The Iron Banner Megathread - Guide in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

I know this IB has been announced as the last IB for legacy consoles; but given the timing of the last couple of IBs, anyone think we might get another current gen the week leading up to RoI, with Supremacy (already announced as the next IB match type)? As a final push to get people to buy RoI? Remember them releasing Rift and the new maps to everyone the week before TTK?

Nah, we won't get any more IB until after RoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,907 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Hey all,

Dudeeille dropped some great advice on Sat night (really... hear me out).
    Keep your Iron Banner gold bounties and Trials weekly bounties - you can store up legendary Marks for Rise of Iron.

With Iron Banner, you can store 75 marks per character.
    With Trials you can store 50 marks per character.

For 3 characters that's 375 marks stored, on top of the 200 you can keep - 575 marks ready for Rise of Iron :)
    I cashed in one of my weeklies on my hunter just to get to level 5, but I have the other two left on him and the three on the other two.

Don't know if I could bring myself to play Trials to even get the marks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭CDBWhoop

I cashed in one of my weeklies on my hunter just to get to level 5, but I have the other two left on him and the three on the other two.

Don't know if I could bring myself to play Trials to even get the marks....

If you don't mid getting schooled initially, you'll reach a point where matchmaking throws up a team that is probably in the same boat. Basically you hit rock bottom and then start climbing :D

Depending on how you go, the six trials bounties plus whatever crucible bounties you complete will probably take you two passages, three at most.

If you consider the legendary marks plus the rewards for the gold and silver tier bounties are trials weapons and armour plus a chance for an exotic then its not that bad really.

CDBWhoop wrote: »
    If you don't mid getting schooled initially, you'll reach a point where matchmaking throws up a team that is probably in the same boat. Basically you hit rock bottom and then start climbing :D

Depending on how you go, the six trials bounties plus whatever crucible bounties you complete will probably take you two passages, three at most.

If you consider the legendary marks plus the rewards for the gold and silver tier bounties are trials weapons and armour plus a chance for an exotic then its not that bad really.
    I tilt hard and fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

On the topic of keeping IB bounties for ROI for marks, do ye think the IB bounties would be compatible with the ROI IB events? I.e. could I cash in on day one of IB supremacy to collect new gear etc..

PetKing wrote: »
    On the topic of keeping IB bounties for ROI for marks, do ye think the IB bounties would be compatible with the ROI IB events? I.e. could I cash in on day one of IB supremacy to collect new gear etc..

Dont see why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭PetKing

Dont see why not

I'm wondering will the ROI IB bounties be a new 'type' of bounty which would mean having to run it first. I'll save them for the craic anyway.

PetKing wrote: »
    I'm wondering will the ROI IB bounties be a new 'type' of bounty which would mean having to run it first. I'll save them for the craic anyway.

You probably will have a few new bounty variants, as has happened before, but the old variants would still count towards rep I would assume.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I had a really good run in IB this time around, got all 3 chars to rank 5 by early on Saturday so just watched a few trials streams then, i really want to start getting into trials :(

I am really looking forward to not having to wear the crappy IB shader and class item to boost in IB. Especially the shader. Its a small thing... but I hate it.

Had a great time playing IB this time round, some great fun matches over the week.

Had a really fun loss on Drifter last night - the oppo were crazy aggressive but we still managed to keep it a very close fight right up to the last death of the match.

Its a pity, for me anyway, that crappy stupid lame Overwatch came out and the way over blown and not really a problem "content draught" happened in Destiny; so much harder to get PvP groups together on non IB weeks. stooooopid Overwatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Its a pity, for me anyway, that crappy stupid lame Overwatch came out and the way over blown and not really a problem "content draught" happened in Destiny; so much harder to get PvP groups together on non IB weeks. stooooopid Overwatch.

I was very tempted to pick up Overwatch but didnt in the end.

From time to time I play team fortress 2 but I always end up back on destiny.

Id say the rise of iron could see people return. I'm back playing for that reason.

Playing the raid with a few of the lads last night was great craic and shows that destiny offers so much more than anything else out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Struggled with IB this time, stupid Clash. Got the Titan to level 5 for the hand cannon and left it at that.
    Playing BF4 which I'm finding a lot harder. People seem to kill me so quick and all I see is x x x x x x x x x x
    Also played MW2 which is a real blast from the past, only got hacked once, Got noobtubed a lot which is always fun. I'd never have left MW2 only it got hacked to smithereens..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Suros Regime was a beast for the IB this time around. My K/D was brought up a good bit with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

One of my mates (along with his mate too) picked the game up and I played a bit of the main game story/quests/strikes with them and brought them in to Iron Banner for the last 2 days when they were like 295 light

The light level difference didn't make a Huge difference and they still went positive the odd time despite having fairly bad PvP Gear overall

Having not really played for like 12 weeks I ended up getting back into the swing of things fairly handily
    http://destinytracker.com/destiny/query/ps/GenericDreadHead?mode=5&startDate=2016-08-15&endDate=2016-08-24&characterId=0

I like the recent updates to that site aswell. Looks very tidy now

Got a Slayer medal too, which is rare for Clash. That will teach them for bunching up on Heavy and waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I've been sneakily checking out the groups K/D for the last 10 mins there, 1.38% is fairly decent.
    I was 1.06% myself.

Whatever it is about Clash, I seem to do either really well, or terrible - there's no middle ground.

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Also played MW2 which is a real blast from the past, only got hacked once, Got noobtubed a lot which is always fun. I'd never have left MW2 only it got hacked to smithereens..

What do you mean you only got hacked once???

When I used to play it the game would regularly get hacked. All these funny coloured numbers/letters would go up on screen and weird stuff would start happening. Getting OHK shotgunned at the start from the far side of the map was my personal favourite. They can also reset your stats which would mean I'd lose all my unlocks/prestige levels/emblems.
    This happened only once this weekend and I just left the lobby.

When I used to play it the game would regularly get hacked. All these funny coloured numbers/letters would go up on screen and weird stuff would start happening. Getting OHK shotgunned at the start from the far side of the map was my personal favourite. They can also reset your stats which would mean I'd lose all my unlocks/prestige levels/emblems.

What actually happened this weekend? I presume if they reset your prestige it's only temporary?

Just as the game was launching a load of letters started appearing on the screen. I simply quit the game. No harm no foul. Don't like risking it, anything could happen.

I might be wrong, but I think he might have actually been playing The Matrix. You know how he is with a few alcoholic imbibings, gets awful confused. :pac:

I could have sworn he just woke up and was watching Sesame Street :P

jonnycivic wrote: »
    I could have sworn he just woke up and was watching Sesame Street :P

First time I swore in front of my mother I had just missed an episode of Sesame Street. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mystery of the phantom grenade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Possedion

is it back this week with the Tuesday reset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mcsirl

Nope, not back till a few weeks after RoI Launches

Possedion wrote: »
    is it back this week with the Tuesday reset?

Nope. Won't be back until after RoI drops, I think

darn was looking forward to something this week till the big drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

There's private matches. So that's something. And one final push to complete MoT y2

Give the riad a bash since all challenges are active this week :P

was doing raid last week - very hit and miss with the teams trying to get oryx challenge done...