovery (11:10min/mile)

Another week down. I was wrecked after Wednesday's run so my recovery run on Thursday was extremely slow & legs felt extremely heavy. Was glad of the rest day on Friday although walking around town for culture night probably did me no favours for Saturday's run, legs felt heavy then as well. Really glad next week is a step down in mileage for the half marathon.
    Only 6 weeks of training to go! This day 6 weeks is marathon day:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Week 12 update.

Mon: 6km very easy(5:30/km)
    Tue: 7.5km very easy + 8km pyramid intervals
    Wed: 7km very easy + 11km @PMP
    Thu: 18x400m, 30sec rest between each( most around the 88sec range).
    Fri: 3km very easy
    Sat: 2km very easy + 14km tempo(4:14/km)
    Sun: 2.5hrs 28km (10km easy+ 8km mountain trails+10km@PMP)

Thought my quads would be burning up after the trails so en route I decided that first thing I would do on return would be to make some tea+peanut butter on toast and eat it in a cold bath!

It was tough as I love the heat but I think it worked as me legs felt great after it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

JackieChan wrote: »
    Week 12 update.

Thought my quads would be burning up after the trails so en route I decided that first thing I would do on return would be to make some tea+peanut butter on toast and eat it in a cold bath!

It was tough as I love the heat but I think it worked as me legs felt great after it!!

You must be very motivated to keep this mileage and pace up every week and your body must be in a very healthy state to not be giving up on you.

So I have a few questions:
    What time is your marathon goal?
    Are you still in your 20s and are you running long?
    Are you a club runner?

I need to justify my weaknesses :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

JackieChan wrote: »
    Week 12 update.

Oof. how many sessions in a week is that? 4? 5? I lost count. Don't know jack about your training/ability/level, but that's usually a recipe for disaster. Far too many sessions, too much hard mileage, not enough easy miles.

I'm also keen to know your goals/level/ability now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Week 12 Update
    Total Distance 39.3 miles
    Total time 5hr 46

Have to admit that this was not a week I was looking forward to fromeeting the start of the plan always knew it was going to be tough after the Athlone golf trip as it tends to be two very late nights with a bit too much alcohol!

Tuesday: Was doing the Grant Thornton Challenge with work so split Tuesday into 2 runs

1. 2.8 miles at 08:16
    2. 3 miles at 07:04

Really enjoyed the Grant Thornton event and was glad to get through it unscathed!

Wednesday was helping out with the work Couch to 5k group so 2.3 miles at 12:50

Thursday 11 miles at 08:19 ended up doing 10 miles at slightly under PMP felt the legs a bit heavy may have been the affects of Tuesday and it was pretty muggy for the run glad to get through it.

Saturday 16 miles at 08:52 per mile ran as much of the 1/2 marathon course as possible but Farmleigh was closed off...added another loop from Furze Rd to Acres Road then Lower Glen Rd to hit the 16 miles.....pushed the pace for the last couple of miles and felt the run went well.

Sunday 4 miles at 09:10 recovery run nice and early this morning.

All in all a good week and I can't believe we are only 6 weeks away.

Now I need to firm up my plan for the 1/2 as I want to go with one of the pace groups. So 2 options

1. Run with one pace group and do the 13 miles at PMP or
    2. Go with the quicker pace group and race the 1/2 this will mean going 4 minutes under my time from Clontarf last year.

I am determined to go with one pace group as I have never run with one before.....so I am open to suggestions.

Great stuff from everyone again this week. Apologies for the epic post.

Craig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭pcuser

Just a quick question. I have started the c25k program and Im quiet enjoying it. Im wondering if I stick with this and after 8 weeks start a training regime that will increase the limit to 10 K and so on. Would it be possible to Run the Dublin Marathon in 2017?

At the moment I have no interest is beating any records. But I think it would be a huge achievement and I would be able to raise money for charity as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

I forgot that the DCHM had added pacers for 2.10, 2.20 and 2.30 last year to go with the 1.30, 1,40, 1.50 and 2.00 they had before. Still doing it again this year I see. Might be useful for any of us slow coaches or anyone doing the HM as a PMP or LSR. I'm somewhere between 2.00 and 2.10 I think. The DCM team seem to get a lot of things right imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The weekly weigh in!

Mon: Rest
    Tue: 10km easy.
    Wed: 17.9km, 15 at PMP. Did this as a commute (and then some!). Tough enough run but a nice confidence builder.
    Thu: Rest
    Fri: 5km 'recovery' (didn't have anything to recover from so ran it faster).
    Sat: 26km LSR. Enjoyed this one, though ran it a bit fast and was knackered after.
    Sun: 5.3km recovery.

64.3km for the week. Looking forward to taking it sleazy now ahead of the DCHM. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

My week - week 12 HHN2 Plan

Mon - rest
    Tue- 8k @ 6.02 pace
    Wed - 13.4k PMP @ 5.40 pace (on grass)
    Thu - 8k @ 6.04 pace
    Fri - rest
    Sat - 21k @ 6.19 pace (on grass)
    Sun - 5k @ 6.34 pace (on grass)

A step back week and I took advantage of the Curragh to give the legs less of a pounding and avoid the uneven road running for the 21k :)
    Just glad to be still running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

12th September - 18th September
    Monday - 5 miles easy
    Tuesday - 5 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 8 miles w/ 5 miles @ MP
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - 10 miles easy
    Sunday - Rest

Monday was a recovery run. Felt a bit tired, and the legs were a bit niggly, leading to the first symptoms of taper madness. Convinced myself I was on the brink of injury, and was pretty stressed in general.

Tuesday's run was a repeat of Monday's, but I was much less tired and the legs were a bit better. It was a very warm day, but the effort was nice and easy. I felt a little more optimistic about the injury concerns that I had mostly invented in my head too.

I had been thinking about skipping the MP session on Thursday because of the aforementioned injury concerns that weren't really much of a concern in the first place. Glad I got it done in the end, as I'd be feeling pretty annoyed with myself now if I'd skipped it for no good reason. The MP miles were nice and consistent, and the effort wasn't too bad, despite another very warm day.

I usually do a short recovery run after work on Friday, but there was none on the plan this week. Felt strange not to be running.

The final long(ish) run yesterday went very well. The legs felt great, and the effort was very, very easy. I'm definitely feeling the positive effects of the taper now, and am feeling a lot more confident than this time last week!

One week to go for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Blister-town; population - me!

Same runners, same socks.. my blisters have blisters.. never a victim before but I'm suffering today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

Only just realised that the clocks go back the night before thentering DCM......an extra hours sleep/tossing and turning for everybody so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Why not - here's my Weekly update!:
    Mon: Rest
    Tue: Pilates
    Wed: sports massage, physio and a 1.3 mile run.
    Thurs: 3.8 mile run.
    Fri: rest
    Sat 8.1 mile 'LSR'.
    Sun: Swim, easy gym session, stretching.
    Grand total of 13.3 miles this week!!!

Feeling a good bit better today, my hip only hurts when I drive :)
    This weeks plan calls for an easy week. I'll try do all runs as planned - but at a slower pace. I'll speak to physio about whether I can race the half or just run it - but I've a feeling that will be a no!
    Here's hoping everyone escapes sick bay for good, only 5 weeks and 6 days to go!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Looking forward to taking it sleazy now ahead of the DCHM. :)

Okey dokey :p:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Hi all, would like to join in the thread if that's ok. Not my first marathon, but my second one, and hopefully much better prepared for this one than the first one I did in 2013 (Dublin). While it wasn't quite an absolute disaster, I really struggled, didn't achieve near my goal and shouldn't have done it in hindsight as it was too early for me. I swore that day I'd never run a marathon again. Went in to watch my club-mates run 2014 and didn't feel any urge to run a marathon again. Went to watch again last year and I definitely had been bitten by the marathon bug again - wished I was out there in the pouring rain with them all, so here I am!

I'm now at the point in my training where the head starts playing silly games, self-doubt etc., even though the training has gone pretty well overall thus far. I'm up at 21 miles now with yesterday's LSR, and felt quite good for the last few miles, so hopefully for DCM '16 I'll put a better shift in. Am training 4 times per week now compared with 3 for DCM 2013, and have much better HM, 10k and 5k times compared to back then.

Like to follow peoples' progress and see how everyone is getting on - it definitely helps to see others having the same doubts as myself, but sticking with it to achieve the goal. I found this thread an immense source of support for DCM '13, so I'll stick around if that's ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

Week 12 Update
    Total Distance 39.3 miles
    Total time 5hr 46

Have to admit that this was not a week I was looking forward to fromeeting the start of the plan always knew it was going to be tough after the Athlone golf trip as it tends to be two very late nights with a bit too much alcohol!

Tuesday: Was doing the Grant Thornton Challenge with work so split Tuesday into 2 runs

1. 2.8 miles at 08:16
    2. 3 miles at 07:04

Really enjoyed the Grant Thornton event and was glad to get through it unscathed!

Wednesday was helping out with the work Couch to 5k group so 2.3 miles at 12:50

Thursday 11 miles at 08:19 ended up doing 10 miles at slightly under PMP felt the legs a bit heavy may have been the affects of Tuesday and it was pretty muggy for the run glad to get through it.

Saturday 16 miles at 08:52 per mile ran as much of the 1/2 marathon course as possible but Farmleigh was closed off...added another loop from Furze Rd to Acres Road then Lower Glen Rd to hit the 16 miles.....pushed the pace for the last couple of miles and felt the run went well.

Sunday 4 miles at 09:10 recovery run nice and early this morning.

All in all a good week and I can't believe we are only 6 weeks away.

Now I need to firm up my plan for the 1/2 as I want to go with one of the pace groups. So 2 options

1. Run with one pace group and do the 13 miles at PMP or
    2. Go with the quicker pace group and race the 1/2 this will mean going 4 minutes under my time from Clontarf last year.

I am determined to go with one pace group as I have never run with one before.....so I am open to suggestions.

Great stuff from everyone again this week. Apologies for the epic post.

Craig

I think you should go out there and give it what you've got, you're running so well. It would be a nice confidence booster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Muppet wrote: »
    16 mile lsr done an dusted , I could get used to this running on tired legs lark.

In other news I hit the 1000 mile mark for 2016 eight miles into today's run . That was one of my goals at the start of this year . Didnt think i would achieve it by mid september as I've never done it before . Think I might treat myself to a pint to celebrate the occasion , just the one .

Jaz T that that's fantastic mileage.. there was me delighted with my first ever 40k steps day yesterday.. :D Well Done! Here's to the next 1000!