Women and texting

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Almost every activity a woman engages can be traced back to some sort of insecurity.

Mmmnn, I wonder when I came in early this morning to advise on a potential crisis, did I do that because of some insecurity? I wonder did I get a first in college because I was so insecure? I wonder have I applied for a job recently with increased responsibility because I am so insecure about my abilities? I wonder did I text my partner this morning to tell him to make sure the bin is out because I am so worried that he may leave me?

Or did I just do those things for a myriad of different reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

This is the thread to follow if you want to know which posters are male or female:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

Texting is so 2011.

WhatsApp is where it's at these days.

Torture yourself as you repeatedly check your phone every five minutes waiting for her to respond, only to then see the dreaded two blue ticks with her 'last seen' and no reply.

Isn't technology wonderful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

" WhatsApp " ? " Two, Blue Ticks " :confused: I'm not even going there!

That's a man thing ~ of a certain age ..... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I had one like that. I got rid of her. That is the short story; I couldn't be bothered typing out the full story for ye. I'm a man like.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Actually and funny enough before the "down with sexism!!"(against women of course) drive on Boards, particularly After Hours, when the forum was chock full of yore ma and other examples of that kinda humour that you take such gross insult over the site was growing, not contracting. If anything it's been the spate of humourless Helen Lovejoy's wittering on about all sorts of isms that has the site contracting.

Alongside over moderation the second accusation levelled at the site is how overly "leftie PC" it is. IMH it's actually not bad on either score and so long as you don't start taking the piss you're fine and your opinion is fine(if you can defend it).

Maybe off topic, a bit, but I spend less time on Boards than I used to, and it's got more to do with limitations to free speech due to new legislation, and certain posters closing their accounts than anything else.

Having said that, there is some truth in what you say.
    I sometimes feel as if some posters, and I have no idea whether they're male or female, seem to be ultra defensive about the most innocuous comments, at times.

Don't get me wrong, I've criticised posts in the past myself for being overly sexist, but, imo, there's a happy medium, and there's no harm in a bit of craic. Ultra defensive posters, about any topic,just shut down discussion, imo - which is less than helpful on a discussion forum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jcon1913

So you had nothing to talk about but she was talking? How does that work exactly?

Yes - he was listening, like you listen to a broadcast. But not talking himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

There must be something I'm seriously not getting'... Surely the lads that are saying things like 'they're only trying to turn their phone on' or 'all their activities are down to insecurities' are mostly if not entirely doing it for the wind-up. How anyone, male or female, would actually do more than just read over that and either chuckle or simple say 'tosser' to themselves is beyond me. Persistent misogny? (I'm sure I spelled that wrong. It doesn't roll easily of the fingers and won't even try and say it.) But anyway, I don't see it. Aren't most people more or less full time on the wind-up? Ok they have serious spells in work etc but generally speaking I think they are. And then they come home and plonk themselves in front of boards and they see a childish thread and they throw an offhandish comment in there themselves. And then someone comes along and not only takes it seriously but actually takes offence? Ah lads come on. Its After Hours where you can say anything, the less sense it makes the better. No?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

There must be something I'm seriously not getting'... Surely the lads that are saying things like 'they're only trying to turn their phone on' or 'all their activities are down to insecurities' are mostly if not entirely doing it for the wind-up.

Your right, my comment was a simple attempt at humour , no more than that.