Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Dennehy-the greatest actor of our time?

• 03-09-2016 12:40am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭

Every video in my local Xtravision from 1982 until sometime in the mid '90s starred Brian Dennehy.

There's RTE churning him out again.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Been a while since I heard that name.

Always played the bad guy from what I remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Every video in my local Xtravision from 1982 until sometime in the mid '90s starred Brian Dennehy.

He played Wayne gasey (spelling) that mad American clown serial killer. He was pretty good in that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I do miss Xtravision, was great out when you were younger, skipping mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

mzungu wrote: »
    Been a while since I heard that name.

Always played the bad guy from what I remember.

I always remember him playing gruff but lovable semi-alcoholic cops.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

He's no Otm Shank.

Limited actor, limited range, not bad at the hammy stuff.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

And he moonlighted on RTE as Derek Davis !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,676 ✭✭✭buried

He really had the head of the small town 1980's generic Garda Sergeant what likes the pints

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Can only really remember him in some film think it was called river rat were he plays the bad guy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

He was the King of made for TV movies, although I really liked To Catch a Killer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭seenitall

Ah the eighties...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Love Brian Dennehy!!!

First Blood
    Gorky Park
    Silverado
    F/X
    Best Seller
    Presumed Innocent
    Gladiator
    Assault On Precinct 13
    Righteous Kill

Very under-rated actor, in my opinion.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Love Brian Dennehy!!!

One thing he was , is ubiquitous.

But under-rated, no.

Love Brian Dennehy!!!

First Blood
    Gorky Park
    Silverado
    F/X
    Best Seller
    Presumed Innocent
    Gladiator
    Assault On Precinct 13
    Righteous Kill

$hit, that's right he was in 'Assault on Precinct 13' Thanks for the reminder. I'm going to watch that tomorrow. The soundtrack is class

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭Aimeee

Was he in Cocoon?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I love him...went to see him in Killarney few years ago when he was in "The Field" only because "I definitely would"him....😛

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Aimeee wrote: »
    Was he in Cocoon?

He was indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Colser wrote: »
    I love him...went to see him in Killarney few years ago when he was in "The Field" only because "I definitely would"him....😛

Was it not a bit strange to have an American actor playing The Bull, giving out about 'the Yank' coming and stealing his field :)

Colser wrote: »
    "I definitely would"him....😛

Really?? Jeepers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You always knew a film was going to be some crap by the numbers made for TV gloop your Mammy would like if Brian Dennehy was in it. Mammies loved him, the smug smiley silver haired bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

maudgonner wrote: »
    Was it not a bit strange to have an American actor playing The Bull, giving out about 'the Yank' coming and stealing his field :)
    He beat his own face off a cardboard rock on stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I've always had a "thing" for him so he could have been playing anybody and I was going....didn't think it was his best performance and he was a bit crocked but still I would...ðŸ˜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

seenitall wrote: »
    One thing he was , is ubiquitous.

But under-rated, no.

He's often written off as just another TV actor in a load of sh*te films (which isn't true!) so I'd say he is definitely under-rated ........... in fact, even some of his made-for-TV movies were quite good!

You got to give the man credit for wanting to get involved in films back in the day such as 'Assault on precinct 13' and 'First Blood' He knew what was what entertainment wise. Modern day hollywood producers can't even come up with ideas and stories like those pinnacles of great entertainment. They just want to re-hash them.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Love Brian Dennehy!!!

First Blood
    Gorky Park
    Silverado
    F/X
    Best Seller
    Presumed Innocent
    Gladiator
    Assault On Precinct 13
    Righteous Kill

Shame on you.

You forgot F/X2 :The Deadly Art of Illusion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Love Brian Dennehy!!!

First Blood
    Gorky Park
    Silverado
    F/X
    Best Seller
    Presumed Innocent
    Gladiator
    Assault On Precinct 13
    Righteous Kill

Gladiator? I'm pretty sure the character your're thinking of was played by the late Oliver Reid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

He's no Otm Shank.
    He's America's answer to Otm Shank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Gladiator? I'm pretty sure the character your're thinking of was played by the late Oliver Reid.

the original gladiator

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I always remember him playing gruff but lovable semi-alcoholic cop.

I always preferred him as the gruff but loveable semi alcoholic lawyer, or private detective, or small town sheriff, or.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Tigger wrote: »

There's yer man from Twin Peaks there.

I always marked Mr Dennehy as a TV movie/odd Hollywood movie actor...not quite good enough for the A list but better than the tosh you see on True Movies.

Looks like Fred Durst's da.