Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Trebor176 wrote: »
    I don't think your driving was being criticised. I saw no issue with it anyway. It was more the Octavia and ESPECIALLY the a**ehole in the KIA that the finger was being pointed at, I'd imagine. The taxi had to change lanes to prevent an incident, but the KIA moron wasn't having any of that. What he did was stupid, dangerous and completely and utterly pointless. At that stage, he should have already been in the inside lane, if he was to turn off slightly further up. My two cents anyway!

The usual of 2 cars in wrong lane holding up an entire 3 lane motorway. Resulted in pissing off a Kia driver into driving like a dick.

Easy solution to all this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

shietpilot wrote: »
    Kia messing about on the M50 today... Left brake light was burned out on the Kia but you can see the middle light go on when he decides to brake check the Skoda...

v6rDQje.jpg

something to flag with the Gardai twitter account maybe?
    Reg is very clear, can clearly see him trying to cause an accident on the M50,

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

justshane wrote: »
    Most cars on the roads in Ireland will not have CC.

I'd debate that alot of newer cars will, I have a Dacia which is known as a budget car and even that has cruise control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,831 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Cabaal wrote: »
    I'd debate that alot of newer cars will, I have a Dacia which is known as a budget car and even that has cruise control

I'd say Renaults (Dacia's) are the exception here, as a lot of them seem to have cruise control.

In Ireland CC would be seen as an extra that they could/do charge you for, unless you go higher end of course, but even still, I don't know how many Audi's I've driven in Ireland with no CC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

I have never had a car with CC and I have had new cars every 2/3 years from several manufacturers. My 151 Focus is no exceptions. CC would be rare in Ireland I would judge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

I have never had a car with CC and I have had new cars every 2/3 years from several manufacturers. My 151 Focus is no exceptions. CC would be rare in Ireland I would judge

75% of my cars had CC... 75% of my cars weren't new...

It doesn't need an Einstein's brain to figure out the correlation... /s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

I'm no Einstein but I suspect you're buying imported used higher spec models.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Spotted on the N17 (Sligo-Galway road) at Achonry this morning (Front plate partially covered).

Sligo Metalhead

BronsonTB wrote: »
    Spotted on the N17 (Sligo-Galway road) at Achonry this morning (Front plate partially covered).

looks like he picked up some rubbish ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Ye s true the newer cars will, majority of cars on the roads aren't 15s 16s. Even then it's often an add on like ac, alloy wheels ete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭Vic_08

I'd say Renaults (Dacia's) are the exception here, as a lot of them seem to have cruise control.

In Ireland CC would be seen as an extra that they could/do charge you for, unless you go higher end of course, but even still, I don't know how many Audi's I've driven in Ireland with no CC.

If it's an optional extra then there will be lots of cars bought without.

That's the irony, budget brands will more often have these things as standard so will have them while "luxury" marques who list them as options will be bought for badge and licence plate by gobshytes so will be covered in blanking plates.

If a steering wheel was an optional extra there would be thousands of 162 platers going round with vice grips clamped to the steering column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Vic_08 wrote: »
    If it's an optional extra then there will be lots of cars bought without.

That's the irony, budget brands will more often have these things as standard so will have them while "luxury" marques who list them as options will be bought for badge and licence plate by gobshytes so will be covered in blanking plates.

If a steering wheel was an optional extra there would be thousands of 162 platers going round with vice grips clamped to the steering column.

Case in point, cloth seats in a brand new Golf GTI worth 36k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Caliden wrote: »
    Case in point, cloth seats in a brand new Golf GTI worth 36k

Does it come with a dashcam? Have any video's from it to share?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Kings Inns or bust

A lot don't. The i10 is actually one of the only smaller end that I'm aware has it and although I suspect it's an option on pretty much any class above that (it's not an option on a lot of city cars)

i) You'd need someone to go beyond the normal paddy spec to get it

ii) They'd need to know how to use it and given indicators escape the majority of people cruise control would be like something from another dimension!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

2 in 1 on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭SHINKICKER

2 in 1 on the way home.[/quote]

Looks like a very nice camera that the 402g im thinking of getting one this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,117 ✭✭✭✭neris

eamonnq wrote: »

2 in 1 on the way home.

Wey hey, transland group strike again, I had a video of one of their rigids on the m50 a few months back in the outside lane with his side straps not hooked on and load bulging against the curtain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Id say it's also a case that a lot of Irish drivers dont/wont use cruise control aswell.
    I first had it on my 93 Soarer then got it retro fitted to my 05 Octavia and it was std fit on the Altea Xl and 152 Note thats in the family now. The amount of people i talked to about it and there thoughts were that it was stupid, sure when would i use it. I'd say atleast 80% of my driveing is with CC on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Stealthirl wrote: »
    Id say it's also a case that a lot of Irish drivers dont/wont use cruise control aswell.
    I first had it on my 93 Soarer then got it retro fitted to my 05 Octavia and it was std fit on the Altea Xl and 152 Note thats in the family now. The amount of people i talked to about it and there thoughts were that it was stupid, sure when would i use it. I'd say atleast 80% of my driveing is with CC on

I have CC and I use it literally couple of days a year.

CiniO wrote: »
    It's great on a good straight road with light traffic, elsewhere you find that you're always switching it off because you've ended up behind a slower vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

80 minutes of motorway driving a day here. I'll definitely have it on my next car. F*ck you accelerator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

CiniO wrote: »

I makes much more sense with an auto...
    I have 53 kmh programmed (which gives me 50 kmh according to GPS) - and when I approach a town just switch it on to that speed. Stressless motoring.

I don't like to use it on the motorway though - the traffic is either too boring or too dynamic to depend on the cruise control...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

d31b0y wrote: »
    80 minutes of motorway driving a day here. I'll definitely have it on my next car. F*ck you accelerator.

My right ankle has less range of motion than my left and I'm putting it down to the Dublin-Galway drive.

CC just makes that drive not unenjoyable and less tiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭SuperS54

On the off chance this is still the dashcam thread rather than the cruise control BS discussion, here's a vid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,669 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Adaptive CC for the win lads.
    Super job. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

I already did that and they don't care. It won't look as good on Twitter as doing a 20 year old for speeding 20 km/h over the limit on an empty motorway in perfect weather conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,117 ✭✭✭✭neris

SuperS54 wrote: »
    On the off chance this is still the dashcam thread rather than the cruise control BS discussion, here's a vid.

Brilliant. Serves em right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Ha! His laugh at the end is brilliant!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

They'll probably block you if you do. Their stated policy is to block anyone on Twitter to tags them into tweets that show car reg numbers.

Next option so, present it to a Gardai station and make a formal complaint and ask them to log it on pulse and get a pulse ref