Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Down in Cork for the week, went a bit off the rails in terms on training and with everything really.

Sleeping, eating and drinking all in the wrong order. Only got back Friday night and did a 12 hour shift helping out a friend behind the bar at some big race meeting in Leopardstown yesterday which was chaos.

Woke up this morning still tired from working but decided to get on with it. All went well enough but I'm wrecked now, ankle is a bit stiff.

However some fecker stole my water bottle as when I got back at the first loop it was missing. I just left it beside a tree near a pond in the park, not sure why someone would take it.

So 20 miles achieved on a gel and kinda warm out there today too. Might book a massage for next week. I haven't had a proper dinner since Tuesday and not arsed cooking much tonight.

Week was

Wed 6.1m @ 8:49
    Sun 20.1m @ 10:09

Mon,Tues,Wed,Thur - Drinking and smoking.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Decided to run the course from mile 10 to 26 for my 16 mile LSR. I'm a broken woman. Cycled over to Chapelizod and left my bike in the park, had a grand first 6 miles, I know that area pretty well and was obviously fresh so I enjoyed it. Then came WalkinstownKimmageTempleogueTerenure, the only areas in the city that I don't really know...it was all a big mess of roads and houses and the lady from the RunGo app screaming OFF COURSE OFF COURSE. Didn't enjoy that whole stretch at all at all. Orwell Rd onwards saw me back on familiar ground but I was fairly knackered and disheartened at that stage. I've been running mainly in the Phoenix Park and on trails the last few weeks, the luxury of not having to worry about pedestrians and cyclists and cars and endless groups of Spanish students at bus stops was lost on me, these were all a serious pain today. I also didn't have to worry too much about fuel/water in the last few weeks as I was running laps but in the big WalkinstownKimmage etc mess today I wasn't sure where I was going never mind where I'd find a shop for some water. I had examined the map/street view and the course video pretty well this morning but still got confused.

I found Roebuck Rd and Fosters Avenue okay, if only cause I knew where I was and where I was headed. The Stillorgan dualler is of course lonely and open but thankfully the course isn't on it that long. I actually sat down on a bus stop on Nutley Lane resisting the urge to vomit...only for a few seconds but christ I felt awful. I finished up at Ballsbridge, I must've gained a good bit with my wrong twists and turns cause my garmin said 16 miles and RunGo lady said 16.5 so I called it a day. I'm glad I did it and glad I have a better idea of the course but dear god I have a new appreciation for how tough that stretch is.

I just kept reminding myself that on the day I will not have to worry about the route, or bus stops and pedestrians, or where I can take on water. On the day I will also have to pull another 10 miles out of my...legs but I have 49 days to worry about that, right? Now to summon my bike across the park from Chapelizod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

My week...Week 11 HHN2 plan

Mon - Rest
    Tue - 8k (5m) @ 5.56 pace
    Wed - 13.4k (8m) @ 6.08 pace - on grass
    Thu - 8k (5m) @ 5.59 pace
    Fri - Rest
    Sat - 29k (18m) @ 6.11 pace
    Sun - 5k (3m) @ 6.21 pace

Only two more longer runs before the big day. Hope we all get there in one piece :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

"Now to summon my bike across the park from Chapelizod"

If you're a Harry Potter fan you could try "Accio bike"! Can't guarantee it'll work unfortunately :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

My weekly update

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Monday cross|-| |-|60
    Tuesday Easy|4.1|10:30|129|43:47|
    Wednesday easy|8.1|10:04|132|82:21
    Thursday Easy + pilates|4.1|10:19|127|42:22|
    Friday Rest|-|-|-|-
    Saturday LSR|20.01|10:50|127|219:24 mins
    Sunday Recovery|3.2|11:24|-|34:20
    Totals|||39:40 Miles|07:01:54 Hours

Most mileage ever in a week, Longest run ever and most time on my feet ever in a week , Not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Delighted to hear that Fbjm, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

chickey2 wrote: »
    "Now to summon my bike across the park from Chapelizod"

If you're a Harry Potter fan you could try "Accio bike"! Can't guarantee it'll work unfortunately :)

I'd need a bit of accio and some alohamora too. Having liberally applied deep heat to my back (which is often stiff post-long run) I walked back through the park, collected my bike and cycled home. The full effect of the deep heat was just kicking in when I got on my bike and I was on fire the whole way home. It's been a weird day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Week 11 update:

Tue: 5m @ 10:03
    Wed: 8.1m @ 9:48
    Thu: 4m easy with 5 x strides.avg 9:26
    Sat: 20m LSR @ 10:00
    Sun: rest

Total 37.1m for the week. I was looking forward to hitting the 40m milestone, but skipped today's recovery run as my shin is still sore :(
    Iced it a couple of times and just about to hit the Epsom salts again. I'll see how it is in the morning and book in with the physio if it's not feeling better.

Great running by everyone this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Boards plan week 11:eek:

Monday: cross-training, Pilates
    Tuesday: 4 miles easy (9:37min/mile)
    Wednesday: 8 miles easy (9:42 min/mile)
    Thursday: 4 miles PMP (8:45min/mile) & 5x100m strides
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 20 miles LSR (10:35min/mile)
    Sunday: 3 miles recovery (11:04min/mile)

Was delighted that I survived 20 miles, my longest ever run! Legs were quite sore for the rest of Saturday, ended up taking some ibuprofen so that I could actually enjoy my Saturday night, but feel fine again today thankfully.
    Looking at the rest of the plan, there's only 2 more runs that give me slight feelings of dread: the second 20 miler and this Wednesday's 11 miles with 9 at PMP :eek:
    I felt tireder than usual on my runs this week. Get to work from home most days next week so I'm hoping the extra sleep due to cutting out commute time will help somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I am so impressed with all the long-run reports, I wanted to reply to them all. Here I am, an hour later, still typing! What are y'all doing to me!? :eek:

First, the sick bay:
    Kittyclaws: any news?
    aceygray: did you get out for a short jog today? When in doubt, don't do it. The additional rest might just be what you need.
    tony1980: you were on the up last time we checked in, did you get out at all?
    Anyone else?

Long-runs:
    scotindublin: well done again on the 20-miler, yes, those very-long runs are allowed to hurt (a little) towards the end. Hope you enjoyed the golf weekend!

Safrongirl: good stuff hitting the 28k. Try and get several recovery/easy runs this week, and if at all possible, put the feet up as well.

Antwerp: 20 miles in the bag, well done. And you've managed to enjoy it! I am delighted. Try and get the feet up for a bit too!

kin9pin: Excellent work in Truman's world. Go see someone about that shin A.S.A.P..! As for a different route, I might volunteer you to organize another LSR meet up after the HM, maybe to run the stretch of the course around Crumlin?

JackieChan: 25km in 2 hours! That's certainly a decent tempo run! Wow. What long-run distances are you covering as part of your plan?

Pomplamousse: Another 20-miler to report, well done. Well done for toughening it out - this will really stand to you on the day. I would personally fuel (at least 2 gels for such a long run) as your glycogen stores will have depleted during the run and need topping up.

CFR: What an amazing time. I am in awe. Well done! +1 to the beer recco! As with JackieChan, what longer distances are you still hoping to cover before the big day? Loving the race-report, and a timely reminder to talk about pacers a little.

FITZA: Well done, 18 uneven miles! I know what you mean with the country roads - thanks for highlighting it for us all. Last year, I think it was Hillsiderunner who reported something similar.

budhistmonk: Good stuff toughening it out. Feeling a little queasy is quite common, it is typically explained that your body simply doesn't have enough resources and prioritizes your demands to exercise all your running muscles, over try to process food.

Classic21: Splendid HM time, and that with a 5M warm-up. I am well impressed.

Milky88: well done on your 20-miler. Welcome to the class :)

A Neurotic: Well done on your long run, I like the feeding strategy to just return to car/starting point half way, and thanks for the somewhat graphic :o description!

The Muppet: Splendid work ticking off that 20-miler. I am officially removing you from the 'worry' list? You seem to have well moved on from the FD10? Good stuff!

ToriV: Well done. TLC indeed (see below). Look after yourself!

paddydriver: 21.3M - a little overenthusiastic there?! :D And these are roads I run regularly myself, so all too familiar with the hills... I would try to avoid the real steep parts if at all possible. At these distances, you're putting more than enough stress on your joints and legs, so give them a small break! Well done tho! Just in case you want to get new runners or socks, you had better get that sorted a.s.a.p!

Maximus: Well done getting your run done in the afternoon, I'll stop nagging you about going to bed (actually, I won't, see below :D), as long as you promise to get at least one LSR done starting at 9am in the morning. Deal? ;)

TBO: Nice job on the 16-milers while ducking the seagulls and dogs. How much water do you bring? Are these blisters a worry?

RasTa: 20M done, well done. Really pleased to see your paces having dropped to a more sustainable level. Do go and get a massage (several, actually, until the big day)... (and eat your greens! :rolleyes:).

FBJM: Well done on your long run. I had to laugh at your 0.1km. I have often ran past my house for a few dozen meters to get up to a certain rounded distance. I think we've all done it :D

And finally:
    Extrasupervery: Well done on your 16-miler! That sounds like a tough run by yourself - especially if you don't know the route. The day itself will feel so much different (read: better), with the fellow runners, and the support along the sidelines. This run will really stand to you - take great heart from it!

Parting thoughts:
    I really like the McMillan post Adrian posted earlier - to ensure you get a good night sleep. Think for a moment what you're doing. 40+ miles running a week, up to 20 miles long runs. You have to make adjustments in your daily routine to allow for that, which means good sleep, also for you, Maximus Alexander. Don't make me come over and switch off the light! (hang on, am I talking to my 7yo here...?)

And treat yourselves! Good, healthy, glorious food. I only ran a paltry 8M + parkrun this weekend and I have been eating all around me. Those 16+M runs will take it out of you, so pay extra attention to your nutrition. Sip water throughout the day, each day.

And are you considering a massage / visit to a physical therapist? Don't wait, in fact, as Dubgal said last year, get him/her on speed-dial and book a couple of sessions. It won't be pleasant - but you will feel SO much better afterwards!
    Firedance wrote: »
    It's why they pay us the big bucks.....:D
    What, wait, big bucks!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

I've 2 weeks to update....

Week 10
    0km :o

For the LSR at the end of Week 9 I went further than the plan and faster than recommended on a route that was much hillier than my local training area. As a result my legs were like steel mid-week and I skipped the midweek runs. That weekend then I had to travel to a wedding and ended up getting no training in.

Week 11

I'm glad to report I got back on the horse this week. I didn't check the plan for the LSR this weekend and was joining someone that was going for 21km and thought that sounded right.... turns out I was a few km short! At least some of my midweeks were a bit longer.

Mon: Rest
    Tues: 6km @ 5:31/km (first time trying to fit in a lunch run)
    Wed: 13km @ 6:13/km (ran the scenic way home from work)
    Thu: 8km @ 6:18/km (ran to work)
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: Rest
    Sun: 21.1km @ 7:07/km

Total Distance: 48km
    Total Time: 5hr 15min

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Week in review:

Mon: Rest
    Tue: 6.5k easy. Was tired if I recall correctly.
    Wed: 12.8k (8 miles) commute. Also tired.
    Thu: 6.5k easy. Felt great on this one.
    Fri: Rest
    Sat: 32km (20 miles!) LSR. Last few miles were tough going, had much less stamina than last week. But holy crap, I ran 20 miles!
    Sun: Recovery, 5.3km. Actually at recovery pace. Everything seems to be in order.

Total: 63.1km. Turns out that's 39.2 miles or something. I really wish I'd realised this and done 0.8 extra recovery miles. :mad:
    nop98 wrote: »
    Maximus: Well done getting your run done in the afternoon, I'll stop nagging you about going to bed (actually, I won't, see below :D), as long as you promise to get at least one LSR done starting at 9am in the morning. Deal? ;)

Heh, there's nothing to be done for it. My internal clock has been like this since I was about 12 and I've tried everything to fix it; it's just the way I'm made. I can't sleep before 12/1am (at best). It's not going to stop me running though! If there's to be another Boards meetup for an LSR I'll endeavour to make it and that should satisfy this deal. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Hey Nop, will write up a weekly update in the morning on my commute. Unfortunately, it mostly involves sick bay, I did get out for 10 miles today though which felt absolutely comfortable up to that point before my knee just suddenly seized up and I couldn't go on, it was on a loop though, so my house was only 100 yards away at the time.

Well done to everyone this week, some great mileage put in!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Muppet wrote: »
    Hows everyone after the lsr. The soles of my feet are a little sore , thats new to me .apart from that I'm good . Hope to get the revovery run in later.

Not too bad.. Skin bit sore around where I removed some but no major aches. Left glute a little sore maybe but not unexpected after such a long run yesterday. Went out for 5M this evening and no problems to report so its rest tomorrow and then back to it on Tuesday..:D

Met a friend today who is veteran of some DCM's and 50M Ultra's so I picked his brains for any info, had some good thoughts on gel strategies etc. but again would need to test them out before DCM.

kin9pin wrote: »
    Getting a bit worried now. I tried taking the dog for a walk and had to turn back. I tried 10 paces jogging and it didn't hurt, but walking does. Seems to hurt more when the leg is straight.
    Currently icing and avoiding google.

Give it a little rest for day or two and see. Yeah, best avoid all the worst case sites on Google! Been there plenty.. Hopefully will be good again soon.

I am so impressed with all the long-run reports, I wanted to reply to them all. Here I am, an hour later, still typing! What are y'all doing to me!? :eek:

paddydriver: 21.3M - a little overenthusiastic there?! :D And these are roads I run regularly myself, so all too familiar with the hills... I would try to avoid the real steep parts if at all possible. At these distances, you're putting more than enough stress on your joints and legs, so give them a small break! Well done tho! Just in case you want to get new runners or socks, you had better get that sorted a.s.a.p!

Thanks Nop.. yes we did get carried away but we were having a great chat the whole way around. We stopped in Dalkey at one stage.. you know around the junction that goes everywhere.. and just went off running again in a random direction and arrived out to Avondale Rd roundabout and then headed over to Killiney Shopping Ctr and back towards home.

I went back into my Mizuno's tonight and more or less decided I may go back to them now and park the Adidas. I've got a new pair of Mizuno's ready to go so going to consider breaking them in this week and then decide are they for DCM.

Slight step back now for the HM but will look forward to another 20 miler soon.. :D Just happy to be healthy and running and everyday getting a day closer to the start line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

5th September - 11th September
    Monday - 6 miles w/ 5 x half miles @ HMP
    Tuesday - Rest
    Wednesday - 9 miles w/ 6 miles @ MP
    Thursday - 3 miles easy
    Friday - 14 miles easy
    Saturday - Rest
    Sunday - 6 miles w/ 8 x 400 @ 10kP

Went to the physio on Monday about my calf - she couldn't find anything wrong with it and told me there was nothing to worry about. I was happy, but my wallet was not. Went off and did the session as planned after and it went well.

I moved things around this week to allow me to do the MP session on Wednesday, as it was due to be a very warm day on Thursday when I normally do it. In the end, the forecast changed its mind and decided it was Wednesday that was getting the high temperatures, but it was too late to move the run back again as I had made plans. Oh well. It went fine anyway.

Standard recovery run on Thursday. Can't even remember it.

Decided to stick to the usual MP run/recovery run/long run pattern and do my 14 miles after work on Friday. What a disaster. Nearly stopped to walk four miles in, thinking there was no way I was going to manage another 10, never mind run a marathon in a couple of weeks. In hindsight, all my struggles were mental, because there was absolutely nothing wrong with me physically. Got it done in the end anyway, whinging and moaning for the duration.

Took a rest day Saturday and went out on Sunday to do a few easy miles. Ended up doing the session I had planned for tonight instead. Probably for the best, as I have to do a bit of run-commuting this evening on a route that doesn't lend itself to faster running.

38 miles for the week. It doesn't feel like I'm tapering yet, as the sessions and general mileage last week weren't a whole lot different to what I've been doing all along.

Mostly easy running this week with only 28 miles to do over four runs, so I'm sure I'll notice the difference.

Two weeks to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

CFR: What an amazing time. I am in awe. Well done! +1 to the beer recco! As with JackieChan, what longer distances are you still hoping to cover before the big day? Loving the race-report, and a timely reminder to talk about pacers a little.
    You mean long runs or distance per week? I haven't my plan in front of me but usually two long workouts every week over 20km with my long slow runs on Sundays where I've a couple of 20 miles to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

The Muppet wrote: »
    Hows everyone after the lsr. The soles of my feet are a little sore , thats new to me .apart from that I'm good . Hope to get the revovery run in later.

This is a good tip for everyone but especially you T, put a bottle of water in the freezer (keep it there permanently between now and DCM!) and roll it under your feet after a long run, can be used under achilles too... You can do it on bare feet but use common sense and don't leave you foot on for too long, switch feet, stop for a while and start again.

Thanks AM . I Gave the feet a good long soaking last night and rubbed some massage oil into them and they are grand this morning. I'll stick a coke bottle in the freezer for next time .

The Muppet: Splendid work ticking off that 20-miler. I am officially removing you from the 'worry' list? You seem to have well moved on from the FD10? Good stuff!

So it wasn't only me that was worried after my major blip in the Frank Duffy.

TBH that caused serious doubts in my own head but I said i'd give it until after the half before making any major decisions. I feel I'm back on track now and the blip has made me re focus on why i'm running a marathon and what I want to get out of it on the day. I'm sure we'll be talking about that here nearer the day, For now my confidence is back and I feel I'm in decent shape again.

I see we have quite a few in the sick bay like I was a few weeks ago, My advice would be to stay positive. Do what you can without pushing yourself too hard and listen to the body. It's all part of the training cycle a few weeks can make a big difference if you look after injuries and illness properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Week 12!

I would imagine there's some tired legs out there after all the long runs this weekend. Make sure to use your rest days properly, and do be strong when there's, for example, a fun five-a-side game being planned, or an evening out which you know will cause havoc... ('nuff said). :rolleyes:

I hope we'll get good news from the sick-bay this week. Keep in mind some of the common-sense rules (which apply to all!)
    • Take an extra day's rest when in doubt. Don't force your way back, it will guaranteed come back to bite you.
    • If you've had to miss a day due to niggles, tiredness, travel, work, write it off. Don't try and squeeze it in at a later stage or carry it over the week after.
    • If you need to re-balance your week, make sure to keep the LSR-non LSR ratio of mileage to be roughly 50-50.

You'll be delighted to hear that this week is a "step-back week", although, there's some serious mileage to be covered all the same. ;)

The mid-week mileage of HHN1 is creeping up, but the long run will be a gentle 12M stroll. The Boards plan has a particularly challenging mid-week run of 11M (9@PMP), and a 16M LSR. This week's LSR reports revealed a lot of good runs and some more challenging ones. Remember, the challenging ones are the ones that really matter in the end - there'll always be a run or two where it just doesn't click and you'll struggle. It's how you deal with it is what matters. The 11M (9@PMP) run brings back memories, I ran it with a ultra-running colleague who smoothly ran through the soaring heat (we were travelling for work) and I suffered big-time from the first step. When the PMP miles were done I dropped back to LSR pace in an instant, I still recall the surprised look at my colleague's face. Don't loose heart when you have a bad day, all miles count, especially those who are hard to come by.

HHN1: 4M, 8M, 5M, 12M LSR
    Boards 6M, 11M (9@PMP), 3M [rec], 16M

As always, try and run a couple of recovery miles the day after the long run - but feel free to drop this too, and follow some of Firedance's excellent feet-drain or freeze recommendations instead. :eek:

Thoughts turn to the Race Series Half Marathon, Saturday Sept 24th, 10am in Phoenix Park. As with all the races, this is an excellent (and probably last!) opportunity to perfect your race-day routine.

Have you ever ran with a pacer (see CFR's report from Athlone)? There will be pacers for 1h30, 1h40, 1h50, and 2h for the HM. There will be more pace-groups for the full: every 10min slot from 3h to 5h. Pacers are a super resource on the day, they will try and run an even pace throughout, and aim for about 30 seconds under their allotted time.

Quite a few of the pacers of the HM and DCM are on boards, so I have reached out to 3 of them to pop in this week and answer any questions you might have about running with pacers. MarthaStew, who'll pace both HM and DCM and guided me and many others close to a 4h finish last year; PaulieC, experienced pacer, also on duty both days this year; and TFBubendorfer, ultra-runner for Austria with a blog full of race reports (including DCM!) which are excellent reading material.

So, if you have a query or two, post them here, I'll summarize it towards the end of the week, and hopefully we'll get some insights from the experts.

Good luck this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Decided to run the course from mile 10 to 26 for my 16 mile LSR. I'm a broken woman.

Hi Extrasupervery, Your LSR update reminds me so much of my 17m run the week before last. I ran a big chunk on the DCM course and had a rough time too. I think personally I got the nutrition all wrong and probably got a bit dehydrated. I had some water with me but I think not enough. On the day we won't have to worry about water and isotonic drinks as they will be available on the course so I think that will help us alot. Also I think running on footpaths which dip up and down for driveways takes a good bit extra out of me. I found this particularly tough up the Crumlin road and on the Kimmage Rd. We'll be in the middle of the road of race day. Regarding knowing the route we'll just be playing follow-the-leader on race day so hopefully we won't have to stress about that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

My hip is still sore, I've given away my Grant Thornton number :(
    I'm a bit worried - my physio and Dr. Google both said I'd be better by now. I took the weekend off completely, no cross training or even dog walking in order to completely rest it (they're greyhounds so they were happy to rest too!)
    I'm trying not to panic before my next appointment on Wednesday - its 5 days since my last run and I can feel fitness dropping by the minute.

Has anyone suffered with hip bursitis before who can re-assure me and advise how long it took for them to heal?! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

kittyclaws wrote: »
    I'm a bit worried - my physio and Dr. Google both said I'd be better by now. I took the weekend off completely, no cross training or even dog walking in order to completely rest it (they're greyhounds so they were happy to rest too!)
    I'm trying not to panic before my next appointment on Wednesday - its 5 days since my last run and I can feel fitness dropping by the minute.

Has anyone suffered with hip bursitis before who can re-assure me and advise how long it took for them to heal?! :(

I am struggling with it too Kitty, although mine is in the knee. Unfortunately, I don't have any answer yet myself as I tested the waters yesterday after resting for 4-5 days but it still isn't ready.

My physio gave me the all clear to go back running last Tuesday with it, felt fine on the run, next day I couldn't walk, the knee had locked up. I rested and iced until Sunday, done plenty of foam rolling and stretching. My knee felt good on Sunday so I decided to try a nice slow run, felt completely comfortable on the run, then at about 10 miles, the knee just suddenly locked up on me and I couldn't run anymore.

It's still quite sore today so I guess I am back to resting and seeing how it feels again in a few days. Very frustrating especially after been given the all clear to go back running but I was happy that the run felt very comfortable after very little running for two weeks.

My thoughts on it are, it is quite frustrating to have to stop training for the moment but as long as it is ok by next week and I can go back then, I think I should be ok on the day of the marathon, I am just going to end up running it at a much slower speed than what I had thought and I am ok with that as long as I can make the starting line.

I think I am going to have to give the half a miss, if I am feeling better soon, it might make more sense to do an LSR that weekend for myself.

This week, I have done only 15 miles in total, Tues was 5 miles and Sunday was 10. Last week, I just missed the LSR. I have missed the last two LSR's which is what has me worried the most, not overly concerned with the mid week runs!

Have you ever ran with a pacer (see CFR's report from Athlone)? There will be pacers for 1h30, 1h40, 1h50, and 2h for the HM. There will be more pace-groups for the full: every 10min slot from 3h to 5h. Pacers are a super resource on the day, they will try and run an even pace throughout, and aim for about 30 seconds under their allotted time.
    Just on that, having never ran with a pacer before I found running with them very relaxing. I didn't have to keep checking my watch and adjusting my pace to suit. I never got isolated either which happens to me quite a lot in races so I had a few "wind breakers" always around me. Although it wasn't very windy but every little helps. They kept checking if we were ok and warned us about pot holes and where there was a bit of a climb etc. With just over 5km to go I was comfortable to up my pace and left the group. But I waited at the finish line to thank my pacer and noticed he stuck with the lads who were struggling a little towards the finish and brought them in with a few seconds or so to spare.

kittyclaws wrote: »

I know the frustration of not been able to run. I won't give you any advice on your injury but what I will say is the day you think you are ready to go back running. Take one more day off. It will be worth more to you in the long run. I think we've all gone through that where you think your loosing fittness but it's amazing how little fittness you actually loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

tony1980 wrote: »
    I am struggling with it too Kitty, although mine is in the knee. Unfortunately, I don't have any answer yet myself as I tested the waters yesterday after resting for 4-5 days but it still isn't ready.

My physio gave me the all clear to go back running last Tuesday with it, felt fine on the run, next day I couldn't walk, the knee had locked up. I rested and iced until Sunday, done plenty of foam rolling and stretching. My knee felt good on Sunday so I decided to try a nice slow run, felt completely comfortable on the run, then at about 10 miles, the knee just suddenly locked up on me and I couldn't run anymore.
    I know the frustration of not been able to run. I won't give you any advice on your injury but what I will say is the day you think you are ready to go back running. Take one more day off. It will be worth more to you in the long run. I think we've all gone through that where you think your loosing fittness but it's amazing how little fittness you actually loose.

Thanks for your replies. My physio said to go for a test run tomorrow but I'm going to wait until the pain is gone, I've just emailed her for advise, she seemed convinced I'd be better by now. If I thought I'd be better in a week's time I'd happily take this week off too - I am not at all bothered about missing the half, if I am doing it it will be at LSR pace. I had to take 3 weeks off last year and it only took 3 runs to get my fitness back, so I can afford to loose out on a little bit of training, it's just awful to see all the empty squares beside my name on the spreadsheet! :eek:
    Tony1980 are you taking anti-inflammatories as well? I was taking Neuroen plus but I think I'll go get a prescription for something stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

The Muppet wrote:

Glad you say this... I have the same. I felt like putting my feet in cold water when I finished running... Today I am fine though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

I normally do my LSR on a Saturday but Sunday worked out better this weekend, or so I thought. I read a few pages back that we're to have fun with LSR but I'm just so intimidated by it this weekend. Gonna change up the route to make it a bit more exciting, I'd rather save the Phoenix Park for HM day as I'm just so sick of it at the mo. I like the idea of running out the full LSR distance and getting the train back but hate the thoughts of being cold waiting for a train cause I'm usually freezing when I stop running. Need to stop procrastinating and get to it...vom.

You could make your end of the race closer to home/car. Last week we did 19 miles from Phoenix park to Phoenix park. We followed the 19 mile route in Rungo.
    As well wear a raincoat around your waist?
    Just a thought