Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Sub 84 in Athlone half today. Very happy with that a nice way to celebrate 2 years running

That's some level to be at after only two years of running, well done! Any chance of a race report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

16m LSR done and dusted. Got sick of the park so changed it up. Started at Ashtown, ventured 4 miles east along the royal canal to beyond Croke Park, then back to Ashtown and 4 miles west to around Clonsilla station. Had some supplies stashed in the bike bag in Ashtown so it worked out nicely - had a glug of lucozade and a chocolatey brioche thing at the half way point, kept me going grand. Didn't bring a gel this time. Previously uncharted territory for me in both directions. Felt good the whole way. Definitely going to explore further west in future - a decidedly leafier and less piss-soaked direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

A Neurotic wrote: »
    16m LSR done and dusted. Got sick of the park so changed it up. Started at Ashtown, ventured 4 miles east along the royal canal to beyond Croke Park, then back to Ashtown and 4 miles west to around Clonsilla station. Had some supplies stashed in the bike bag in Ashtown so it worked out nicely - had a glug of lucozade and a chocolatey brioche thing at the half way point, kept me going grand. Didn't bring a gel this time. Previously uncharted territory for me in both directions. Felt good the whole way. Definitely going to explore further west in future - a decidedly leafier and less piss-soaked direction.

Yep much nicer to head west....goes from path to grass to path to trails but it's lovely and peaceful and quiet :) You could run the full LR distance then jump on a train back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Firedance wrote: »
    Feet up now (remember the leg drain!) And bask in the glory of your awesomeness...:cool:

First thing I did when I stopped!!...unfortunately I didn't want to get up after it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Firedance wrote:
    Yep much nicer to head west....goes from path to grass to path to trails but it's lovely and peaceful and quiet You could run the full LR distance then jump on a train back!

That is such a brilliant and obvious idea I can't believe it didn't occur to me. Nice one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

A Neurotic wrote: »
    That is such a brilliant and obvious idea I can't believe it didn't occur to me. Nice one!

It's why they pay us the big bucks.....:D :D:D I look forward to hearing how it goes if you do it the coming weeks - don't forget your leap card!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Firedance wrote: »
    Wow folks, super reports coming in on your long runs today!! Serious kudos to you all :) I think we're still waiting for Max to get out of bed to do his though :p

Feet up now (remember the leg drain!) And bask in the glory of your awesomeness...:cool:

Massive well done to those in athlone too!!

The cheek! I was done and dusted by 6!

... pm. :D

Any else's legs be roasting to the touch for hours after an LSR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Had a lovely 20 mile LSR this morning. Tired a little near the end but really moved well (for me) throughout.

20.02 miles in 3 hrs 39 @10.50 pace

FITZA wrote: »
    Most of my 'niggles' are in my left leg and I really believe its the country roads, the way they slope away, I'm constantly running on a slightly uneven surface...I've now started running in the middle of the road when I can!!!

That's a distinct possibility, I injured my knee last December and I think it was due to the camber on the footpath I was running on at the time. I google it at the time and Lots of people had blamed this on injuries, The recommendation was to switch from left side to right side of the road and back every few miles to shift the pressure on the knee from one side to the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

18 miles done! Enjoyed it ....and felt amazed that I ran that far. Perfect day weather wise, felt strong at the end. Always end my run back to the car with a hill and even felt good then. My feet are a mess though.... no pain just battered looking. Must give them some tlc.

Great to see all those 20 milers done which we all feared so much all those weeks ago. Hope those of you with injuries can rest and heal asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Got the LSR done again very early this morning. Had company today from a marathon veteran so was good to have someone to chat to, that conversational pace lasted and there were only a few pauses on some steep parts! We just made up the route as we went along and in the end I came home with 21.3M on the clock. We wound our way down to Dun Laoghaire, then around by 40ft and out via Coliemore Harbour and then up Vico Road and across back thru Dalkey and back home via Killiney, Deansgrange, up thru Foxrock and then across to Sandyford Village and down into Dundrum where we split for home at the Taney Luas bridge.

Was a great morning for running, compared to last weeks soaking. Whilst I know we did a lot of hills, it was only when I looked at run stats that I realised how many hills we did. No avoiding them out those parts.

Very odd that on the last 2 x runs I've managed to get skin removed (wife says blisters), with both on outside area of right foot. Not sure what has suddenly caused this as never had the issue before. Same runners and socks for last 150 miles (latter have been washed a few times..:D). I know feet definitely feel like they've "expanded" that little bit more on the longer runs.. maybe runners shrank a little in the rain last Saturday!!:eek:

All said, training is ticking along nicely. Well done everyone else on the runs today. Great to see such distances being put in.

The Muppet wrote: »
    That's a distinct possibility, I injured my knee last December and I think it was due to the camber on the footpath I was running on at the time. I google it at the time and Lots of people had blamed this on injuries, The recommendation was to switch from left side to right side of the road and back every few miles to shift the pressure on the knee from one side to the other.

I mentioned it to a physio once when it was suggested I had an upslip hip as I had googled it too and yes it is a reason for it. I do switch sides regularly and on the even quieter roads I run in the middle, and I do feel better as soon as I get out of the 'gutter' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

I'm also using the Clif bar "Shot bloks" and would recommend them if like me you don't like gels.

+1 I take them too. Dont like the texture of the gels, and these are like jellies

@the muppet.. you can find the shot blocks in RunLogic as well in Temple bar

aceygray wrote:
    Safrongirl, I do have a foam roller, but I rarely use it. Because I hate it. Seriously I don't know how some of you are using it for 15 minutes at a go. It's torture! But I will talk to the physio about it, and see if he recommends any excercises. It would be worth it if it helped.

Aceygray you will be fine in no time!! I cant do 15 mins in a go but whatever time you do it will help. I hate it too! Good luck!!

Did 19 miles today. Very happy. Somehow the alarm didnt go off and I jumped out of the bed and out the door.. got to Phoenix park to do 19 miles of the route. The one in RunGo. Found it tough and tiring but we did it.
    Got EVERY traffic light in red... crossed some in red and while doubting what to do in one, a driver told us to F O. That was really funny.
    I wrongly translated 19 miles into 30k and it is 31k. When it was 30k we decided to stop. Mentally that was it. Phone stopped until a friend said we still had half a mile to go. I gave her a LOOK, and she said... come on lets finish. I didnt think very highly of her at thst time. ;0)))
    We finished and did leg drains. Bliss! I had to get up as i felt i was falling sleep. The definetely work. Thanks Firedance!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

tailgunner wrote: »
    That's some level to be at after only two years of running, well done! Any chance of a race report?

I took Jackie Chan up on his advice last night... But okay I'll give it a go not good at that kind of stuff and normally don't bother. I'll throw it in with my weekly report.

Monday:
    13.5km @ 4:48/km easy run

Tuesday:
    I had 3km easy with 12km @ PMP with 3km cool down but I couldn't get the time so I just did a easy 8.5km @ 4:59/km at 6am

Wednesday:
    13.4km easy run @ 4.47/km

Thursday:
    10.6km very easy @ 5:13km

Friday:
    "Off" but in reality it was worse then any workout. I was up at 5 am for work, had to go to the north on an emergency job. Had some porridge hit the road. Bitch of a day in 30 degree humid heat sweating buckets in a cooker with not enough water. Didn't get a chance to eat all day, home at 12 that night starving, tired, and pissed off.

Saturday:

Up at 7 am my usual pre race breakfast of porridge, banana, bagel, wheatgrass. We hit the road at 8am and arrived shortly after 9. I feel I have to be at a race early to get in the right mind frame. Mental I know but a few of the girls in our club were there at that time for the same reasons. Got my number, chilled for a bit and did a 2km warm up and then the rest of the lads arrived. Did our stretches and strides.

So the race. Went with the 1:25 pacers it felt a bit fast but I was comfortable with the pace. After maybe 5km one pacer  dropped back but I stuck with the faster guy. I had intended to take a gel before the race but didn't until 7km. Not much to report up to that point it was perfect race conditions not too warm, sun in and out behind clouds and only only a light breeze. As we went through the bog and after the half way point I did feel a bit tired but it was very open and warm at this stage. As we turned onto the main road I took my second gel around 12-13km. Bit of a climb here but here but not much I felt really strong again. I guess a second wind. The group with the 1:25 pacer was getting smaller at this point. One of the lads from the club the next town over I was running along with dropped off a bit here. We came to the final water stop at around 15km where the pacer dropped off the pace a bit (he came in at 1:24:49 I think) and I picked it up for 1km. I don't know what happen to me for the next 1.5km but I let by mind drift as I got a bit isolated for the first time in this race and I slowed down a few seconds per kilometre but got together and reverted back to my 5/10km racing strategy where I'd focus on someone 100 meters a head of me and pass them out. Strong finish,  no issues, felt like I could have gave a bit more over the whole race and have a average pace of 3:56/km. But I don't think pushing myself that hard would help in my aim goal as I'm keeping the main thing the main thing so happy with knocking 6 minutes 33 seconds of my pb on the the same course last year. 1:23:56.

I really enjoyed running with a pacer, I never did that before I could switch off and just run. Afterwards I did a few kilometres warm down and a load of stretching.

Sunday:
    I was thinking of doing a few kilometres recovery but my coach said training is going to get much harder in the next few weeks and told take advantage of the rest day.

Hows everyone after the lsr. The soles of my feet are a little sore , thats new to me .apart from that I'm good . Hope to get the revovery run in later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

My achilles feel a little weird, but all good otherwise. Tempted to go out and get the recovery done now, but might leave it a couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I normally do my LSR on a Saturday but Sunday worked out better this weekend, or so I thought. I read a few pages back that we're to have fun with LSR but I'm just so intimidated by it this weekend. Gonna change up the route to make it a bit more exciting, I'd rather save the Phoenix Park for HM day as I'm just so sick of it at the mo. I like the idea of running out the full LSR distance and getting the train back but hate the thoughts of being cold waiting for a train cause I'm usually freezing when I stop running. Need to stop procrastinating and get to it...vom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I've woken up with what I can only describe as a stiff shin. It feels like it's tightening when I move my foot around. It's uncomfortable enough for me to think about skipping my recovery run today.

Never had this before and I didn't feel a thing yesterday other than the usual aching/tiredness in the evening :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Classic21

Quick report from Athlone half
    Arrived early to pick up number and get a few miles in before the race. I ran out the course, getting 5 miles and just back in time to line up at the start. The start is very well organised, everyone is sent to the start according to the pace they expect to run so you should not be in the wrong position at the start. I took a gel before the start and we were soon off. I had lined up a bit behind the 1:35 pacer. I didn’t want to stay with them but I knew they wouldn’t be too far ahead.
    The plan for the day was to run around 7:30 pace. The first three miles were making sure not to get caught up in the rush and go too fast. The pace was comfortable 7:17, 7:26, 7:30. I took on water and a gel at the first station and we were soon heading into the bog. The road surface isn’t the best around the bog but if you have room on the road you can watch your footing. Up to half way I was noticing the heat a bit more but the pace was still on track. 7:27, 7:17, 7:24. I took another gel and water at half way.
    The next couple of miles out to the main road were tough but the pace still was constant. 7:23, 7:31. Out on the main road the surface is nice but I was noticing the warm day more and more. Still kept the pace going, 7:26, 7:24. We turned off the main road before mile 10 and it was time to dig in to keep the pace. My last gel was taken at mile 10 and I poured water over my head and legs to cool down. Mile 11 and 12 were all about getting home but pace was still good 7:17, 7:29.
    The last mile was time to push for home. I ended up with my fasted mile, 7:06. That was very pleasing. Ended up on 1:36:46, quicker than I thought I would get beforehand.

Learnings from the run:
    I kept to the pace I wanted after running 5 miles before the race.
    Nobody passed me from mile 2 on and I kept slowly picking off people on the run.
    The average pace (7:23/mile) is way to quick for a marathon!
    Always wear sun screen, I look like a bit of a lobster today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

kin9pin wrote: »
    I've woken up with what I can only describe as a stiff shin. It feels like it's tightening when I move my foot around. It's uncomfortable enough for me to think about skipping my recovery run today.

Never had this before and I didn't feel a thing yesterday other than the usual aching/tiredness in the evening :(

Getting a bit worried now. I tried taking the dog for a walk and had to turn back. I tried 10 paces jogging and it didn't hurt, but walking does. Seems to hurt more when the leg is straight.
    Currently icing and avoiding google.

kin9pin wrote: »

Hope it's nothing serious kin9pin! After every LSR I wonder what is going to hurt the most the next day, everything seems to take a turn, last week the quads, this week the knee but thankfullly nothing so bad that a rub or ice, elevation and compression doesn't sort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

I've to do 25.7km today. I only managed 21.65km last weekend when I was aiming for 24.2, but I think I've done all I can to improve over the past seven days so here goes nothing lads... this marathon might kill me yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Sub 84 in Athlone half today. Very happy with that a nice way to celebrate 2 years running

Well done... you must be delighted! How did you enjoy the course?

3 mile recovery run completed all in order . That's another week done . The week ahead looks tough enough midweek but a shorter lsr at the weekend .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

ToriV wrote: »
    Well done... you must be delighted! How did you enjoy the course?
    Yeah its a excellent racing course. It's very hilly where I live so nice to get on a flat course. Its a very well organised race too. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of racing a half marathon.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 11, HHN1

Tues: 4.12 mi. Time: 39:476. 9:40 min/mi Avg Pace. Ran after work, have that routine pretty much down by now...just no warm water in the shower at work.
    Weds: 8.06 mi. Time: 1:16:04. 9:26 min/mi Avg Pace. Couple of laps around Blackrock. There's a hill to go up that's about 0.68 of a mile, if I'm reading Google Maps correctly. Again, cold shower. Security guard who doesn't know me was a bit suspicious.
    Thurs: 4.44 mi. Time: 44:02. 9:55 min/mi Avg Pace
    Sat: 16.06 mi. Time: 2:52:31. 10:44. min/mi Avg Pace. I think it was partly the weather, but I knew I'd probably be under 11 for the pace.

Had intended to go out at 8, but my alarm for 6 (porridge time) didn't go off as I didn't set it correctly. Sleep was pretty poor through the week as a whole, I was awake at 3am that night (noise outside) for a few hours. Went out running at 9:10am. A dog chased after me briefly around 4 mile. Went all the way down to Loughshinny harbour this time. Seagulls are larger than you think up close. :eek: Anyway, what goes down must come up - it's about 0.8 of a mile on the return. No harm to have experienced it...it's a daycent hill, I guess, eh? Had a few raisins and nuts around mile 9, no problems in the stomach department. The sun picked up later in the morning. Mile 13 felt a little unpleasant. 14-16 were grand. Furthest I've run, to date. Ran pretty low on water (with one of those zero tablet yolks), so will have to get thinking on that. Didn't use as much when it was raining the other week. Completely forgot to use the gel I had in my belt. :rolleyes: Thought I had the blisters covered correctly, apparently not. :P

Week 10
    Week 9
    Week 8
    Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Ok. Maximus Alexander, Coffee Fulled Runner, I owe you both a debt of thanks. Last week when I was aiming for 25k, I could only manage 21.65k - still my longest ever run at that point, but falling short of my goal was all that mattered to me that day. Today I was supposed to run 25.7k. I aimed for 26k to make it a nice round number. I didn't get my nice round number in the end because I accidentally overshot it and ran 26.01k - which has me fúcking delirious right now. I ran from Malahide to town and back. That's a goal I've had for fúcking months never mind the distance. It was funny at the end, I got to my front door and the running watch said I'd done 25.99km - cue very fast, annoyed pacing up and down in my driveway to get that last .01 in :D I somehow didn't stop recording the GPS until it hit 26.01 but like I said I'll take that any day. Well maybe not on the 30/10/2016 - I won't settle for anything less than 42.195 kilometres on that particular day :o but for today I'm more than thrilled with 26.01km. Maximus Alexander, Coffee Fulled Runner, everyone else who's given me advice thus far towards the marathon - thanks a bunch.