Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Any plans for the weekend lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,077 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Mayo team(ish) announced. The Mayo thread has the time that probably won't line up against ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

Slattsy wrote: »

Any games on Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,800 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

As a Corkman I have huge respect and admiration for this Dublin team and I think ye will win Sunday. Lot of the players seem down to earth and good honest pros.

I hope Mayo win just cause they are underdogs and the heartache but if Dublin do win they may be going down Road of greatest team ever in coming years

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

As a Corkman I have huge respect and admiration for this Dublin team and I think ye will win Sunday. Lot of the players seem down to earth and good honest pros.

I hope Mayo win just cause they are underdogs and the heartache but if Dublin do win they may be going down Road of greatest team ever in coming years

modern day football teams cannot be compared to the past. I think the last 10 years county football has changed utterly, due to the ever increasing "silent professionalism of the game" and a team like Dublin have been the main beneficiaries of this upheaval. A top class team, with some unbelievable talent but it is pointless to compare them to teams in the 70s, 80s, 90s and even early millenium teams.

^^^

ha, how didnt I get that username before now!!

^^^

why do you have to mock it though. I am not having a go. What I am saying is correct. I am merely saying its pointless comparing modern day football players, set ups, squad building, training, tactics to days of the past.

You have to take all eras at their own merits. This Dublin team would probably beat any Dublin team of the 70s and 80s and probably every Kerry team. They are just a different class of athlete.

It isn't a dig at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

I am merely saying its pointless comparing modern day football players, set ups, squad building, training, tactics to days of the past.

But sure if we go down that road you could rule out countless teams and countless athlete's in countless sports as the "greatest ever".

I suppose most of us are comparing the levels of success ie. number of all Irelands as a guide.
    I'm sure most modern intercounty teams could beat the Kerry team of the 70's due to the increased fitness levels and improved training methods.

This shouldn't take from the teams of the past either.
    It's what you do against the other teams in your era that counts. And this Dublin team are doing quite well by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

That's completely understandable tbh. If Mayo were playing that great Cork team from 2010/2011 I would think the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

PARlance wrote: »
    Mayo team(ish) announced. The Mayo thread has the time that probably won't line up against ye.

How are Mayo for the dummy teams? Are they like Dublin and always at it or is there a chance that might be the team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Over to Newcastle tomorrow for a game.
    I'll crawl onto a plane on Sunday morning, meet the auld lad in town and see if the rumours of a game happening in Croker that afternoon are indeed true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,077 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

corny wrote: »
    How are Mayo for the dummy teams? Are they like Dublin and always at it or is there a chance that might be the team?

We've had Dillon (Tyrone) and Barry Moran (Tipp) as two big surprises in the last two.
    I think it's safe to assume there'll be one change on Sunday, maybe 2 at a push. But generally speaking there's not a lot of messing, 13 spots are nailed on imo.

I wouldn't be surprised to Barrett start in the FB line, Vaughen moved to midfield, leaving Parsons to come on at HT/very early second half. Parsons may be seen as having a major role is stopping your second half onslaught.

I wouldn't be confident that Doherty is a cert either. Regan could slot in there, or if there's a wildcard to be played, Dillon could too.

For me, bringing on big athletic guys like Parsons, Keane, Doherty & Conor O'Shea would be ideal in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

PARlance wrote: »
    We've had Dillon (Tyrone) and Barry Moran (Tipp) as two big surprises in the last two.
    I think it's safe to assume there'll be one change on Sunday, maybe 2 at a push. But generally speaking there's not a lot of messing, 13 spots are nailed on imo.

I wouldn't be surprised to Barrett start in the FB line, Vaughen moved to midfield, leaving Parsons to come on at HT/very early second half. Parsons may be seen as having a major role is stopping your second half onslaught.

I wouldn't be confident that Doherty is a cert either. Regan could slot in there, or if there's a wildcard to be played, Dillon could too.

For me, bringing on big athletic guys like Parsons, Keane, Doherty & Conor O'Shea would be ideal in the second half.

Pretty much exactly my thinking. Would maybe add Barry Moran as a potential starter instead of Doherty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

Mayo pushed out to 100/30 now with the bookmakers. Odds against with three in the handicap too. Formality according to that!

Have to say I normally respect what Mayo bring to the table but i have a gnawing suspicion they're going to get found out on Sunday. A repeat of any performance this year just won't do and the chances of them suddenly pulling out a performance are slim for me. Reminds me of the Dubs in 2012. Unconvincing when winning. We were all hopeful they'd turn it on when the time came but it never materialised.

Got my tickets today.:)

For anyone that knows my form on boards, im a betting man. Giddy up!!!!

And I don't believe Mayo are 100/30 shots. Dublin are certainly no 1/3 shots.

I'd price this game up at something like:
    Dublin 4/7
    Mayo 5/2

But im not a bookie :D and they're basing their odds on current form - but as everyone knows - upsets happen and underdogs can win in any given sporting event.

But if I was a betting man lol my betting angle would be last years semi-final (not the replay obvs) and I'd be thinking the value lies with Mayo at 10/3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

PP had Dubs @ 2/5 for a few hours the other day. Took some big bets by all accounts. Back to 4/11 now.

I would consider 1/2 to be about right. I have a feeling that Dublin have not really gone through the gears yet, nor had to. Sunday hopefully will see their best performance of the year, and there is no other team can live with them at their best.

Team announced, no place for Vinny Murphy or Keith Barr

Disgusted.

#Gavinout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

And no Barney Rock or Jimmy Keavney for the frees. Shocking !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

On the plus side, Connolly is out for Ciaran Duff, apparently he's less likely to do something silly and get the line

Just thinking now, if McCaffrey and O'Carroll were in that 15, ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

Bonniedog wrote: »
    PP had Dubs @ 2/5 for a few hours the other day. Took some big bets by all accounts. Back to 4/11 now.

I would consider 1/2 to be about right. I have a feeling that Dublin have not really gone through the gears yet, nor had to. Sunday hopefully will see their best performance of the year, and the re is no other team can live with them at their best.

Agree with that, we haven't played anywhere near our potential. We played well in small patches against Donegal and Kerry. Just done enough to win them games especially against Kerry considering Flynn,Kilkenny and Brogan were quiet. We need them lads to up their game tomorrow.

Just finished reading the papers. Nerves in tatters :-)

Interesting piece in Examiner on the difference between two teams on concession and conversion of frees.

Dublin have significantly reduced number of frees being conceded. Mayo have been getting higher average of frees per game, but Dublin's conversion rate is superior.

Most significantly, Dublin have conceded average of 15 frees per game compared to 22 per game for Mayo.

If Dublin can bring ball consistently to Mayo 40, and Rock is on form, then that could be one of main factors.

Now, I need to lie down :-)

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Just finished reading the papers. Nerves in tatters :-)

Interesting piece in Examiner on the difference between two teams on concession and conversion of frees.

Dublin have significantly reduced number of frees being conceded. Mayo have been getting higher average of frees per game, but Dublin's conversion rate is superior.

Most significantly, Dublin have conceded average of 15 frees per game compared to 22 per game for Mayo.

If Dublin can bring ball consistently to Mayo 40, and Rock is on form, then that could be one of main factors.

Now, I need to lie down :-)

Ye mad fecker. Pace yourself. We've Up For The Match to get through yet.

Such a cracker of a day today and tomorrow is meant to be crap in the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ProudDUB wrote: »

Hopefully Gráinne will bust out that leather number she wore a few years back :o

ProudDUB wrote: »

Hope to be asleep by then. Wake up at dawn and start worrying all over again....

I reckon Samuel Beckett must have been a Dubs supporter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Lads, if anyone knows anyone looking for a swap for someone I know can ye PM me. One single Hill ticket to swap for a 1 Cusack or Hogan ticket, preferably lower. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I'm on boards posting shiite everywhere.
    I'm out of my mind with nerves. I love these lads but I want an easy day tomorrow.

It won't happen but what ever does these boys in blue have given so much happiness to us. They owe us nothing.

Come on you boys in blue ..

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    I'm on boards posting shiite everywhere.
    I'm out of my mind with nerves. I love these lads but I want an easy day tomorrow.

It won't happen but what ever does these boys in blue have given so much happiness to us. They owe us nothing.

Come on you boys in blue ..

Relax. The match isn't for another 2 weeks.

What match?