Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish army defence forces recruitment 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Michelle2007

Ciaran.m wrote: »
    Lads that applied for the 1st BRIGADE (2016 comp) check yer emails..got an email tday saying i have my medical on the 19th of october, let me know when ye have yours.

Hi when did you do interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Ciaran.m

Hi when did you do interview

Hows it going Michelle, i completed my interview on the 20th of july.

Thanks Ciaran I did mine in July too but in Dublin. Haven't heard anything yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Ciaran.m

Thanks Ciaran I did mine in July too but in Dublin. Haven't heard anything yet

Ahh thats because you applied for the 2nd Brigade haha, the 1st BDE and 2nd BDE operate individually and do fitness/medicalse ect...at different times. Im sure you will not be waiting long for your medical date email, as the Defence Forces Recruitment page posted today that they are sending out the emails. So hopefully either this week or at most next week.

Hopefully thank you for info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 PaddyB870

Got my medical for the 21st of October in cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭stripmymind

I'm the 13th of October in cork for a medical.
    They pushed back septembers intake to November, maybe if some of us are lucky enough we could be in any of those platoons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Danoboy93

Hi lads and ladys lol Last year i went to get into the irish army pdf and i passed everything except they failed me on my hearing a week after i had failed my hearing in the army medical test i went to the hospital they checked my hearing told me my hearing was perfect so this year i have covered my back and went and got my hearing checked out at the hospital they have givin me a letter and my hearing results to prove my hearing is great if anyone having doubts about hearing id advise ye go to your gp trust me it will help you will cover yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 carl01

I Received an invite for the medical in Cork, They require proof of all vaccinations. Are you a write of if you cannot provide these?

carl01 wrote: »
    I Received an invite for the medical in Cork, They require proof of all vaccinations. Are you a write of if you cannot provide these?
    Hardly. They can't expect you to have that info on hand, people either have all vaccinations or they don't so it's a yes no answer hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Son of Jack

Vaccines given by GPs and HSE doctors and nurses are held in local health offices. Just contact your local health office to request a copy of your records.
    More info here:

http://www.hse.ie/eng/health/immunisation/whoweare/requestrecord.html

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 clmbrgn96

Danoboy93 wrote: »
    Hi lads and ladys lol Last year i went to get into the irish army pdf and i passed everything except they failed me on my hearing a week after i had failed my hearing in the army medical test i went to the hospital they checked my hearing told me my hearing was perfect so this year i have covered my back and went and got my hearing checked out at the hospital they have givin me a letter and my hearing results to prove my hearing is great if anyone having doubts about hearing id advise ye go to your gp trust me it will help you will cover yourself

Does it cost much to have this done? And does your gp have to refer you to the hospital first?

And also can you tell me anything about the eye and hearing tests ? No clue what to expect.

hey lad have you got a medical card your gp can do the hearing test for you and give you the results to bring with you if you dont have medical card i think its 50 euro the eye test is alright but the hearing your supposed to be in a sound proof box but soldiers just walk in and out of the room

Yeah Ladd might be worth the 50 euro just to be safe.

For the eye test do you look into a machine or is it like a standard letter chart ?

Id hate to fail the medical after all the effort to get this far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

If you fail you get called to repeat the test. I can't see them accepting letters from your GP or anything, might as well get your mother to write it...

ye lad its just the eye chart no machine the only machine is the lung test machine

Hey lad this is my 4th year going i think id know more than you might lad :) i got my hearing results from gp and hospital :) and when i was waiting for my interview when i told one of the soldiers i failed last year hearing he said did you not get a letter from your gp they should let you in so i covered myself this year

Nice one man.

Anyone know what else they test for as far as the blood and urine tests go?

they test eye sight hearing lung test urine test blood test and apparently now they do xray on chest not sure if its true but was told that it been added to medical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭SeanD123

Anyone from 2 brigade hear anything yet?

i did mine in athlone heard nothing back yet where you do yours sean

SeanD123 wrote: »
    Anyone from 2 brigade hear anything yet?

Hi sean i heard nothing back from brigade 2
    yet. Did interview on 8th july.

Did my interview in athlone 4th July they must be arranging medicals for 1 brigade first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭SeanD123

i did mine in athlone heard nothing back yet where you do yours sean

Hey, I did mine in Dublin on the 6th July if I remember correctly. Their Facebook recruitment page told me that some 2016 applicants will start training this year but they can't say who yet. Hopefully we get called for medical in time to be considered for the November intake in Athlone.

ye sean hopefully i am brigade 2 aswell this my 4th year trying so hopefully i pass i had broken ankle less than 8 months ago was hard to get into shape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hey lad this is my 4th year going i think id know more than you might lad :) i got my hearing results from gp and hospital :) and when i was waiting for my interview when i told one of the soldiers i failed last year hearing he said did you not get a letter from your gp they should let you in so i covered myself this year

Yeah, I've been in the army a while and have done a good few medicals, never seen anyone turning up with a GP's note, so don't presume you know more than me thanks.

i have a uncle whos a corporal a uncle who a captain and an aunty who a seargent so lad think they might know more than ye lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭killer91

i have a uncle whos a corporal a uncle who a captain and an aunty who a seargent so lad think they might know more than ye lol

I'm a serving member myself and I'd echo what was said above.
    There's not a hope an army doctor is going to pass you medically fit just because you've a Gp note, especially for an enlistment medical.

killer91 thats not what my uncle said id wager hes prob higher rank than you

My uncle is a sergeant As well, they know nothing boy, when he enlisted you signed up on a Friday and started on Monday.
    I have completed a medical and passed in the past, the DF Doctor passes you on his discretion. Listen to killer91, his head is screwed on. He's knows that craic as do I. I they wanted your GPs opinion they would've sent you to him for the medical.