Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Robeman wrote: »
    The "egos" are those panel members who are me feiners looking out for themselves and their own personal glory and financial well being. We are probably talking about different personalities. Misappropriation does not just mean going into ones own pocket it can also mean being spent in ways donors would not agree with. E.g. being given to players for own personal use.

You really should quit while you are ahead...I'm not sure what exactly you think you know or do know but you should bring your concerns to the County Board instead of at the moment needlessly blackening the names of unnamed players with your as yet totally unproven and most probably unfounded allegations.You give off the vibe of a real beef with certain players for personal reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Robeman

yes and thats why the co board want nothing to do with these events and yet you're having a go at them :confused:

They are pussyfooting around as usual. Why do they not name and shame individuals involved and includes dates and venues involved so that nobody in any doubt that Mr X Mr Y and Mr Z are not part of Mayo GAA family.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Robeman, you seem to be on the verge of making some very serious allegations. These sort of things can get Boards into trouble instead of the person who made the allegation. So I'm going to ask you to stop before I make you stop.
    If you want to make those allegations on your own blog or on other social media outlets, go ahead and face the consequences yourself. But don't do it here.
    Pm for details. Don't reply on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    I wouldn't rule out such a move but I am more inclined to believe they'll unleash the full force of O Gara in the second half.

TBH, Brogan is ticking away under the radar, lining up well winning frees and scoring a couple from play. He scored more from play than Gooch yesterday, and won 4 frees.

I'm more concerned about Flynn's bottle when shooting.

I think johnny Cooper on A Moran will be crucial, Andy has linked things up well this year and generally does well against Dublin.
    Himself and AOS play very well together.

The COC AOS and Andy Moran interplays have been impressive this year. DOC not so much but due a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I was surprised to hear talk of dropping Brogan, I think it was suggested a few times on the Dublin thread and it spread from there. He isn't the player he was but he's still dangerous.

Keegan on Connolly is a given. I think many see Boyle on KMc. The question would be do we go all out and put Higgins on Brogan, making Brogan have to work around the field or does Harrison get him in a more containing move. The later frees up Higgins for Kilkenny.

Harrison has been playing very well this year, great blocker and well worth a gamble on a top forward imo. You could nearly do a johnny Cooper and stick him in fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,799 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

corny wrote: »
    I'm full sure you can't cite one instance of that happening in the game. For the most part Cooper marked Cooper, McMahon marked Donaghy and Byrne marked Geaney. Geaney and Donaghy fit your description of 'twin towers'. Kerry played lots of good diagonal ball into them with Cooper sniffing for the breaks. Your theory was played out yesterday and Dublin coped very well for the most part.

Also, O' Sullivan will always be on the scene. Small and McCarthy are influential in working back too. Any team will be up against it winning the breaking ball against them. So, rest assured McMahon, Cooper and Byrne (even though i think he'll pick up Moran) have a huge advantage in knowing they don't have to outfield anyone. Just spoil. They've proven very good at that.

I`m not talking about two tall physical forwards staning sise by side. I`m talking about something similar to the style Armagh used. Clarke and Mc Donnell 30 meters apart one man on each and the option to hit either with a diagonal ball from either wing. A lot more difficult to defend against and leaves the sweeper in more or less no mans land.
    Cooper and Mc Mahon are excellent footballers but if each are on a one on one with O Shea and Barry Moran they will not outfield either. Even breaking it will give them problems.
    Don`t get me wrong, Dublin are a brilliant team and if Mayo turn up playing the same formation they played against them in the past Dublin will win by 6 or 7 points.
    Mayo to win are going to have to do something different. They have no alternative imo and nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭maximus15

The countdown is firmly on!!!
    So we prob hav 3 weeks of listening to or reading in most places that mayo are an also ran and wil not be fit to bridge the 65 year gap.

On paper Dublin wil win by 6 or more points the way the year has played out but an all ireland final is not played out on paper.
    This mayo team know they haven't performed apart from patchy 20 min spells in games this summer and everyone of them kno if there is 1 game to prove doubters wrong this is it.

Every other year prior to the final they hav peaked too early and the high expectations seemed 2 much. Nothing of the sort this time.
    Rochford seems astute with his tactical changes especially in last couple games and majority of substitutions hav been bang on too.

This makes me believe he will hav his homework well done on the dubs . Kerry proved yesterday we need to push up on kickouts like we did in last quarter of first game in semi last year.
    Its impossible to do it the whole game but when we get spells when we are on top in the game then that's the time to do it and keep momentum goin.

There has been little between us in championship games in recent times. In replay last year it was oversight to start match with all our midfielders on pitch and so we had nowone in last 20 mins to take control of midfield when o sheas and Barry moran legs start to tire and so we got over ran. Moran and parsons prob be on bench to come on this time to stop repeat of such, although I would start parsons but can't see it happen.

There wil be little between both teams and whichever manager gets his changes rit in last 20 mins wil win it.
    I hope it won't turn into a grudge match after hostilities in the 2 games last year and it wil be football not the referee that makes the headlines.
    Also I propose instead an extra 3 matches in future championships when we already hav had 7, that the gaa introduce extra one instead.
    A 2 leg final so the dubs wil hav to actually hav to play a big game away from home!!😉

Anyways every mayo fan enjoy the build up, especially when after the Galway loss it looked like a pipe dream, and not let it turn into a war of words or legal action! , with our Dublin counterparts!

charlie14 wrote:
    I`m not talking about two tall physical forwards staning sise by side. I`m talking about something similar to the style Armagh used. Clarke and Mc Donnell 30 meters apart one man on each and the option to hit either with a diagonal ball from either wing. A lot more difficult to defend against and leaves the sweeper in more or less no mans land. Cooper and Mc Mahon are excellent footballers but if each are on a one on one with O Shea and Barry Moran they will not outfield either. Even breaking it will give them problems. Don`t get me wrong, Dublin are a brilliant team and if Mayo turn up playing the same formation they played against them in the past Dublin will win by 6 or 7 points. Mayo to win are going to have to do something different. They have no alternative imo and nothing to lose.

But that diagonal ball tactic that Armagh used has largely been sussed no ?
    Most of the issues AOS has against decent teams is that they prevent that type of ball from going in the first place.

Stoner wrote: »
    But that diagonal ball tactic that Armagh used has largely been sussed no ?
    Most of the issues AOS has against decent teams is that they prevent that type of ball from going in the first place.

Not that I have seen against this Dublin team, and not with Rory O Carroll gone. Armagh didn`t use Clarke and Mc Donnell as target men around the square. They were positioned wider. Almost like two corner forwards at times.
    The problem I have seen with AOS is that the ball doesn`t come in diagonally to him. It`s banged in from the centre straight down his throat.
    Easier for a back to break it, and the seeper to tidy it up. If AOS does field it he has then to turn directly into the back, where in many cases he has been blown for charging, or he is forced to come out looking to offload.
    Diagonal ball gives the forward better options if he can get on a one on one. Think Murphy 2012, or the goal AOS got against Donegal from a diagonal ball in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

charlie14 wrote: »
    I`m not talking about two tall physical forwards staning sise by side. I`m talking about something similar to the style Armagh used. Clarke and Mc Donnell 30 meters apart one man on each and the option to hit either with a diagonal ball from either wing. A lot more difficult to defend against and leaves the sweeper in more or less no mans land.
    Cooper and Mc Mahon are excellent footballers but if each are on a one on one with O Shea and Barry Moran they will not outfield either. Even breaking it will give them problems.
    Don`t get me wrong, Dublin are a brilliant team and if Mayo turn up playing the same formation they played against them in the past Dublin will win by 6 or 7 points.
    Mayo to win are going to have to do something different. They have no alternative imo and nothing to lose.

Is there room for Andy in that FF line or is he dropped?
    Clarke and McDonnell were forwards, much better lads at taking scores than O'Shea & Moran. The big problem I would see is that if they are winning the ball so far away from goal, in the corners, you would need to have a good few guys helping by running off them.
    That will lead to congestion and would force us to have 4/5/6 lads high up the pitch. If the ball breaks, Dublin would crucify us.

Rochford has proven he will more than likely be doing something different for the final but I don't think it'll be a 3 man FF line or dropping Andy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Robeman wrote: »
    They are pussyfooting around as usual. Why do they not name and shame individuals involved and includes dates and venues involved so that nobody in any doubt that Mr X Mr Y and Mr Z are not part of Mayo GAA family.

They did mention the date in their statement. Dont know why they didnt mention names, maybe for legal reasons? Anyway it's pretty clear what event they are talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭naughto

I must be thick or out of the loop can you tell me what's the craic

No danger of Andy Moran getting dropped,Jason Doherty's starting spot I'd imagine is the most under threat.

naughto wrote: »

Nothing happening here!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

It's a nothing story. There's a Mayo man in New York who doesn't like the county board, seems like he's set up a fundraiser that will go directly to the players and not through the CB. The County board have released a statement saying it's not official and it's nothing to do with them. No big deal really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,116 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Best of luck in the final from a Waterford man

Everything comes to an end and I believe u will win the final

Mayo would shut down for the month I'd say lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭naughto

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Best of luck in the final from a Waterford man

Everything comes to an end and I believe u will win the final

Mayo would shut down for the month I'd say lol

It will be some month of beer

Ive booked the week after the final off work for the last 10 years, this year i'm not 100% yet but think i have Mon, Tues, Wed off anyway. Fecking better have as im on the road at 6am Monday if not :eek:

It's a nothing story. There's a Mayo man in New York who doesn't like the county board, seems like he's set up a fundraiser that will go directly to the players and not through the CB. The County board have released a statement saying it's not official and it's nothing to do with them. No big deal really.

That is not the case, that was suggested by Robeman :rolleyes: The fella in NYC iis a big Mayo supporter but as i said deosnt get on with Co Board, im sure he would pass on whatever is raised. He has made donations to various GAA causes in the past in Mayo and didnt want any publicity.

That is not the case, that was suggested by Robeman :rolleyes: The fella in NYC iis a big Mayo supporter but as i said deosnt get on with Co Board, im sure he would pass on whatever is raised. He has maid donations to various GAA teams in the past in Mayo and didnt want any publicity.

I think we're in agreement. The man in question would 100% pass every cent on, it's just he doesn't want to deal with the CB - which is fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

just received email
    Tickets are €80 each. You will be seated in the Cusack Stand. You can 'Opt Out' if you wish. The cut-off time is 10am Wednesday 31st August.

We will be processing payment on Wednesday (31st August) and if your card is out of date we cannot send you your ticket(s).

Your All-Ireland Final ticket will be posted to you using the shipping address details on your Online Account so please make sure that is up to date also.

Oldtree wrote: »
    just received email

It would be one hell of a time to opt out.. "Nah you're alright GAA, I'll skip the final and will you see you all at the FBD". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

thought they might stick me in the hill

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rockfish

Oldtree wrote: »
    just received email

Forgive my ignorance but is this the same as a Cairde MaighEo ticket? It's just that a mate who is going to be out of the country with work has promised me his, so doi need to get on to him?

Rockfish wrote: »
    Forgive my ignorance but is this the same as a Cairde MaighEo ticket? It's just that a mate who is going to be out of the country with work has promised me his, so doi need to get on to him?

Yeah, Cairde is done through Croke Park now, so he would have received the same e-mail. Money will be deducted from his account tomorrow.

PARlance wrote: »
    Is there room for Andy in that FF line or is he dropped?
    Clarke and McDonnell were forwards, much better lads at taking scores than O'Shea & Moran. The big problem I would see is that if they are winning the ball so far away from goal, in the corners, you would need to have a good few guys helping by running off them.
    That will lead to congestion and would force us to have 4/5/6 lads high up the pitch. If the ball breaks, Dublin would crucify us.

Rochford has proven he will more than likely be doing something different for the final but I don't think it'll be a 3 man FF line or dropping Andy.

I`m not saying if you play two big men like Barry Moran and AOS that the will be standing in the corners for a diagonal ball coming from the wings.
    in and around the 20 meter line with them 30-40 meters apart.
    Recieving the ball diagonally, you are not standing with your back to goal. Winning a ball there side on to goal it shouldn`t be a big ask for a county player to hit the target from there.

I could see Jason Doherty making way, and no disrespect to Andy Moran who is having a great season if he is to start in the full forwarf line I imagine Johnny Cooper would pick him up. Cooper is extremely fit fast and tenacious. I honestly don`t know how much change Andy Moran would get from him, plus it will most likely be where Dublin expect him to start and Cooper will have his homework done on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rockfish

Yeah, Cairde is done through Croke Park now, so he would have received the same e-mail. Money will be deducted from his account tomorrow.

Ah right i get you now, he doesnt have to do anything as such, it's automatic, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Rockfish wrote: »
    Ah right i get you now, he doesnt have to do anything as such, it's automatic, cheers
    as long as his payment details are current. worth making sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

as long as his payment details are current. worth making sure

And his postal address, will go to that address.