Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Its been 3 days - who has the Lemon??

The taxidermist if I'm not careful!!!

Friday: plan called for 7 easy miles, I was to finish up in London early on Friday and fly into Dublin to meet my young lad and Dad to fly to the Manchester for the Stoke v Man City on Saturday. Didn't finish on time and had to get the train up to Stoke. Got a rushed 7 miles done along Sir Stanley Matthews Way @ 8.26. I'm also trying to manage a painful foot niggle (on top of everything else), this really concerned me as it was this niggle that ultimately led to a stress fracture and been out for months in 2014. This time I know how to manage it and am having it looked at on Monday.

Saturday: plan called for 4 miles recovery. I kept waking up durning the night alternating between roasting and freezing while slowly turning the bed into a water attraction! Felt crap before the match and the result didn't help, drove down to Galway last night but was so bad I stayed in my parents house rather than drive home. I also seem to have pinched or somehow strained a muscle in my back!! No run. Today I was supposed to do a 18 mile LR but again feeling terrible and have a serious toothache to add to the litany of crap I'm dealing with. (Walter Mitty couldn't make this stuff up).

Was really looking forward to this as I badly need to get a long run done, although I must have been doing them wrong coz Tailgunner was "bored" on his LR today wondering which hand to hold his Lukozade in! I've usually more pressing concerns like which part of my body is hanging off now and not to stray too far from the nearest defibrillator :) I'll have to put those joys aside for another day, no run.

If anyone needs an excuse for poor performance just read this log and you'll find something appropriate! I've a massage booked for early tomorrow morning and hopefully the OAP express will be back on the road tomorrow unlike Toyboy who had some serious misfortune yesterday. (Best of luck with the recovery)

What started off as looking like banking a 3rd decent week ended up with a poor 40.5 miles.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Sure my long runs are slower than your nursing home specials. Of course I was bored!

Hope you're back on the road soon.

Today: as my wife says I'm all excuses and no action so I won't go into a Victor Mildrew like moan about the state I was in today :)

Plan called for 2 mile wu/cd with 4 miles at HMP.

Got an early morning massage that hopefully has the foot niggle on the mend but she didn't have time to finish the back and it's still sore, and the knee ...

Anyway I dashed over to the pitches in Dangan at lunch time and started on the warm up. Place was quite busy with lunch time runners out getting their fix! A loop of the two big GAA pitches is half a mile so after the warm up I decide to do 8 loops to get the HMP miles done.

On the first corner I almost did a pirouette, the ground was so slippy so I had to do at least 50% of this run on the grass. Found this a bit tough and I'm hoping it's because I'm still not 100% rather than coz I'm just a clapped out auld lad! Important week for me this week as I'm probably long hauling it next week. Anyway the freight train is back on the track and I need to see less talk and more action over the next few weeks!

HMP splits:

TbL

Today: plan called for 7 miles easy.

Was flying to London later in the day so needed to get up early to ensure I'd get this one done. I've become very bad at getting up early to get the runs out of the way, it sets you up nicely for the day but lately I seem to need more beauty sleep, I'll be napping in the afternoon soon! Got 7 miles easy done @ 7.53 in manky weather.

Was pretty stiff by the time I got to the hotel and the physio told me that all the travelling was contributing to tight muscles and to try a walk or stretching after travel. Feck that walking crap, I hit the gym for 4 recovery miles followed by some stretching.

11 for the day.

Rant of the week: "ladies" that wear those cut away denim shorts 4 sizes too small!!!

Was waiting for my taxi in Gatwick and noticed this woman with the most ridiculously tight blue denim shorts, they were only suitable for a small child. The waistband was under more pressure than Pat Hickeys defence and two vast pasty white melon like orbs of flesh were bursting out from the end! There was definitely more of her arse outside the garment than inside. I would have taken a photo to share but I was afraid if she caught me she'd do physical harm :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

You paint an amazing image:eek:, hope you sleep well tonight and don't have nightmares!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Say you'll be waking up with another dead arm like the one you were on about a few weeks back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

You know you can turn off the camera sounds on your phone so no one realises when you take a sneaky pic :D (for future reference) although as Anne says your description is epic, we all have a mental image of yer wan now (and I'm off to throw out my denim shorts :eek:)

Today: plan called for another 7 miles easy. It was baking in London today but I didn't get a chance to get outside at all. Long day with a very early start meant I couldn't get this done this morning and by the time I drove up from Shannon this evening it was 11.30. Every excuse to not do this run rattled through my brain but as I'm away most of next week and might have an unscheduled rest day or two I decided to suck it up. Pulled into the Ardilaun Hotel got the gear on and got 7 tired miles done in 8.33. Have 14 steady to do tomorrow and I'm not looking forward to that at all!

TbL

Plan today called for 14 miles steady.

Wasn't looking forward to this at all, although I used to love these runs I haven't run that far at that pace in months. That coupled with a "feeling my age" day had me dreading this. Also logistics conspired against me and I ended doing this on an undulating out and back route over Seanadh Pheistin. After a slow "warm up the aul engine" mile things picked up and I was feeling surprisingly good. Turned at mile 7 and realised why, a decent head wind caused the pace to drop. Tired towards the end. The splits were all over the place but I'm blaming the wind and hills!

Happy enough to have that in the bank and if I can stay consistent and injury free this log might see some action :)

14 miles @ 7.32 for the day

TbL

Your log sees any more action C it'll have to go for an STI test!!!

Friday: early morning 5 mile nursing home special to iron out the kinks and niggles

Saturday: plan called for 7 easy miles got 8 miles done in 8.22 but it felt far from easy.

Today: plan called for 2 miles wu/cd with 4 x 1200m @ 10k pace off 2min 15 sec recovery.

Last week I'd spotted a local 5k race advertised for today and after speaking to coach I decided to give this a belt instead. The whole family decided they'd walk/jog/run it as well. Typical kids going back to school and the weather decides to turn tropical. Was very warm as we were heading over to Leitir Mor this morning. Got to the car park to be told that it had been cancelled last week coz of poor numbers!! Bit of a shambles and fairly disappointing. Met some people that had driven over an hour for this and they were seriously pissed. I didn't see any notice of cancellation on any social media, poor form really.

Cracking weather in Costa del Conn today, the kids paddling pool got its first outing of the year. Mrs TbL took the kids to the beach and I headed to Seanadh Pheistin to get my session done. Lovely and warm and after a 3 mile warm up I found a section to do the 1200 metre reps, the out section was slightly more favourable than the back and that was reflected in the splits. Tired on the last one and they were a bit on the fast side but I'll take that. Finished up with 8.5 miles for the day and joined the clan for a swim in the sea. Lovely!

Ended up with 61.5 miles for the week, hopefully I can stay consistent next week as I'm travelling.

1200m splits:

TbL

Today: plan called for recovery miles.

Big test of my mettle/consistency coming up this week as I'm travelling and usually my motivation and miles drop off but I'm gonna try and take the Double D approach to this and get the miles in come what may!

Got 5 nursing home special miles done early this morning, no watch but it was nice and handy.

Had to come up to the big schmook this afternoon and I'm flying outta Dublin tomorrow, so staying at a hotel near Santry. Rather than stuff my face with room service I decided to use the park across the road to get some more easy miles done. Park was fairly busy and a squad car crawled up the road behind me for a couple of hundred metres towards the entrance. Thought it might have been Tang looking to see how real men train for a marathon :)

Got 5.5 miles done @ 8.57.

10.5 for the day, happy with that but let's see what the rest of the week brings...

TbL

No they heard there was a wide load after getting into the park, your arse!!

They don't let bogger cops in the big smoke! Oh, wait.....

Firedance wrote: »
    They don't let bogger cops in the big smoke! Oh, wait.....

Won't even dignify that with a response!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Won't even dignify that with a response!!!

I hate to point out the obvious..... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That park is called Ososlo Park.

Today: plan called for easy miles.

Was travelling to San Fran today so got up about 6am to get some miles in. Didn't fancy running loops of the Bogger Plaza (formerly known as Ososlo Park) so I ran up to and out past the airport. Lovely morning for a run and I got 7 miles done @ 7.57.

Plane was late taking off as we had to return to the gate coz apparently there was something wrong with the planes flaps, I think Tang periodically suffers from something similar :)

I'm staying in a nice hotel, The Palace, that was established in 1875 and was San Frans first luxury hotel and the largest in the world. By the time I got to the hotel I was wrecked and the eyeballs were popping outta my head Marty Feldman style. Was also fairly stiff so I decided to go for a short jog, got some Irish style directions that eventually had me running along the waterfront wharfs overlooking Alcatraz out in the Bay. The place was packed and the pace was slow enough at just over 9 minute miles. Got 6.5 miles done.

I'll need to find another place to run tomorrow as I've a 14 mile run to do and my head would be melted trying to do it through those crowds.

13.5 miles for the day

TbL

No photo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Its a bit away from San Fran itself but on the offchance you have an afternoon to yourself - there are incredible trails around Stanford to run ....Caltrain will take you out that direction

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Marin headlands if you fancy some hill running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Are you planning on lining up with the "elites" again on Oct 1st??
    I'm debating if I should race it, do it as part of long run, or not bother at all.
    I'm sure there'll be a few tri guys lined up for you to look up to :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Was also fairly stiff so I decided to go for a short jog, got some Irish style directions that eventually had me running along the waterfront wharfs overlooking Alcatraz out in the Bay. The place was packed and the pace was slow enough at just over 9 minute miles. Got 6.5 miles done.

I'll need to find another place to run tomorrow as I've a 14 mile run to do and my head would be melted trying to do it through those crowds.

It's nice to run along there in the early morning (which may suit the jetlag), it's pretty busy with runners, skaters, etc. but not full of tourists at that time!

Here's a 13 mile run I did out to the Golden Gate bridge earlier in the year (I didn't cross it though, it was very dark and I had no idea where I was and how to get up to it :) ) and including a small nose around Fisherman's Wharf: https://www.strava.com/activities/499634023

Today: the plan called for 14 miles (6/5/3) at easy, steady & Marathon pace. Had an early start and the lad I'm with wanted to eat breakfast in Starbucks, the hotel was serving breakfast in a room with a beautiful domed atrium so I let him off and had a chilled out breakfast. Was wrecked all day but I finished work early however I hadn't a clue where to do this. Ended up getting a taxi to Golden Gate Park and running loops around that, loops were approximately 10k so it wasn't to monotonous and the scenery was nice. There was a couple of sneaky drags and a bit of wind to contend with.

I managed 14 steady last week over the hills of Connemara handy enough @ 7.33 average so this should have been ok. Should have, but I made a complete balls of it and ended up pulling the plug. I didn't manage the steady pace at all and thought I was bullet proof running 7.15 miles up inclines but I was brought back to earth with a bang. The PMP 3 miles were a disaster, and the pace dropped quicker that Donald Trumps approval ratings. Wanted to stop at mile 12 but forced myself to get to mile 13. Terrible, terrible session.

Two taxis refused to take me as I was sweating bullets and I ended up on the bus!!
    The number of disadvantaged/homeless people in SF is staggering and there was plenty of them on the bus and my aroma wasn't entirely out of place!! Piss poor session and maybe I need to adopt Wild Garlics approach of succeed in San Seb or retire to other les strenuous auld Bogger pursuits.

13 disappointing miles for the day.

8.28, 8.22, 8.13, 8.36 ,8.54, 8.48
    7.13, 7.36, 7.19, 7.08, 7.13
    7.19 & 7.40

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Why would someone want to go to Starbucks for breakfast?

Do you ever look at Strava local for running routes?

https://www.strava.com/local/us/san-francisco/running/routes

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Are you planning on lining up with the "elites" again on Oct 1st??
    I'm debating if I should race it, do it as part of long run, or not bother at all.
    I'm sure there'll be a few tri guys lined up for you to look up to :D:D

Don't think I'll be doing it this year Marty as thanks to Toyboy Tang I'll be doing the 3/4 marathon the following week.
    adrian522 wrote: »
    Why would someone want to go to Starbucks for breakfast?

Do you ever look at Strava local for running routes?

https://www.strava.com/local/us/san-francisco/running/routes

Don't use Strava at all Adrian, although your not the first person to suggest it!

Today: plan called for 7 miles easy.

I got an overnight flight from San Fran to San Jose, in Costa Rica, via El Salvador. Staying in a hotel on the outskirts of San Jose, the weather isn't great, heavy thunderstorms and besides there is no place nearby that's safe to run outside. San Jose is a bit of a dump and I'd like to be able to stay a few extra days coz the rest of Costa Rica is supposed to be stunning

Was very tired and didn't like the thought of 7 miles on the treadmill so I decided to try and do it over two runs. Checked into the hotel and went straight to the gym, got 5 tired recovery miles done all the while mulling over yesterday's poor session, I know (think/hope) I'm better than yesterday's session would suggest but I gotta start delivering rather than talking about it!!

Hit the pool and hot tub in the lashing rain in between meetings.

Went to the gym again later in the evening and got another 5 miles very easy done to try and ease out the travel related stiffness and burn off enough calories for the surf and turf dinner! This run felt a lot easier than the earlier one.

10 very easy miles for the day.

Thanks for all the route suggestions in San Fran, I should flag up my future travel here to get some decent route pointers :)

TbL

Plan today called for 2 mile wu/cd with 4 x 1200m off 2min 15sec recovery. Woke up mad early with the sun streaming in the window so I headed for the gym to get this done. I was joined by a colleague who years ago ran 48 seconds for 400 metres and got to the final of the Spanish Championships. He gave it up and has a fair bit of weight on, only does some gentle jogging these days and I doubt he'd break 75 seconds now!

I did the same session last weekend and managed it ok but once again I capitulated and couldn't complete the session. Twas hot, hate the treadmill, I was tired, yada yada yada...all bullst1t and no balls!

Did 3 miles easy and then put a slight incline on the treadmill set the speed at 15.7kph and started. Was struggling but not dying so kept going at the same speed for the second rep, however I couldn't keep that pace up so dropped to 15.5kph for the 3rd rep. Was knackered at this stage, couldn't finish the last rep and only got 800m done at 15.5kph.

Slinked out to the pool and hot tub to join my rotund colleague while the sun was still shining. Was interesting to hear how he approached training and why he gave it up completely. I might be failing but at least I'm the lightest I've been in two years and hopefully I'll see some benefit from that shortly!

The weather here is very changeable and it wasn't long before there was torrential rain.

6.5 miles for the day

TbL

It takes me a month to recover from a long haul flight properly, I always think you're too hard on yourself when you're traveling. I'm sure the sessions could be cut a bit the weeks you're sway on long haul?

at least I'm the lightest I've been in two years

What native Costa Rican tobacco were you smoking when you came up with this assumption.........