UFC 203: Miocic v Overeem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Overeem via Submission
    Was hoping Reem would win. I liked his change of strategy in recent fights, not punching himself out and being ecomincal with his output. His chin is always going to let him down though, it's not something you can fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TommyRiordan

Dan Hardy & Dc just said That Reem set the RECORD for Heavyweight knockout losses, at TEN losses by KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

CsC-uXgVIAElPF3.jpg

CsDGV87VYAEEhhm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Greg Jackson coaching the killer instinct out of fighters for nearly 10 years now

darced wrote: »
    Best guillotine in mma? lol urijah faber says hello. not even close.

I said his guillotine isn't even close. They are not technical and they were all vs cans at lower weight classes. TAM are known for their GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭weemcd

Overeem has been in some wars and suffered some serious ko's, 17 quickly glancing at Wikipedia. Probably time for him to hang them up. He messed up in post fight, there's a point where Stipe's right hand touches Overeem's arm, if Reem was being genuine I think this is where he mistakenly thought there was a tap. Let's not forget he got his bell rung 5 minutes beforehand and took some nasty shots while he was out. I'll not go too hard on him for that. I think Joe/ufc production team did the right thing giving him the opportunity to look at the tape.

Crazy enough card, a lot to talk about. Werdum surely will be disciplined for kicking out at Tarverdyan, I imagine Cain gets next title shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Overeem via Submission
    If it means anything Overeem was the in the thumbnail for the post fight presser when they posted the link to the livestream earlier in the week, the post fight presser thumbnail curse strikes again! starting to get creeped out with how consistent its been lately

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Overeem via Submission
    Weird card overall. Reem fought kind of weirdly, what was his defence all about.

Also the Punk monstrosity was a let down, I had hope he'd get at least a small but of offence away.

Also the Brown Werdum fight was a bit odd at times. And only just now found out about the after fight shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I missed this today, managed to avoid all spoilers.
    anywhere I can catch a decent replay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Overeem via Submission
    Just after watching, that was a ****ed up main card. What was reem at? Open hands running away?

Werdum v Edmond, is Ed mental?

Jojo I felt bad for she scrambled well to improve only to be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

What a strange card. Hope Werdum gets cut as he assaulted an innocent after the bell. Ed is probably gonna sue the balls off him :PAC: That flying kick was tasty though.

Reem running was weird even when he knew he already hurt stipe but must have been in his head to stay away from him. Very disappointing.

Feel bad for JoJo, couldn't recover.

Mma fighter takes 40 year old gym guy down and submits him. I'm ****ing shocked. Fair play to him for making the walk anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,464 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Mellor wrote: »
    I missed this today, managed to avoid all spoilers.
    anywhere I can catch a decent replay?

MMA core

Miocic via Submission
    I'm going with Miocic to finish the Reem,
    Verdum to decision Browne
    and Gall to submit Punk.

Should have backed it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Athletic commission say that neither Edmund nor Werdum will face sanctions.

Dana may think differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Edmond claiming he won that round against Werdrum. Beautiful work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

martyos121 wrote: »
    That ref looks like a fairly tall dwarf.

So they have that ref available but anytime might mouse fights they stick in big John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

And I want overeem to move to Bellator and evolve into his final form = 285 pound Ubereeeeem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

I'm going with Miocic to finish the Reem,
    Verdum to decision Browne
    and Gall to submit Punk.

Can you give me the lotto numbers for Wednesday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I fell asleep before the Overeem fight, have two questions.

Did they run any promo for 205 before the ME? Or after?

Also, Overeem was claiming he felt Miocic tap early in the fight, did that happen? Ill get around to watching it after work

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I saw no promo at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

I fell asleep before the Overeem fight, have two questions.

Did they run any promo for 205 before the ME? Or after?

Also, Overeem was claiming he felt Miocic tap early in the fight, did that happen? Ill get around to watching it after work

Nope, no chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭bur

Miocic via Submission
    Pity for Overeem, he even knew himself it was a case of survival with how chinny he is, just panics in those situations too. He landed some great shots on Stipe but he's got a concrete block for a head. Guillotine attempt was probably a mistake.

Glad Werdum kicked that weasel..i'd say Browne was even glad he done it, probably wishes he slapped him. Fight should have been stopped in the first round too. That ref is clueless.
    Werdum is so diminished since USADA though. And Browne probably needs to make a decision between Ronda and his MMA career. That camp is a joke.

Punk was hard to watch past the hilarious first exchange. Gall is pretty unlikeable and i found it odd for such an angry young man to be shouting about love and "**** THE HATE"..i blame social media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Yeah I saw a 205 promo but no fighters mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Overeem via Submission
    The fashion Punk lost was the best the UFC could've wished for with it being a demolition and an excellent post-fight interview by Gall. There'll be interest in his next fight whether it's against Sage or not. Sounds odd but probably true that his career has taken a HUGE boost because of this fight more than any normal fight. I'm sure he is very greatful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Watched the Gall v Punk fight there. Exactly as expected, the fact people thought Gall was inexperienced enough to give Punk a chance was bizzare.

Now to figure out what the hell went on with the rest if the card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I don't know what to make of that card at all. Very strange stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Bizarre card. Punk went as expected. Browne is past it. Overeem is as chinny as ever. The phantom tap just didn't happen. Fairly mortifying for Overeem. Hopefully that's the last time we see a post fight interview with someone who has just been ko'd.

Oh and I'm not betting on MMA anymore . Too feckin unpredictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

callaway92 wrote: »
    The fashion Punk lost was the best the UFC could've wished for with it being a demolition and an excellent post-fight interview by Gall. There'll be interest in his next fight whether it's against Sage or not. Sounds odd but probably true that his career has taken a HUGE boost because of this fight more than any normal fight. I'm sure he is very greatful.

Sage's camp (his dad basically) has apparently reached out to the UFC (Dana basically) and said they want the fight against Gall too. Will it happen? I'd say it's nailed on. Sage will have to fight at WW again though.