Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭cjpm

What would happen if you made a balls of the spinner settings and spread 6 bags to the acre of 10:10:20 instead of the recommended 3 bags? On ploughed ground that is being reseeded....

Just asking for a friend..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

cjpm wrote: »
    What would happen if you made a balls of the spinner settings and spread 6 bags to the acre of 10:10:20 instead of the recommended 3 bags? On ploughed ground that is being reseeded....

Grass will come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Mooooo wrote: »
    Mower coming here today as well. Will.workout as a very light third cut. Don't like baling too.late as a week of wet and cold could bring growth crashing back here but the recent weather has it all coming at once again, story of the summer. Baling top of silage field as cows have to walk on road to get to that and council are "resurfacing" with chips so will at least keep the cows off it for a few weeks till the school traffic might harden it a bit. Could cut heavier covers but they are closer to parlour and I have lads covering for me at the end of the week so.will use those paddocks for.them

Raining down on top of my mown grass now, balls anyway. Thought it would be tonight before we'd get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭cosatron

Did ye tell the auld lad yet or are you blaming the small granules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭cjpm

cosatron wrote: »
    Did ye tell the auld lad yet or are you blaming the small granules

He'll blow a gasket when he realises that the Fertiliser he bought for 10 acres went out on 5.....

Will have to get the olde lady to break the news while I'm well out of the way

'Twas nice knowing ye all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A person who never made a mistake never made anything.

Go and tell him, he probably did the same thing once himself and not so long ago either.

The worst thing is he will get angry then calm down and adjust the fertiliser rates you have left. The best thing you can do is figure out a way of adjusting them yourself and suggest it to him.

My only wish is that my father was still around to get angry at me:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Did the cows for worms in June. Just did a milk sample and they tested positive again so going again with rabonex and I'll test again in 6 weeks

Anyone else get results lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Did the cows for worms in June. Just did a milk sample and they tested positive again so going again with rabonex and I'll test again in 6 weeks

Anyone else get results lately?

Ya. Small bit showing. Not panicking. We did all milkers at dry off and calving with albendazole. Sorted out fluke and cleaned worms. They should/need to be able to cope with a small parasite challenge. If no symptoms why rush it?

Learn from your mistake. Plenty of lads would recommend the three of 10-10-20 plus another 25-30 of N after a month. The p&k is certainly not going to waste and you have enough N out to keep her lit for the rest of the year. It's not like you left it off out of the spinner driving down the road. Little or none of it is going to be wasted. If the worst of the year goes with it the rest of your year will be handy.

Ya. Small bit showing. Not panicking. We did all milkers at dry off and calving with albendazole. Sorted out fluke and cleaned worms. They should/need to be able to cope with a small parasite challenge. If no symptoms why rush it?

Thinking of holding off for a month then going again at housing. I'm winter milking so a small bit different. Every cow gets done for worms at dry off too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,763 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Is this working off the glanbia test? I spoke with my vet about it last year and he was saying the fact they are being dosed at different times during the year its hard to get an accurate figure of the burden. As all cows are at different stages with some going to be dosed now and others wont be done for a few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    Problems with milk tank again today, its a joke at this stage.

Was a dairymaster you bought wasn't it?

visatorro wrote: »
    Problems with milk tank again today, its a joke at this stage.

Was a dairymaster you bought wasn't it?
    no packo... service man was out, might need new sensors again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

visatorro wrote: »
    no packo... service man was out, might need new sensors again

What sensor, temperatures.
    Have you voltage issues?

What sensor, temperatures.
    Have you voltage issues?
    no, new circuit board went into it last week ,this morning alarm was going off that there was too much difference between the tank temp and the other temp thats on the clock. This happened before and they changed the sensors on it. The tank isnt 2 years old yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

French farmers blockaded Lactalis because they're paying the lowest milk price. I think that it's a family owned company and they told their suppliers that if they went on strike they would cut A quota price...so farmers union stepped in and farmers that don't supply Lactalis blockaded them. It got nasty last week and the cops were called in to stop blockading a roundabout...Min for Ag stepped in resulting in a guaranteed minimum price of 29cpl for the next five months. Not bad.

Freedoms idea of a strike before Xmas may get some positive results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Dawggone wrote: »
    French farmers blockaded Lactalis because they're paying the lowest milk price. I think that it's a family owned company and they told their suppliers that if they went on strike they would cut A quota price...so farmers union stepped in and farmers that don't supply Lactalis blockaded them. It got nasty last week and the cops were called in to stop blockading a roundabout...Min for Ag stepped in resulting in a guaranteed minimum price of 29cpl for the next five months. Not bad.

What was the price dawg? That showed good organisation and more important unity something lacking here

Somewhere between 25 and 26cpl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Trouble is the coffers are a bit low, what with having to stump up Apple's bar bill and all that.

Maybe if we all had "designed in California, made in China" tattooed on our arses like Noonan's Iphone we could show them to the revenue and be let off with a big Irish smile?

kowtow wrote: »
    Trouble is the coffers are a bit low, what with having to stump up Apple's bar bill and all that.

Maybe if we all had "designed in California, made in China" tattooed on our arses like Noonan's Iphone we could show them to the revenue and be let off with a big Irish smile?

Just seen the news on RTE+1.

Noonan covered himself in glory..."it's not a moral issue".........really??

I remember Clinton banging that drum and even Obama, but in the end nothing came of it. Apple will just book the 13odd billion as a loss to US revenue and Joe yankee plumber takes the hit. Funny old world.

I'm a bit taken back that the EU fire the first shots on this.

Apple will just book the 13odd billion as a loss to US revenue and Joe yankee plumber takes the hit. Funny old world.

I'm a bit taken back that the EU fire the first shots on this.

I wonder about them just booking the loss to the US dawg. I saw an article a few years ago that stated Apple had anything up to $100 billion of retained profits basically marooned off shore. They were unwilling to bring it home because of the hosing they would get from the irs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

The whole apple tax thing is funny.

A fella got six years in jail for pretending that the garlic he was bringing in was in fact apple's. Presumably if it was apple's garlic he would of been ok?

no, new circuit board went into it last week ,this morning alarm was going off that there was too much difference between the tank temp and the other temp thats on the clock. This happened before and they changed the sensors on it. The tank isnt 2 years old yet
    Is the tank still under warranty. I think the packo rep needs a good f**king. That's a pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Not sure the unity has been tested here Mooooo..

The dairy farmers have always been the best to turn up for beef blockades and protests. I can't remember a dairy protest that put the unity of dairy farmers to the test. All "gain" that I can remember came from dialogue and lobbying. "The reasonable approach "

I haven't seen the stomach for a radical approach in our representation..

Maybe it's soft touch...soft result...

Is the tank still under warranty. I think the packo rep needs a good f**king. That's a pain
    Its all covered by my bulk tank maintenance fee, but anyone thinking of buying a new tank, packo would be very low on my list

I wonder about them just booking the loss to the US dawg. I saw an article a few years ago that stated Apple had anything up to $100 billion of retained profits basically marooned off shore. They were unwilling to bring it home because of the hosing they would get from the irs.

Pre '14 only?
    Haven't they booked through Ireland since at 12.5%? versus 30% in US? I dunno...

Feckin immoral of Noonan to preach to a nation that took it in the ass for Ltd Company banks to come on prime time news and say it's not a moral issue but an accounting one....did I read somewhere that there's a couple of thousand children that are homeless in Dublin?

You're judged by how you 'serve' the most vulnerable in your society...not by how fat you become as a minister when you get the old snout in the trough.

Its all covered by my bulk tank maintenance fee, but anyone thinking of buying a new tank, packo would be very low on my list
    Looking at getting a tank and our maintenance lad recommended lisccarroll so I rang them and as it's only 4000 litre he said to go with a second hand one as they have a yard of them with all new parts. So it will be interesting to see what price he comes back at. A new one was 16000 plus vat. F**k that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Pre '14 only?
    Haven't they booked through Ireland since at 12.5%? versus 30% in US? I dunno...

Feckin immoral of Noonan to preach to a nation that took it in the ass for Ltd Company banks to come on prime time news and say it's not a moral issue but an accounting one....did I read somewhere that there's a couple of thousand children that are homeless in Dublin?

You're judged by how you 'serve' the most vulnerable in your society...not by how fat you become as a minister when you get the old snout in the trough.
    Noonan was quoted in a few radio sources this evening as saying that the Irish Government views this ruling as the EU attempting to start to dictate taxation policy to its members by the back door, which is outside the EUs remit in any of the treaties agreed upon by Ireland.