Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

About to head out for my 27.4k (17m) run....have never run this early in the morning, and I'm in for a serious wetting :( Happy running everyone :) !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Call me weak, but I'm delaying my LSR until 12-ish. Absolutely pouring down at the moment, but it's due to clear.
    FD10 confirmed that I can function early in the rain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

19 mile LSR done.....let's call it character building!!

No shiny "new record" on my Garmin as my watch had a funny turn at just under 16miles....verified with the other lads that we hit 19 though.

Time to head out for a nice brunch now.....good luck running to all!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,647 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

15 miles done. Started off with grade 1 drizzle, then moved to grade 2. Clingy t-shirt after that.

Happy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

tailgunner wrote: »
    These days, I'd be in bed by 10:30 even if I wasn't training for a marathon.

I used to be cool...

Ah all the cool kids are turning in early these days! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Fri 2/9 - Rest.

Sat 3/9 - 19.5 miles approx. including Porterstown parkrun (3.1 miles in 24:39), 16ish miles in 2h35, 0.5 miles shuffle home (not timed).

I set off early for this, planning 10 minute average pace miles on my way around. With barely 1.5 miles covered, the first spots of rain arrived, and it gradually got heavier! I reached the marathon course at about 7.25 miles (of the DCM course, in Castleknock), before turning right and downhill past Mount Sackville schools, and into the Phoenix Park as I continued to follow the course. A group of eight caught up to me here and invited me to tag along, but they were going too fast for me, so I let them off. On the other hand, as I turned left in Chapelizod village to head up towards Ballyfermot, I got there just before a gang of Waterstown Warriors coming from Palmerstown. I was too fast for them; having some company in desperate conditions and not very inspiring surroundings would have been a bonus, but not to be. That said, I reached Kilmainham about five minutes ahead of schedule, turning right at Kilmainham Gaol and then left at the Patriots Inn.

This off DCM course stint took me through Old Kilmainham, up the hill from the Emo garage to St James's Hospital, and on towards the city centre. I only saw one other runner along here; other than that, mostly bemused onlookers either waiting for buses or walking to work.

Bridge Street brought about a return to the DCM course, but this time heading back out. Fast downhill on Bridge Street to the quays, making sure not to go on my snot as I crossed the glassy section of James Joyce Bridge. Uphill through Stoneybatter to NCR was straightforward enough, but I was glad to return to more familiar running territory in the Park, taking my first gel at the back of the azoo. Plenty of runners here too, and I enjoyed having the main road to run along between the monument and the small roundabout near Castleknock Gate. Long drag finally ended after the left turn at Myo's, and the second gel was down the hatch as I passed under the M50 on the way back to Carpenterstown. Comfortable and on schedule, I completed the rest of my pre parkrun 16 miles, arriving at Porterstown some seven minutes before the off.

I kept active in the interim, but I was still getting cold, and was delighted to be on the way again. I deliberately started last, and passed two thirds of the field without feeling under any pressure. That said, the time came as a shock; I didn't check my time once in this stint. Stretching interspersed with hot chocolate and cake was top notch, but even so, it wasn't long before I made my excuses and shuffled home for more stretching and a most welcome bath!

I won't have a chance to get out tomorrow, so for me this is where Week 10 ends. Delighted with how it went, and feeling much more confident about my chances on the day.

Total mileage: 37.25 miles approx.

Well done to all who got their LSRs done in that weather, it's brutal out here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

I survived 19 miles. Delighted:D:D
    Didn't get a great night of sleep, had my first marathon dream! (It went terribly, lost my way a few times, had to be directed back on course through the back door of a pub, don't think I even finished the race).
    Legs don't even feel too horrendous but got chafed in a few places because of the rain, including the soles of my feet, the stinging there is dying down already at least.
    So glad that's done:)

27.8k complete....yyyaaaahhh. Was soaked through by 3k so after that it didn't matter what the weather did, legs felt heavy initially (I think a little tired still from half last weekend) but apart from generally aches and pains all was good, it was quite a hilly route. Took one gel. Being honest kin9pin I would have stayed in the bed and gone later with that crap weather but my OH was running the lakes 10k in Blessington at 11am and I ran to there to link up (take wet gear, etc.) before the start, I deserve a medal for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

My 1sr 17 miles today. 17.15 to be precise. Very tired now.
    When I saw the rain this morning I remember someone on thread mentioned rain can be on the cards for the Marathon so I thought it was the perfect weather. I actually didnt mind it that much.
    We left Dunboyne and went to Phoenix park and back. I realised that the rain jacket is not waterproof and somehow I had leaves or something in my arm when I took it of.
    Unfortunately one of the girls had to come back early and she didnt know the way back. She would not be slow so running with her was some experience (why did I offer). I did try to get rid of her several times telling her the way but she insisted we were together. I was surprised it felt good until 14 mile then...
    In a way happy to be able to go faster than expected but it was more like race pace than LSR. Next week I think it is short run so I will welcome that. Really happy to be able to do the distance so far!

Are your claves crying when you finish?

Happy Saturday! Well done everyone.

Calves, quads, hamstrings, arms, feet, head, glutes, etc. etc. all bawling:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Some major mileage being clocked up this morning!

I've been having a bit of trouble with my calf this week, but it held up okay today and I was very happy to get through my 20 miles unscathed. Physio is booked for Monday just in case.

That was my last proper long run before Berlin. "Only" 14 miles to do next week, and 10 the week after. 10 miles used to be a monster of a run not so long ago!

FITZA wrote: »

One time my face was sore after a long run. My face like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

^^^^some serious kudos to you all for getting those runs done today in the bucketing rain #soproud :)

There's a lovely leg drain thing you can do which will help with recovery, lie on the ground and put your legs up against a tree/wall/couch whatever is handy and just relax for a few minutes, its actually bliss (although maybe not a tree today :p)

FITZA wrote:
    Calves, quads, hamstrings, arms, feet, head, glutes, etc. etc. all bawling

Hahahaha yes I agree! Calves are shouting more at the moment.

In a way delighted you feel the same and it is not only me ;o))

tailgunner wrote:
    One time my face was sore after a long run. My face like.

;oD Used to happen before. Apparently I had the narkiest face when running. All tension. Very sore. Try to smile everynow and then... helped !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Firedance wrote: »
    There's a lovely leg drain thing you can do which will help with recovery, lie on the ground and put your legs up against a tree/wall/couch whatever is handy and just relax for a few minutes, its actually bliss (although maybe not a tree today :p)

That was very relaxing, thanks for the tip!
    What a difference a week makes. After my LSR last Saturday I lay on the beach in the warmth of San Sebastian, with a bit of splashing around in the sea. This week, I was still cold after my shower, so I blowdryed myself all over with the hairdryer. :(

Just tried it there. I'd say there's a good chance I'll be here for the day.

Firedance wrote:
    There's a lovely leg drain thing you can do which will help with recovery, lie on the ground and put your legs up against a tree/wall/couch whatever is handy and just relax for a few minutes, its actually bliss (although maybe not a tree today )

They are brilliant! You can spend hours..
    Thanks.

That was very relaxing, thanks for the tip! What a difference a week makes. After my LSR last Saturday I lay on the beach in the warmth of San Sebastian, with a bit of splashing around in the sea. This week, I was still cold after my shower, so I blowdryed myself all over with the hairdryer.

Hahaha you can't beat San Sebastian, what can I say... but I agree, eventhough I love this country to bits, someone has to turn the hearing on ;oD Just a little bit warmer... please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Monday: Easy 12.5km @4:50/km

Tuesday : Progression Run with 5km easy  4:45/km average , 5km PMP @4:14/km average,  5km tempo 4:08/km average, 10 mile race pace 4:00/km average, warm down. Total 22.7km

Missed my 10mile pace by 1 second but it was 4km uphill constant so not too concerned I could have pulled my pmp back a second or two as well, need to work on my giddiness or it will cost me. Hard workout but I enjoyed it as usual 20 minutes stretching after workouts.

Wednesday: Easy 13.1km @4:52/km

Thursday: Easy 11.7km @5:35/km with the older marathon lads in the club.

Friday: 5×2km @ half marathon pace with one km recovery 30 seconds slower. The first 4 km of the workout after a 3km warm up were a slight down hill. The rest is a constant climb with no massive hills. I'm aiming for 4:00-4:02/km
    3:59
    3:58
    4:31 recovery
    3:57
    4:00
    4:31 recovery
    4:02
    3:57
    4:33 recovery
    4:02
    3:56
    4:29 recovery
    4:04
    4:01
    4:33 recovery
    Then 2km warm down with a good 20 minutes stretching.
    Total workout 20km

Saturday: Rest. I gave away my entry to the Warriors Run would have liked to do it again but I've a half in a fortnight.

Sunday: 27km long slow run with the older lads again @5:14/km as the other lads I run with ran the Warriors Run yesterday.

Total for the week 107km and feeling a lot stronger and fresher then two weeks ago when I hit 109km.

Slight reduction on distance this week with Athlone half marathon around the corner. The biggest change is Fridays session is a few kilometres longer than normal and no long slow run Sunday.

Monday:  Easy run 12.9km @ 4.51/km

Tuesday: Warm up followed by 2 x 2 mile  tempo with 60 seconds off, then 8 x 45 seconds hills with 60 seconds jog recovery between each, another 2 x 2 mile with 60 seconds off recovery and warm down at the end. Total workout 22.1km with a average pace 4.33/km

Wednesday: My legs were a bit heavy after the hills the previous day as I pushed it on a bit but once out baftervav kilometre I was grand  9.5km easy run at 4:53/km

Thursday: 15km @ 4:53/km. It was meant to be 13km but about 200 cows blocking the quite country road so took a detour.

Friday: Warm up of 3km, 7x2km slightly faster then PMP with recovery 1km 30 seconds slower, then just over 3k warm down.
    1-3km @ 4:42/km
    4km 4:12
    5km 4:05
    6km 4:35 R
    7km 4:13
    8km 4:08
    9km 4: 41 R
    10km 4:10
    11km 4:14
    12km 4:35: R
    13km 4:10
    14km 4:10
    15km 4:35 R
    16km 4:08
    17km 4:19
    18km 4:41 R
    19km 4:11
    20km 4:11
    21km 4:35 R
    22km 4:15
    23km 4:11
    24km 4:38 R
    25-27km 5:03/km

I was happy with that workout as it was the longest I ever ran on my own, only for my 17km where I was day dreaming a bit. I took gels to see how they would go down as it's nearly a year since I tried them. I wasn't going to use gels in Athlone but one of my coaches wants me to take them as it will help with my recovery if nothing else. Total workout 27.2km  4:27/k

Saturday: 9.3km @4:55/km easy/recovery

Sunday: rest but might go for a short recovery run.

Total 96.3km this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Well that went well and yes my calves are killing me.

Good few people plodding around the park, one serious speedsters flying around in a group of 5 or 6 who I kept over taking somewhere and then they would come back amd overtake me twice during the loop I was doing of the park.

My splits for the last 3 miles were the quickest too

09:37
    09:45
    09:47

Overall it was 19.07m @ 10:00 per mile.

Oh yeah I only had 1 gel and about 300ml of water during the run but I had to go to the toilet 6 times which seemed a little odd.

Now excuse me while I try this feet against the wall trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

Em, I made a mistake. Please don't kill me. :(

I went a bit off course today and accidentally ran 22 miles.

I'm really sorry!

But! I actually feel better than I did after the 17 miler last week. I went very slowly, and it wasn't as hot as last week. The legs felt pretty good the whole way around, until maybe the last mile or so when my quads started to feel very tight.

I included the second part of the marathon route, and then when I got to Merrion square I ran the first few miles of the route back into the Phoenix park. So between this week and last week I've covered the whole route now :D

I did a lot of stretching out after, and got a nice leg rub from the other half. Overall I feel pretty ok, except for some chafing on my legs where the cuff of my shorts was rubbing.

I'm driving down to Kerry for a few days tomorrow, so I'll probably skip the recovery run. I have my running gear packed, so the plan is to get a few short runs in.

Next week I think I'll stick to more familiar roads for the 20 miler.

Btw, I'm actually starting to like the taste of gels. What's wrong with me?!

aceygray wrote: »

I'm really sorry!

But! I actually feel better than I did after the 17 miler last week. I went very slowly, and it wasn't as hot as last week. The legs felt pretty good the whole way around, until maybe the last mile or so when my quads started to feel very tight.

I included the second part of the marathon route, and then when I got to Merrion square I ran the first few miles of the route back into the Phoenix park. So between this week and last week I've covered the whole route now :D

I did a lot of stretching out after, and got a nice leg rub from the other half. Overall I feel pretty ok, except for some chafing on my legs where the cuff of my shorts was rubbing.

I'm driving down to Kerry for a few days tomorrow, so I'll probably skip the recovery run. I have my running gear packed, so the plan is to get a few short runs in.

Next week I think I'll stick to more familiar roads for the 20 miler.

Btw, I'm actually starting to like the taste of gels. What's wrong with me?!

No ones gonna kill anyone :pac: firstly, well done, that's some run to have under your belt (that doesn't mean you should all try it though!!)

What were you supposed to run acey? I'd consider swapping next weeks run for whatever you were supposed to do today, I'd also try and do a mile or two tomorrow at dead slow pace (barely above a walk) it will help aid recovery, if you can't that's fine but if you have 20 mins before you get in the car or better still after the drive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Also I remember reading here about belts. Personally I hate them and I was considering wearing my ronhill cargo shorts but I find them a bit long for racing and can only hold two or so gels. Just my chance I was in a local outdoors shop and spotted north face flight series shorts on sale. You can get them on Amazon too. They can hold up to 7 gels very comfortably and a little zipper pocket for keys etc. Not quite as short as my usual racing shorts but still a nice fit all the same. It pissed rain on Fridays run no issue with chaffing and dried quickly so I'd definitely recommend them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

What were you supposed to run acey? I'd consider swapping next weeks run for whatever you were supposed to do today, I'd also try and do a mile or two tomorrow at dead slow pace (barely above a walk) it will help aid recovery, if you can't that's fine but if you have 20 mins before you get in the car or better still after the drive....

I was supposed to do 19 miles. So I should do just 19 next week?

And I'll try and get a short run in tomorrow after we arrive. Just hope I don't make any wrong turns :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Just after watching that video of the course - must be just me but it looks awful long !!!

Will you be running with people all the time or does it ever filter out ? Just listening to him saying be careful of this part and that part - can just picture people falling if you cant really see where your running ?

Most people I ran with was in the RnR but it wasnt packed at any stage and easy to move around people ( not that I ever pass anyone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Classic21 wrote: »
    "stay away from the booze", let's not go crazy here. I didn't sign up for this!!
    I wouldnt be much of a drinker but that's exactly how I feel when they say mad stuff like "be in bed by 10:30." That's a typo, right? He meant 1:30.

Lads! Don't make me switch on my "talking to my 9yo"-voice! :)
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    He's serious bed by 10.30 and a technology ban too !!!
    ToriV wrote: »
    Ah all the cool kids are turning in early these days! 😀

Thank you, Mrs Mc and ToriV. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,647 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Didn't get a great night of sleep, had my first marathon dream! (It went terribly, lost my way a few times, had to be directed back on course through the back door of a pub, don't think I even finished the race).

Did you dream about nop?

I mean, er...sorry, wrong thread. :pac:

And I'll try and get a short run in tomorrow after we arrive. Just hope I don't make any wrong turns :P

go out the door, run 1 mile, turn around and run back :p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

The Muppet wrote: »
    19.2 mile LSR in the bag.
    19 mile LSR done.....let's call it character building!!
    15 miles done. Started off with grade 1 drizzle, then moved to grade 2. Clingy t-shirt after that.

Happy. :)
    Sat 3/9 - 19.5 miles approx.
    I survived 19 miles. Delighted:D:D
    27.8k complete...
    kabuxa wrote: »
    My 1sr 17 miles today. 17.15 to be precise. Very tired now.

RasTa wrote: »
    Overall it was 19.07m @ 10:00 per mile.

In my best American accent: You guys totally rock! :) Seriously well done.

@AceyGray - I'll have a look at the plan and consult the resident plan expert what to do next week.